Can You See Past Kiltale In The 2019 Championship?

I mean a neutral referee like the two that done the semi finals. If it was a referee that was as close to kildalkey there would be a lot of people with something to say.

Sliotar84 (Dublin) - Posts: 12 - 04/10/2019 13:10:20    2241327

My opinion is that this match is wide open. Those Kildalkey haters who give them no chance will never be turned. A team who have lost once this year (albeit, a bit of a drubbing from Kiltale) cannot be dismissed too easily. A mix of experience through the spine with Doran, Heavey, and Geoghegan, enhanced with the youth of Nicky Potterton and Niall McNally are as strong as anyone in the County. Brin Kelly will be a sure start, following his recent suspension. Recent injuries in the Kildalkey run in may have an influence yet. Of course Kiltale's Jubilee Cup record in recent years, does all the talking and unquestionably well deserved. BUT, It will end sometime. Will it be 2019? We will know Sunday at 5pm. My original question was, "Can anyone see past Kiltale?" I think Kildalkey have a huge chance.

Stiofan (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 05/10/2019 11:44:44    2241478

Well Kildalkey left this one behind them. They were certainly more up for it over the hour and must be kicking themselves for not seeing it out. Overall it was a poor game though.

The sending off of Mark O'Sullivan was the catalyst for the Kildalkey charge and Kiltale were very lucky to pull a draw out of the fire.

O'Sullivan was certainly on the receiving end of a robust challenge i the first half and the bandages almoost covered the whole of his head.

Kiltale probably favorites for the replay but that performance will inspire Kildalkey to go one step further in the replay.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 06/10/2019 20:42:00    2241660

What will happen with kildalkey players playing junior football semi next weekend. Will they make themselves available given their checkered history with ballivor.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 06/10/2019 21:12:18    2241667

Eating my words after that. Kildalkey rattled them. But god did they leave an opportunity behind them, and then almost lost it. That was their chance. Against 14 man Kiltale, 5 points up. I think they thought they had it won. Kiltale dug deep, though. Can I see past Kiltale? For a while today I did.
With Summerhill and Ballivor in the football still, this could get messy.

Meathman678 (Meath) - Posts: 63 - 06/10/2019 22:30:53    2241681

Replying To Foley91:  "What will happen with kildalkey players playing junior football semi next weekend. Will they make themselves available given their checkered history with ballivor."
They played football last weekend before the hurling final. Why would it be any different next weekend?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1642 - 06/10/2019 23:42:38    2241689

Anyone See what happened with O Sullivans Red Card ?

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 07/10/2019 09:25:57    2241717

Wasn't a great game to much stopping and starting. Kildalkey brought a game to Kiltale and it nearly worked. Kildalkey looked more composed where as Kiltale seemed to be at sea. The sending off had it's bearing on the game to a point but Kiltale dug deep especially in the back and Kildalkey went to sea when O'Sullivan got sent off. Kiltale I'd say are thankfully they get a second chance and Kildalkey are saying what the hell. Replay proposed for Sun 20th at 3 in Navan (TBC). Replay wont be any different it will be dogged but Kildalkey want it more and that may be the edge. Kiltale are showing the miles and for experienced lads some of them there options weren't great. McGann is meant to be heading off now interesting to see will they keep him or let him go.
Minor - Ratoath missed to much and could have nipped Trim

ALLGAA32 (Meath) - Posts: 64 - 07/10/2019 10:05:06    2241732

Replying To ALLGAA32:  "Wasn't a great game to much stopping and starting. Kildalkey brought a game to Kiltale and it nearly worked. Kildalkey looked more composed where as Kiltale seemed to be at sea. The sending off had it's bearing on the game to a point but Kiltale dug deep especially in the back and Kildalkey went to sea when O'Sullivan got sent off. Kiltale I'd say are thankfully they get a second chance and Kildalkey are saying what the hell. Replay proposed for Sun 20th at 3 in Navan (TBC). Replay wont be any different it will be dogged but Kildalkey want it more and that may be the edge. Kiltale are showing the miles and for experienced lads some of them there options weren't great. McGann is meant to be heading off now interesting to see will they keep him or let him go.
Minor - Ratoath missed to much and could have nipped Trim"
The minor game was probably a better game of hurling (as it often is). Some classy displays. If Ratoath had scored some scoreable frees in the second half they may have spooked Trim but once Trim got the second goal it was probably too big a task.

