Popular Posts from ziggy32001

Meath v Kildare Semi-final - 19 Like(s)
thinking about this now,if we had rammed a few goals in against louth and looked solid at the back we may be going into this game with too much confidence. not sure how many teams have perfect displays first game out,kerry last week too.. look at dublin,if we played carlow and lead by a few points until their best player got sent off,many here would be seriously worried. another thing that might stand to meath is the fact that our character has been called into question more than kildare and we showed that character or spirit if you want. in the league questions were asked after the kildare game.we were 9 points down in cork and got a draw.andy wasn't happy but we responded in devastating fashion against fermanagh. we eeked out a result against galway when it looked like galway had turned the tide. against louth we were by far the better side,but we responded brilliantly to their freak goal in the 2nd half and went on to win it easily. we could have crumbled there. how many times were kildare in possible tricky situations that they came through? if this game is tight with 10mins to go,i would strongly fancy us to edge it.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 15/06/2017 17:22:52

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I like your optimism but you are probably alone in thinking the win is a given for Meath. Meath appear to be going in the right direction and the signs are good but this is the biggest test since Andy has come in. I think a fair preview of the game would have Kildare slight favorites given Kildare beat us (well) in league in Navan , got promoted out of the division with a game to spare and while both teams played well in previous round we conceded 3 goals and could have conceded more. We are unlikely to win if we concede 3 goals again."
just on that.. louth beat us well in the obc only a week or 2 before the kildare game. plus the year we lost to westmeath we hammered them in the league that year. trust me,league game means nothing.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 15/06/2017 17:24:26

Replying To bert09:  "Where was the support for o Sullivan?"
thats it he had no support,nobody ran off him. menton did well today,but we win no breaking ball. kildare are good,but they also showed more desire,hunger today. i thought the poor workrate was a thing of the past.sadly it showed up again today.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 17/06/2017 23:09:50

Replying To SS6:  "How was this mentons best game in a meath jersey but his man got on team of the week and rightly so? Doesn't say much."
feely played really well,but so did menton. menton worked his socks off and was doing the work of 3 men. often the only player looking for the ball from kick outs,got a few scores,beat feely a few times(not easy to do) ,but not meathman looking for the breaks.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 19/06/2017 20:32:07

Meath v Kildare Semi-final - 18 Like(s)

Replying To condae99:  "Any word is toher fitt for Saturday.if he is I think he will start.james mcentee could start ahead of eamon wallace.when will the team be picked"
according to the meath chronicle he should be ok and power should be available too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 15/06/2017 23:20:21

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "They were talked about...won all stars and a player of the year award ! Their was buzz in Kildare when Mcgeeney was in charge ! If you can cast you're mind back Ziggy hoganstand had a lot more Kildare posters on hoganstand back then also ! Thats all you need if you never really had much to begin with ! If Andy had the same kinda success as Mcgeeney (4 quarter final appearance, all ireland semi final..division 1 football) ...would you not be happy enough Bunny Ziggy ?"
fair points,spose that is generally the best kildare do. :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 26/06/2017 21:48:34

Replying To thekillercrow:  "We are absolutely blessed that Kildare beat us last weekend. After watching what the dubs did to Westmeath today I can't even begin to imagine what they'd do to us seeing as Westmeath are ahead of us at the moment"
how are westmeath ahead of us? they were in d4 this year..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 25/06/2017 20:36:02

good workrate and teamwork for down in their win against monaghan and i think we have better players than down.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 24/06/2017 22:39:13

Replying To redser123:  "Exactly right and question has to be asked where was Jones? Never looked to get on the ball, never offered himself for a kickout, to be honest it looked to me as if he was hiding on the pitch and that's unacceptable at intercounty level"
he didn't play great,but it was always gonna be difficult for him in a game like this. he is only new and had no games in the league. has potential for sure. important we get lads to reach that potential,because some players who had potential seem to just stagnate. one of those was taking off at half time last week.. we do need to win more dirty ball around midfield and lads who have a good instinct for breaking ball, tobin is good at this and needs to play wing back imo. also conlon has these traits and is good at holding the middle.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 22/06/2017 22:07:33

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Streets ahead of us? Give us peace."
sure he had a moan in the meath juniors post so pinch of salt and all that..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 26/06/2017 08:32:55

