Westmeath Forum

Popular Posts from Morty

Dublin Fans Behaviour - 8 Like(s)
Every single thread just descends into this Kerry / Dublin nonsense. So, so boring to read.

Morty (National) - 14/01/2020 17:32:48

Stay Safe. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Try listening to professor Luke O'Neill. He's a professor of biochemistry and immunology and you might be a little less hysterical. Yes , there will be drastic measures required and people will have to act responsibly but a vaccine is on the way. It will not be here in time for elderly people with underlying conditions and unfortunately, yes , people will die from this but not 100,000 in Ireland. Get off Facebook and try listening to people who know what they are talking about. That's where you will find stuff like the idiots who released a fake letter suggesting the army were about to take over the streets. They may well be required to play a part at some stage in this but there are plenty of balobas who love to create panic and you seem like the sort that will most likely swallow stuff like that. Restaurants and cinemas are going to be next to shut their doors and that should have been called by now but if people take proper precautions we will be ok."
You're incoherent. You keep calling people here 'idiots' that are 'panicked' and 'hysterical' and you keep blathering on about social media but never, ever hard facts. Most people I know are calm and collected. I think the cabin fever may be setting in for you as you're making up arguments that never existed! I'm well familiar with Luke O'Neill. Where has he contradicted the HSE worst case scenario where 100k could die from it? It's simple, If we did nothing this is what the rate would have been - that's not controversial, it's just a statistical forecast based on hard facts. I'm sorry the concept of exponential growth offends you so much! It's a worst case scenario for a reason and the social distancing measures now should stop it getting anywhere close to those figures. it's a bit of a sacrifice for a few months but it'll be grand in the end for most. You came on to this site to say 'take precautions like a normal flu' - but it's not like that and you need to be called out on that. For the the vulnerable groups, there's vaccines to stop them getting normal flus and effective treatment if they end up with the flu. For the vulnerable group with Covid19, it's completely open season and there's no solution for them any time soon.

Morty (National) - 16/03/2020 16:54:32

No Red Thumbs - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Its still bullying and intimidation. If not bullying then what is it? Cyberbullying is mostly anonymous. That you dont know who it is doesnt mean it's not bullying"
I'd consider calling someone a '12 year old', just for having a different view, as bullying

Morty (National) - 04/07/2020 16:12:16

Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views??? - 5 Like(s)
It would be like wanting Meath to win.

Morty (National) - 08/07/2021 13:06:13

Well Done Cork! - 5 Like(s)
I'm thinking here... biggest upset of the last 10 years?

Morty (National) - 08/11/2020 18:33:44

Maradona - 4 Like(s)
I hear Tipp are going to wear the Boca Juniors colours v Mayo. Lovely tribute.

Morty (National) - 26/11/2020 22:55:01

Boards Forum Restructuring - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "A discussion forum should be about people sharing their opinions. Disagreeing, usually amicably, finding some common ground. The rest of us have opinions but you portray your opinions like they're facts. They aren't. GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 5700 - 30/07/2020 16:48:55 i express opinion as fact as much as anyone else does so get off your high horse dismissing me It is fact that the journal and the42 are not forums and not compareable to this site. its a fact that this forum is very basic and poor and outdated compared to forums such as boards.ie and gaaboard.com"
Why don't you use those forums instead? You're not being forced to use this. Look at the feedback here - most posters are happy with the functionality. You don't like it, which is fine... but many others do.

Morty (National) - 30/07/2020 17:59:54

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Ban on mass gatherings in excess of 5,000 people won't be lifted until at least September."
Kerry usually don't more than 5,000 supporters before September anyways, so they should be grand!!

Morty (National) - 21/04/2020 21:41:02

'The People's Game' - 4 Like(s)
I like rugby and I'll be supporting this weekend but I see a lot of parallels with Burittos - It's become more popular in recent years, its something that you can talk about at work, it has a confusing pricing system and if it all stopped in the morning, it really wouldn't make much difference to my life.

Morty (National) - 07/03/2018 20:50:24

GAA Athletes For A NO Vote - 3 Like(s)

Replying To seanie_boy:  "My MP,assembly members and others do not on every occasion represent my views in every thing they say and do. I don't get to make a song and dance about it when I don't agree. It's called having a differing opinion. As I already asked,and to which none of Ye have replied,should all the clubs around the country desist from endorsing the "opt for life" movement by wearing the logo on their jerseys etc? You can't have it both ways lads.Some of Ye will no doubt be unsble to grasp the the contradictions inherent in your stances on these matters. That's not my fault though,that's on yerselves."
**False equivalence alert** There are no GAA clubs with political logos promoting any current constitutional amendments on their jerseys.

Morty (National) - 24/04/2018 22:20:38

Boards Forum Restructuring - 3 Like(s)
In summary, 2 people don't like the forum (and possibly GAA?). A few people have made small suggestions on improving user behaviour and probably a majority are ok with the current setup. There's nothing else really to be said.

