Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from Eddie the Exile

Malachy's Successor - 8 Like(s)
First thing to say is that it was a group of committed players- led by the Latton man- who pushed the CB to appoint MOR. Doubtful they would have made that call themselves at the time. But now, left to their own devices they come up with Banty version 2.0 Much has been said about his achievements the last time out, as evidence of his suitability for the job now. To be fair, those should be acknowledged. He lost 2 ulsters, lost a QF in 2007 and won a Div 3 league equivalent in 05. (48 other teams have managed to lose quarter finals since.) But it would be wrong to judge a managers record solely on the trophy haul. There were many memorable moments along the way that should be recognised. In no particular order, my favourites were: Playing McManus as a wing back Allowing a very young Colin Walshe to get roasted in 2010 Ulster final Losing a qualifier to wexford scoring 6 points in total Pushing for the the 2010 qualifier against Kildare to be played in Croke Park and then collapsing on the pitch Getting caught cold by Fermanagh in 08 Getting relegated twice Freezing on the line for the last 10 mins against Kerry in 07- taking off d mone, moving gollogly off t o se, taking in paul meegan Turning a Div3 title into a homecoming festival in the Fiddlers Bringing Kerry and Cork to Scotstown for league matches and losing every time. Then getting whipped in pairc ui rinn Decluttering Cloghan by moving the gym equipment to Dunganny for storage Humiliating a young goalkeeper All part of the experience. Here we go again

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - 01/09/2019 11:16:37

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 7 Like(s)
The narrative continues in the Sunday papers that Tyrone spoiled Mayo's party, that they tore up the script etc etc. Who wrote the script!? The lazy assumptions about Tyrone continue. This was as much their final as Mayo's in the buildup but you wouldn't have thought it. Even Tubridy managed to squeeze in a 'Mayo for Sam' on Friday night. Nothing learned by the GAA hacks

Eddie the Exile (National) - 12/09/2021 13:34:24

NFL Division 1 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To greatpoint:  "It was clear from watching the game that Mayo we're going to have at least one player sent off. They had a number of yellow cards and still were engaging in reckless tackles."
Poor game management from Horan. Ref had bottled a clear 2nd yellow for Diarmuid O'Connor prior to Flynn's dismissal, so Mayo should have been awake to the probability of the next niggly one being punished. If the timing of the incidents had occurred the other way around, it would probably have been O'Connor on the line. The strange internal logic of referees... O'Shea could have had a straight red late on too.

Eddie the Exile (National) - 24/02/2020 13:23:56

Welcome Back Banty Army. - 6 Like(s)
I did forget about 2005. As you recall, the league in those days was 1A1B 2A2B format, meaning that winning Div 2 was equivalent to Div3 today. Can you name all the Div3 winners since? No googling now.. The u20s this year is the best evidence we have

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - 14/09/2019 11:16:19

Cavan - 6 Like(s)
Given the beating Tyrone are getting just now, Cavan will be confident enough come championship.

Eddie the Exile (National) - 12/06/2021 18:10:08

Malachy's Successor - 6 Like(s)

Replying To monaghanmad:  "A glamour tie to start the second banty era. A good local derby with plenty of local and media interest. It's just what banty would have wanted."
About as glamorous as a weekend in Treacys hotel

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - 09/10/2019 20:01:11

Cavan V Monaghan - 6 Like(s)

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "How'd Doogan do?"
He won by 3 points

Eddie the Exile (National) - 11/06/2017 18:12:18

A Change Of Harte - 6 Like(s)

Replying To patmouse:  "Good man Eddie, you sure don't like Banty… Lets remember where Monaghan were coming from - division 4 team that lost to Waterford before he took over. also from 2005 - 210 - we were beaten by Tyrone twice and Kerry twice who went on to win the All Ireland. like Banty or not, he's done more for Monaghan football then any of us keyboard warriors, he has his faults but so we all."
You are right, Banty has lost all the big ones albeit not by much. But as the great man said, show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser. By the way, doing more than the lads on here is not the yardstick for measuring the value of anything