Replying To redser123:  "Biggest concern tomorrow is undoubtedly midfield, despite people thinking its Mickey Burke, Kildare won everyone of their own kickouts v laois, l incredible stat, Jones and Menton are very undersized compared to moolick and feely who are both outstanding"
midfield isn't about the 4 midfielders though,it is about the section of the field. but i do agree feely in particular is outstanding. menton though has got better at the position,jones is good but has only had one proper champ game,be interesting to see how he does tomorrow.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 16/06/2017 19:18:39

Replying To Jinxie:  "Same 15 as started v louth."
would be surprised if it is to be honest. keoghan needs to be corner back. not suited to 6 and needed at corner back. playing burke would be a huge risk.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 16/06/2017 08:53:45

Replying To royalcounty1:  "Just thought I would put this up here according to google O'Connor park is actually a bigger playing surface 145m*90m compared to croke park's 144.5m* 88m. So can we stop saying a small pitch will suit meath or suit kildare. I expect there to be changes before the throw in, Eamon Wallace could be switched to spring off the bench and could possibly see cian O'brien come in as another pressence for the kickouts."
toher is in,o'brien won't play.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 16/06/2017 08:54:43

Replying To meath1977:  "we are better off not in the leinsterfinal looking at that. God help the Lillies lol"
the lillies are far better than westmeath. westmeath's effort pathetic.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 25/06/2017 17:32:52

Replying To OldSchoolRules:  "Ye boys might like this I found

https://performtraynor.wordpress.com/2017/06/21/meath-warmup-performance/"
spot on that.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 24/06/2017 16:57:12

Replying To redser123:  "No, keoghan needs to stay 6 and stay on niall Kelly Kildare's best player"
keoghan's positioning is questionable at 6. he is a warrior and does great work,but often strays from his position at the wrong times.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 16/06/2017 10:44:20

Replying To redser123:  "Of all counties in Ireland I think Meath use this "youth"excuse more than any other county, he was nowhere near good enough , he was making meaningless runs, most of his running was chasing feely & moolicks tails, very surprised he's starting, I would have been OK with it if he played some league games but he didn't play a second in the league, I felt sorry for Menton he had no help in midfield"
menton worked his socks off,if the rest of the team put in the workload he put in,we had a chance to win the game. mentally you would still question many of our players. if things don't go right early for some of our players,their heads just drop and they stop trying. you can tell which ones do that. things didn't always go right for o'sullivan, however, he kept trying to get on the ball and did not hide and that is the correct mentality. you may not always play well,but you gotta keep going,work hard and play for the team.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 23/06/2017 08:26:26

Replying To GerryD:  "From an outside perspective, Gaa supporters around the country have been waiting for Meath and Kildare to mount a serious charge on Dublin for years and this looked like the year to do so. On tonight's performance, Kildare are two years ahead in their development. Meath badly need to get to div1 to figure out for themselves what it takes to cope with the big boys. Monaghan had to yoyo for years between div1&2 and it's served us well. It takes time. It will only happen with the right aptitude and know your place and what you need to do. On the game itself, the basics were missing... - No kick out strategy. Kicking long played in to their hands. This is crazy and distrusted your own gameplan. - Backs exposed one on one for the entire game. Your half forwards came back to pick up loose ball, not to tackle or lend a hand. Shur I could do that!!,! - Game passed by too many players. You have to get in to a game like this not waiting for it to come to you. Biggy should have gone to the half back line to collect one ball just to get on it and make plays, build confidence etc. - tackling looked poor, mainly because you were tackling individually and not supporting in groups. - Management should have had a plan to stop Kildare, they looked solely focused on the Meath game plan. - Lastly and most unforgiving of all - it looked like you were playing together for the first time. No cohesion, no teamwork, workrate, no leaders, no character, nobody wanted to take control of the sinking ship. Hard work trumps everything so if the players only bothered to put their bodies on the line and show their anger and frustrating by trying harder, the score (not the result) would have been different. Players body language suggested "not my man...I did my job....it wasn't my fault". If the players can sit down and take ownership and responsibility for that performance this morning it's a quick fix but if they need to be told - it could be a long road ahead. Best of luck lads. Gaa needs a strong Meath team."
really good post and you are right my friend. strange thing is,in the league we got better and better and those things you highlighted to be been absent were there in the last 4/5 games. so was surprised with what i saw.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 18/06/2017 11:15:00

Replying To condae99:  "Mickey newman on the bench aswell now"
any idea who else is on the bench?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 16/06/2017 22:42:31

Replying To thekillercrow:  "Keoghan has to go back to 2. Can see early changes with power in before half time."
yeah he is top class at 2,and also our defence as a whole looks steadier with he and mcgill in the full back line.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - 16/06/2017 11:03:08