Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from Victorious87

Inter County Player Failed Drugs Test - 5 Like(s)
I've found it very disappointing that the player's name needed to be published to the country. At the end of the day this was an amatuer player who was only called up into a county panel this year, this is going to follow him for life, any time his name is googled it's now there. It's a few days worth of content for Off the Ball and Ger Gilroy compared to a lifelong reprecussions for the player. I'm sure lots of people will disagree with me on this but it's really annoyed me.

Victorious87 (National) - 28/04/2020 19:27:34

GAA on TV - 3 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "The problem is hardly anyone in Ireland understands "Irish", some country that can't even speak it's own language. I really admire places like Connemara, for me they are the only true Irish in the country, where they use their native tongue as their first language. The laughable thing is all the people who tell you they can speak the language but yet haven't a clue what's been said to them when a true native speaker engages with them. Pathetic people."
An gaeilgeoir thú féin?

Victorious87 (National) - 28/06/2021 15:09:57

CORK FOOTBALLERS ARE RIGHT. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The Cork footballers have just stated that they will not play their Munster semi final against Kerry in Killarney. The decision to move the game from Pairc Ui Rinn to Fitzgerald stadium was obviously financially motivated and would have handed a clear advantage to Kerry. We in Antrim also had to take a stand when the Ulster Council tried to move our game against Cavan away from Corrigan Park in Belfast. Will the GAA EVER get the message that many of us are sick, sore and tired of being treated as commodities and numbers in a money game? Well done Cork, every Gael should support them."
Cork's argument is not as strong as Antrim's. Cork GAA knowingly allowed the Ed Sheeran concert to be booked for the weekend that the Kerry match was to be played. They weren't calling to play in Pairc úi Rinn when Páirc Úi Caoimh was being redeveloped? You can't have your cake and eat it too. Leinster counties are constantly having to play their "home" matches in Portlaoise or Tullamore because their grounds aren't considered to be of a high enough standard. Cork haven't got a leg to stand on in my opinion.

Victorious87 (National) - 01/04/2022 11:23:32

GAA on TV - 3 Like(s)
I sat down for 3 football games on tele this weekend; Mayo vs Sligo (lasted 25 minutes), Kerry vs Clare (lasted one half) and Wicklow vs Wexford (whole game). Out of the three guess which one I found most interesting? I can't for the life of me figure out why we only have the option of watching one-sided hammerings in the preliminary rounds on the television. We have the whole summer to watch and talk about Kerry, Mayo and Donegal. We've gotten to see the majority of their league campaigns on tv as well. Both the Wexford vs Wicklow and Louth vs Offaly matches were close, intense championship matches. For one or two weekends could we not just get the chance to watch them with an actual broadcaster, real analysis and more than one camera angle. Are the "experts" we get on panels too lazy to bother to research teams outside of division one. How many people actually sat through any of the three broadcasted games this weekend from start to finish. In what's supposed to be an amateur and equal association, why can't kids from Louth or Wicklow get to see their county play on RTÉ? Why do Sligo have to be subjected to having an absolute hammering being analysed and patronised live television. It really does my head in.

Victorious87 (National) - 27/06/2021 17:12:43

Wicklow GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To lor12:  "goodluck to minors i am going to match. the minors are playing great at the moment would like to wish the squad and management the best of luck on wednesday. we should have got a home tie in augrim the gaa are taking advantage of the weaker teams in minor level it is time we stood up for ourselves"
How exactly do we stand up for ourselves? Home advantage is based on what team comes out of the hat first. Unless we send a certain referee from Wicklow Town to do the draw in Leinster GAA HQ I think we just have to go with the luck of the draw.

