Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from Freethinker

Donal O'Gs Comments On Football In General And The TC In Particular - 5 Like(s)
Any thought on Donal O'Gs comments on football. I personally thought they were OTT. I think he got a little carried away with his flowery articulation of his thoughts. Pat Spillane tore into him over them but I thought that Colm O'Rourke's riposte was classy.

Freethinker (National) - 15/05/2023 17:43:10

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  ""The point you're making is pointless". Jesus wept it's worse this forum is getting."
Well said Galway 9801. Some posters are just using this forum as a debating rostrum, forgetting that in most civilised debates you get one shot at making your point, so they keep on at it like a dog with a bone. Then, if they feel they are not getting their "point" across they can get a bit personal. The vast majority of supporters of our games welcome Mr McManus's wonderful gesture. There will always be begrudgers but I get the feeling that not all those putting up differing arguments on here actually fall into this "begrudgery" category. This thing of counties with large numbers of clubs versus smaller counties is, to me, just something that is as it is. I would imagine that if the benefactor had to have somebody calculate the number of clubs in the country and allocate the funds accordingly, some clubs in the lesser populated counties would feel aggrieved. I know that one of the smaller rural clubs in my own county would be a tad annoyed if they were put on a par with say Crokes in Dublin. The parable of the labourer in the vineyard comes to mind.

Freethinker (National) - 18/12/2023 08:35:09

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "He does not. Much is also made of his involvement in horse racing, but unlike other wealthy owners he seems to spread his money about. You see the JP colours in all sorts of races and from a fair spread of stables including smaller operators. I somehow doubt that most of his horses are making money. He seems genuinely to enjoy his part in it, and as others have said you see him pottering about with the ordinary punters at courses. Same with GAA. Despite the nasty comments about his support for Limerick, their success is not all down to him, nor is it his vanity project. I used to be well on the left but as i grow older i feel completely divorced from the begrudgers and state worshippers who given 32 million would either spend it on their friends under the pretence of "helping" or otherwise waste it."
I am in total agreement with all your points. I, like yourself, used to be on the left, but when that became overpopulated, in my opinion, with zealots some of whom never held down a job in their lives, I mellowed a little. I would be still a little left of centre - not that my political views matters to things relevant to this forum. . As regards JP, whilst he certainly has horses with the high profile trainers he also has, as you say, many with smaller struggling trainers and for some of these, his might be the only "guaranteed" monthly cheque. I would also imagine that the tax take from his Adare Manor including construction and refurbishment, is pretty significant. So, while we won't move to beatify him - just yet - he deserves a big thank you, again, in my humble opinion.

Freethinker (National) - 18/12/2023 11:19:50

Oscars For Diving Goes To.. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To germac:  "Peter Canavan the best diver i ever seen, he was absolutely brilliant at it many a day i thought he was going to roll off the pitch"
In fairness to Canavan he shipped his fair amount of heavy tackles in his day. Once he got the ball in hand it was open season on him.

Freethinker (National) - 11/03/2023 10:13:49

Non-Gaa Forum - 3 Like(s)

Replying To UtahBlaine:  "Whats even more bizarre in a way is the amount of people who never played the game in their life ,or any game for that matter, who are now suddenly rugby supporters."
Silly comment. How many race goers have actually ridden a horse, never mind ridden in a race b

Freethinker (National) - 05/02/2024 16:37:13

Joe McDonagh Cup 2023 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Viking66:  "Bray have been making great strides the last 10 years. Great to see! Massive population there if they can get lads hurling."
Bray Emmets also compete in the Dublin Intermediate league. O believe they won promotion last year. I don't know what grade they came into the leagues at.

