Meath Vs Mayo

Replying To runnerin:  "Heard last night they both left the panel but how true that is I'm not sure"
Yes it's Andy McEntee's fault Ben Brennan can't kick handy frees over the bar when it counts against Dublin. Not once. Not twice. But three times.

Graham Reilly was a great servant and put in some stellar performances over the years for Meath but at this stage as we head to Div 1 football, neither will be a loss in my opinion.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 28/07/2019 12:58:20    2217521

Replying To runnerin:  "Heard last night they both left the panel but how true that is I'm not sure"
I heard a cow jumped over the moon last night, but how true that is I'm not sure.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 28/07/2019 14:55:12    2217582

I think Ben Brennan got more than enough chances to perform this year and unfortunately his form was dipping by the game. I did think however he played well when he came on against Clare and could have made a good impact sub. Biggy only started one game all year and put in a decent shift against Dublin but his shooting has been poor all year and was making less and less of an impact when coming on every game. He is the type of player who needs to be playing near full games all the time to stay sharp.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 28/07/2019 17:02:21    2217675

Replying To jackhackett:  "Thanks Royaldunne.

A poster asked on here if anyone else had heard if Flanagan and Reilly were out.

Neither player were on the 26 on Sunday but nowhere have you pointed out where it was widely said on Facebook/Twitter or by journalists in advance of Sunday that Graham was injured.

Like Andy even told the media on Sunday after the game that Graham had food poisoning during the week. Nowhere is he quoted that Graham was injured.

He is quoted in this week's Meath Chronicle that Ben is struggling with an injury.

As for Flanagan, he took a ful part in the warmup on Sunday so it doesn't look like he was injured."
Correct Flanagan took a full part in the warm before the Mayo game but he wouln't Have been involved only Ronan Ryan cried off due to his hamstring injury. Flanagan wasn't On the official 26. As for Biggy, info from within the camp was he just left out of the 26 against Mayo for his poor performances of late.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 28/07/2019 17:41:44    2217716

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Are Graham Reilly and Ben Brennan still on the panel or are they gone?"
Both still on panel. From what I've heard

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/07/2019 20:47:21    2217845

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I think Ben Brennan got more than enough chances to perform this year and unfortunately his form was dipping by the game. I did think however he played well when he came on against Clare and could have made a good impact sub. Biggy only started one game all year and put in a decent shift against Dublin but his shooting has been poor all year and was making less and less of an impact when coming on every game. He is the type of player who needs to be playing near full games all the time to stay sharp."
Both are still on panel.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/07/2019 20:48:54    2217847

sad if true they are gone.Biggy put some effort in over the years for him to go that way would be sad,would have been nice to play his last game v Kerry if he is retiring .As for Brennan think he is injured don't think he is gone.I think he has got a lot of stick after the Dublin game yes he missed a few handy free's and it hurt us no doubt but you could have taken off any of the six forwards that day they all missed handy score's,dropped balls and misplaced passes everyone can have off days.His workrate is great and v Clare not only did he kick a good point,he was back looking for the ball helping out the defence at the end when we were under the real pressure and you wouldn't see that on TV you have to be there,the amount of times he made himself available for defenders under pressure was impressive.So for me the way we play under Andy,Brennan has a lot to offer but that is just my opinion I ain't no expert.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 28/07/2019 22:11:38    2217890

Replying To seadog54:  "Again you are looking at results that on closer inspection fail to back up your argument, the Armagh,Cork and Donegal teams we played in league were vastly different teams that lined out in Championship. We should have beaten a very understrength Donegal in league but to say they struggled to beat us in league final or super 8s is at best wishful thinking. Your constant waffle about age profile and talent coming through is just the stuff of bar stool talk. Every team in the country could list young lads they hope will make it, you seem to be of the opinion that the rest of the country will stand still while we improve. There is no arguement that our defensive has improved but during league they did not face many of the best forwards due to injury and its outlandish to claim we have a better defence than some Division One teams, given we have conceeded 4-36 in two super 8 games to date. Give any team 2/3 top class forwards and of course they will improve, the problem is finding these lads. The game of football has totally changed over the last few years, history lessons and manipulation of statistics to suit an arguement, will not make Meath a better team."
The part were you call age profile waffle and bar stool talk. Ur entitled to ur opinion and I respect ur and everyones opinion here. But I do believe that age profile of a player is significant. Young teams dont win All Irelands. Only 3 teams have done it hurling eg Cork 1966 , Cork 1999 and Clare 2013. And only two young teams have won All Irelands with numerous under 21 players eg kerry 1975 Meath 1996.