Victorious87 (National) - 07/05/2022 15:01:15

Rose Tinted Glasses. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Lots of talk about how boring robotic etc modern football has become. Looking back on a few All_Irelands from the70s I was struck with just how awful the game was. The folllowing typified GAA football in the past. Aimless hoofing of the ball into the other half. The awful handpass/throw- what an abomination that was Tackles that would get you red carded on a rubgy pitch. Have a look at Brian Mullins' tackle on Ger Power in second half of '77 fina! The terrible point taking. Poor officiating Are we looking back on the past with rose tinted glasses?? What do people consider the Golden Age of GAA football? What was the greatest final??? Any chance we could keep this thread free of the usual Dublin V Kerry BS???"
Absolutely, I'm not old enough to remember before the 90s but having watched a lot of old games back over the first lockdown I was shocked that people harped on about the standard of that. The majority of the game was aimless kicks and fight for breaks. All frees were put on the ground and lumped forward. There were 2/3 skillful forwards per team. If you watch an intercounty match this weekend you'll see corner backs that are able to run up the field and kick points over from 35 yards out, goalkeepers who can hit a man in the chest on the run 40 yards away. How people can say the skill levels are lesser nowadays is beyond me, what makes the modern intercounty scene boring is the lack of competitiveness, that's all.

Victorious87 (National) - 23/06/2021 09:21:27

New Rules For Gaelic Football - 2 Like(s)
You can tell the amount of people that don't play or coach teams on this post, some of these rules would absolutely kill club/underage football. Stop changing rules every year in a knee-jerk reaction to a few hammerings. There are already some ridiculous rules in the game, the keeper not allowed to receive a pass from a kickout being one of them. Surely if you watched the Mayo/Tipp game you'll see how bringing the ball out from the back is a genuine skill and tactic nowadays. I don't want to see balls being kicked aimlessly up the field and lads shooting from anywhere. There's plenty of that in Junior B championships all around the country if that's the football you want to watch

Victorious87 (National) - 09/12/2020 11:03:37

Wicklow GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Haven't been able to go to any games this year as we've had a new arrival, but shocking how little the championship is being promoted. There are no clips, highlights or match reports being posted on YouTube or social media. You can't even read the newspaper game reports online without subscribing to the Independent online (Which I don't want to do). Every senior championship game is filmed, why can't they put up the replays a week later? I think the clubs may need to pay to access them but surely they could allow some time to pass and provide them free to the public?

Victorious87 (National) - 23/08/2023 02:33:11

GAA on TV - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Of course you can. the promotion will be should be the exact same. there isnt anything to be said where GAA say to tv companies they have to show x to show y... BT dont show the english rugby championship or national league?"
What evidence is there that RTÉ will show a lower tier competition? How many Christy Ring matches have you seen on RTÉ recently? And regarding BT... https://www.bt.com/sport/football/national-league https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.therugbypaper.co.uk/latest-news/331367/bt-sport-favourites-to-show-key-championship-games/amp/

Victorious87 (National) - 27/06/2021 21:07:49

Question for our Southern Brethren - 1 Like(s)
I cheer for Wicklow and Dublin as I was born and raised a Dub but became involved in Wicklow GAA when I moved. I actually would cheer for Leinster counties when they're playing outside the province ( apart from Kildare). In the hurling it's different as my grandad was Limerick through and through so I wouldn't cheer for anyone apart for Limerick and the Dubs in the hurling. I think I actually would cheer against some teams from Ulster apart from Antrim and Fermanagh (You get use to each other when in lower Divisons). I don't like the cynicism that goes on in most Ulster matches and I think they are the least entertaining. That's not saying I don't respect the GAA communities up there, it's more just the way the teams set out.