Freethinker (National) - 17/05/2023 18:55:56

Move To National Forum Only Model - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Terrible idea you have just ruined the hoganstand. I know this will not be posted but you just ruined the best part of the hoganstand where the club game from senior to junior in each county is discussed weekly by die hard supporter. DO you think a dublin gaa supporter wants to hear about the junior club championship in roscommon."
Tarismelting22. I have to agree totally with you on this. I was shocked when I couldn't log onto the Wicklow forum. This finishes me with the Hogan Stand. I would have a passing interest in all things GAA but absolutely no interest in getting involved or even reading this other stuff. Possibly other people from the different counties could set up a forum for each county that could be interlinked to other ones. We had some great debates with people from other counties after it before an inter county match, but doing this through a national forum - no thanks.

Freethinker (National) - 30/09/2021 08:50:10

Replying To Viking66:  "Why would it bother you how much money a lad has? I talk to people the very same money is irrelevant. I've met sound rich and sound poor people. I know millionaires who you would think haven't a penny. And I know lads who used to hire a big car in England to come home here at Christmas and tell everyone how well they were doing."
Very well put. I also knew guys coming back fromEngland back in the day at Christmas flashing pay packets and tolls of cash. Many of them did not fare well as they got older. I don't know JP personally but I practically rubbed shoulders with him on a few occasions at Leopardstown at Christmas time. He always stood down at the end of the stand among the ordinary Joe's. I was at a funeral another day in a Kildare Church. I happened to be late and just stood in the porch and there, with a few other latecomers, stood the bould JP. A quiet unassuming man, in my opinion and every penny he has he made himself, and is entitled to live where he wants and spend his money whatever way he wants.

Freethinker (National) - 15/12/2023 19:05:23

Sunday Game - 3 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "She is. But they missed a huge opportunity when they didn't give it to evanne. Now there's a woman who knows her sports and can get pundits to to actually talk. Huge own goal on RTÉ part"
You'd wonder who their agents are or whose stable they belong to. Maybe that is below the belt. After all that bull of the last few weeks, nobody really knows who calls the shots when allocating the various slots. I personally think Ms Cantwell doesn't do a great job. I too rarely watch TSG anymore. I am all for gender equality but for gods sake let them be up to the job. Not just token equality. Then you see some mixing sports ? What's all that about ? For me, removing Brolly was the start of a slide into mediocrity. Love him or hate him at least he brought a bit of life to the show. It can be interesting to watch the eye contact between pundits and presenter when asked their opinions. I know it is a different sport but just maybe it wasn't only the football that Liam Brady had fallen out of love with.

Freethinker (National) - 01/08/2023 10:47:58

Masters Over 50s Squad - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not too bothered about the international rules. I liked the concept but once the powers that be cracked down on the disgraceful violence in the matches the aussies seemed to lose interest."
I think that most would agree with you in liking the "concept" in its earlier stages, the tweaks along the way kept improving it, but the concept got hijacked by a "win at all costs" mentality creeping in to the game - mostly initiated by one side, in my opinion. The last game I attended was nothing short of thuggery. Most people who love Gaelic football had had enough of this "hybrid model" when it was finally put to rest. I think our professional cousins from down under couldn't handle being equalled or even surpassed in skill by players from an amateur game.

Freethinker (National) - 21/12/2023 08:23:33

Oscars For Diving Goes To.. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Can't speak for anyone else in Down, but for Me Peter Canavan was the best forward I ever saw in the flesh. I remember He got butchered by Meath in '96 and played on half crippled. Think he might have dived to win a penalty against us some year, but it was not likely a game we were going to win. Let it go Germac."
These are also my recollections of Peter Canavan. Particularly that Meath incident. I have no idea of any of the other stuff, but certainly on the big stage, if he won a foul he earned it the hard way. We on Wicklow have had some brilliant footballers over the years but seldom to get to see them on any big stage so we appreciate watching good footballers from other counties whenever we can and he was certainly as good as any I have ever looked at. Whatever about referees getting fooled by diving - they ( referees) and the authorities have to be commended for stamping out most of what can only be described as thuggery meted out to some of the more naturally gifted and classy players on opposing teams over the years.

