Meath V Donegal

Replying To meath1977:  "very proud of this Meath we could have won this game. where are all the Meath supporters very poor show from them, they need to get off Facebook and start supporting our good young team"
Just home. And got to say I was embarrassed by the amount of Meath supporters there today. This panel will get better and then all the bandwagons will be on the go. But for those of us that drove 6 hours plus round trip. We have been there in the bad the improving and when we get there the good times.
They deserved better support today.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2019 21:39:06    2211031

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just home. And got to say I was embarrassed by the amount of Meath supporters there today. This panel will get better and then all the bandwagons will be on the go. But for those of us that drove 6 hours plus round trip. We have been there in the bad the improving and when we get there the good times.
They deserved better support today."
yes very true where I was with my son not one Meath person around us I was shouting on top of my lungs against all the arrogant Donegal supporters . our Meath supporters who have been on top on their games on Facebook ready to to sick the knife in to this very young and courageous Meath team which has been disgraceful all summer. thank so much to Andy and the Meath team for giving us so much all summer and so much to look forward too over the next few years

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 14/07/2019 21:55:14    2211042

Replying To meath1977:  "very proud of this Meath we could have won this game. where are all the Meath supporters very poor show from them, they need to get off Facebook and start supporting our good young team"
Here here. Poor representation today from Meath supporters.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 14/07/2019 21:58:57    2211044

Apart from our kick out issues, again our forwards especially our inside forwards are an issue. 4 points from play from 13-15 isn't enough at this level. Not finger pointing at all but these are the facts. If we look at Donegal McBreatty hit 1-3 from play. Having said that for 58-60 mins we were excellent. If we could improve our game management late on and tweak our replacements for next year we could be a serious force. Proud of the whole squad and management and let's give Mayo a real go next weekend.

seanboylansdonkey (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 14/07/2019 22:15:37    2211056

Replying To MillerX:  "More nonsense, kickouts are causing a problem, you say there is a strategy but it's not working, whatever you do don't blame management, more say don't blame the kicker, ah for fe** sake maybe we should blame the boots he is wearing or maybe even the socks or the tee. For kickouts to be effective we have to involve at least two elements, ie the kicker and the receiver. I should mention that other teams also involve decoy runners and thereby keep the opposition guessing but not us which is a real pity as the team is developing very well. If we had an effective kickout strategy it could contribute 5 or 6 points per match and at the same time deny our opponents the same amount. Now that would have made a big difference today and any day.

It's the next step in the evolution of this team."
Yes agree with this. Kick outs were a big issue I thought particularly as the game entered the final quarter and we will still well in it. But I think the outfield players need to somehow workout a better way to get some space, even if it is just outside the 20m line

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 14/07/2019 22:24:03    2211060

Replying To MillerX:  "More nonsense, kickouts are causing a problem, you say there is a strategy but it's not working, whatever you do don't blame management, more say don't blame the kicker, ah for fe** sake maybe we should blame the boots he is wearing or maybe even the socks or the tee. For kickouts to be effective we have to involve at least two elements, ie the kicker and the receiver. I should mention that other teams also involve decoy runners and thereby keep the opposition guessing but not us which is a real pity as the team is developing very well. If we had an effective kickout strategy it could contribute 5 or 6 points per match and at the same time deny our opponents the same amount. Now that would have made a big difference today and any day.

It's the next step in the evolution of this team."
Did I say they weren't a problem? Did I say the strategy was working? It's clearly not working. The reason for it not working? Well I think we all can see why it's not working. The lad just isn't up to executing the kind of kickouts required at inter county level. So you either change the strategy or change the keeper. My point was that people who are saying there's no kickout strategy whatsoever as in the management tell the keeper to go and do whatever u like are talking nonsense. Of course there's a strategy or course they work on the kickout strategy in training but it's just not working in games.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 14/07/2019 22:26:02    2211061

Replying To Aloblack:  "Did I say they weren't a problem? Did I say the strategy was working? It's clearly not working. The reason for it not working? Well I think we all can see why it's not working. The lad just isn't up to executing the kind of kickouts required at inter county level. So you either change the strategy or change the keeper. My point was that people who are saying there's no kickout strategy whatsoever as in the management tell the keeper to go and do whatever u like are talking nonsense. Of course there's a strategy or course they work on the kickout strategy in training but it's just not working in games."
Agreed. I think Andrew Colgan is a good shoot stopper but his kicking skills aren't good enough. Especially as the heat of the battle increases. If you watch the warm-up Colgan can do it but unable to kick it to the high accurate level required to be successful at intercounty level. And to add to this, IMO our midfielders aren't top high fielders. Colgan is more accurate short. Unfortunately this costs us approximately 4.5 points per match, if you calculate over this season's 14 competitive matches.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 14/07/2019 23:05:57    2211083

