USA Forum

Popular Posts from TheImmortal

Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Cu_culainn:  "Curious to know your stance on the Cork Jersey commemorating two Cork men who died for Irish independence?? What is the difference between them irish martyrs and the men and women of the provisional ira who died fighting for Irish independence??"
To the best of my knowledge, those two Corkmen didn't plant any bombs on school buses or on English High Streets with families out shopping, how's that difference for starters?

TheImmortal (National) - 24/02/2020 18:50:08

Kerry V Dublin - 6 Like(s)
Brolly and Whelan saying Cooper's second yellow wasn't even a foul! Brolly so far up Dublin's backside he's saying it should have been a free out! After Cooper nearly pulling Clifford's arm out of its socket! Get them off the telly they're a joke

TheImmortal (National) - 01/09/2019 16:30:22

Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 3 Like(s)

Replying To thegadfly:  "There's plenty of o neills jerseys commemorating the hunger strikes and the rising already. They are all lovely in my opinion."
Yes, but no county jerseys commemorate the hunger strikers, though, nor should they.

TheImmortal (National) - 25/02/2020 23:57:37

GAA At Anfield - 3 Like(s)
It just goes to show that the whole "historical Irish link with Liverpool FC" is pure myth. The growth of Liverpool FC's Irish fanbase in the 70s and 80s is an example of one of the country's earliest sporting bandwagons.

TheImmortal (National) - 08/12/2019 20:36:41

Timekeeping - 3 Like(s)
Agree, stop clock badly needed in football. Getting to the stage where 15 minutes is going to be added on to the end of matches, ridiculous.

TheImmortal (National) - 26/01/2020 10:08:30

Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 3 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Cork are the rebel county, they say, so FairPlay. Every county has them. I wonder would the GAA allow the Hunger Strikers on jerseys? 40th Anniversary coming up? I'm fine with it."
An horrific idea. I know with the success of Sinn Fein in the recent election, the country seems to be in the throes of a misty-eyed nostalgia for "the troubles", but I think commemorating the Provisional IRA on county jerseys would be a retrograde move.

TheImmortal (National) - 24/02/2020 11:47:31

Dublin V Kerry - 2 Like(s)

Replying To essmac:  "You can't make a sweeping statement like that without backing it up. List out the wrong calls would you? I watched the second half and saw little to complain about."
The ref was a huge factor as to why the second half was so stop start. Gave a lot of very soft frees, seemed to be giving out yellow cards for practically every free, each yellow card involving a thirty second "talking to" for the player, blew for frees several times when the fouled team were in possession and could have had an advantage. 6 minutes of additional time given and he added on another what was it, 3 or 4, to account for all his self-imposed stoppages.

TheImmortal (National) - 26/01/2020 08:56:37

Does Anybody Give A S**T About Hurling Classic? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To cityman73:  "Ye had plenty of incidents in kilkenny during your golden age,all swept under the carpet, has Cody walked away, before you start looking into other people's houses, mind your own first."
In fairness, I doubt a Kilkenny hurler has assaulted a fan on a packed city street while one of his teammates filmed it on his phone.

TheImmortal (National) - 18/12/2019 22:25:56

Timekeeping - 2 Like(s)
Just the 9 minutes of injury time last night (6 indicated)

TheImmortal (National) - 09/02/2020 15:08:14

Worst GAA Jersies Of All Time - 1 Like(s)
Sponsors' logos ruin jerseys. Top of my head, I'm thinking the Meath Mr Tayto logo, Cork's Chill, Westmeath's yellow Renault, the red Vodafone logo Dublin had a few years ago (wouldn't be that bad in itself except for the fact Dublin wear blue!). Wexford's all purple jersey gives me a migraine, it needs more of the traditional gold back in it. I like Mayo's traditional green and red (even though that colour combo is said to be a fashion faux pas) but they've worn some sort of black alternative jersey in recent years which is rank. The Tipp jersey they wore against Laois this year was unspeakably awful. I couldn't even place a colour on it, it's like the colour generated when a toddler mixes a load of different paints together in their mixing tray. Kilkenny's hooped socks are silly looking when they're pulled up, they'd look better all black with amber trim. I never liked Dublin's navy shorts. Open to correction but I think Dublin used to wear white shorts until the 60s but I believe Kevin Heffernan introduced navy shorts as he thought it made the team look more intimidating to opponents or something. Would like the Dubs to move back to white shorts for one season at least, doubt it would affect their performance! The Meath "sleeveless" jersey of a few years back, which was inspired by Trevor Giles taking a scissors to his own jersey the year before, looked utterly ridiculous. The Cork jersey from about 20 years ago which had a big "C" on the sleeve. Because, you know, Cork begins with a C and all. Never liked Kildare's all white kit. No stripes, no flashes, nothing. Even Real Madrid throw in a few things to make it interesting. Always liked Carlow's traditional red/yellow/green tricolour but they've made a right bollix of the current design (GAA jersey makers tend to do that when they get their hands on the jerseys with the "band" in the middle, off the top of my head Mayo, Tipp, Offaly and Laois have all had designs which deviated from the traditional band and didn't look good).