Most All Ireland winning teams the average age is 27. Most sportspeople eg gaa , soccer, rugby etc start to peak at 26 and reach a peak at 27 28. Not all some players peak in their early 20s eg Trevor Giles. Others have great years in their 30s eg Andy Moran. But most do peak circa at 27. In 2021 2022 the class of 2012 minors and few other will be reaching the age of 27 28. Players like Seamus lavin , Conor McGill , Shane Gallagher, Shane McEntee, James McEntee, Cillian Sullivan , Bryan McMahon Barry Dardis, Ruari O Coilean, Adam Flanagan.

Anyway here our a few stats. eg hurling All Ireland winners recently who peaked at 27. Im not saying we will win an All Ireland when the above reach that age profile..But I could see us winning leinster title in 2021 or 2022. I could be wrong I cannot read the future but I do believe that footballers hurlers sports people and teams many of them peak around 27.

Here are the last Hurling ten All Ireland winners and their average age

2009 Kilkenny hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 27
2010 Tippearey hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 24
2011 kilkenny hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 27
2012 kilkenny hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 27
2013 Clare hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 23
2014 kilkenny hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 27
2015 kilkenny hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 27
2016 Tippearey hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 25
2017 Galway hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 27
2018 Limerick hurling All Ireland winners average age of team 24

Tippearey average age of team that will play in this year hurling final in 2019 is 27. What are the chances Tippearey will win the liam Mcarthy with the average age of players 27.

So in kilkennys last 5 All Ireland wins the average age of the team was 27 on each occasion .
In last ten years, 6 of the hurling All Ireland winners the average age of the team was 27.
The rest where two All Ireland winners who had average age of 24 , and one team that had average of 25 and one had one of lowest ages ever average of 23.
So kilkenny last 5 All Ireland wins and Galways win in 2016 the average is 27. And if u look at any decade in hurling or football u will see majority of teams who win All Irelands in any decade the average age of a winning team is around 27.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/07/2019 03:31:57    2217951

Replying To seadog54:  "Again you are looking at results that on closer inspection fail to back up your argument, the Armagh,Cork and Donegal teams we played in league were vastly different teams that lined out in Championship. We should have beaten a very understrength Donegal in league but to say they struggled to beat us in league final or super 8s is at best wishful thinking. Your constant waffle about age profile and talent coming through is just the stuff of bar stool talk. Every team in the country could list young lads they hope will make it, you seem to be of the opinion that the rest of the country will stand still while we improve. There is no arguement that our defensive has improved but during league they did not face many of the best forwards due to injury and its outlandish to claim we have a better defence than some Division One teams, given we have conceeded 4-36 in two super 8 games to date. Give any team 2/3 top class forwards and of course they will improve, the problem is finding these lads. The game of football has totally changed over the last few years, history lessons and manipulation of statistics to suit an arguement, will not make Meath a better team."
The part were you call age profile waffle and bar stool talk. Ur entitled to ur opinion and I respect ur and everyones opinion here. But I do believe that age profile of a player is significant. Young teams dont win All Irelands. Only 3 teams have done it hurling eg Cork 1966 , Cork 1999 and Clare 2013. And only two young teams have won All Irelands with numerous under 21 players eg kerry 1975 Meath 1996.

Most All Ireland winning teams the average age is 27. Most sportspeople eg gaa , soccer, rugby etc start to peak at 26 and reach a peak at 27 28. Not all some players peak in their early 20s eg Trevor Giles. Others have great years in their 30s eg Andy Moran. But most do peak circa at 27. In 2021 2022 the class of 2012 minors and few other will be reaching the age of 27 28. Players like Seamus lavin , Conor McGill , Shane Gallagher, Shane McEntee, James McEntee, Cillian Sullivan , Bryan McMahon Barry Dardis, Ruari O Coilean, Adam Flanagan.

Anyway here our a few stats. eg hurling All Ireland winners recently who peaked at 27. Im not saying we will win an All Ireland when the above reach that age profile..But I could see us winning leinster title in 2021 or 2022. I could be wrong I cannot read the future but I do believe that footballers hurlers sports people and teams many of them peak around 27.

Tippearey average age of team that will play in this year hurling final in 2019 is 27. What are the chances Tippearey will win the liam Mcarthy with the average age of players 27.

