Meath V Donegal

Is Sardis still on panel scored last night in pairc tailteann.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/07/2019 15:50:35    2209561

Yeah Dardis is still on the panel, thought it was strange he was let play. Is that an indication he won't play much of a part Sunday? He was impressive last night though.

Although I wouldn't start him he would be my first sub on.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 11/07/2019 17:11:38    2209598

Replying To Barney123:  "Yeah Dardis is still on the panel, thought it was strange he was let play. Is that an indication he won't play much of a part Sunday? He was impressive last night though.

Although I wouldn't start him he would be my first sub on."
Both dardis and campion are still on the panel.
There has been no one dropped and no one left, there has been 2 additional players added or so I heard, Walsh is one , I don't know who the other is . Maybe someone else does??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 17:20:55    2209605

Replying To Barney123:  "Yeah Dardis is still on the panel, thought it was strange he was let play. Is that an indication he won't play much of a part Sunday? He was impressive last night though.

Although I wouldn't start him he would be my first sub on."
Dardis had no mins last weekend so a full.game and the fact he played well in a competitive albeit club match is good for him and his county if he is needed at some point next Sunday or onwards.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 11/07/2019 19:21:07    2209638

Replying To royaldunne:  "Both dardis and campion are still on the panel.
There has been no one dropped and no one left, there has been 2 additional players added or so I heard, Walsh is one , I don't know who the other is . Maybe someone else does??"
Niall kane I think

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 11/07/2019 19:30:02    2209643

Replying To redser123:  "Niall kane I think"
Must be.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 20:01:31    2209659

Replying To redser123:  "Niall kane I think"
Good sub to have

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/07/2019 20:08:26    2209664

Would be great to see Niall back, still makes the hair stand up on the back of your neck thinking about his heroics in the snow in Navan against Kildare!

RoyalSteel (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 11/07/2019 22:49:19    2209744

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Another poster in the Clare thread said that COS doesn't bring anything to the team. You said you "didn't disagree" (so you agree). If someone made the same point about the likes of Biggie or Brennan, you'd be up in arms calling them keyboard warriors among other things.

Now just so I'm 100% clear, I don't stand for abuse of players (and there was a lot on Twitter after the Dublin game). That sort of crap is simply not on. As you stated previously, these players are giving up a huge chunk of their lives for this team. And they don't do it for sponsorship deals or free cars. That has to be applauded regardless.
However, backed up, constructive criticism of players after poor performances is OK in my view. They're grown adults. But you seem to lump every bit of criticism of your favourites into the "abuse" category. Brennan was justifiably criticised over his performance against Dublin. I didn't see any abuse of him here. Yet you've been screaming blue murder about "keyboard warriors" on here since Sunday.

Again, I've nothing against you criticizing certain players. It's more the complete and utter hypocrisy from you where you feel that any criticism of certain players (and McEntee) counts as abuse while you're coming out with similar criticisms about other players. It's extremely tiresome, especially when you back it up with accusing certain posters of being Dubs or having more than one account."
In my opinion I would enjoy reading this forum if it was more about the game

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 11/07/2019 23:21:37    2209754

Replying To Barney123:  "My team would be
Colgan
Lavin McGill Gallagher
Keogan Ryan Harnan
Menton S McEntee
J McEntee McMahon Devine
Brennan Newman Walsh

Bit of a different team. Think Ronan Ryan will be fit to play. This would be the last chance I give Shane McEntee, had a good league but been poor since then.

Think we need 4 forwards who will work, track runners and try stop them counter attacking at pace.

Just picked Walsh over Conlon, there isn't much in it but I don't think Conlon would suit playing against Donegal. Thought he did very well against Laois and it was the perfect way to answer the doubters. Shane Walsh would be stronger and more likely to win ball kicked in."
I generally dont put teams suggestions up but i would agree along those lines. I would start a second target man with Michael Newman, maybe Barry Dardis. I would start COS as he has pace to go with the attacking Donegal half backs.