Victorious87 (National) - 09/06/2016 20:34:26

Wicklow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Freethinker:  "Without being too longwinded I think the answer to your question above is obvious. We are little more than a joke in the world of Gaelic Games. Whatever our policies or strategies or lack of them are, they have been a disaster for over 100yrs now. This is incontrovertible. I have no gripe whatever with those who have given a lifetime of service at whatever level. I am pointing the finger at one specific level so please don't try that old trick of tarring everyone with the same brush. I have always stated that the clubs are derelict in their duties to growing our games by continually voting in those who, however well intentioned are not and have not been capable of steering us out of the mire. Those brave souls who have stood on gates, prepared grounds etc over the decades have nothing to answer for. If all those who have governed our games within the county over the decades can stand up and hand on heart and say that they have done their best, well, all I can say is that their best is nowhere good enough. Nor has it ever been."
To me it sounds like you're just here to have a moan. You said you were sick of the same policies being repeated year on year, when I asked which policies in particular you've answered with "Whatever our policies are". You're pointing the finger, get the finger out and go do something, it's really not that hard. It's not like the county board can stop you from going and coaching an underage team in your club, or refereeing, or going on your clubs committee. I've nothing personal against you but I think your attitude is just typical of lots of people who like to moan when things are bad but never put themselves out to do anything about it.

Victorious87 (National) - 03/03/2022 11:49:43

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I can only talk for myself. When i lived in the county, i was active in my club. I no longer live in the county so i am not involved or affilitated with any club. I am not on here whinging but as a supporter i am disillusioned that ten year ago we were progressing in the right direction but instead of building on what Micko started and when left to manage things for ourselves we've blow it. I know that there are people volunteering with the best of initiations but they don't know what they are doing. We all know that GAA is now professional at all levels and there needs to be a professional approach adapted if you want to compete. A lot of people i know who would have supported the county, no longer do so as they're disillusioned. You need strong county teams to pump blood into the association in a county otherwise you lose a lot of people. When i see good people like Kevin O'Brien stopping and i see ex players like Leighton Glynn not involved in any capacity; i ask myself why is this the case. A county like Wicklow needs eveything working to fully capacity to be able to compete - is that happening now? Has it happened for most of our history? My answer would be No. We can turn things around, other counties have done it but the way we are going about it, is never going to be adequate to compete at any level."
Leighton Glynn is the manager of the Wicklow Ladies, Kevin O'Brien has been heavily involved in an underage team and brought them up to under 20s. I don't even know if he went for the senior job so it's not like he's been outcast. You seem to have some rose-tinted glasses on looking back 10 years ago. The whole problem was that we brought Micko in and neglected all the structures under the senior team, that's why we struggled for so many years afterwards. We now have the GCA and there's definitely a higher standard of player between 18-23 in the county than there was ten years ago. What does "working to full capacity" mean in real life? It sounds good on a powerpoint but what does that actually mean in terms of underage coaching, games development etc? There's plenty that could be done but you've no suggestions, only vague comments about what's wrong, nothing that's actually insightful or helpful.

Victorious87 (National) - 03/03/2022 11:55:10

Move To National Forum Only Model - 1 Like(s)
Really feeling the effects of this decision this week. Wicklow county finals this week and most of the lads you would have got a bit of chat out of must be gone now because if this stupid decision. It's hard for people in smaller counties that don't have the big fan bases built up for their own website forums like Tipp etc. to find a few people up for a chat about gaa, especially when you don't live in the county anymore

Victorious87 (National) - 05/11/2021 21:43:36

Replying To sponger:  "Shame on the county board, shame on the players. If there was an Olympic event for bodging everything up and just walking away we would be top every time."
Shouldn't go pointing fingers when we don't know the reasons yet. It's a serious commitment to play intercounty so I would seriously disagree with shaming players. There is very little incentive to play intercounty hurling in Wicklow. It's a really poor situation to find ourselves in. I'm not much of a hurling person so I wouldn't know the ins and outs of it, but I can't imagine there is only one single factor in this.

