So It'S Clare

Replying To redser123:  "Campion wasn't even in the 26 today, hasn't got a sniff in this championship"
He came on v Carlow for O'Sullivan

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/07/2019 12:41:26    2207754

Replying To Crinigan:  "So you "totally agree" that O'Sullivan, out on his feet with the exhaustion of effort at final whistle yesterday, has "contributed nothing" in past two matches (he scored a vital point yesterday and set up a couple) but it was "extremely classless" to say that Brennan's three very poor missed frees in a row were a reflection of a player that maybe isn't up to the required standard of where we want to be? (did anyone post anything more critical than that?)

Again, you fully agree that O'Sullivan contributed nothing without any statistics or examples of proof to back up the statement yet its extremely classless to have reservations about Ben Brennan backed up by concrete examples???

Are you a Meath supporter or are you just supporting your club men and that's why you support Meath? Nothing wrong with that but you can't be so blatantly biased towards your club men to the detriment of having an objective view about what the best team is. And you can't call objective criticisms "extremely classless" while "totally agreeing" with a comment that says one player ""contributed nothing" when the evidence points that he did at least contribute something."
100% correct

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/07/2019 13:15:11    2207791

Replying To Marara:  "I'm not saying we do not have players capable of playing at the highest level, in fact I believe Keoghan would walk on to any 15 in the country including Dublin. But to say we are proven at the highest level when we haven't contested a quarter final in years is rubbish. Dublin's championship essentially starts at that stage!"
Ok then, I too believe Dr. Keogan would walk onto any county team in the country. Donal made his championship debut as a substitute against Wicklow 2012. He replaced Seamus Kenny who done his cruciate that day and has never let us down since.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 08/07/2019 13:30:05    2207804

Replying To summerof09:  "Ok then, I too believe Dr. Keogan would walk onto any county team in the country. Donal made his championship debut as a substitute against Wicklow 2012. He replaced Seamus Kenny who done his cruciate that day and has never let us down since."
He is immense every game and it's difficult to remember him ever having a bad game. Talent like his deserves to be playing Div 1 and super 8's football every year no doubt about it

Marara (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 08/07/2019 13:33:28    2207811

Replying To men_of_49:  "Delighted with the win yesterday. By god we made things difficult for ourselves but I was impressed with how we dug deep and battled on at the end when the going got tough. Huge congratulations to the players and management on reaching the Super 8s. You can argue all you want about having an easy draw. At the end of the day Meath are into the last 8 of the competition on merit and deserve their place. The fact that Galway, Monaghan and whoever else are not there is irrelevant.

The game itself was hugely entertaining (for neutrals - I like most Meath supporters endured a nerve-wracking 80+ minutes!). Yes it was scrappy and laden with mistakes, some of which related to the basic skills of the game, but I have to stress how pleasing it is to see Meath come out the right side of a game like this. How often since the Boylan era ended have we complained about Meath teams lacking fight in tight games and sent home beaten with our tails between our legs.

The individual performances, both good and bad, have been well-aired here. What I would add is that our forwards continue to be a concern. When Newman went off we looked a bit lost for a 10 minute spell where we needed some of the experienced lads like McMahon or O'Sullivan to step up. Reilly added nothing when he came on and struggled with the pace of a hectic game. Walsh got plenty of touches and kicked a nice score and his presence seemed to settle the forwards which is remarkable for such a young man.

Was there any word on Newman after the game? It's vital that he is fit and well for Donegal."
" Was there any word on Newman after the game? It's vital that he is fit and well for Donegal."
I am not sure, But we shouldn't let this go, it should be highlighted. It looked nasty. Newman was clearly pushed into the post at full speed. He could have done serious damage. If it was a player from one to the top 4 teams there would be more about it. But because its a Meath player no one gives a rats.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/07/2019 14:44:33    2207888

Replying To mmc:  "Wouldn't worry what Mcstay would say Tier 2 manager he is at best complete bullsh*ter"
It was hard to listen to Mc Stay yesterday. You could all most feel him jumping out of his seat every-time Clare scored. He struggled badly to say anything good about Meath. And when Marty was asking him about possible frees for Meath he avoided it like the plague.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/07/2019 14:50:23    2207896

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "It was hard to listen to Mc Stay yesterday. You could all most feel him jumping out of his seat every-time Clare scored. He struggled badly to say anything good about Meath. And when Marty was asking him about possible frees for Meath he avoided it like the plague."
I found the commentary very patronising. Both Marty and McStay seemed very tongue in cheek about the game. Both teams were clearly very nervous and edgy and the little mistakes were frequently being commented upon as if to make a mockery of two good (not great) sides. Ive come to the conclusion that aside from Colm O'Rourke obviously, and Ciarán Whelan, none of the RTÉ brigade have much time for Meath. Davis and McStay seem to despise Meath.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 08/07/2019 16:48:45    2207989

O Sullivan was fairly anonymous yesterday. A lot of very poor touches. Fair play to Keoghan. Immense as always. Donegal will know all their is to know about what's in his locker. Just praying that a bout of food poisoning or something hits their camp Saturday night!!