So in kilkennys last 5 All Ireland wins the average age of the team was 27 on each occasion .
In last ten years, 6 of the hurling All Ireland winners the average age of the team was 27.
The rest where two All Ireland winners who had average age of 24 , and one team that had average of 25 and one had one of lowest ages ever average of 23.
So kilkenny last 5 All Ireland wins and Galways win in 2016 the average is 27. And if u look at any decade in hurling or football u will see majority of teams who win All Irelands in any decade the average age of a winning team is around 27. This is because as I said at the start this can be the age so many sportspeople peak 27 28.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 29/07/2019 06:16:17    2217953

Replying To Aloblack:  "Yep proven winner . 1 trophy out of how many available since he's been in charge of Kells. Put the fishing rod away fella."
Feis cup last year and league this year make 2 cups if my maths are correct. Add to that the league final which they lost by a point and the Championship semi-final last year. Feis cup semi-final again this year, unbeaten in the Championship so far. No other club comes close to this for consistency. You don't do that with bad forwards, or a bad manager.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 29/07/2019 18:08:09    2218374

Replying To latouche25:  "Feis cup last year and league this year make 2 cups if my maths are correct. Add to that the league final which they lost by a point and the Championship semi-final last year. Feis cup semi-final again this year, unbeaten in the Championship so far. No other club comes close to this for consistency. You don't do that with bad forwards, or a bad manager."
But you can do all that when the best players in Meath are missing from January to July

When the cats away the mice will play ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 29/07/2019 18:59:18    2218390

Replying To Furlong1949:  "The part were you call age profile waffle and bar stool talk. Ur entitled to ur opinion and I respect ur and everyones opinion here. But I do believe that age profile of a player is significant. Young teams dont win All Irelands. Only 3 teams have done it hurling eg Cork 1966 , Cork 1999 and Clare 2013. And only two young teams have won All Irelands with numerous under 21 players eg kerry 1975 Meath 1996.

So kilkenny last 5 All Ireland wins and Galways win in 2016 the average is 27. And if u look at any decade in hurling or football u will see majority of teams who win All Irelands in any decade the average age of a winning team is around 27."
You have totally missed my point, the post about age profile was in reply to you listing several young Meath hopefuls who you tell us will (not might) progress and peak in a certain year. How can you state that with such certainity? Every county could produce such a list, at best its just wishful thinking. Again you reply is just a jumble of statistics and as you know stats can be manipulated to suit either side of an argument. Indeed you cannot predict the future, however you are very prone to making dubious predictions on a regular basis.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 29/07/2019 20:22:23    2218447

Replying To latouche25:  "Feis cup last year and league this year make 2 cups if my maths are correct. Add to that the league final which they lost by a point and the Championship semi-final last year. Feis cup semi-final again this year, unbeaten in the Championship so far. No other club comes close to this for consistency. You don't do that with bad forwards, or a bad manager."
So let me get this straight, not only do you rid of mcentee....you want him replaced by Lar Wall????

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 29/07/2019 22:05:41    2218508

Ok sorry. A league title this year and a Mickey mouse cup last year . As well as a few semi finalist medals and a medal for losing the league final by a point. Also they lost the 1/4 final of the championship last year so get the auld facts right there lad. Sure Andy has achieved nothing. Intermediate championship with Ashbourne all Ireland minor final with meath against all odds. Dublin senior championship and all Ireland club championship.. yep ur right get rid of him and get Lar Wall in because he's won 1 league and 1 won charity shield with a full team against a bunch of depleted teams with county lads missing. Ye clown

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 29/07/2019 23:27:41    2218543

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "But you can do all that when the best players in Meath are missing from January to July

When the cats away the mice will play ?"
So now your making excuses. No county men missing in any finals or championship.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 30/07/2019 01:11:30    2218558

Replying To southmeathgael:  "So let me get this straight, not only do you rid of mcentee....you want him replaced by Lar Wall????"
They are your words. But we could do worse.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 30/07/2019 01:12:49    2218559

