So It'S Clare

Replying To cabbage:  "I think we will win also, but I suspect most of the posters here (particularly anyone at the Offaly game this year) is worried about the team having an off day.

That said, I was in Ennis for the league game this year and I thought the Clare standard of football was much lower than our only 5 (?) point win suggested."
My recollection is that it was nip and tuck in the first half and Clare had missed a few good chances. We kicked on in the second half largely due to Graham Reilly and a couple of others stepping up. I'm fully expecting it to be tight on Sunday and will be won in the last 10/15 minutes so our bench will be needed. This is a huge opportunity for Clare so they will go out on their shields.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 02/07/2019 21:49:44    2204600

My team would be
Colgan
Lavin McGill Gallagher
J McEntee Ryan Keogan
Menton Devine
McMahon CO'S Brennan
Conlon Newman O'Reilly

James McEntee needs a big game, hasn't been his usual self in a while. Think Devine should be given a chance, can always bring on Shane McEntee if it's not working out. I left Brennan on in the hope he will be mad to prove himself. A lot of people doesn't realise the work rate he gives to the team.

I'd give Conlon one more chance, not everyone can be good against Dublin. Clare will most likely go man on man so this game will suit him.

I'd bring Biggy and O'Coilean on with 20/25 mins to go depending on how the game is going.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 02/07/2019 22:26:53    2204647

Replying To cabbage:  "I wouldn't be leaving off mc Mahon I think he covers a serious amount of ground every game"
Me either he was the only forward that remotely looked like doing anything the last day. Also he has been a soild performer so far this year. Zero chance he won't start

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 02/07/2019 23:21:55    2204687

Replying To Barney123:  "My team would be
Colgan
Lavin McGill Gallagher
J McEntee Ryan Keogan
Menton Devine
McMahon CO'S Brennan
Conlon Newman O'Reilly

James McEntee needs a big game, hasn't been his usual self in a while. Think Devine should be given a chance, can always bring on Shane McEntee if it's not working out. I left Brennan on in the hope he will be mad to prove himself. A lot of people doesn't realise the work rate he gives to the team.

I'd give Conlon one more chance, not everyone can be good against Dublin. Clare will most likely go man on man so this game will suit him.

I'd bring Biggy and O'Coilean on with 20/25 mins to go depending on how the game is going."
Heard Ronan Ryan out with hamstring so if harnan fit should be in . Still think Walsh will start as surprise package otherwise definitely would have played with 20's tonight .

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/07/2019 23:48:53    2204698

Replying To madmeath:  "I would imagine if things are tight Ruairi O Coileain will play a part at some stage based on his performance last week for the Juniors, but I am pretty sure Davy Nelson will be be hoping he won't be needed."
100% agree. Anyone who was in O'Connor Park against kildare on that horrid day in 2017 was treated to a classy display from Ruairi. He is excellent, should be a banker to start once his duties with the juniors come to an end.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 03/07/2019 00:07:55    2204705

Replying To Analyst:  "The man should be given the freedom.of the county and a 10 year deal. New stand in navan named after Andy and a testimonial for him also. Its the least he deserves"
I don't agree. Freedom of the county for what ?. Nally has saved his bacon if ye ask any players around the squad. Andy is to abrasive, and loads of players don't want to play for Meath and Ye have to wonder why. Sure the journalist who had a pop at him was out of order but he as manager can't behave like that .

I also think he is poor tactically and poor on the line. Lumping ball Into wee Conlon says it all. Some tactic that is. We should be beating Clare but there is simply no certainty with Andy McEntees teams. Laois comfortably beat Offaly but Offaly should have beaten us. I would not be surprised if Clare put it up to us in big way.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 03/07/2019 00:44:32    2204711

Meath's best forward line and yes none of them even play for Meath

Beano Hanlon , Paddy O Rourke, Shane Walsh,

Oisin O Brien, Ruari O Coileann, Pauric McKeever

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 03/07/2019 00:50:05    2204712

Replying To Greenfield:  "Am I right in thinking that this game will mean that we'll have played every county in Ireland in championship football? Was having a think about it and Clare were the only team I could come up with that we were missing.

Furlong, maybe you know?"
Yep thats right thats the full 31 counties. The only county we havent played in championship is london. But we have now played everyone else. Of Course we have played everyone in leinster. Even kilkenny footballers . Our last game v Kilkenny was in 1979 and the one before that was 1923. We have actually played kilkenny 10 times in the championship with 7 wins and 3 loses. 9 of those games were before 1923.

In Connacht we have of course played the big three with excellent record v Roscommon 4 wins no loses and also an excellent record v Mayo with 5 victories 1 draw and 1 lose. We have played Sligo once and that was in 2017. And we have played Leitrim once and that was a win in 2005..We have a great record v the West. We have only been beaten twice in 70 years in the championship v Connacht teams eg Galway in 1966 and Galway in 2001.

In Ulster we have played all the counties all the big ones eg Down Donegal Tyrone Armagh and Derry. We have played Derry once in 1987 , we have played Fermanagh 3 times in 2003 , 2004 and 2007. We have played Monaghan once in 2003. We have played Antrim 2 times with two victories in 1951 and 2005.

