Meath Vs Mayo

Why oh why do we keep trotting out the same names that should be involved in the inter-county set up. The one that grates me most is Podge McKeever, obviously a fine footballer but he has walked away from the panel at least twice and possibly 3 times. I have no problem with any player choosing to walk away because of the huge commitment it requires but have a problem with him being described as some kind of saviour in waiting.
O'Caoileann was back on panel and picked up an injury at the wrong time if he stays at it he certainly has something to bring in the half forward line.
If Jones and Lenihan were to return it would seriously boost us. but time will tell.

We need a new keeper, that has been obvious for quite a while, There is no way that our starting keeper should not be even considered the best keeper in his club. Andy burned bridges when he brought Joe into the panel a couple of years ago, he needs to resolve that.

In the backs I feel that we are quite competitive, obviously improvements would help but particularly the full back line has stood up very well. Ronan Ryan has been a big loss over the past number of weeks he adds greatly to the depth.

Midfield is a big issue, I would not question his effort or dedication but the simple fact is that Shane McEntee is not an intercounty midfielder. He has neither the size to influence a game or the ball playing ability to effect the game enough. Menton badly needs a partner.

We need a go to forward in the mould of McBrearty, Lenihan was shaping up to be that and I think he would really have thrived under the system this year, hopefully he returns to the fray.

Our option taking in the Red Zone yesterday was shocking at times. We simply have to start converting a higher number of opportunities if we are to develop further.

I have been to every game the past number of years and the progress we have made is serious but we have not beaten a team that we weren't expected to as yet. If we can iron out some of the things mentioned, we will. Great to see the confidence of Young Walsh certainly one for the future.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 22/07/2019 14:34:12    2214736

Brian Conlon would be an asset to the team but he wont play in green and gold with Andy Mcentee as manager.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 22/07/2019 15:06:04    2214758

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Paddy isn't wrong. We won't get close to Dublin for the next 10 years. No chance. The underage talent they have coming through is scary. Our underage is improving but it won't beat dublin's talent for the next decade.

We have improved and should be better if certain players would commit. Brennan the keeper or Hanlon from Kells to name two. Maybe after this year they will. Winning a Div 1 league is the highest honour we could realistically win and should be the aim of the team. After that worry about making the super 8's or an all Ireland semi final."
We have improved this season, achieved all the objectives we set out to achieve at the start of the season. We now have something to build on. We wouldn't have gotten anywhere near this if we'd all adopted the defeatist attitude that POR took or a number of posters on this forum.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 22/07/2019 15:11:35    2214763

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "Brian Conlon would be an asset to the team but he wont play in green and gold with Andy Mcentee as manager."
That's grand so. Good luck to him. Let him off.His loss and when he's older and wiser he'll regret that decision. Especially if the team keeps improving and Andy ends up in charge for another 4 or 5 years .

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 22/07/2019 15:33:45    2214777

Replying To longroadback:  "Why oh why do we keep trotting out the same names that should be involved in the inter-county set up. The one that grates me most is Podge McKeever, obviously a fine footballer but he has walked away from the panel at least twice and possibly 3 times. I have no problem with any player choosing to walk away because of the huge commitment it requires but have a problem with him being described as some kind of saviour in waiting.
O'Caoileann was back on panel and picked up an injury at the wrong time if he stays at it he certainly has something to bring in the half forward line.
If Jones and Lenihan were to return it would seriously boost us. but time will tell.

We need a new keeper, that has been obvious for quite a while, There is no way that our starting keeper should not be even considered the best keeper in his club. Andy burned bridges when he brought Joe into the panel a couple of years ago, he needs to resolve that.

In the backs I feel that we are quite competitive, obviously improvements would help but particularly the full back line has stood up very well. Ronan Ryan has been a big loss over the past number of weeks he adds greatly to the depth.

Midfield is a big issue, I would not question his effort or dedication but the simple fact is that Shane McEntee is not an intercounty midfielder. He has neither the size to influence a game or the ball playing ability to effect the game enough. Menton badly needs a partner.

We need a go to forward in the mould of McBrearty, Lenihan was shaping up to be that and I think he would really have thrived under the system this year, hopefully he returns to the fray.

Our option taking in the Red Zone yesterday was shocking at times. We simply have to start converting a higher number of opportunities if we are to develop further.

I have been to every game the past number of years and the progress we have made is serious but we have not beaten a team that we weren't expected to as yet. If we can iron out some of the things mentioned, we will. Great to see the confidence of Young Walsh certainly one for the future."
Agree with you on the trotting out names! I am sure Andy has everyone in the panel who wants to play for Meath and who he wants to work with. When people say if Lenihan comes back - he is back playing with Dunboyne at the moment?