Morty (National) - 30/07/2020 14:32:07

2021 Congress - Ban On Joint Captains Receiving Trophy - 3 Like(s)
Was there any motions to ban the 'Hip Hip Horray? I'd endorse that one

Morty (National) - 27/02/2021 19:43:30

Crazy Decision Regarding Under 20 Football Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "They won't be overage and ut is silly to say otherwise. The competition started this year. I'm not sure why the game is being cancelled. Is it being cancelled because of the new restrictions or have The GAA unilaterally decided to cancel all underage competitions? If the game is being cancelled because of the new restrictions then you are correct when you say it cannot be played. It will be played when the restrictions are lifted and circumstances allow. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 5116 - 22/10/2020 04:50:58 Its ridiculous to hold off this competition until 2021 when the next years competition will be on and you are playing an under 20 competition when the players who are under 20s will actually be under 21s.... That's not true. The women's rugby team is not professional. They are amateur. They work outside rugby to earn a living. They are going to Paris of all places next week to play France in The Six Nations. Paris is in lockdown and there is a night time curfew. France has declared a state of emergency due to the fact that there are approximately 30,000 new cases of Covid every day. There are over 100 Covid deaths every day in France at the moment. The logistics of going to France involve travelling from Dublin, travelling to your accommodation, travelling to and from your team training base, travelling to and from the stadium, living In the team hotel and travelling back to Dublin. Yet The IRFU thinks it's acceptable to send an amateur panel, management team, back room team and officials to France !!! Sending any team to France including the men's team at the moment is highly questionable. Testing only tells you whether or not you have Covid. It doesn't prevent you from getting it. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 5116 - 22/10/2020 10:06:38 Womens team can be in a bubble and their is quite a few who're involved in 7s and are pros.... Logistics can be done with the full pro set up the rugby union have Are you claiming you know more than all involved in irish union, the government who will have been consulted? Testing on regular basis and following basic procedures that all have been doing in recent months - social distancing, limiting contact etc helps reduce chances of getting covid...."
Not much social distancing in the middle of a scrum… Perhaps in the true Corinthian spirt of rugby, the championship should be shared across all 6 nations with the trophy smelted and distributed in equal parts. Seem very fair to me.

Morty (National) - 22/10/2020 16:43:21

Stay Safe. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Where Trump is involved I'm not surprised by anything anymore. What is concerning is how easy a lot of people get hysterical. Social media generation in most cases. Mostly fools. Both of the previous commentators when faced with more realistic Projections based on fact disappeared. This will be serious but let's be responsible and mature not hysterical."
'Realistic Projections' LOL! You're spoofing big time - what scientific study are you taking your 'projections' from? Let's be honest, you probably half skimmed a Wikipedia page! Quote your scientific or medical sources or don't bother responding to me. You keep going on about 'panic', 'hysteria' and 'social media' - again total spoofing. In reality, most people are calm and collected, they know there's a bit of a sacrifice to their normal lives for a few months but it'll be grand in the end. It means the health service won't crash in a few weeks and vulnerable family, friends and neighbours are less likely to die from the virus.

Morty (National) - 15/03/2020 21:05:46

This Weekends Football - 3 Like(s)
First Fungi and now this? Must be tough for Kerry

Morty (National) - 08/11/2020 18:23:10

The '3 Cheers' At The End Of Every Final - 3 Like(s)
Can winning captains please just stop this at all levels?

Morty (National) - 08/04/2018 17:11:17

Ballyragget - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ttbwhacker:  "Not a thread to argue about the church. But seen as you can get away with castigating them i'll stand up for the good work the church has done. You have a bit of a church chip from threads i've read."
... And not a forum to moralise what people do in their private lives.

Morty (National) - 26/10/2017 21:32:54

Replying To KillingFields:  "Well then should they not say something then? Either say they will look at modernising the site or that they wont and lock the thread. I think wanting a better site that would attract more people is a good thing. I dont know why people would rather this set up to one which is faster, has more and better features."
You don't know why people would rather this setup? You really should know. There's now 18 pages on this thread explaining this to specifically you. Perhaps there's a technical glitch on your device where you can't see anyone else's responses.

Morty (National) - 11/09/2020 21:19:53

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)
Some people are saying the GAA is acting like any business, however, I'm not aware of many businesses would try to diddle their most loyal customers who also happen to be shareholders in that business. It seems like a bad strategy. Sure, it ensures the GAA keeps the cash (to spend on what?) in the short term but how many will never get season tickets again?

Morty (National) - 29/04/2020 17:22:54

Replying To KillingFields:  "Why do people not want to have better features. Improvements would see more join the site. Is that not a good thing?"
You can read the previous 12 pages for those answers. Remember, your opinion on what is 'better' is completely subjective and not a universal truth. Alternatively, you could spend that time learning the skills needed to build the web forum you want and are passionate about. There's a mountain of tutorials on YouTube.

Morty (National) - 01/09/2020 18:31:27