Freethinker (National) - 12/03/2023 14:39:51

Wicklow GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Davy Burke is flying at the minute with the Rossies. Fair play to him. I'd love to know the inside story on why he left us.

Freethinker (National) - 06/02/2023 14:14:43

Fresh Faces for the County Senior Team!!! - 2 Like(s)
With the exception of that from Mr Mustard, I agree wholeheartedly with the well put sentiments above. We are in deep manure as a county. The problem would appear to be that not enough people realise this or not enough are prepared to do something about it. Although, in fairness, we are so far adrift that there is no land in sight anywhere. When I was younger I watched Wicklow senior hurling and football teams playing Galway in both codes in Aughrim on the same day and give a good performance in both. Now we can beat nobody. Ok, we drew with Waterford but at least they are flying with their hurling teams. The only answer lies with our juveniles and how they are prepared. I am not qualified to suggest how that can be accomplished and I wonder how many in the county are. I do know that many of the stalwarts from our clubs of the last 20 plus years are now working with the kids in their own clubs and this can only be a positive.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - 06/02/2018 20:58:55

Fresh Faces for the County Senior Team!!! - 2 Like(s)
Mmm. Not the reaction I was hoping for, but a reaction nonetheless. Maybe others will be minded to direct their ire or sarcasm where it might be more productive. Pretty typical reaction though in fairness to anybody who exercises their right to express their feelings towards matters GAA in this county. Keep sniping at the messengers so those in their ivory towers can carry on doing nothing. I'm afraid that there are more things dividing this county than the mountains. This is as it always was and will ever be ?

Freethinker (Wicklow) - 12/03/2018 22:48:36

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Well done to the Wicklow hurlers and management. Despite a lot of negativity, a decent result against Derry today. Rome wasn't built in a day but hopefully the team can build on this result and start to make progress towards where they want to be."
Another battling display today from the hurlers. Possibly some of our best are absent but these guys can't be faulted for guts and honesty.

Freethinker (National) - 10/03/2024 16:12:38

Carlow GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Well done to Carlow today. Best of luck v NY.

Freethinker (National) - 04/06/2023 19:37:47

Wexford Inter County Football - 2 Like(s)
Well done Wexford. All other little guys are shouting for fellow little guys - except when we are playing each other.

Freethinker (National) - 04/06/2023 19:40:24

Replying To Albundy19:  "Definitely doesn't need any talking to ,in my opinion he has a massive part to play in the future of Wicklow football and should be given everything he asks for to get the job done."
I hope that some of this extra sponsorship money goes to the likes of him and others who are helping develop these young players. This has not always been the case leading to disillusion and people walking away. The whole juvenile scene seems ti be on an upward curve, thanks to Johnathan and others like him but as you say, they are only as good as the support they get. Let them drive it on.

Freethinker (National) - 03/05/2023 08:59:03

U20 All Ireland Final - 2 Like(s)
Congrats to Sligo and Kildare on reaching the U20 All Ireland final. I watched both games on tv. Some great performances from all 4. It certainly seems as if Kildare should be a force in Leinster in the near future. Sligo are certainly going in the right direction also. Heres to a great final.

Freethinker (National) - 09/05/2023 18:59:12

Replying To Albundy19:  "I believe that our 17s and 20s footballers are still without tracksuits and training gear,I'm sure there is a good reason for this but these squads are more or less together since last October last year. Good luck to both squads they've put in a huge effort and deserve to be treated right."
U20s have done us proud tonight. Surely there is a few bob somewhere to kit them out - and u17s as well. Laois scraped over Wexford, as did Wicklow. Next week's game v Laois should be a cracker. Talking of money, I wonder if a few bob might be donated our match twitter reporter. I was able to follow score for score on the Carlow site. The Wicklow one was way behind all game. It was almost half time before anything showed - on my feed anyway. Perhaps I am doing someone an injustice. If I am, apologies.

Freethinker (National) - 02/04/2024 21:10:55