Down south we have played Cork and kerry many times. We have played limerick twice in 2008 and 2009. We have played Waterford once in 2009 and Tippearey once in 1896 in the All Ireland final of 1896 where we lost 0 - 4 to 0 - 3 to Tipp. .And we will play Clare for the first time on Sunday and that will be the full 31 counties, the only ones left out are London and New York

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 03/07/2019 08:36:41    2204740

Midfield sunday has to b adressed kickouts to Brennan is a no no.must crowd that area at least for there kickouts.i don't understand what tom o Reilly has done wrong but if it's just to accommodate others, bad management.just need players inside to win there own ball but you have to have depth to our play. Not all running across the field handpassing it.conlan on Sunday prob have a good game but in the big picture he will b lost again the Kerry's galway/mayos etc.as for along the line if your always arguing with an official you really not concentrating on the game. Never seen decisions changed so just focus on game. If players see this they get mouthy too.we need this now so hopefully it can b achieved and progress will b made.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 03/07/2019 09:52:07    2204762

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Yep thats right thats the full 31 counties. The only county we havent played in championship is london. But we have now played everyone else. Of Course we have played everyone in leinster. Even kilkenny footballers . Our last game v Kilkenny was in 1979 and the one before that was 1923. We have actually played kilkenny 10 times in the championship with 7 wins and 3 loses. 9 of those games were before 1923.

In Connacht we have of course played the big three with excellent record v Roscommon 4 wins no loses and also an excellent record v Mayo with 5 victories 1 draw and 1 lose. We have played Sligo once and that was in 2017. And we have played Leitrim once and that was a win in 2005..We have a great record v the West. We have only been beaten twice in 70 years in the championship v Connacht teams eg Galway in 1966 and Galway in 2001.

In Ulster we have played all the counties all the big ones eg Down Donegal Tyrone Armagh and Derry. We have played Derry once in 1987 , we have played Fermanagh 3 times in 2003 , 2004 and 2007. We have played Monaghan once in 2003. We have played Antrim 2 times with two victories in 1951 and 2005.

Down south we have played Cork and kerry many times. We have played limerick twice in 2008 and 2009. We have played Waterford once in 2009 and Tippearey once in 1896 in the All Ireland final of 1896 where we lost 0 - 4 to 0 - 3 to Tipp. .And we will play Clare for the first time on Sunday and that will be the full 31 counties, the only ones left out are London and New York"
Thanks

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 03/07/2019 10:10:18    2204774

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "I don't agree. Freedom of the county for what ?. Nally has saved his bacon if ye ask any players around the squad. Andy is to abrasive, and loads of players don't want to play for Meath and Ye have to wonder why. Sure the journalist who had a pop at him was out of order but he as manager can't behave like that .

I also think he is poor tactically and poor on the line. Lumping ball Into wee Conlon says it all. Some tactic that is. We should be beating Clare but there is simply no certainty with Andy McEntees teams. Laois comfortably beat Offaly but Offaly should have beaten us. I would not be surprised if Clare put it up to us in big way."
Wonder which players don't want to play for McEntee. I have heard of a few but would any of them add anything to the squad. I dont believe so.

"Lumping" ball into Conlon. My god that is some nonsense, can't believe you think that. The ball played into Conlon was great ball, he just couldn't hold onto it because his marker was tight and getting a hand on him/the ball.

The exact same type of ball was played to him against Laois but they're marking of him wasn't as good.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 03/07/2019 10:24:45    2204782

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Meath's best forward line and yes none of them even play for Meath

Oisin O Brien, Ruari O Coileann, Pauric McKeever"
Fair play for sticking your neck out and naming players (unlike most posters who say there are better players without actually naming names).

I'd love to see Paddy O'Rourke in FF line and I think he was actually very effective when he played there for Meath (I know we've had this discussion at length on here before) and he obviously has improved immeasurably as a forward since then as he players there now consistently for Skyrne for past 4/5 years. He's also more mobile as lads that size don't become flexible til late 20s (see Devin Toner or any of the rugby locks).

Its disappointing that Beano never got a go with Meath, not even in likes of O'Byrne cup.

McKeever not interested for now apparently but maybe he might next year. When you think that we could have the following list of full forwards on the panel : Walsh, Newman, Lenihan, O'Rourke, Conlon, McKeever, Hanlon - it is frustrating that not all involved at any one time. Having likes of these lads would allow us to really mix up our attack and along with midfield, our attacking strategy really is our Achilles heal. Too many lads soloing aimlessly. If you have a good full forward line, then your first thought is how to use them and get them involved - its not to put the head down and run into blind alleys.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 03/07/2019 10:31:30    2204784

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Meath's best forward line and yes none of them even play for Meath