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - 03/12/2020 17:28:23

Monaghan GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Good luck to Vinny and his team, great to have a football man at the helm again. From days like 2003 when he showed no respect to All Ireland champions Armagh, to his double-act with Tommy Freeman at the other end of the field in 2007, to taming Michael Murphy in Ulster finals, we know what the man is about. And with all the great performances and years of service, would you even know what the guy sounds like? No interest in media profile or other bul%shyt, football all the way. I don't believe he will be too loyal to his playing comrades, in fact I'd say he will take the opposite approach, backed by McManus et al. HIs priority now will be to get all Monaghan's best young talent back to Cloghan and generate a style of play that suits the players available. Build a defence and get your sharpest forwards on the ball. Sure, the lack of experience is a concern but I think Monaghan football people now have a man they can get behind 100%.

Eddie the Exile (National) - 23/09/2022 16:01:11

Malachy's Successor - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "First thing to say is that it was a group of committed players- led by the Latton man- who pushed the CB to appoint MOR. Doubtful they would have made that call themselves at the time. But now, left to their own devices they come up with Banty version 2.0 Much has been said about his achievements the last time out, as evidence of his suitability for the job now. To be fair, those should be acknowledged. He lost 2 ulsters, lost a QF in 2007 and won a Div 3 league equivalent in 05. (48 other teams have managed to lose quarter finals since.) But it would be wrong to judge a managers record solely on the trophy haul. There were many memorable moments along the way that should be recognised. In no particular order, my favourites were: Playing McManus as a wing back Allowing a very young Colin Walshe to get roasted in 2010 Ulster final Losing a qualifier to wexford scoring 6 points in total Pushing for the the 2010 qualifier against Kildare to be played in Croke Park and then collapsing on the pitch Getting caught cold by Fermanagh in 08 Getting relegated twice Freezing on the line for the last 10 mins against Kerry in 07- taking off d mone, moving gollogly off t o se, taking in paul meegan Turning a Div3 title into a homecoming festival in the Fiddlers Bringing Kerry and Cork to Scotstown for league matches and losing every time. Then getting whipped in pairc ui rinn Decluttering Cloghan by moving the gym equipment to Dunganny for storage Humiliating a young goalkeeper All part of the experience. Here we go again"
You were warned

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - 31/10/2020 20:02:29

Wexford Hurling 2017 - 5 Like(s)
'Well i remember as a young boy The beginning of september We were standing at the station Waitin for a train' Dust her down and give it a spin tonight lads, you deserve it after that.

Eddie the Exile (Wexford) - 10/06/2017 20:51:50

El Clasico 2020 Monaghan Vs Cavan - 5 Like(s)
Seamus McEnaney has now lost 72% of his first round Ulster championship matches as Monaghan manager. It is staggering the support he still gets.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - 31/10/2020 22:53:01