On the Keeper side of things - who is the best club keeper playing in the county at the moment?

Backs - Thought our backs were good yesterday - McGill, Keoghan are top class, Lavin was excellent. Harnan and McCoy are very good too! I thought Shane Gallagher had his hands full with Coen but he still did well enough and I think he has been one of our best this year. Ronan Ryan is also a fine player and I think we have a decent back up of backs around the county!

Midfield - I thought Menton was very good yesterday - he works hard and does a decent defensive job as well a good role supporting the forwards. I don't think midfield is Shane McEntee's best position - he appears to be filling a gap and in fairness he is probably a better half back and could be playing there! Who are the best club mid fielders in the County at the moment?

Forwards - I think forward play is as much about getting the balance right among the forwards as getting the best individuals out there! We had some good link play yesterday but also some bad link play. Brian McMahon is a fine player who puts in a huge amount of work for the team playing from 11 but in my opinion he is a corner forward and could cause serious damage there! I thought Shane Walsh did really well when he came on - and I admit I thought he wouldn't be ready for it yet! Conlon is a handful but only when he gets the ball in close to goal. When he gets it out near the 45 he is easier to manage and I don't think he is as good a scorer from distance! Newman is a handful too! There are plenty of other forwards coming through Ben Brennan (deserves another run), Ethan Devine did well yesterday in parts, Daragh Campion will mature too and there are others to yet to mature fully - (Costello, Ahern, McBride)

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 22/07/2019 15:46:36    2214787

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "We have improved this season, achieved all the objectives we set out to achieve at the start of the season. We now have something to build on. We wouldn't have gotten anywhere near this if we'd all adopted the defeatist attitude that POR took or a number of posters on this forum."
Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2019 16:47:14    2214830

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "Brian Conlon would be an asset to the team but he wont play in green and gold with Andy Mcentee as manager."
Brian Conlon isn't showing near the promise that he showed in the first year Simonstown won the championship. Needs to get his own game right before he is worrying about playing or not playing for Andy McEntee.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 22/07/2019 17:01:43    2214838

Replying To Barney123:  "Brian Conlon isn't showing near the promise that he showed in the first year Simonstown won the championship. Needs to get his own game right before he is worrying about playing or not playing for Andy McEntee."
Think he would be way down pecking order , would he make the panel??? Doubtful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2019 17:37:20    2214854

Replying To Analyst:  "Has Dardis, Campion, Shane Walsh or Thomas O'Reilly got a proper chance to make am impact on this team. Talk of the Wallace's and Alan Forde is ridiculous. Our "system" seems to require our forwards bar one to retreat to our 45 m line and then slowly move up the field via handpassing. Not saying any of the above are the answer but give them a proper chance."
I take your point with walsh and campion they would be my subs but dont think dardis and Thomas o'reilly are inter county forwards, just think eamon Wallace has way too much talent to ignore even if he is inconsistent, I never mentioned bringing back Alan Ford, ruairi o'caoilean if he can ever stay fit is a inter county starter all day

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 22/07/2019 17:40:00    2214856

Our decent backs that we could convert into forward?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 22/07/2019 17:40:52    2214857

Replying To Aloblack:  "That's grand so. Good luck to him. Let him off.His loss and when he's older and wiser he'll regret that decision. Especially if the team keeps improving and Andy ends up in charge for another 4 or 5 years ."
Imagine how good conlon could be if he listened to mcentee and nally

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 22/07/2019 17:43:16    2214858

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Well lads, disappointing in the end for you but I really think you have the makings of an excellent team there. Those defenders are something else and I think they will keep you in a lot of games. It's further up the pitch you have issues and I think retaining possession is the big one so your goalkeeper and kickout strategy needs a bit rethink.

Overall though I wanted to pop in to say it's great seeing Meath at the business end of championship again and I think with a few tweaks you'll be in a good position to retain Division 1 status next year.

Hopefully you give Kerry a right old rattle in Páirc Tailteann!"
We only beat loais Carlos offaly and Clare. Dont get too excited

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 22/07/2019 18:32:19    2214887

Replying To bert09:  "Imagine how good conlon could be if he listened to mcentee and nally"
Without getting into a bashing thread or anything, what is the story with Conlon and McEntee and also with Biggy being dropped?

Eri (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 22/07/2019 18:34:23    2214888

It pretty simple why are we fading in last ten minutes.