Replying To Aloblack:  "Ok sorry. A league title this year and a Mickey mouse cup last year . As well as a few semi finalist medals and a medal for losing the league final by a point. Also they lost the 1/4 final of the championship last year so get the auld facts right there lad. Sure Andy has achieved nothing. Intermediate championship with Ashbourne all Ireland minor final with meath against all odds. Dublin senior championship and all Ireland club championship.. yep ur right get rid of him and get Lar Wall in because he's won 1 league and 1 won charity shield with a full team against a bunch of depleted teams with county lads missing. Ye clown"
Good lad aloblack, who's the clown, we don't have the charity shield in the GAA that's a different sport, lad. Paddy Carr also won Dublin Senior, Leinster and All Ireland final I haven't called for him to be manager. You talk about getting to an all Ireland minor final, you forgot to mention they won nothing, in fact created another bit of unwanted history. Losing 3 times in that campaign, lad. You talk about Mickey mouse competitions the reality is there is 3 senior competitions in Meath, none of them is called Mickey mouse. No club treat them anything like that either. If county players are not allowed or choose not to take part that's their issue.
As for me calling for Lar Wall being installed as Meath manager you really need to learn to read. I simply asked if he was available. You lose credibility when name calling and silly comments. Stick to the facts.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 30/07/2019 12:30:22    2218699

Replying To latouche25:  "Good lad aloblack, who's the clown, we don't have the charity shield in the GAA that's a different sport, lad. Paddy Carr also won Dublin Senior, Leinster and All Ireland final I haven't called for him to be manager. You talk about getting to an all Ireland minor final, you forgot to mention they won nothing, in fact created another bit of unwanted history. Losing 3 times in that campaign, lad. You talk about Mickey mouse competitions the reality is there is 3 senior competitions in Meath, none of them is called Mickey mouse. No club treat them anything like that either. If county players are not allowed or choose not to take part that's their issue.
As for me calling for Lar Wall being installed as Meath manager you really need to learn to read. I simply asked if he was available. You lose credibility when name calling and silly comments. Stick to the facts."
lar wall is doing a good job with kells,a tough dogged team to beat with a quality forward line,who have a chance of winning senior no doubt but why are we talking about replacing Andy Mac?in my opinion (I ain't no expert)he at least deserve's a crack at division 1and the championship next year and see how we go there.What will be interesting is will nally stay?As I've said in another post he has done a great job but usually only sticks around for a year or so,would be a blow if he goes.I am sure there are others who may want Andy gone,but who do you replace him with?I think we need stability going into division 1,it's going to be hard enough there without having a new manager and his idea's to get used too.Anyway that's just my opinion on it but I do understand and respect anyone's who differs from mine.If we all agree it would be a boring world haha

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 30/07/2019 13:32:38    2218728

Nallg is the man there at minute who has us playing a certain way i think we all acknowledge that so to progress it he hss to give us another year.this and few more lsdx brought in has to b mcentees target for next year.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 30/07/2019 14:17:34    2218741

Replying To latouche25:  "Good lad aloblack, who's the clown, we don't have the charity shield in the GAA that's a different sport, lad. Paddy Carr also won Dublin Senior, Leinster and All Ireland final I haven't called for him to be manager. You talk about getting to an all Ireland minor final, you forgot to mention they won nothing, in fact created another bit of unwanted history. Losing 3 times in that campaign, lad. You talk about Mickey mouse competitions the reality is there is 3 senior competitions in Meath, none of them is called Mickey mouse. No club treat them anything like that either. If county players are not allowed or choose not to take part that's their issue.
As for me calling for Lar Wall being installed as Meath manager you really need to learn to read. I simply asked if he was available. You lose credibility when name calling and silly comments. Stick to the facts."
Yeah because I thought we had the charity shield in GAA. your sarcasm meter is clearly off there lad. And my point stands . Your calling for Lar wall as he has a proven record of winning things yet Andy has won more than him as a manager. Looks let's call a spade a spade u clearly have some personal gripe towards mcentee. Why?? Who knows maybe your a disgruntled player who couldn't cut the mustard under Andy or your a family member of someone who couldn't? Or maybe it's because the entire Kells team aren't on the meath panel? Or perhaps your just one of these Gaa fans who are only happy when their complaining about something , who go to games hoping their club or County loses so they can slate the people involved back in the pub that night . All club and counties have these lads and u definitely seem like one. Lar wall is an excellent manager and had done a great job and fair play but neither or him or anyone should be considered for the job at this moment in time and they won't be. Your saying you weren't calling for him to be installed as meath manager but were enquiring was he available? Well clearly he's not as he's the Kells manager at the moment Fact remains we have the best man in the county in charge of the Senior team and will get a least 2 more years in charge after what him his coaching team and the players have a achieved this year so the likes of you who seem to be happier when the team is struggling will just have to suck it up and get on with it.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 30/07/2019 15:04:07    2218766