TheImmortal (National) - 03/12/2019 23:41:14

GAA At Anfield - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MillerX:  "No decent Irishman should go near Anfield....short memories. The Rangers of England."
I believe Ronnie Whelan (who as it happened was a Manchester United fan as a kid) was the first Irish player that Liverpool signed directly from a (southern) Irish club, when he signed from Home Farm in 1979. The likes of Celtic, Everton and Manchester United had long established scouting networks in Ireland, both North and South. Funny that a club in what's said to be the most Irish city in Britain had such a sparse record of signing Irish players for much of the 20th century........?

TheImmortal (National) - 07/12/2019 01:13:44

Kieran Donaghy Wants GAA To Shut Down GAA Forums - 1 Like(s)
I don't think well moderated forums such as this one are a problem. Twitter's a cesspit though. Unfortunately, Twitter has given an​ international forum to the type of insufferable arsehole who's audience in previous times would have been limited to whatever poor souls happened to be within earshot of them in the local boozer.

TheImmortal (National) - 23/02/2020 23:11:51

Kerry 4 In A Row V Dublin 5 In A Row - 1 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think wha ist often missed, is Jim Gavin's role in coaching these players. I said a couple of years ago Dublin were in transition around 16/17 and many on here laughed at that statement as we were still bringing home the bacon. A phenomenal achievement in a transition process in my opinion, when you consider its contributory factor to the GAA unicorn mastered by Dublin, that is the 5 in a row. But getting back to Gavin, what many dont mention is that Gavin had the vast majority of this group at underage as well and has over seen the vast majority of their coaching and progression from U 21 to senior. Hes an evolving coach but one who also improves his players year in and year out. You see so many class GAA players stay at the same level for years at an apex, but you feel there is more in them to improve. Dublin players improve every year, year on year, that is down to coaching, there are lads in the Dublin team who did nothing or little and weren't standouts at underage, but are now household names in Dublin. Lads like Dean Rock couldn't get near the Dublin squad before Gavin. Brian Howard for example was a sub for the majority of the U20 winning campaign a few years back. Its Gavins ability to be able to coach an obvious skill set and improve players to be the best in the country that is often missed. We saw the same cycle again this year, we gave more Championship and league debuts to younger players this year then anyone, we sometimes scratch our head here and wonder about players, Howard and Murchen being examples of players we have had to patient with. But Jim works with them over a long period of time, they improve, he trusts and the results are their for the viewing, just like Murch the last day. Its that coaching toward continuous improvement, continuity from underage and trust, faith and perseverance with youth that is a key stone to Dubins success. Its not instant, its bred on the fields in winter in the O Byrne cup, league etc in often years in the making before becoming a Howard, Scully, or a Murch emerges to what they become. We will see it again this year, with Flatman, O 'Connor, Gavin, Bugler, P Small, POCB, none house hold names yet. I could also give you a few names not even in the panel who we could well see in the spring and stand out next year not from the U 20 panel. We do have some exciting players coming of age from our U 20 finalist team as well. But it is Gavin approach to giving youth its fling, coaching and continuity that the key stone to it all. I shudder to think of some of the players in this panel who may never have played for Dublin if Gavin wasn't the manager, how easy would it be for us to do a Tommy Walsh or Andy Moran, and persevere with legendary forwards over the last few years in Brogan, Flynn, Macker, O Gara, that's what an awful lot of what other counties do. That is down to Gavin and his approach to coaching and his trust in youth. People talk of a conveyor belt of talent, or like your own industrial terms, their is a great skill in the identification, patience and nurturing of that talent and the ability to keep motivating those players to improvement year in year out. So much talent is wasted or goes untapped throughout the country in my opinion. Im just happy its not Dublin and that is down to a truly visionary manager. I dont think what we do and our approach t youth has ever been seen in GAA before and the bravery it requires to do it is in short supply, James Horan deserves credit this year though, i think hes looked at it and is following a similar vein. For me, 13-16, was Gavin making the best of what he inherited and blooding, but it was a team he made the best off. The team form 16-19 is one entirely in his own image and philosophy of the game. I sense we are going into another transitional period if not next year the year after, but Gavin is already a bit down the road in his actions this year of transitioning the panel, we evolve in plain sight and one of the great achievements has been so successful in transitioning and winning. I will also say our club championship is hugely competitive and high on quality that is also a significant help as well. What Gavin does in his approach to youth is very brave and coaching them to their true potential as an ongoing process over their carers is phenomenal and a brilliant example of the values of GAA, we dont make a song and a dance about like others who roll it out as mitigation, but their isn't a county in the country who bring through more young players then Dublin, its our way."
Yes, Gavin is a huge factor in the success, would not like to be the man taking over from him, whenever that happens!

TheImmortal (National) - 21/09/2019 20:49:52