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 08/07/2019 16:51:45    2207991

Looking forward to Sunday. I've been impressed by Meath all year. Most of us in the hills know Meath will be a tough test. Donegal will treat you with the respect you deserve. Will yous travel in big numbers, very impressed by the young corner forward yesterday looks a real live wire.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 08/07/2019 18:13:10    2208039

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "If the GAA want to promote the so called 'weaker counties' then it should look at RTE at that rubbish they speak. For players who have trained since before xmas to get to this point, get promoted and reach the super 8s and to be dismissed on national TV is a disgrace. In the last 2 years Meath have been barely beaten by Donegal despite looking like winning on each occasion, had Tyrone beaten, went down to Roscommon and came away with an unlucky draw. Limited the dubs to 5 points in 35 mins and beaten Armagh, Cork.

I am not saying they will win any of the next 3 games but to be so blatently dismissive is outrageous.

Kevin McStay's reaction at full time was 'this is the advertisement for a tier 2 championship'. Meath have just qualified for the super 8s and gotten promoted, if we are 'tier 2' then there is a problem. RTE are driving this narrative as they would love Mayo, Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone to play each other non stop so ratings go up. Appalling"
My feelings exactly but I suppose being dismissed like this will benefit us when we create a surprise in the super 8's.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 08/07/2019 18:31:21    2208046

Replying To rorysboys:  "Looking forward to Sunday. I've been impressed by Meath all year. Most of us in the hills know Meath will be a tough test. Donegal will treat you with the respect you deserve. Will yous travel in big numbers, very impressed by the young corner forward yesterday looks a real live wire."
Young James Conlon, yeah he is a little rocket. Still only 21 , can be a bit green but is growing every game (not in height) lol. Well I'll be traveling, say most of the diehards (about 3/4K) that go to every game will travel up. I expect donegal to be wary of us, they deserved favoritism, but not by the margin some are saying.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2019 18:40:24    2208050

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "" Was there any word on Newman after the game? It's vital that he is fit and well for Donegal."
I am not sure, But we shouldn't let this go, it should be highlighted. It looked nasty. Newman was clearly pushed into the post at full speed. He could have done serious damage. If it was a player from one to the top 4 teams there would be more about it. But because its a Meath player no one gives a rats."
Someone said he was interviewed after the game yesterday and looked fine... got dead leg and there was a head injury but he didn't say he wasn't playing or anything so fingers crossed

Eri (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 08/07/2019 18:49:43    2208056

Replying To Eri:  "Someone said he was interviewed after the game yesterday and looked fine... got dead leg and there was a head injury but he didn't say he wasn't playing or anything so fingers crossed"
Says on main page there shouldn't be a problem with him playing, once no concussions then I'd say he will be fine.
On a side note. Goalposts should be padded.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2019 19:15:11    2208069

Replying To summerof09:  "Ok then, I too believe Dr. Keogan would walk onto any county team in the country. Donal made his championship debut as a substitute against Wicklow 2012. He replaced Seamus Kenny who done his cruciate that day and has never let us down since."
Donal Keoghan is probably Meath's best player of the past 5 years.

Just one issue though.

Donal's direct marker scored 4 points from play for Clare.

Does this mean anything?. maybe not.

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 08/07/2019 19:34:40    2208081

Replying To Ibbecek:  "Donal Keoghan is probably Meath's best player of the past 5 years.

Just one issue though.

Does this mean anything?. maybe not."
In fairness Keogan is a brilliant man marker but he's too good going forward to restrict him to a man marking job. He gets up the field and creates scores, he's also well able to take his own score so given that he has licence to roam, his marker at the other end is likely to get a couple himself.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/07/2019 19:42:29    2208084

Replying To Htaem:  "In fairness Keogan is a brilliant man marker but he's too good going forward to restrict him to a man marking job. He gets up the field and creates scores, he's also well able to take his own score so given that he has licence to roam, his marker at the other end is likely to get a couple himself."
Yeah I'd agree with that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2019 19:58:02    2208100

Replying To royaldunne:  "Says on main page there shouldn't be a problem with him playing, once no concussions then I'd say he will be fine.
On a side note. Goalposts should be padded."
Goalposts padded. Are you having a laugh? Its not Rigby Union/League or American Football etc we are playing. How would penaltiea be scored if going in off the posts? Or a shot deflevtwd onto the post; no rebound? Come on logic please?

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 08/07/2019 20:23:17    2208120

Replying To David:  "Goalposts padded. Are you having a laugh? Its not Rigby Union/League or American Football etc we are playing. How would penaltiea be scored if going in off the posts? Or a shot deflevtwd onto the post; no rebound? Come on logic please?"
Someone is going to get seriously injured, actually rewatched the match there and went to end to say what was said, and could believe my ears. O'Rourke said exact same. Think the fronts of then should have some impact resistance anyway. Player safety should be paramount, that's both Reilly and Newman this year that got nasty hits off posts while scoring a goal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2019 21:43:37    2208194

Replying To Ibbecek:  "Donal Keoghan is probably Meath's best player of the past 5 years.

Just one issue though.

Does this mean anything?. maybe not."
He wasn't marking Malone?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 08/07/2019 21:53:07    2208198

Replying To Barney123:  "He wasn't marking Malone?"
Yeah I thought Gavin McCoy picked Jamie Malone up in first half with Seamus Lavin going out onto him in 2nd half. In first half, especially the middle 10-12 minutes we were very loose but definitely improved.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 08/07/2019 22:32:18    2208234