Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from supermon

David Gough To Referee The Final - 13 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm just going to say the below one last time and then leave it there because there's no point talking anymore now that the decision has been made. Kerry will just have to grin and bare it and move one. However as a general principle: How would Dublin react if the man in the middle was some fella from Cork or Limerick who lived in Tralee, was essentially a member of Strand Road having thought in the school connected and right next to that GAA club, had been previously photographed after an All-Ireland win with players of the team and the Cup and finally had been allegedly invited into Kerry training sessions that very summer to take charge of practice matches. I mean if people can't see a conflict of interest there (unintentional as it might be on the part of the official) than you'd have to wonder! How can someone so heavily involved at club level in a competing county and working and living there be expected to be seen as impartial. For the next 3 weeks he will be in Dublin during the buildup and will face the consequences of his actions every day for months after in the capital. And you are telling me that, even at a subconscious level, that can't and won't have an impact? In the run in to the 2015/16 Premiership title race a ref appointed to one of Leicester's games was stood down because he had, in a private capacity, attended one of their games as a spectator earlier on that season. That was the only link he had with the club and yet the Premier League felt the need to stand him down, he had absolutely no issues with it and neither had Leicester or any of the media. And yet in the GAA we have the above. How far we have regressed in 90 years. In the early 1930s Cavan objected to playing Kerry because a Munster ref was appointed and the official was duly changed. That was a common enough back then and it was understood that ref's often needed to be changed depending on teams drawn to ensure impartiality. Like I said, I'll say no more now on it as there's no point. It's just another pothole placed in front of Kerry on the road to trying to stop an inevitable 5 in a Row."
1.Essentially a member? He's not a member. He's a member of his club in Slane. He's heavily involved in that club in Slane, on the club committee if I am not mistaken. So your comparison is way off. 2. I am telling you that on a subconscious level it wouldn't impact. I can tell you that as a Monaghan man who has worked in teaching in Dublin. I have been involved with Cuman na mBunscol teams in Dublin, and that had indirect links to a local club in Dublin as the children I taught came mostly from that club. I can safely say that it would have left me with no inclination to be pro Dublin or anything else. In fact as a Monaghan man I would enjoy the banter with the children I taught if the mighty Dubs were beaten. Especially by Monaghan. 3. We don't live in the 1930's anymore. 4. Premier league does not have the same ethos of community that the GAA has. Volunteerism from David Gough with the children he taught should be commended. I have seen first hand the work he does as Chair of Cuman na mBunscol. This Volunteerism should not be compared to a premier league referee attending a game as a supporter. 5. If you want to make a soccer comparison, Dublin referees regularly referee Dublin clubs against not Dublin clubs in League if Ireland. THEY ARE JUDGED ON THEIR PERFORMANCES NOT ON WHERE THEY LIVE. 6. David Gough has proved himself as a very good referee. His time has come and I wish his all the best. I really feel that kerry supporters and former managers/players commenting on this have really let themselves down. Blackening a referees reputation and impartiality is lousy by bringing their profession into play. Seriously lads. Get a life. I wouldnt have said this last week, but i will now after all this. UP THE DUBS!

supermon (National) - 14/08/2019 13:56:16

Kimmage rant at Jim Gavin - 11 Like(s)
I'm not from Dublin, I have no particular love for the Dubs, but I have to say that I thought Kimmage was an embarrassment. I didn't really understand what he was saying? Managers being hostile to the media. So? It makes sense to be hostile to an organisation that takes things players say out of context for headlines. An industry that over dramatises the most minor issues for clickbait. The latest was Costello throwing a kicking tee away, with headlines like, Could Costello be suspended for this?' Watch the video. The answer is no. He couldn't. The keeper isn't allowed to leave the kicking tee on the field. So when Gavin gives them nothing, crass journalism tries to vilify a man and a team. If the players drag opponents to the ground, yes it's not good, but it's up to the officials to officiate on that. Jim Gavin isn't getting paid, he is a volunteer, he isn't earning big bucks from endorsements etc etc. The only person who makes money here is Paul Kimmage because the louder he can bang his drum the more column inches he might get. He's a disgrace.