Cavan Vs Tyrone - 5 Like(s)
After waiting 18 years for an Ulster Final appearance, Cavan have a second Ulster Final of sorts within a couple of weeks. For Mickey Graham it is a shot at redemption after a very poor tactical showing against Donegal. Win and 2019 becomes a stellar first season for him; lose big and the year can be spun as one of relegation and a couple of hammerings when it mattered. The prevailing narrative of a Cavan team making headway would be strongly tested by a beating from Tyrone. For Mickey Harte it seems, as always, that this one could be the loss that finally ends the longest reign. In those circumstances he has always found a way to hang in. When you look at the task facing both managers, the bigger selection problems are certainly on Graham's side. What passed for progress against Monaghan and Armagh is now not so clear cut. Old questions have returned- who can put some drive in midfield? Where does a scoring edge come from inside? How best to use McKiernan, Clarke and Mackey? It's back to a clean drawing board in many respects. Tyrone engaged in a bit of self-delusion during the spring, convincing themselves and plenty of nodding heads in the media that kicking the ball into a converted midfielder was a tactical innovation. Queue some abject championship football against Donegal and Longford. However, they have the class and guile, and the muscle memory, to deliver a grinding style of play that exposes teams with a soft centre. Their drawing board has a blueprint that works on nights like this coming Saturday. Will it be implemented? I would guess yes. In terms of matchups then, how does it all fit together? Starting with the Breffni rear-guard, you would have to have some sympathy for Ray Galligan the last day. His kick-outs coughed up three or four direct points, but he had no targets willing to show and the game was over before his first costly indiscretion. The mantra must be to send it long if in doubt against Tyrone, and put the onus to win it on the big names out the field. It look pretty clear that Faulkner will take McShane at this point, however if Harte puts Mattie/Riche Donnelly up top then the sums might change for Cavan. McLoughlin's pace fell short against Brennan but he lacked the necessary Cover- Moyna again proving he is not a sweeper. All the same the Shannon Gaels man could do ok against McCurry or McAliskey. That leaves a corner spot up for grabs to mark a Donnelly most likely. A bit off-beam but I would go with Gerry Smith for the role, ahead of the volatile Killian Brady. The bigger test for Cavan's defence will come in the shape of Tyrone's half forwards. Sludden flanked by Harte, Mattie Donnelly or Meyler has a real ring to it. Tyrone will be happy enough to let Killian Clarke sit at no 6, where Cavan have decided he works best. Open to criticism here but I don't think he has the in-game discipline and reading of the game to hold the defence together. Better on the ball than off it, if that makes sense. So I would go with a stopper- could Chris Conroy do a job possibly? Then is Ciaran Bady and young Rehill either side. Still, any combination of the Cavan line doesn't look good enough to best the strongest Tyrone trio. Clarke would push into a defensive midfield role then, freed from the responsibility of marking Sludden. He would have to cover the runs from deep and be a better option for re-starts. Young Brady only just holds onto the no. 9 shirt. They will do well to break even on Cavanagh and Kennedy or R.Donnelly. All that means moving Cavan's most unwilling midfielder to his natural home, that is McKiernan to half forward. Don't mind the high catches in Enniskillen, they can be done from no.11 too. Freed from the work he doesn't want to do, he can get on with making the runs that might hurt Tyrone. Frank Burns or Kieran McGeary will be busier as a result. Flanking McKiernan for me would be Moynagh and Niall Murray, or if unfit Stephen Murray who was a lone bright spark in attack the last day. That combination would look to have more potential to press a Tyrone half back line that wants to work on the counter. Finally, the one line where teams can get at Tyrone is full back but that also happens to be where Cavan are weakest. Not convinced on HP McGeary and McNamee can be exposed by mobility. However if Hampsey is fully fit and starts he looks a great match for McVeety. McKernan in the team would bolster the quality in there for Tyrone also. Cavan need options in beside McVeety, and based on what's left it would be Caomhin Reilly and Madden who really needs to shake himself up (otherwise it's T. Galligan at 14). Again Mackey plays the impact role- proven one of the best around for this. Graham may need to move earlier than he would like and should do so if the need arises. In summary, Tyrones half forwards offer a huge threat. Cavan's HB line requires surgery but done right it will strengthen midfield against the running game. Cavan need to free McKiernan and get runners at wing forward. Madden or Reilly must step up and spread the danger to the Tyrone defence. At this remove a Cavan win is certainly not a write off and they have proven very capable in some tight contests this year. However, there are too many loose threads on the Cavan side so I would go with Harte and Co. prevailing by 4 points plus.

Eddie the Exile (National) - 04/07/2019 20:51:47

Kerry V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
Dublin by 10 points or more

Eddie the Exile (National) - 11/08/2019 17:45:56

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
A few Monaghan lads in the media complaining about the team being patronised ahead of Saturday. But it is entirely understandable from everyone on the outside looking in. After all it's a team with 8 Al Irelands since 2010 and the spine of the definitively greatest team of all time, playing a team who have only won a single knockout championship game in HQ in living memory. Only one way to stop being patronised this weekend - win.

