Meath V Donegal

Replying To dickie10:  "has anyone got any suggestions on getting to letterkenny or ballybofey by public transport on saturday, i plan on returning on meath supporteters bus sunday"
A cie bus used to leave navan and go up trough cavan to letterkenny a good few years ago I presume it still does,think it stops in cavan town for about 15mins

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 11/07/2019 08:05:14    2209321

Replying To royalpad:  "Lads can I suggest yous open a new thread on the forum for the purpose of your personal sledging of each other and anyone who wishes to take part can do so and keep the Donegal v Meath thread to exactly that ."
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 08:42:09    2209331

Colgan

Lavin
McGill
Gallagher

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan/McCoy

Menton
McEntee

J McEntee
McMahon
Devine

O Sullivan
Newman
Conlan

This is what I expect to see. Only question mark for me is over Devine and whether or not Walsh comes in and O Sullivan flips back to the 40 but I don't expect so.

J McEntee will play to try counter Ban/McHugh (Harnan could be given this role with McEntee in half backs)

Leaves us with

Kane
Brennan
Reilly
O Reilly
McCoy
Devine/Walsh
Flanagan

this are decent options who shouldn't weaken the side by coming in

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 11/07/2019 08:44:15    2209334

Replying To royalpad:  "Lads can I suggest yous open a new thread on the forum for the purpose of your personal sledging of each other and anyone who wishes to take part can do so and keep the Donegal v Meath thread to exactly that ."
Well said lad

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 11/07/2019 08:48:21    2209335

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well that's a lie. Show me one post where I slated cillian. Go on one. ?
Or did you just dream it up???"
Another poster in the Clare thread said that COS doesn't bring anything to the team. You said you "didn't disagree" (so you agree). If someone made the same point about the likes of Biggie or Brennan, you'd be up in arms calling them keyboard warriors among other things.

Now just so I'm 100% clear, I don't stand for abuse of players (and there was a lot on Twitter after the Dublin game). That sort of crap is simply not on. As you stated previously, these players are giving up a huge chunk of their lives for this team. And they don't do it for sponsorship deals or free cars. That has to be applauded regardless.
However, backed up, constructive criticism of players after poor performances is OK in my view. They're grown adults. But you seem to lump every bit of criticism of your favourites into the "abuse" category. Brennan was justifiably criticised over his performance against Dublin. I didn't see any abuse of him here. Yet you've been screaming blue murder about "keyboard warriors" on here since Sunday.

Again, I've nothing against you criticizing certain players. It's more the complete and utter hypocrisy from you where you feel that any criticism of certain players (and McEntee) counts as abuse while you're coming out with similar criticisms about other players. It's extremely tiresome, especially when you back it up with accusing certain posters of being Dubs or having more than one account.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 11/07/2019 08:49:14    2209336

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Colgan

Lavin
McGill
Gallagher

Keogan
Harnan
Ryan/McCoy

Menton
McEntee

J McEntee
McMahon
Devine

O Sullivan
Newman
Conlan

This is what I expect to see. Only question mark for me is over Devine and whether or not Walsh comes in and O Sullivan flips back to the 40 but I don't expect so.

J McEntee will play to try counter Ban/McHugh (Harnan could be given this role with McEntee in half backs)

Leaves us with

Kane
Brennan
Reilly
O Reilly
McCoy
Devine/Walsh
Flanagan

this are decent options who shouldn't weaken the side by coming in"
Do we know if J McEntee and Kane are fit to feature? Also, no mention of McGovern and he started the last day. The real mystery for me is Campion - during the league he was being talked about as one of the more exciting Meath forwards to have emerged and he has barely featured since. Dardis also seems to have fallen down the pecking order. I suppose that can happen over the course of a longish campaign.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 11/07/2019 09:27:07    2209351

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Another poster in the Clare thread said that COS doesn't bring anything to the team. You said you "didn't disagree" (so you agree). If someone made the same point about the likes of Biggie or Brennan, you'd be up in arms calling them keyboard warriors among other things.

Now just so I'm 100% clear, I don't stand for abuse of players (and there was a lot on Twitter after the Dublin game). That sort of crap is simply not on. As you stated previously, these players are giving up a huge chunk of their lives for this team. And they don't do it for sponsorship deals or free cars. That has to be applauded regardless.
However, backed up, constructive criticism of players after poor performances is OK in my view. They're grown adults. But you seem to lump every bit of criticism of your favourites into the "abuse" category. Brennan was justifiably criticised over his performance against Dublin. I didn't see any abuse of him here. Yet you've been screaming blue murder about "keyboard warriors" on here since Sunday.