1 Andrew Colgan
2 Seamus Lavin picking up McBrearty.
3 Conor McGill on Murphy. Free to sweep when Murphy mobes out field.
4 Shane Gallagher marking Jamie Brennan.
5 Donal Keoghan doong want Keoghan does best... everything.
6 Ronan Ryan (as I expect him available) holding centre/sweeping
7 Gavin McCoy picking up Langan.
8 Bryan Menton holding middle picking Hugh McFadden
9 Padraic Harnan dropping deeper covering Eoin Ban Gallagher's forward runs.
10 James McEntee (expect him to be okay) responsible for Gallagher allowing Harnan to pick up Murphy when he moves out the field.
11 Brian McMahon tracking Ryan McHugh.
12 Ethan Devine targeting Jason McGee on kickouts. (Between him and Menton)
12 Cillian O'Sullivan pushing back Paddy McGrath
14 Michael Newman target man #1 exploiting Neil McGee's slowing pace).
15 Barry Dardis target man #2 staying in deep.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 11/07/2019 23:48:48    2209763

Replying To winatallcost:  "Dardis had no mins last weekend so a full.game and the fact he played well in a competitive albeit club match is good for him and his county if he is needed at some point next Sunday or onwards."
Ageeed match time can only bring him on ! Sure anyone could get injured in training ! I Like Dardis and thing he brings a good option

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/07/2019 07:10:21    2209779

Replying To David:  "I generally dont put teams suggestions up but i would agree along those lines. I would start a second target man with Michael Newman, maybe Barry Dardis. I would start COS as he has pace to go with the attacking Donegal half backs.

1 Andrew Colgan
10 James McEntee (expect him to be okay) responsible for Gallagher allowing Harnan to pick up Murphy when he moves out the field.
15 Barry Dardis target man #2 staying in deep."
No a bad team although cant see how dardis will start hasn't been featuring much at all recently and also played A League on on Tuesday or Wednesday night just gone. Also if we are looking to exploit Neil McGee's slowing pace putting Mickey Newman on him is hardly the way to go.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 12/07/2019 09:01:41    2209797

While I do think Conlon could struggle on Sunday, I don't think it'd be fair not to start him. He won't learn anything if he only starts against the weaker sides and I think he's been our stand out forward from play so far in the championship.
Though if it is looking like he's simply not getting a sniff of the ball, he should be replaced early enough.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 12/07/2019 10:31:15    2209838

Replying To Aloblack:  "No a bad team although cant see how dardis will start hasn't been featuring much at all recently and also played A League on on Tuesday or Wednesday night just gone. Also if we are looking to exploit Neil McGee's slowing pace putting Mickey Newman on him is hardly the way to go."
Maybe so about Newman not being able to exploit space.

I would suggest putting 2 target men inside, but look to move Neil McGee around. Target Barry Dardis initially who can win his own ball and then has option to offload/recycle or go himself. Then look to bring Newman into play.

I would start Dardis, even though he has not got much championship match minutes lately, but neither did Thomas McGovern when started the last day. Dardis would also offer the larger presence if a high press on the kickouts, was inplemented. Then as the match would open up, I would introduce pace with James Conlon.

Just an opinion of how I would target their full back line, but I feel Andy McEntee will go with Conlon inside along side Newman. IMO their full back is their weakest albeit not a bad line.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 12/07/2019 11:44:11    2209888

I was pretty confidence of giving Dublin a run for the money. That didn't happen it was weird game. I was very nervous of Clare, I taught they might win. I wasn't sure. Clare game was all about getting a result with massive pressure on the lads. Donegal is a different kettle of fish. The team has picked elves of the floor and should ready to go again Sunday. Its a massive step up, But that's what the team wants to be. We left it behind us the last 3 times we meet against Donegal. I am confident we can put it up to Donegal if we get of to right start and dont let them dictate the game. We can win it.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/07/2019 11:49:21    2209889

Replying To David:  "I generally dont put teams suggestions up but i would agree along those lines. I would start a second target man with Michael Newman, maybe Barry Dardis. I would start COS as he has pace to go with the attacking Donegal half backs.