Eddie the Exile (National) - 12/07/2023 12:47:24

Replying To TommyBowe:  "Bit much to come straight back into team that quick, great addition though with the group games to come will provide opportunities , if only Niall Kieran's would do the same ! I'd put him straight in"
I'll pay for NK's ticket myself

Eddie the Exile (National) - 23/04/2023 21:52:19

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 4 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Anybody come up with a plan for DC yet??"
Brian Howard

Eddie the Exile (National) - 27/07/2023 16:54:35

NFL 2021 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Bernardo:  "Donegal were poor and still drew. Our forwards are skillful but not the biggest. Disappointed"
The broadband is in overdrive in Drumnaveil tonight

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - 22/05/2021 20:08:02

The Next MAJOR Change In The GAA Will Be... - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Breezy:  "There does seem to be a lot more rugby outside of the cities nowadays but I wouldnt know enough about it to tell you if they are new clubs or old ones that are getting taken a bit more serious recently. I do know that the AIL was a big help as it has a merit based promotion system which rugby didnt have before the league"
Saw an article recently highlighting the steep decline of club rugby attendances in New Zealand. They are down to something like 10,000 per game, for the top professional club competition in the world. The technical quality of rugby is better than ever but people just seem to care less. The reasons proposed 1) Game days have become too expensive. 2) Pay per view TV deals have led fans to choose one over the other (not paying twice for the same game) 3) TV dictates match times which may not suit younger families 4) Lack of attachment to amalgamated 'super teams' in the pro era. Fans are now consumers not supporters, with frivolous entertainment at half time etc. failing to make up for the drift in supporter's sense of identity around a team. Transfer of players between regions critical here also. 5) Too many meaningless games due to the format. Competitions not being seen as do-or-die anymore 6) Lack of local rivalries in the format a huge factor in this also 7) Falling participation rates in schools 8) Competition from other entertainments A lot of potential lessons for the GAA there. The core message for me is that a club sport built on grass roots support and communal effort should not try to turn itself into a slick entertainment 'product'.

Eddie the Exile (National) - 26/05/2020 20:39:02

Replying To Mickod88:  "Here here, someone told me that Galway beat Tryone in the pub and it dawned on me - for someone that'd consider himself a huge fan of the GAA, I didn't even realise the game was on and whats worse is that I honestly didn't care? This craic of putting on a hape of meaningless games and putting them behind a paywall is absolutely turning my stomach. They're absolutely flogging the players for financial gain The worst thing about the whole setup is that Mayo, Dublin and Kerry can be beat 2 or 3 times in the championship and we'll still have to look at one or both of them on All-Ireland day. The whole thing is a hiding to nothing for the likes of ourselves, Kildare, Roscommon, Derry, Armagh, Cork, Westmeath, Down, Meath, Etc... Gone are the days of a team getting on a good run and a big dog getting caught on the hop. The All-Ireland in now just like the champions league in soccer (By Design) where unless something goes drastically wrong, you'll be seeing Madrid v Barca v Bayern v EPL v PSG year in year out.. I personally couldn't care less about an All-Ireland of Kerry v Dublin this year, yeah great footballers but whats the fun in it? It'd be great for the likes of Armagh or Roscommon to win it for a change - they'd actually savour it. But no, this new money grab setup has killed the whole ethos of the game and has ensured that no matter what - the big money counties will be there on the big day. Puke."
Would you rather have been out of the whole thing after losing to Derry? There is some serious contradictory thinking going on around the new format. Sean Cavanagh on the SG was bemoaning the lack of bite in some of the pool games (even though they have been mostly excellent contests), but he was always one that spoke about the need to redress the imbalance between training and games for players. I cannot see how you can have more games for players and preserve a 'one-bite-of the-cherry' format at the same time. In my opinion its bloody great to have Clare coming to Clones in early June for a championship match. We have had enough years of losing in the rain in May and spending the rest of summer watching on. I would disagree with 3 teams qualifying though, 2 from each group to the quarters would be spot on, and would indeed move the first 2 rounds to be more intense. As for the money grab contention, that's a bit of a stretch. More games means a much lower proportion of matches will be shown on RTE. For 70 odd quid a supporter gets a wide range of games to watch. Superb value if matches are your thing. I was talking to a Ballybay man yesterday who was giving out ***** that the Clare match isn't on GaaGo- he has a family wedding down the country on the weekend and cant make it to Clones. Three weeks ago he was giving out ***** about the whole notion of GaaGo. Some lads just like giving out ***** i suppose.

Eddie the Exile (National) - 30/05/2023 11:05:45