Again, I've nothing against you criticizing certain players. It's more the complete and utter hypocrisy from you where you feel that any criticism of certain players (and McEntee) counts as abuse while you're coming out with similar criticisms about other players. It's extremely tiresome, especially when you back it up with accusing certain posters of being Dubs or having more than one account."
I was talking about his comments on Brennan. So again totally wrong. I do think he runs into tackles to often and looses the ball. That's not slating him by any means. This is getting pathetic. As was said by another poster, start a new thread for sledging. Leave this as it is.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 09:39:20    2209355

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Another poster in the Clare thread said that COS doesn't bring anything to the team. You said you "didn't disagree" (so you agree). If someone made the same point about the likes of Biggie or Brennan, you'd be up in arms calling them keyboard warriors among other things.

Again, I've nothing against you criticizing certain players. It's more the complete and utter hypocrisy from you where you feel that any criticism of certain players (and McEntee) counts as abuse while you're coming out with similar criticisms about other players. It's extremely tiresome, especially when you back it up with accusing certain posters of being Dubs or having more than one account."
There is many with duplicate accounts. Known that for years. However again you missed my point. I was not accusing hs posters on here of abuse towards Brennan, I said on multiple occasions that the main one I was referring to was fb where people actually started targeting his family (girlfriend and child) I merely posted by displeasure on here. Please read through and see that I said social media, which is more than hs. Anyway I will leave it at that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 09:43:39    2209357

Replying To summerof09:  "Paddy Mc Brearty made his debut for Donegal as a 17 year old. If you're old enough, you're good enough as they say. Shane must be 18 shortly though?"
Right back to game.
You might be right It might work. I would be one happy camper if it did. but it would be big ask. But with Conlon only 21 or 22 sure to start making his fourth ever start for Meath. Giving he didn't start during the league. That would only be 5 starts between them. But if any of the forwards where not performing I would throw him in.

Colgan

Lavin McGill Gallagher

Keogan Harnan Ryan/McCoy

Devine Menton

McMahon Brennan J Mc Entee

O Sullivan Newman Conlan

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/07/2019 09:54:29    2209358

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Do we know if J McEntee and Kane are fit to feature? Also, no mention of McGovern and he started the last day. The real mystery for me is Campion - during the league he was being talked about as one of the more exciting Meath forwards to have emerged and he has barely featured since. Dardis also seems to have fallen down the pecking order. I suppose that can happen over the course of a longish campaign."
According to Nally, James Mc Entee should be fit and didn't feature the last day as precaution. Ryan is touch and go. Yes, Campion is a mystery to me he got plenty of time during the league. But dose'nt seem to make the match squad lately. Daris got a few runs but its not happening for Daris lately.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/07/2019 10:23:51    2209372

Well put Ratoath Royal.
Royaldunne has been constantly pushing cilles players and andy mc for picking them. To the extent of running down their rivals for places slyly.
He has rightly defended Andy Mc. from wrongly placed criticism while making even more badly misplaced criticism of the previous manager. Mainly stemmed from MOD picking on merit instead of posters favourites. It was neither MOD or his teams fault that they ran up against costly refereeing mess ups stopping them going further in qualifiers.
In fact still blaming MOd is like the fine gaelers defending their constant string of mismanagements by pointing to events 11 years ago

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 11/07/2019 10:25:13    2209373

My team would be
Colgan
Lavin McGill Gallagher
Keogan Ryan Harnan
Menton S McEntee
J McEntee McMahon Devine
Brennan Newman Walsh

Bit of a different team. Think Ronan Ryan will be fit to play. This would be the last chance I give Shane McEntee, had a good league but been poor since then.

Think we need 4 forwards who will work, track runners and try stop them counter attacking at pace.

Just picked Walsh over Conlon, there isn't much in it but I don't think Conlon would suit playing against Donegal. Thought he did very well against Laois and it was the perfect way to answer the doubters. Shane Walsh would be stronger and more likely to win ball kicked in.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 11/07/2019 10:51:53    2209389

Replying To Barney123:  "My team would be
Colgan
Lavin McGill Gallagher
Keogan Ryan Harnan
Menton S McEntee
J McEntee McMahon Devine
Brennan Newman Walsh

Bit of a different team. Think Ronan Ryan will be fit to play. This would be the last chance I give Shane McEntee, had a good league but been poor since then.

Think we need 4 forwards who will work, track runners and try stop them counter attacking at pace.

Just picked Walsh over Conlon, there isn't much in it but I don't think Conlon would suit playing against Donegal. Thought he did very well against Laois and it was the perfect way to answer the doubters. Shane Walsh would be stronger and more likely to win ball kicked in."
I liked Walsh when he came in, would actually play him Newman and Conlan in forward

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 12:22:02    2209435

Huge pressure on the guys last week and they came through it, think we'll be able to play with more freedom through the super 8s as nobody is giving us a snowballs.