We are a division 2 up and coming young team ( I Donegal were in div 2 but they are not division 2 team they are in top 3 teams in country). Division 2 up and coming teams need to peak twice in one year eg once in the spring and second in Summer . Division 1 teams have to peak once in the summer. Division 1 teams just need to stay in divsion 1. Division 2 teams need to finish in top 2. Division 1 teams all their training is focussed on the July to peak for July. Division 2 team need to peak Feb March April and then in the summer. This is very hard to do and teams in general especially up and coming teams fail to do so. All the teams in Meath position who had good div 2 campaign had a poor championship in recent years. Actually been the first team in 11 years to lose leinster final and win next qualifier, reaching leinster final and super 8 and going toe to toe with Mayo and Donegal for 60 mins is the best any promoted div 2 team has done in years and is a very good sign for the future and pretty damn good going.

Last year Cavan and Roscommon won promotion to div 1 . They peaked in the spring. Both had dreadul championships. Cavan were knocked out early and Roscommon got real bad hammerings in super 8s.
In 2017 Galway were promoted from div 2 to div 1.They peaked in the spring and had poor championship. Roscommon hammered them in Connacht final and Galway were awful when kerry knocked them out of the championship. kildare were also promoted to div 1 in 2017. They played well v us , but were hammered by Dublin. The media tryed to hype up the performance but that leinster final kildare v Dublin in 2017 was over after 20 mins. Kildare were knocked out of championship by Armagh and kildare were very poor that day. I could give many more examples going to back when Laois won a div 1 league title in 1986 and lost first championship match to Wicklow. Our when Kildare under Dwyer reached div 1 league final in 1992 and were knocked out of the championship in first round to louth.

So div 2 teams that get promoted to div 1 when it comes to the summer their form dips because theyre training is all to peak in spring. To ask young up and coming amateurs to peak twice in one year is very very difficult. And all the teams that were promoted from div 2 followed up with very very poor championship. We have actually done well compared to promoted teams last year and recent years eg Roscommon and Cavan and kildare and Galway in 2017. Even Colm Nally said after the Donegal loss about how teams like Donegal and Mayo all.their training is to peak in summer.

That is it. That is the reason why we fading in last ten minutes. Yes experience is an issue also. But the issue of peaking twice in one season for young team.is not really possible. Under such circumstances our performances have been really good and really encouraging for the future.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/07/2019 19:28:00    2214917

Replying To bert09:  "Imagine how good conlon could be if he listened to mcentee and nally"
Exactly. He is the one who has to apologize and work to get considered until he does this no point even talking about the situation.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2019 19:29:21    2214919

And why is that?? In my opinion the ball was totally in conlons court, he had to work that little bit harder. Alot of faith put in him for 1 good game v Donegal, he was very average since then

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 22/07/2019 19:41:58    2214926

Replying To Jackpot:  "We only beat loais Carlos offaly and Clare. Dont get too excited"
Ridiculous comment. Meath are unrecognizable from 3 years ago, when Andy took over i would have laughed at you if you had of said we'd be in division 1 next year and in the super 8s, a young team with an average age of 24 or 25, a solid looking defence, loads of work done but loads still to do, meath football is in a decent place right now and only a fool would disagree, so if you don't mind, we will get a bit excited

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 22/07/2019 19:51:00    2214933

Replying To Jackpot:  "We only beat loais Carlos offaly and Clare. Dont get too excited"
Objectives set out in January.
1. Get promotion to division 1. Check
2. Reach Leinster final. Check
3. Reach super 8s. Check.

Cop on with ur anti Meath bs, I have come to the conclusion from looking from Dublin cast offs, to the running down of Meath management, players, supporters, and their accomplishments this year that u either are a very bitter player who was never good enough to represent co, or are infact a blow in from one of our neighboring counties who really has little time for Meath football, either way you are not worth paying attention to, and I'd ask others to do as I will, and ignore any future posts.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2019 19:52:39    2214936

We are on schedule everything is coming slowly together. To be successful in gaelic football it is a slow burner , it takes years and years of ups and downs, bad defeats, near misses , hard luck loses and morale victories to achieve ur aims. There are no ever overnight sucesses in gaelic football. There is odd exception once in a blue moon where team is a sucessful over night eg Dublin 1974 Meath 1996. But especially when it comes to a a traditional county in the doldrums it take 4 to 5 years before aims are achieved. It took Boylan Dywer and late Eugene McGee 4 to 5 years to turn the corner. It took Jimmy Barry Murphy Nicholas English kevin Walsh and many more 4 or 5 years to achieve their aims, years of ups and downs.