1 Andrew Colgan
15 Barry Dardis target man #2 staying in deep."
I would agree with that team apart from I would keep Harnan at 6, maybe leave Ronan Ryan on the bench and give Shane McEntee the nod at midfield.

I think Dardis has had his best impact off the bench

Think one has to play conlan when you look at his scoring rate apart from the Dublin game he is worth 3 or so points from play every match

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 12/07/2019 13:58:46    2209954

Replying To winatallcost:  "Dardis had no mins last weekend so a full.game and the fact he played well in a competitive albeit club match is good for him and his county if he is needed at some point next Sunday or onwards."
It's good to see Andy let non starters play with their club. Very good management on his part.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 12/07/2019 15:00:59    2209987

Anyone any ideas why Daragh Campion is not featuring in the championship.
A few on here have mentioned it but no one has offered any explanations….
During the league he was one of our best forwards, and kicked around 10 points from play not to mention the number of frees he drew and assists he had.
He played at centre forward for a lot of games despite being picked in either a wing forward or corner forward position.
A few points of note which might be relevant to the game this weekend.
He was our best player in the league game v Donegal in BBofey scoring 3 from play and Donegal tried 3 different players on him who are regulars - ie Ryan McHugh.
He is very accurate at kicking from distance. He is very mobile and has a class jinx when on the run.
he got ten minutes v Carlow and immediately set up a goal chance only for Ryan to be called for a square ball.
not a criticism of BM, BB or KoS but it hink he gave us more on the 40 and HF line . And definately in ahead of subs like Tobin, Dardis, McGovern who are very limited with what they bring and Walsh who is completely unproven.
looks like he was going to be a real exciting prospect for the future and its strange he isnt getting a real go in the championship.
Brilliant to see Devine, Ryan and Conlon deservedly get their chance and take it. I think Campion got his in the league and was brilliant but for some reason isnt part of the plan now...
any ideas meath gaels..

HJack (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 12/07/2019 16:50:11    2210026

For me it's all about Michael Murphy. He was brilliant in the div 2 final, but he was also dirty as can be and I think we will need someone to stand up to him, try and put him on the back foot. Without him I would think donegal would be fairly ordinary

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 12/07/2019 16:51:28    2210028

Replying To HJack:  "Anyone any ideas why Daragh Campion is not featuring in the championship.
A few on here have mentioned it but no one has offered any explanations….
During the league he was one of our best forwards, and kicked around 10 points from play not to mention the number of frees he drew and assists he had.
He played at centre forward for a lot of games despite being picked in either a wing forward or corner forward position.
A few points of note which might be relevant to the game this weekend.
He was our best player in the league game v Donegal in BBofey scoring 3 from play and Donegal tried 3 different players on him who are regulars - ie Ryan McHugh.
He is very accurate at kicking from distance. He is very mobile and has a class jinx when on the run.
he got ten minutes v Carlow and immediately set up a goal chance only for Ryan to be called for a square ball.
not a criticism of BM, BB or KoS but it hink he gave us more on the 40 and HF line . And definately in ahead of subs like Tobin, Dardis, McGovern who are very limited with what they bring and Walsh who is completely unproven.
looks like he was going to be a real exciting prospect for the future and its strange he isnt getting a real go in the championship.
Brilliant to see Devine, Ryan and Conlon deservedly get their chance and take it. I think Campion got his in the league and was brilliant but for some reason isnt part of the plan now...
any ideas meath gaels.."
I have no idea why he hasn't featured, heard a lad say during Leinster final. That he was injured, I have no idea if this is true or not. But Andy and selectors seemed very keen on him during the league so maybe it is true.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2019 17:23:19    2210038