Replying To royalpad:  "Just home . 9 points not a true reflection . However we were beaten by a better and more seasoned team. It's a steep learning curve but I'm concerned we still making the same key errors . In order of magnitude ...
1. Goalkeeper is a massive concern . He is just not at the required level nor will he ever be and it is a poor reflection on Mgt that it is acceptable to concede 3-4 scores per game by either driving the ball across the sideline or straight to the opposition . Not to mention the other 20 Hail Mary efforts The at least 50% come straight back at us . No other county had to absorb this level of incompetence .
2. We continue to take too many balls into the tackle and get turned over . Surely we should be seeing less of this at this stage .
3. Shane McEntee is not an inter county midfielder . However worse still is his over indulgence on slowing down play and either passing the backward or sideways .
On the game itself Lavin was eminence , McGill played very well ,maybe over commutes to the tackle that led up the Donegal goal . Gallagher was also strong and had to take
One for the team late on .
Mention continues to perform to a high level . Upfront we are working hard but have to work very hard for scores .We tend to make the wrong decisions under pressure .
Hopefully next week we can up
Our game a few notches and beat what will be a wounded Mayo team and then welcome Kerry to Navan .
What a day that could be ......"
Agreed the goalie ain't up to it at this level, leave the kick outs aside he was faced with a one on one for their first goal and never reacted, witness Clarkes one on one save for Mayo v Kerry for what a county 'keeper should be able to do.
We do make the wrong decisions under pressure.
McGill did over commit for their goal, if you go for those you HAVE to win them especially against a forward of McBreatrys calibre.
We were unlucky not to have a second penalty as well.
Overall a decent effort fresh legs won out in the end, nut next week we face a team that has had as many matches as we have had in recent weeks.
Win that, and we can win it, we are likely to go into the last match still on for qualifying somehow or other.

BoynesideBlue (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 14/07/2019 23:20:37    2211089

Replying To royal1967:  "He was on holidays"
Just to post that ROC was not on holidays in case anyone thinks he was. He is injured.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 15/07/2019 00:27:07    2211108

That was our toughest game all year so fair play to Meath and the 9 points certainly flattered us. I think you have done us a massive favour by exposing our Achilles heel again of runners direct through the middle. Kerry will no doubt test thay next week. Paddy Mc Grath was a big miss for us today in that department.
Meath are certainly on the up and I've been saying since our league game in Ballybofey that your full back line is as good add any we've come up against. Lavin is some player and although Brennan got a few scores it's been his toughest opponent all year. I think Meath will kick on from this and expect them to beat Mayo.
Apart from the result I hope you enjoyed your visit to the forgotten county. Hoping for Meath and Donegal wins next week!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 15/07/2019 02:11:05    2211120

Replying To David:  "Here here. Poor representation today from Meath supporters."
Cop on will ya, 6 hour round trip for some of us, ya can be a good supporter wherever you are

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 15/07/2019 06:54:33    2211127

Replying To Aloblack:  "Nonsense. Clearly there is a kickout strategy but unfortunately the goalkeeper doesn't seem to have the ability to execute the kickouts that are part of the strategy."
Nonsense? Am I missing something here?

Management pick the team and the strategies. The goalkeeper implements the kickout strategy, the one instilled in training, challenge matches in him by the management etc

If the strategy isn't working or the keeper implementing the strategy is consistently not carrying out the strategy, then the blame lies squarely with management, they pick the team after all and they are letting down the rest of the players in this respect.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 15/07/2019 08:29:23    2211146

Subs:
Shane Walsh for Conlon 43;
Darragh Campion for Devine 45;
Sean Curran for S Gallagher bcard 57;
Graham Reilly for McMahon 62;
Adam Flanagan for S McEntee 65;
Thomas O'Reilly for C O'Sullivan 69

I didn't get to the game but looking at the subs it seems like they happened a bit too late to really effect things. Would that seem correct?