supermon (National) - 25/09/2017 16:13:58

David Gough To Referee The Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To moc.dna:  "The Coronation is almost complete, Croke Park have the jigsaw nearly finished. Hard to believe that after what happened in 2016 & his admission that he got it wrong that they appointed him for this game. He has been given lots of finals at all levels & if Kerry were not involved, there would have been no concerns, but 2016 made that impossible. Kerry are entitled to feel aggrieved & entitled to voice their opinion. Any error by Gough that leads to a Dublin win will just alienate people further. The GAA is now Dublin dominated & none of the rest have the balls to stand up & say so or to change things. The complete failure by other counties to prevent Dublin having two home games at Croke Park is a classic example of this. Sean Hurson should have been appointed this game."
Entitled. Apt word to use for Kerry. They are entitled to question some of his decisions in the past. No referee is a perfect referee and it is a testament to the stature if the man when he owns up to things he missed. They are not entitled to question his integrity, his profession, his volunteerism and his impartiality.

supermon (National) - 14/08/2019 19:44:57

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 5 Like(s)
The GAA says that it should promote National Identity in the 32 Counties. That is a lot different to saying it supports a United Ireland. It also supports Irish National Identity all over the globe with Gaelic Games, that doesn't mean they want those regions to become part of Ireland. It states in the GAA handbook that the organisation is non party political and I agree with this. Just for the record I would support a border poll and a United Ireland. I do believe however that sport and politics should be separated. One should never feel unwelcome in a sports club because they hold a different opinion or have different politics. There are plenty of members of the GAA North and South that do not think a United Ireland would be a good thing. Would the GAA taking a stance alienate those members? I think most definitely.

supermon (National) - 11/03/2019 10:26:09

Malachy's Successor - 4 Like(s)

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Be under no illusions. The young lads coming through are not to the standard needed to compete in division 1 and compete for all Ireland's. It's a simple fact. There is no mc manus drew Wylie jap finalay Tommy Freeman coming through. We banked on Jack mc carron and hes not to standard needed and he's miles ahead of the rest of the pack so......."
Be under no illusion that this is one of the most defeatist posts I've seen on here. Ever. I have two points to make. 1. Players develop at different stages. Paul Murphy in Kerry couldn't make the Kerry minors, and he was man of the match in 2014 All Ireland final. Conor McManus was a wing back when he started with Monaghan, Those two examples tell us that there is no way of knowing this just yet until they are tested. 2. Culture. How is it that some counties always seem to produce good top players and remain competitive year in year out? Culture and attitude. Fostering a good culture and attitude within the county is what breeds success. The children born in Kerry are no different to children born in Monaghan. They just have a better culture and attitude to football there. Players breaking into a Division 1 football team are breaking into a team with a seriously competitive culture and its my belief that harnessed well this will stand us in good stead.

supermon (Monaghan) - 25/09/2019 10:44:29

Monaghan In The Qualifiers! - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheManWithNoName:  "Honestly sick of the sub par performances this year and every other.sure we got to a semi last year against the old enemy which could not have been more perfect time to do one over on them,but sadly no.we must face facts.we are weak and pathetic,the couple of games this year,my god,disgusting isn't the word Now I know ye are all saying a true fan doesn't give up on their side when times are tough but with malachy giving up the reins just reeks of him saying to himself "this lot are brutal,I'm outta here" Even after the failures of the last years I have tried to keep believing that we were on the road to somewhere that things would get better,like the battered wife going back,saying to herself "it will be different this time" but that's just dellusional.its not going to be... Barring manzies,hughes & hughes.co and el beggan I would scrap the rest of the team.I can see myself being rather uninterested in our upcoming fixtures for quite the foreseeable.we just don't have it and the future looks dark and bleak going forward...."
Lay off the whiskey man.

supermon (Monaghan) - 24/06/2019 16:31:44

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yes, it is a party political issue in the north - I should have clarified that. But my point is this - In the 1921 election, Sinn Fein won 124 of 128 seats - an absolute landslide. The party had one goal in mind at that time - a united Ireland completely separate from British rule. The treaty was then negotiated and in early 1922, the Dail ratified the treaty in a tight vote, with the threat of a horrific, unwinnable war against Britain hanging over us (64 for, 57 against). Sinn Fein separated as a result and GF and FF were founded. But you knew all that. So. . . no matter what your political affinity; if you are an Irish man or woman with ancestral lines dating back only a century, you are born of a nation which is on the path to, but yet to realize its goal. It is utterly shameful to see some on here (who are not of the unionist persuasion) who would happily see our country remain divided. As for whether the GAA should take a stance - I 100% feel they should as they represent a huge part of what any united Ireland would look like, and, it could be argued, would provide the greatest opportunity for cross-community reconciliation. Sport has a history of uniting people and they are the biggest sporting organisation on this island by a million miles. You feel they shouldn't and I understand your reasoning."
Shameful? Why? For having a different opinion than yours? Is there something more Irish about a citizen that can trace his or her famiky back century? Why not back to Brian Boru for good measure? I consider myself a republican, but I'm not into jingoism. I leave that kind of atttitude to the Brexiteers.