Oisin O Brien, Ruari O Coileann, Pauric McKeever"
Ok some context to ur post. Shane walsh is 18 and didn't commit until his leaving cert was complete so was his decision not to play for meath. Im sure he would have by now in league and championship if not for that. Mckeever threw his toys out of the pram and jumped ship very late in the day last year close to championship leaving his teammates and county in the lurch so doesn't deserve another chance. paddy o rourke was tried and wasn't good enough and has no interest in committing. Osin O Brien is from galway or somewhere and its his 1st year playing meath club football. I'd imagine he'll be sounded out about playing for meath next year. Beano im not sure the story there but would be interested to see how he does if he got a chance. O Coileann is on the panel and hopefully will play some part this weekend.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 11:45:03    2204823

you could pick a team of 15 that isn't on the panel that could easily put it up to our senior team, and even win on occasion if they trained as much as the lads do.

this is the case in many counties who have no chance of winning anything.

paddy o rourke committed for years and then decided to step away as he put so much in training almost every day and have no chance of winning anything, and you can't blame him or any lad who doesn't want to commit or who wants to concentrate on career / travelling.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 03/07/2019 12:40:44    2204866

Replying To Aloblack:  "Ok some context to ur post. Shane walsh is 18 and didn't commit until his leaving cert was complete so was his decision not to play for meath. Im sure he would have by now in league and championship if not for that. Mckeever threw his toys out of the pram and jumped ship very late in the day last year close to championship leaving his teammates and county in the lurch so doesn't deserve another chance. paddy o rourke was tried and wasn't good enough and has no interest in committing. Osin O Brien is from galway or somewhere and its his 1st year playing meath club football. I'd imagine he'll be sounded out about playing for meath next year. Beano im not sure the story there but would be interested to see how he does if he got a chance. O Coileann is on the panel and hopefully will play some part this weekend."
Well said!! It seems to be that the lads who aren't involved are always better thought off that the lads who are involved. I find it hard to be critical of the players involved given the absolutely enormous commitment that is involved! None of teh management or squad go out intending to perform poorly!
Bring on the Super 8's - it would be a great reward for the commitment given!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 03/07/2019 13:12:50    2204886

Replying To Crinigan:  "Fair play for sticking your neck out and naming players (unlike most posters who say there are better players without actually naming names).

I'd love to see Paddy O'Rourke in FF line and I think he was actually very effective when he played there for Meath (I know we've had this discussion at length on here before) and he obviously has improved immeasurably as a forward since then as he players there now consistently for Skyrne for past 4/5 years. He's also more mobile as lads that size don't become flexible til late 20s (see Devin Toner or any of the rugby locks).

Its disappointing that Beano never got a go with Meath, not even in likes of O'Byrne cup.

McKeever not interested for now apparently but maybe he might next year. When you think that we could have the following list of full forwards on the panel : Walsh, Newman, Lenihan, O'Rourke, Conlon, McKeever, Hanlon - it is frustrating that not all involved at any one time. Having likes of these lads would allow us to really mix up our attack and along with midfield, our attacking strategy really is our Achilles heal. Too many lads soloing aimlessly. If you have a good full forward line, then your first thought is how to use them and get them involved - its not to put the head down and run into blind alleys."
So paddy o rourke couldn't cut it as a forward at inter county level because he wasn't flexible enough??? But he's more flexible now because he's older so would do better if tried again?? Fair enough if u say so!!

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 13:13:09    2204887

Replying To Aloblack:  "So paddy o rourke couldn't cut it as a forward at inter county level because he wasn't flexible enough??? But he's more flexible now because he's older so would do better if tried again?? Fair enough if u say so!!"
I thought he did cut it as an intercounty footballer, if you read my post correctly. Regarding his flexibility, ask him, he'll say same thing himself. He's at least a stone lighter as well. He scores at least 5/6 points per game now and is at times unmarkable. He wasn't like that 7/8 years ago.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 03/07/2019 13:58:53    2204919

I would have been one of the ones on here bemoaning the fact that so many players stepped (or were pushed) away. I thought it was seriously hindering our ability to progress. I'm happy to say I was wrong and recent results prove that management did the right thing to move it forward by focussing on players who were 100% committed. The question for next year is whether we see any of those guys being re-integrated into the squad. I would think we will only see 1/2 players of that ilk as the current management won't want to disturb the current work ethic.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 03/07/2019 14:11:46    2204923

Replying To Crinigan:  "I thought he did cut it as an intercounty footballer, if you read my post correctly. Regarding his flexibility, ask him, he'll say same thing himself. He's at least a stone lighter as well. He scores at least 5/6 points per game now and is at times unmarkable. He wasn't like that 7/8 years ago."
Definitely didn't cut it as an inter county forward. Not arguing with his scoring rate in club games although i think most are from frees and 45s. Hes a very good club forward and thats it. Also he doesn't want to commit. If the advanced mark was brought into the game permanently well then maybe he might offer something but otherwise time to move on.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 14:23:10    2204929

Replying To Aloblack:  "Definitely didn't cut it as an inter county forward. Not arguing with his scoring rate in club games although i think most are from frees and 45s. Hes a very good club forward and thats it. Also he doesn't want to commit. If the advanced mark was brought into the game permanently well then maybe he might offer something but otherwise time to move on."
The role for him I would envisage is not as the go-to All star full forward, moreso I think he'd be a great option in a certain type of game or at a certain stage of a game. Robert McCarthy would be another such footballer I'd like to see involved but I don't know what his situation/loyalty is.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 03/07/2019 14:56:49    2204947