Let's Take Over Ballybofey

For the travelling fans on Sunday it'd be great if we could bring a bit of noise and atmosphere to Ballybofey to inspire the team in what is a daunting task. Meath fans over the past decade in my opinion have been poor at this, we tend to refrain from chants, bringing flags, banners and the lot. Let's try and replicate the hurling fans you'd see down in Munster. If we could agree to pick a terrace behind one of the goals to group together it'd be great and would add to the spectacle. Thoughts?

RealTalk101 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 11/07/2019 00:13:29    2209312

Any good spots to go in letter kenny saturday watch games in telly have few sociables

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/07/2019 08:50:09    2209337

We are not a soccer team. Gaa supporters are always mixed. No need for this.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 11/07/2019 09:40:48    2209356

Replying To Reco:  "Any good spots to go in letter kenny saturday watch games in telly have few sociables"
Will you go to the junior match if your heading down Saturday ? Its a bit earl.y
Galway v Meath, Dr Hyde Park, 1pm

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/07/2019 10:01:33    2209363

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Will you go to the junior match if your heading down Saturday ? Its a bit earl.y
Galway v Meath, Dr Hyde Park, 1pm"
Ye I'm goin that

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/07/2019 12:05:19    2209428

Replying To Reco:  "Ye I'm goin that"
Good stuff enjoy. Hopefully we can get a result best of luck aĺl involved.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/07/2019 15:15:55    2209546

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Good stuff enjoy. Hopefully we can get a result best of luck aĺl involved."
Cheers 2 wins b top class

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/07/2019 15:51:45    2209563

Replying To RealTalk101:  "For the travelling fans on Sunday it'd be great if we could bring a bit of noise and atmosphere to Ballybofey to inspire the team in what is a daunting task. Meath fans over the past decade in my opinion have been poor at this, we tend to refrain from chants, bringing flags, banners and the lot. Let's try and replicate the hurling fans you'd see down in Munster. If we could agree to pick a terrace behind one of the goals to group together it'd be great and would add to the spectacle. Thoughts?"
Great idea. Well done.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 17:22:36    2209606

Replying To Jackpot:  "We are not a soccer team. Gaa supporters are always mixed. No need for this."
The Dublin fans on the hill certainly aren't mixed and you can't help but admire the noise and atmosphere they bring to matchdays, they'd probably admit it's gone a bit stale in the last few years because of their domination. There's no doubt that this noise helps the team on the field and makes Croker an intimidating place for the opposition. No reason why every county can't establish a group of die-hard fans that create atmosphere both in at home and on the road. It will add to the spectacle. Everyone should start off simple on Sunday by bringing a Flag with them. Up the Royals

RealTalk101 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 11/07/2019 17:31:17    2209608

Yours will be grouped together leaving the ground around the 45 minute mark.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 11/07/2019 19:48:39    2209652

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Yours will be grouped together leaving the ground around the 45 minute mark."
Never leave before final whistle, and anyway why would we leave and not watch Meath win? Strange comment :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 20:03:02    2209660

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Yours will be grouped together leaving the ground around the 45 minute mark."
Its a long drive home and Meath will have Donegal well bate by then. So it makes sense.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/07/2019 21:08:09    2209694

Replying To RealTalk101:  "The Dublin fans on the hill certainly aren't mixed and you can't help but admire the noise and atmosphere they bring to matchdays, they'd probably admit it's gone a bit stale in the last few years because of their domination. There's no doubt that this noise helps the team on the field and makes Croker an intimidating place for the opposition. No reason why every county can't establish a group of die-hard fans that create atmosphere both in at home and on the road. It will add to the spectacle. Everyone should start off simple on Sunday by bringing a Flag with them. Up the Royals"
The last thing we want in Meath is a Meath version of the Dublin hill 16 crowd. Alot of dub lads on the hill wouldn't have clue. Although some of the comments on this from the likes of Royaldunce would worry you.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 11/07/2019 21:28:19    2209702

Replying To Jackpot:  "The last thing we want in Meath is a Meath version of the Dublin hill 16 crowd. Alot of dub lads on the hill wouldn't have clue. Although some of the comments on this from the likes of Royaldunce would worry you."
Thought you would be all for this, aren't you championing going after dubs with Meath grandparents, you know their cast offs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 22:11:43    2209724

Replying To Jackpot:  "The last thing we want in Meath is a Meath version of the Dublin hill 16 crowd. Alot of dub lads on the hill wouldn't have clue. Although some of the comments on this from the likes of Royaldunce would worry you."
A come on abit of an atmosphere would do no harm ! I think its a good idea ! Support the lads !
Give the lads that extra umph to get over the line

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/07/2019 07:08:52    2209778

Very poor meath crowd in Ballybofey today. For those who made the journey, fair play. We may have been low in number but the supporters really got behind the team the whole way.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1987 - 14/07/2019 20:38:12    2210968

Replying To men_of_49:  "Very poor meath crowd in Ballybofey today. For those who made the journey, fair play. We may have been low in number but the supporters really got behind the team the whole way."
Yeah for all the people posting comments on here and on Facebook when we are playing poorly you think there would be a great Meath following but it was poor.

I know its a long drive but this team is improving, giving it they're all and playing fairly good football.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 14/07/2019 20:57:20    2210993

Replying To men_of_49:  "Very poor meath crowd in Ballybofey today. For those who made the journey, fair play. We may have been low in number but the supporters really got behind the team the whole way."
I thought there was a decent cheer around the ground when meath scored some important points/goals.

Understandable why the bandwagon isn't here as they don't believe we'll get out of the group or beat Dublin. The next day out is Mayo in Croker. If that doesn't get the fans out then nothing will.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/07/2019 21:01:07    2210995

Too many keyboard warriors on this forum claiming to attend games but when push comes to shove will sit at home and watch on television.

Very poor Meath crowd but our voices were heard

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 14/07/2019 21:03:33    2210997

Replying To Royalio11:  "Too many keyboard warriors on this forum claiming to attend games but when push comes to shove will sit at home and watch on television.

Very poor Meath crowd but our voices were heard"
very true too many sitting on their thumps on Facebook disgraceful. too many Meath people living off the 80s and 90s teams. yes this team is not perfect but they have as much heart or more then any of the great Meath teams and that's from a man who have not missed a match since 1985.get off there @ and start supporting this young team

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 14/07/2019 21:27:14    2211024