So It'S Clare

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "I would have been one of the ones on here bemoaning the fact that so many players stepped (or were pushed) away. I thought it was seriously hindering our ability to progress. I'm happy to say I was wrong and recent results prove that management did the right thing to move it forward by focussing on players who were 100% committed. The question for next year is whether we see any of those guys being re-integrated into the squad. I would think we will only see 1/2 players of that ilk as the current management won't want to disturb the current work ethic."
Yes. I totally agree. You cant build a team to try and to take on the Dublin's Kerrys unless your 100% committed.
I heard Bernard Flynn saying when he joined the Meath squad and he was laying low in the rushes in Bettystown during a training session and he was caught and was ripped apart for it. He didn't do it again. The training session was probably designed weed out lads that where not committed.
Also I heard Johnny Doyle saying he was delighted going to his first training session with Kildare he picked up a knock and Micko O'Dyer told him head on home. He was sure whether to come back or not. It was test to see how committed he was. The rest is history. We do seem to have a narrowed it down to committed bunch of players lately which is refreshing.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 03/07/2019 15:07:53    2204956

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yes. I totally agree. You cant build a team to try and to take on the Dublin's Kerrys unless your 100% committed.
I heard Bernard Flynn saying when he joined the Meath squad and he was laying low in the rushes in Bettystown during a training session and he was caught and was ripped apart for it. He didn't do it again. The training session was probably designed weed out lads that where not committed.
Also I heard Johnny Doyle saying he was delighted going to his first training session with Kildare he picked up a knock and Micko O'Dyer told him head on home. He was sure whether to come back or not. It was test to see how committed he was. The rest is history. We do seem to have a narrowed it down to committed bunch of players lately which is refreshing."
Commitment, desire & workrate is huge in the modern game, regardless of the (adult) level you are playing at if you want to be successful.

Andy McEntee seems to have or is developing that in this current group of Meath footballers, (albeit the skillset is improving in toe).

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 03/07/2019 20:40:34    2205121

we need to bring a huge meath support on sunday to portlaaoise which i think there will be. we really need to have a wall of green and gold and roar for the meath team to rattle clare. they wont be used to that at all, there not an ulster team, who could thrive in a partizan atmosphere. we need to get out and support the team big time. are many heads on here heading up behind the town end goal in portlaoise here meath fans traditionally gathered vs westmeath in 2002 and 03 and galway 2007? great atmosphere to get the team over the line in those games i think its required on sunday . if you were there then your presence is required at 2pm sunday again. COYBIG

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 03/07/2019 23:09:22    2205223

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "I don't agree. Freedom of the county for what ?. Nally has saved his bacon if ye ask any players around the squad. Andy is to abrasive, and loads of players don't want to play for Meath and Ye have to wonder why. Sure the journalist who had a pop at him was out of order but he as manager can't behave like that .

I also think he is poor tactically and poor on the line. Lumping ball Into wee Conlon says it all. Some tactic that is. We should be beating Clare but there is simply no certainty with Andy McEntees teams. Laois comfortably beat Offaly but Offaly should have beaten us. I would not be surprised if Clare put it up to us in big way."
There was a hint of sarcasm in my post

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 03/07/2019 23:16:21    2205229

Replying To dickie10:  "we need to bring a huge meath support on sunday to portlaaoise which i think there will be. we really need to have a wall of green and gold and roar for the meath team to rattle clare. they wont be used to that at all, there not an ulster team, who could thrive in a partizan atmosphere. we need to get out and support the team big time. are many heads on here heading up behind the town end goal in portlaoise here meath fans traditionally gathered vs westmeath in 2002 and 03 and galway 2007? great atmosphere to get the team over the line in those games i think its required on sunday . if you were there then your presence is required at 2pm sunday again. COYBIG"
Was there v Westmeath. I've season ticket. I know they will be for stand. But sure might try to divert myself

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2019 23:25:10    2205232

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Yep thats right thats the full 31 counties. The only county we havent played in championship is london. But we have now played everyone else. Of Course we have played everyone in leinster. Even kilkenny footballers . Our last game v Kilkenny was in 1979 and the one before that was 1923. We have actually played kilkenny 10 times in the championship with 7 wins and 3 loses. 9 of those games were before 1923.

In Connacht we have of course played the big three with excellent record v Roscommon 4 wins no loses and also an excellent record v Mayo with 5 victories 1 draw and 1 lose. We have played Sligo once and that was in 2017. And we have played Leitrim once and that was a win in 2005..We have a great record v the West. We have only been beaten twice in 70 years in the championship v Connacht teams eg Galway in 1966 and Galway in 2001.

In Ulster we have played all the counties all the big ones eg Down Donegal Tyrone Armagh and Derry. We have played Derry once in 1987 , we have played Fermanagh 3 times in 2003 , 2004 and 2007. We have played Monaghan once in 2003. We have played Antrim 2 times with two victories in 1951 and 2005.