Would love to see Harnan in midfield with Mento if Ronan Ryan is back, think it could be a great combination. I'd also have Walsh starting as I like what I saw the last day and two big men inside could cause problems similar to Newman and Dardis in the league final.

Defence remains outstanding, I know Clare put up a big score but a lot of those points kicked were from distance low percentage shots that just happened to stick on the day.....another day the majority of them go wide.

Remember lads we are all Meath supporters, some are glass half full and others are half empty by nature. Doesn't mean any of us want it more or less than others.

Really think we'll cause a few surprises in the super 8s because any analysis done on us is from the live games only, they haven't seen the old grit we have since the start of the league.

Hoping with the pressure off that the forced passes will no longer be and if so our forwards will click and be a match for anyone in our group.

RoyalSteel (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 11/07/2019 12:25:07    2209440

Replying To RoyalSteel:  "Huge pressure on the guys last week and they came through it, think we'll be able to play with more freedom through the super 8s as nobody is giving us a snowballs.

Would love to see Harnan in midfield with Mento if Ronan Ryan is back, think it could be a great combination. I'd also have Walsh starting as I like what I saw the last day and two big men inside could cause problems similar to Newman and Dardis in the league final.

Defence remains outstanding, I know Clare put up a big score but a lot of those points kicked were from distance low percentage shots that just happened to stick on the day.....another day the majority of them go wide.

Remember lads we are all Meath supporters, some are glass half full and others are half empty by nature. Doesn't mean any of us want it more or less than others.

Really think we'll cause a few surprises in the super 8s because any analysis done on us is from the live games only, they haven't seen the old grit we have since the start of the league.

Hoping with the pressure off that the forced passes will no longer be and if so our forwards will click and be a match for anyone in our group."
Yeah I'd have a forward line of Newman Walsh and Conlon to feed off them, Conlon is nippy and with high ball into two big men it could create lots of problems for donegal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 12:53:36    2209465

Interesting stat from last year S8's - of the 8 matches held in the provincial grounds (i.e outside of Croker) the home team only won twice. There was a draw between Kerry and Monaghan and the away team won 5/8. Now, I'm not saying that means we're going to beat Donegal but it goes to show that anything can happen at this stage of the championship.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 11/07/2019 13:04:54    2209473

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah I'd have a forward line of Newman Walsh and Conlon to feed off them, Conlon is nippy and with high ball into two big men it could create lots of problems for donegal"
I agree. I would probably have Devine, J McEntee if fit and one of O'Sullivan or McMahon in half forward line. Thought McGovern did fine on his debut and would be more than ready to come in if needed.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 11/07/2019 13:12:20    2209477

Replying To Ashrules:  "Well put Ratoath Royal.
Royaldunne has been constantly pushing cilles players and andy mc for picking them. To the extent of running down their rivals for places slyly.
He has rightly defended Andy Mc. from wrongly placed criticism while making even more badly misplaced criticism of the previous manager. Mainly stemmed from MOD picking on merit instead of posters favourites. It was neither MOD or his teams fault that they ran up against costly refereeing mess ups stopping them going further in qualifiers.
In fact still blaming MOd is like the fine gaelers defending their constant string of mismanagements by pointing to events 11 years ago"
Has there even been a more pointless inaccurate post on a thread about match before???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/07/2019 13:16:49    2209480

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah I'd have a forward line of Newman Walsh and Conlon to feed off them, Conlon is nippy and with high ball into two big men it could create lots of problems for donegal"
I think we have 2 big performances in us i really believe that , the one thing these lads will be saying to themselves is it will never be as bad as the dublin game , it could of been a blessing in reality in some ways , for me a decent performance which sets us up for Mayo is what i want , Mayo are beatable and then get Kerry to Navan.

meath1987 (Meath) - Posts: 126 - 11/07/2019 13:48:58    2209499

Replying To RoyalSteel:  "Huge pressure on the guys last week and they came through it, think we'll be able to play with more freedom through the super 8s as nobody is giving us a snowballs.

Hoping with the pressure off that the forced passes will no longer be and if so our forwards will click and be a match for anyone in our group."
Good post, agree with you that now the burden of pressure is off to a degree i would hope that players are allowed play a bit more freely. There is enormous pressure on players coming in to not make any mistakes and play it safe, those who deviate from this are removed immediately. Was in Navan last night and Dardis was the most dangerous player on view, Campion has gone without trace, O Reilly came on last Sunday and was taken off within minutes. Mc Govern comes from nowhere to start. There was a poster who made a suggestion that Cillian o sullivan could do a job at wing back and i wouldn't disagree although now is not the time for trying things like that. We have nothing to lose in these 3 games and everything to gain. Good luck to all

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 11/07/2019 13:51:43    2209500