Victorious87 (National) - 26/01/2024 10:49:39

Replying To lor12:  "brian cody as wicklow manager wat u think"
Yes and if the county board don't get him then they are surely showing their lack of ambition…

Victorious87 (National) - 24/07/2022 08:09:08

Tailteann Cup 2022 - 1 Like(s)
I'm looking forward to the Tailteann cup to be honest. I was at both of Wicklow's championship matches this year and while we actually played reasonably well against Meath, there was never any possibility of us actually beating them. I'm genuinely looking forward to being able to go to championship games at this time of the year with the hope that we could progress to a semi final or final. I really wish that the GAA made an agreement with TG4 that they could show any Tailteann cup game they want. The ethos of the GAA does still pertain to promoting Irish culture and I think that allowing TG4 show the games in the Tailteann Cup free of charge would be a great way to get the competition up and running in it's first few years at least.

Victorious87 (National) - 07/05/2022 15:08:19

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "Can I ask a question here. Most posters are complaining about the level of coaching our children are getting. Are we referring to club coaches or the coaches at development squad level ?"
I don't know myself, most underage teams in my club would have at least one coach who've at least done the foundation coaching course which gives you a decent idea of drills and games to do with kids. I don't really know who's coaching at development squad level to be honest. Our under 17s and under 20s have been pretty competitive in recent years and from speaking to people who'd know a bit more about development sides than I would, the Garden County Academy seems to have been pretty successful in terms of getting young fellas up to train for the development sides.

Victorious87 (National) - 07/03/2022 10:03:05

RIP Brendan Og Duffy - 1 Like(s)
God lads this one hasn't left my mind all day. I'm so so sorry to his family. I'm so so sorry to his family, I will keep ye in my prayers for the future. RIP

Victorious87 (National) - 18/07/2021 02:12:37

Replying To dubarra:  "Go back and read your posts you certainly did use population as reason that the likes of Naas are successful at club and school levels. But when it comes large towns in Wicklow you try to spin the age old excuse of soccer and rugby as reason for the lack of success in those largely populated areas. Change is badly needed at both Co Board and club level or we will remain as we always have since the Gaa was founded. Finally can I ask you what you think would happen in the likes of Bray and Greystones were under the umbrella of the Dublin Co Board."
Again, if you read my posts properly you'll see I said population is a reason for success, not the reason. Naas Gaa were a bit of a laughing stock for the majority of the century, they've had a massive growth in population over the last decade so it's not like it makes no difference. Honestly, if Bray and Greystones were under the Dublin county board I don't think either would be particularly successful clubs. They are more or less extensions of Dun Laoighre/Rathdown and Dublin 18, which is an area which is basically Rugby and Soccer over Gaelic Games. There's about a quarter of a million people living in that area and they have Cuala, Stars of Erin and Cabinteely GAA clubs as far as I know. Not exactly powerhouses of GAA. Cuala obviously only becoming an exception to that recently.

Victorious87 (National) - 08/03/2022 13:55:41

Replying To Freethinker:  "My views on this are well known and I too have been sniped at for expressing them. To me, it's simple, just look at the facts. Of the recognised grade 1 competitions, for want of a better word, we have 1 Leinster minor title, no u21 and no senior. We have no all ireland minor, u21 or senior. I think we have 2 junior. This is in 140 yrs or thereabouts. At senior club level our record is a little better in 2 Leinster finals and 1 All Ireland - and several other valiant attempts. These are simple, undeniable, facts. The numbers speak for themselves Now, either we are breeding inferior footballers - which I don't for one second believe - or we are doing something all wrong. To me, anyone who tries to defend the way we go about doing things is just living in cloud cuckoo land. Nobody can defend the indefensible. Do I see anything changing? In a word, no. This culture of taking failure as being acceptable has become engrained in our institutions. We are back to the way things were in my younger days of trying to keep the score down and being happy with "honourable " defeats. That is if we ever really left them. Micko showed us a glimpse of the promised land, but when he left, we were arguably in a worse situation or at least our juveniles were. But like Wicklowsupport I will keep telling it as I see it and to hell with the begrudgers"
You are Wicklowsupport, that's what's so amusing about all of this. You both make the same vague points and drool on about the same statistics, you both make the same punctuation mistakes and write in the same tone ------

Victorious87 (National) - 25/07/2022 11:30:09