supermon (National) - 12/03/2019 18:24:57

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 3 Like(s)

Replying To clooney:  "I watched James Owens face last night he seemed astonished that he was going to have to make this decision how do you know that R Hogan had intent either which is absolutely necessary to issue a red card. Barrett was immediately able to continue to play. Of Course i accept that a blow to the head is dangerous but hurling is a physical game and you cannot take this out of game either, could you not use same logic to say that Barrett injured Hogan his nose was split Jason Forde tackle on E Murphy why the inconsistency. I was chatting to some sound Tipp fans and to a person no one was happy with the 14 men they wanted a real game and IMO a harsh RED No one was getting battered it was a clean game in the main not in Hogans locker so i am entitled to my opinion i spend my money yesterday were you there?"
No you cannot use the same logic. Barret was attempting to play the ball. In the Official Guide its dealt with under Rule 5 aggressive foul. The rule I would say is 5.5 using the hurley in a careless manner. The penalfy for this is a yellow card. Its a category 1 infraction. I'm not sure if he got a yellow for it, but he definitely should have. Hogan's incident is catered for under 5.16 to strike or attempt to strike and opponent with arm, elbow, hand or knee. That's what happened. He hit him in the head with his elbow. It's a category 3 offence and the penalty is a red card.

supermon (National) - 19/08/2019 12:54:45

Cavan V Donegal - USFC Final 2019 - 3 Like(s)
Well done lads. Thoroughly deserved. Enjoy the final!!

supermon (Cavan) - 11/06/2019 08:28:26

David Gough To Referee The Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Aibrean:  "I think no one - especially Eamon Fitzmaurice - is questioning the honesty, character and dedication of David Gough or his credentials as a referee. IT IS SIMPLY A QUESTION OF OPTICS AND PERCEPTION AND OF JUSTICE BEING SEEN TO BE DONE. Quite often Judges have to withdraw from cases for the most obscure reasons. Why is that? Up to a few years ago the referee for big games was almost always from a neutral province. Why was that? In 2007 Dublin objected to a Kerry referee (Leinster final 2007 Dublin v Laois) on the basis that the Kerry referee and the Laois manager belonged originally to the same club in Kerry. Why did Dublin object?"
Judges withdraw cases for obscure reasons? What does a judge withdrawing a case for obscure reasons have to do with appointing a referee to a game of football? Justice? What injustice has taken place? Justice has been seen to be done. David Gough was appointed based on merit. Happily some appointments , though not all appointments in Ireland are based on merit. Appointing a referee should be based solely on merit. For David Gough not to be appointed now would be the old backward cutehoorism winning again (something that has been a scourge in Ireland) and the ideal having a meritocracy in this country would suffer. Referees being appointed from different provinces happened at a time when there was less scrutiny on referees performances and when things like the Railway Cup was still a big deal. Interprovincials are probably not even thought about anymore. Nowdays there is a team of people assessing every referee's performance, every free awarded and decision made. While yes I may have disagreed with the odd decision this referee has made from time to time, one thing i never questioned was his impartiality. The scrutiny and questions being asked by Kerry people about this referee - about his life, employment and living situation is nothing short of a disgrace and dishonourable to the county of Kerry as a whole. Go out play the game. If you win well done enjoy it, if ye lose take your beating like adults and don't be crying about it. Less of the underhand and unscrupulous commentary.

supermon (National) - 15/08/2019 00:59:00

NFL 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To hardcore:  "Pick our battles...................Go to Croke Park try something new, stay within 5 to 7 points of them even closer,hopefully no injuries and no stupid sending off's. Mayo at home in two weeks is a must and winable game that should be targeted."
Makes no sense. Go to Croke Park and try to win. Why would you want to throw a game? It's probably one of the most important games of the year.

supermon (Monaghan) - 08/02/2020 11:50:02

Ulster Final Moving Away From Clones - 3 Like(s)

Replying To RHF:  "Clones is a dump of a town with not a decent bar or restaurant in it. However come big championship games there is no where better in Ulster for the buzz and atmosphere."
Plenty of bars. What class of a restaurant are you looking for? Michelin Star or just something good on TripAdvisor? I'm usually happy with a cup of tea and a mars bar at half time myself. Maybe you might like a prawn sandwich. You might get one of those in Casement.

supermon (Monaghan) - 28/10/2020 12:26:01

Shefflin Leaving Ballyhale - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "There are a lot of people on here, from outside Kilkenny, who seem to know the ins and outs of Henry Shefflin's and Kilkenny's future plans."
Its called speculation and commentary. Its the basic reason the forum exists.