Overall Trim were the better team. Some good young hurlers on that team.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 07/10/2019 10:50:07    2241748

As a neutral at yesterdays game i thought it was poor stuff from both teams
Kildalkey fans worried about the ref need not have worried , he done you no harm , free at the end to make it a draw was crazy , if it happened in croke park people would say it was money grab from the gaa.
kiltale were terrible , i cant remember them as bad , not sure what system they were trying to play but it didnt work.
kildalkey were handed it on a plate with a ribbon on it and couldnt take it which should worry them.
sending off was clear cut but kildalkey goal keeper hit him first so unsure how he didnt get carded also.

The reply could be as much as 4 weeks away depending on football

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 07/10/2019 10:55:31    2241753

Dreadful game. No flow to it at all.

Kildalkey will be delighted with how the first 58 minutes went. You'd have to question their bottle:
5 points up with 2 minutes of normal time to play
v 14 men
Kiltales best forward sent off
and still needed a gift of a free to draw the match.

This Kiltale team don't know how to lose.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 07/10/2019 12:27:07    2241779

Kildalkey will gain confidence from yesterday , given no chance before that game , not sure whats going on with kiltale seem to be playing better in the early rounds of the championship, no doubt kildalkey will be up for it the next day .

elguapo (Meath) - Posts: 51 - 07/10/2019 13:47:39    2241826

Replying To elguapo:  "Kildalkey will gain confidence from yesterday , given no chance before that game , not sure whats going on with kiltale seem to be playing better in the early rounds of the championship, no doubt kildalkey will be up for it the next day ."
Given no chance....? The last page on this very thread is full of lads tipping KIldalkey. I can see only one post predicting a handy Kiltale win.

"they will be in with a chance"
"kildalkey are coming good at the right time"
"So Kildalkey v Kiltale Final. I think Kildalkey have every chance this year"
" I think Kildalkey have a serious chance."

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1642 - 07/10/2019 14:32:24    2241840

Fair play to Kildalkey - came with a game plan and nearly pulled it off. Luke Rickard caused a lot of problems and Kiltale struggled to get to grips with him. Great desire by Kiltale in the end. Prediction for next day is Mark O Sullivan for MoM, he owes his teammates a big one.

Moan 1 - why do refs try to even up games like yesterday. Mahady clearly didn't throw the ball. What ever about ignoring or missing a foul, how can ref call something that didn't happen.

moan 2 - the standard of umpiring at the town end in the minor game was an absolute insult to the young players and patrons who attended. Stonewall score missed and they nearly had to be reminded by the ref to raise the flag on occasion. This is the biggest game for some of these young lads, they deserve better

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 07/10/2019 20:44:46    2241924

Absolutely correct. Was at the game and thought it was so wrong that the umpires couldn't even signal a decision. Seemed more interested in catching the ball after it came off the net!!! Dead right! Young lads deserve more on county final day!

Woodbutcher (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 08/10/2019 01:55:16    2241956

I may have missed it bit what ever happened to the fallout of the ratoath kildalkey match. Surely if someone was assaulted and a match was abandoned they be some information.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 13/10/2019 01:12:17    2243082

So McGann gone for Kiltale. Surely a huge boost for Kildalkey? Kiltale build their game around him

Blackspot82 (Dublin) - Posts: 4 - 13/10/2019 13:29:40    2243139

Replying To Foley91:  "I may have missed it bit what ever happened to the fallout of the ratoath kildalkey match. Surely if someone was assaulted and a match was abandoned they be some information."
ah its great to see the return of the arch kildalkey hater.just going back over some of your posts and you seem to have an unheathy obsession with this club and also their involvement with ballivor.time to get a new interest foley 91 and while you are at it bring your friend hurlit with you.i doubt if the people of kildalkey and ballivor give one damn about ye and yere conspiracy theories.time to grow up boys.its embarrasing

mrmagican (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 13/10/2019 13:33:44    2243142

i think there was some hearing into the kildalkey v ratoath game last week , so not brushed under the carpet. is mcGann definitly gone? I fancy Kildalkey to win if he is, who will be kiltales goalkeeper ollie regan? madness from Kiltale and McGann if this really happened. Surely kiltale would pay for his flights to be changed or whatever, sure other clubs bring lads back for finals and big games. Maybe kiltale have lost the hunger and interest? i think Kildalkey could have more hunger and win by 2 or 3 points

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 15/10/2019 23:03:42    2243844

McGann is home and will play in the replay

meathareclass (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 16/10/2019 11:55:01    2243904