How did Shane Walsh do? I know Campion scored.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 15/07/2019 08:58:49    2211157

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just home. And got to say I was embarrassed by the amount of Meath supporters there today. This panel will get better and then all the bandwagons will be on the go. But for those of us that drove 6 hours plus round trip. We have been there in the bad the improving and when we get there the good times.
Did not get to Bally yesterday but will be in Crocker for Mayo match . I suspect the park tailteann match will be a training session for both teams ,so would not expect a big crowd . We were wiped out in the last 15 mins as we all know ....on radio commentator Matty was critical of the many changes made and said it unbalanced the side . Graham came on again ? Hard to credit this stuff ,but most of the criticism will focus on the goalkeeper . Keep in mind that the other goalie options jumped ship in the last few years . Mayo are at their lowest ebb ,but look like they still have the quality to turn us over , and Crocker will suit them . I know posters always refer to the support or lack of it on the terraces , but at the end of the day the guys have to do it for themselves ,and I have always
Lays found that the more support the opposition have the better our lads perform. . Anyway hope they give a good account ,this time for 70 mins rather that yesterday's 55 .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 15/07/2019 09:12:11    2211164

Have to agree , it was a very poor turnout for us tbh. Regarding the team we were right in the mix until last 12 or 13 mins but sadly Donegal had a good bench to turn to and that extra bit of experience to close this game out. On to Mayo now and a good day out in Croker.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 15/07/2019 09:27:49    2211168

Just to weight on the goalkeeping debate. I think Colgan has flaws no doubt he it costs us a few scores in every game. But people think kicking the ball over the side line happens only in Meath. It doesn't the Cork goalkeeper gave away a goal against Dublin and kicked over the sideline too. Look at any game you will see something similar. Balls go astray once or twice in games where the is a high press on the kick out.
I couldn't see a clear and obvious man free during kicks outs Colgan options where limited. Contrast that with Cluckston who has nearly 2 clear options every kick out which make life easier. Having said that Cork pressed Dublin kick out and Cork won a lot of in the first half in the middle of the field. I think we where out foxed with during kick outs and we where forced to kick shots close to the sideline etc.
And remember in the second half Colgan put to quick kick outs that where won by Mc Coy and called back for Donegal subs. with the result we had to go long and a the Donegal goal came of it. Which was a real kick it the teeth.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/07/2019 09:54:53    2211191

Thoughts:

- we were actually quite unlucky in terms of McGill's slip for McBrearty's goal, conlon hitting the post, mcentee blazing over when a goal was clearly on, the disallowed goal for square ball and i think we could have got another penalty on another day. Even if a couple of things went our way we could have been 4/5 points up with 15 minutes to play.
- having said that, I always felt Donegal had an extra gear and would have a hot spell which they did.
- our kickouts are killing us. Can anyone answer this? Why do we insist on kicking for the sideline and handing possession to the opposition when going long down the middle at least gives us some chance of winning possession? We are literally one of the worst teams in the country when it comes to kick-outs. This has to be sorted for next year as #1 priority with finding a second midfielder as the #2 priority.
- Conlon, Walsh and Devine certainly have potential but aren't ready for top flight football yet. Unfortunately, we don't have any more experienced players on the bench that are in form. Would be great to see Lenihan back next year. This time next year I would expect at least 1 if not 2 of Conlon, Walsh, Devine, McGovern and Campion to be well up to it.
- Our defence is one of the best in the country and I wouldn't swap them for anyone. Menton is a class act too and O'Sullivan, McMahon and Newman can be great on their day.
- The future is definitely bright. This is all great experience and we will be better next year. The age profile of our team is good and there is no reason why we can't be one of the top 5/6 teams next year. I hope the management team give it another two years as that is when this team will peak. I've seen enough this year to convince me that we can get to the last 4 and beyond which is amazing considering where we were a couple of years ago.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 15/07/2019 09:58:39    2211196

Replying To Barney123:  "Just to post that ROC was not on holidays in case anyone thinks he was. He is injured."
Just to show what some idiots post

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 15/07/2019 10:13:22    2211205

Replying To Crinigan:  "Nonsense? Am I missing something here?

Management pick the team and the strategies. The goalkeeper implements the kickout strategy, the one instilled in training, challenge matches in him by the management etc

If the strategy isn't working or the keeper implementing the strategy is consistently not carrying out the strategy, then the blame lies squarely with management, they pick the team after all and they are letting down the rest of the players in this respect."
Yeah your missing something . The nonsense part is people claiming we don't have a kick out strategy and that the players are sent out there to make it up as the go. That's the nonsense part. We have a strategy you can see clearly what we're trying to do but it's just not working. Change the keeper or change the strategy.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/07/2019 10:30:40    2211222

Brennan injured ??

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 15/07/2019 10:54:51    2211241