2 years ago I said on this form because of the above examples and that are players age profile would peak at 26 27 28. I predicted 2 years go on this forum we would improve this year and make impact in year 4 of McEntees tenure. I know no one likes a no it all.

The point is here if u examined the evidence closely the signs were there we were going improve this year. No one in the media or in gaa community thought we would get promoted this year or reach super 8 , no one was saying this in January 2019. People didnt see Meath improving. Actually most people were predicting Meath would be relegation candidates and many said we would be relegated in the media and in the gaa in general . Tomas O Se predicted in January we would be relegated to div 3 along with Tippearey. Everyone expects us to be relegated next year. But With McEntee in his 4th year , players returning eg lenihan Wallaces Jones Forde Kennelly O Coilean Kane. New talent coming through eg Costello Mitchell McBride, younv players developing furthrr eg Walsh Campion Conlon and Devine and players peaking eg Harnan 24 , Lavin 24 , Gallagher 25 , Sullivan 25 , McEntees 25 , McGill 26 , it very obvious are going to be stronger next year.

Two years ago on this forum
1 I predicted in McEntees first two years we was going to be no or little progress. That proved to be right
2 I predicted two years on this forum we would improve in year 3. I predicted at start of the season on this forum we would get promoted. That proved to be right
3 I predicted two years on this forum we would make an impact in championship in year 4 and year 5. And I feel they are all still very very attainable.
4 I predicted two year on this forum we would win leinster title in 2021 or 2022. 2 years that seemed not very attainable. I think to say Meath could win leinster title in 3 years time doesnt sound that outlandish now.

So we are on target. I expect if we get 4 games in Navan and get teams like Galway in Navan ( they haven't beaten us in Navan in near 40 years ) we have a great chance of staying in div 1.
But with ten games v top teams in ten months by next years championship we will be much better able to deal with Mayo or Donegal. And I expect us to reach super 8 next year and we will beat Donegal or Mayo or Tyrone next year. We r on target. We are definitely going in the right direction to where we all.want to be. By end of this year McEntee is half way through this rebuilding job. When McEntee took the job it was always a 6 or 7 year job to get Meath back to where we all want us to be. We are on target.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/07/2019 20:01:10    2214939

We also beat Armagh comprehensivly by 6 points this year also. An Armagh team many in the gaa were praising throughout the year. Armagh team which had it best season in this decade. We defeated kildare comprehensivly even though it was one point it should have 7 or 8. kildare were red hot favourites to win promotion and reach super 8 at the time. We defeated Fermanagh by 7 points. A Fermanagh team that reached Ulster final last year had a great league and have best organised outside div 1. We comprehensivly defeated Cork by 6 points. Yes Cork have improved but beating Cork by 6 point in Cork seen Cork beat us by 5 points last year is a big turnaround. We played the second or thirs best team in the country 3 times and they struggled three times to beat us. We went to toughest place in the country to play twice and Donegal struggled to beat us twice. We dominated Donegal til 63rd v second best team in the country in the league in Donegal. We were dominate v Donegal in league final in first half and lost by 2 points. kildare a week earlier lost by 11 point to Donegal. And we went toe toe with second or third best team in country in the championship for 55 mins and v one of the teams of the decade , the best team to never win an All Ireland we wwbt toe to toe for 60 mins. Last year we nearly knocked out the All Ireland finalist, lost contervesialy by 1 point after extra time.

The difference since Longford game is huge Last year we won 3 games this year we won 10 games. The most games Meath hace won since 2009 . Since 2001 this year and 2009 are the years we had the most competitive wins. We kept Dublin to their lowest first half championship score since 2011. And we were first leinster team in 11 years to win next qualifier after losing leinster final. And are only team ever to lose leinster final and beat a team from top two divisions in their next qualifier. Kildare beat division 4 Wicklow in 2009 after losing leinster final and Dublin beat division 3 Sligo after losing leinster final in 2001.

If u look at the full picture serious progress has been made this year. Our defence is the best defence in div 2 div 3 div 4 teams. And we have better defence and defenders then some div 1 teams. We need 2 to 3 top class forwards but hopefully the young forward talent coming through can make a difference.

We reached div 1 for first time in 13 years.
We reached 8 team div 1 for first time in 22 years.
We won 3 games in leinster for first time since 2010 and reached our first leinster final in 5 years and reached quater final for first time in 9 years and only for the 5th time in our history. We have made serious progress this year. And many of our footballers are improving by the game eg Seamus lavin , Conor McGill , Shane Gallagher, Gavin Mcoy, Bryan McMahon.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/07/2019 20:34:57    2214952