supermon (National) - 27/01/2020 08:50:00

McKenna Cup 2019 - 2 Like(s)
All the best to Niall Kearns with his recovery. Fantastic footballer. Didn't put a step wrong last year and has potential to become one of the best in his position. Hopefully he will be back stronger than ever.

supermon (Monaghan) - 11/01/2019 22:56:01

David Gough To Referee The Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "All over social media, event page setup on FB. Search for Protest Against David Gough's Appointment on FB. Setup by the Kerry GAA Supporters Club. 121 going so far!!! Where would you see it?"
Absolute embarrassment if that goes ahead. Shameful.

supermon (National) - 14/08/2019 21:10:12

Replying To fast_forward:  "David Gough: Lives in Dublin, Works in Dublin, Games Promotion Officer for a Dublin University, Coached underaged club teams in Dublin, Participates and votes (as Cumann May mBunscol Chair since 2016) on Dublin County Board, Impartial?"
Cuman na mBunscol is not part of Diblin county board. St Pats DCU is a teacher training college that caters for student teachers from all over the country. Thats the same as saying as the coach of the Garda College team in Templemore is pro Offaly. Dublin is the nation's capital. Country people work and live there. Doesnt make them Dubs.

supermon (National) - 14/08/2019 14:13:09

Replying To BoynesideBlue:  "Supermon here's a question for you. David Gough is the second Slane GFC man to referee inter county football who was the first"
Not a clue!! Whoever reffed the row between St Patrick and the High King.

supermon (National) - 14/08/2019 22:54:24

NFL 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Needed the two points, solid performance without being at the heights of the Dublin game. The winning margin flattered us a little, was never a nine point game but fair play to the lads hammering home the numerical advantage. Conor McCarthy was simply magic and seems to be finally living up to the potential. Mayo were severely depleted today missing a host of first teamers. David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Brendan Harrison, Colm Boyle, Matthew Ruane, Seamus O'Shea, Jason Doherty, Donal Vaughan and Cillian O'Connor. Kinda puts the result into perspective."
Can only beat what's in front of you. And ultimately our level of performance has been top class in this league against anyone we have played. Yes they were depleted but what of it. We are very very unlucky not to be sitting in top spot this week given how each game has gone.

supermon (Monaghan) - 23/02/2020 19:08:27

Dublin Vs Monaghan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "We lost the last two league games to them - one where the lads were just off the plane and clearly not up to speed, the other via a late, deflected goal in a dead rubber. I honestly can't remember the last time we've lost to Monaghan in league or championship. I wouldn't put any stock in this "Indian sign" stuff."
I honestly can't remember the last time we've lost to Monaghan in league or championship?????????????? Eh did you not answer that in your post in the first sentence? The last two league matches?

supermon (National) - 06/02/2020 06:45:46

Malachy's Successor - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Farney:  "Niall Kearns being out of the team has nothing to do with getting flogged.. Barry Kerr going to the USA was not because he played too much football.. Malachy rested Kieran Hughes most of 2018 when he was coming back from injury and he was still injured for 2019. We are short of players and that is because we have a small pool of players. We are not Dublin\Kerry\Cork We have a great bunch of lads who put everything into playing for their county.. They would rather win than experiment and hope for a good day in the future.. Don't get me wrong.. we do need to improve the young lads and those who may have missed out. But what inspires them is playing against the top teams and beating them regularly."
Come on. Small pool or not, we have to start playing someone new. It becomes a question trust. Trust that you have picked new players as best you can, develped them as best you can and then take a leap of faith a throw them in. It has to be done eventually. Putting it off for short term gain with tried and trusted is myopic. Best place to take the leap of faith is the league. Management and players should be given the breathing space to allow for improvement of performance, which is more than just putting points on the board on a league table. In my opinion a player like O'Hanlon might have improved more if he didn't have the likes of McManus around him for a number of games in the league. I know that might not make sense to many, but if you think about it, he would have been the marquee forward for those games, forced into taking responsibility. With McManus there, you have his aura and presence overshadowing him. He is the main man, most of the scores go through him. Look its all a balancing act when introducing new players and mixing them with the older ones. I really think we got the balance totally wrong last year. I think it should be changed up totally next season. Fresh faces all over the park. I think the Monaghan public would have a level of understanding here if results didnt go our way, especially if we know that we have the few older and experienced aces still up our sleeve ready to come in closer to championship. Unfortunately if it is the same players losing league games like last year, thats when one would worry.

supermon (Monaghan) - 20/09/2019 22:26:20