Down south we have played Cork and kerry many times. We have played limerick twice in 2008 and 2009. We have played Waterford once in 2009 and Tippearey once in 1896 in the All Ireland final of 1896 where we lost 0 - 4 to 0 - 3 to Tipp. .And we will play Clare for the first time on Sunday and that will be the full 31 counties, the only ones left out are London and New York"
Also beaten by Galway in 1940 & 1964 in semifinals

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 04/07/2019 09:25:14    2205308

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "My recollection is that it was nip and tuck in the first half and Clare had missed a few good chances. We kicked on in the second half largely due to Graham Reilly and a couple of others stepping up. I'm fully expecting it to be tight on Sunday and will be won in the last 10/15 minutes so our bench will be needed. This is a huge opportunity for Clare so they will go out on their shields."
In the past 3 meetings between the counties Graham Reilly has been magnificent

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2019 09:26:40    2205309

Replying To royaldunne:  "In the past 3 meetings between the counties Graham Reilly has been magnificent"
So there is a team who don't begin with "W" that he is also good against

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 04/07/2019 11:50:06    2205377

Replying To royaldunne:  "In the past 3 meetings between the counties Graham Reilly has been magnificent"
Id 100% start him of fit

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/07/2019 12:48:17    2205403

I actually would start him against Clare. Its his level and has proven time and time again that he can produce the goods against the likes of these

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 04/07/2019 12:56:47    2205408

Replying To Aloblack:  "I actually would start him against Clare. Its his level and has proven time and time again that he can produce the goods against the likes of these"
No. I would be totally against it. It did not work against Dublin, in fact it was a disaster, Reilly has been at he most effective in years coming of the bench against tired legs,

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 04/07/2019 13:10:41    2205420

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "No. I would be totally against it. It did not work against Dublin, in fact it was a disaster, Reilly has been at he most effective in years coming of the bench against tired legs,"
Yeah your right he has been most effective coming off the bench this year. Im just thinking of his track record v Division 2/3 teams. He tends to score a lot when we play them

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 04/07/2019 14:30:36    2205463

We need to keep something in reserve. If it's still tight with 10/15 to go Clare will smell blood and we will be under real pressure. You don't want to be relying on the likes of a Campion, Devine or Conlon at that stage to get us over the line. That's where Reilly will come in useful with his experience.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 04/07/2019 15:44:25    2205493

Replying To Analyst:  "So there is a team who don't begin with "W" that he is also good against"
Classy. From a guy who thinks those that turned their back on county should be groveled to to come back. And make a classless attack on a man who has given everything to his county. Very classy of you.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2019 17:11:12    2205538

Replying To royaldunne:  "Classy. From a guy who thinks those that turned their back on county should be groveled to to come back. And make a classless attack on a man who has given everything to his county. Very classy of you."
There's 2 sides to every story rd.
Knowing them prob would help with that argument but in reilly he's not been used right running up and down the field after a half back is pure stupid from coaching point of view. He b better suited to do conlans job inside.b stronger and quick off the mark. Let's hope from tactics point of view we have him and the rest the forwards in their best positions.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 04/07/2019 18:35:29    2205566

Taken from a very comprehensive analysis of Meaths style of play since start of league by Eamon Donoghue of the Irish Times.

"Reilly has come on in each of Meath's 11 matches - league and championship. Meath's combined scoring aggregate rises from +17 to +37 after his introduction and he has scored 1-6 himself".

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gaa-statistics-meath-s-direct-running-game-faces-the-ultimate-test-1.3931300

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 04/07/2019 20:10:08    2205600

I think we need Graham Reilly as an impact sub just as we did in the crucial league games such as the one against Kildare in Navan. In a way I can understand the logic in starting him against the Dubs as there was a possibility that the Dubs could be out of sight by the time Reilly would be introduced so Andy decided to go with him from the start.

But it didnt work out so its back to plan A and keep Graham as a sub about 10 minutes into the second half.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 04/07/2019 20:32:32    2205606

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "I think we need Graham Reilly as an impact sub just as we did in the crucial league games such as the one against Kildare in Navan. In a way I can understand the logic in starting him against the Dubs as there was a possibility that the Dubs could be out of sight by the time Reilly would be introduced so Andy decided to go with him from the start.

But it didnt work out so its back to plan A and keep Graham as a sub about 10 minutes into the second half."
I don't disagree with that one bit. My point was that certain poster thought a sly dig at a man who has given his entire life to Meath gaa, lives and breaths football, coaches ladies football,does camps for kids and has turned up at every training session even when injured , getting grief from a keyboard warrior, no way graham has more class in his little finger tip than that big man will have in his entire life.
On the issue itself, yeah agree, it was a throw of the dice graham has not got 70 plus minutes of inter county football in him any more especially the way Meath play now. But he has 35/40. Obviously manager made a call the last day exactly as you said to keep us in game. It didn't work and I'd expect plan a to be reinstated on Sunday

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2019 21:03:19    2205628

Replying To seadog54:  "Taken from a very comprehensive analysis of Meaths style of play since start of league by Eamon Donoghue of the Irish Times.

"Reilly has come on in each of Meath's 11 matches - league and championship. Meath's combined scoring aggregate rises from +17 to +37 after his introduction and he has scored 1-6 himself".

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gaa-statistics-meath-s-direct-running-game-faces-the-ultimate-test-1.3931300"
Yes I read that interesting . Relliy coming attracts attention he is a power runner when he gets going. and frees up others player's. Also in that article it says keoghan only kicked the ball once in the first 3 championship games. That's terrible LOL.. if I was played I would have got at least 3 kicks at it...

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 04/07/2019 21:40:54    2205647

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't disagree with that one bit. My point was that certain poster thought a sly dig at a man who has given his entire life to Meath gaa, lives and breaths football, coaches ladies football,does camps for kids and has turned up at every training session even when injured , getting grief from a keyboard warrior, no way graham has more class in his little finger tip than that big man will have in his entire life.
On the issue itself, yeah agree, it was a throw of the dice graham has not got 70 plus minutes of inter county football in him any more especially the way Meath play now. But he has 35/40. Obviously manager made a call the last day exactly as you said to keep us in game. It didn't work and I'd expect plan a to be reinstated on Sunday"
Yes he has been a great role model in tough times for Meath football.

Graham still has a role to play. He definitely had a crucial role in getting Meath promoted. His ball into Thomas Reilly resulting in the penalty in navan was sublime. Without that Meath would be facing Division 2 football next season.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 05/07/2019 10:11:16    2205774