Meath V Dublin

Replying To mmc:  "As much as I'd love to see us win on Sunday I cant !! Sadly I dont even see us getting close .
Apart from 25 minutes against Donegal I haven't seen anything this year to suggest we can compete with Dublin and I have been at most games .
I believe Colgan will struggle massively Sunday he has proven to be a decent shot stopper but his kickouts are way off what is required against a team like Dublin and I believe McEntees faith in him will back fire Sunday .
If we set up Sunday the way we did against Laois and Offaly we will be hammered Dublin will destroy us .
After 15 minutes against Laois we had 1 point on the board we didn't score for over 15 minutes at the start of the second half both of these periods of play were dominated by Laois they didn't score the Dubs will .
Offaly totally dominated the first 25 minutes of the second half in Navan this is time of the game Dublin are ruthless .
The gap between our defence and forward line is to wide too often we get players isolated coming forward if we dont support the players breaking with the ball Dublin will turn us over all day.
Theres no place for Flanagan in Croke Park and thats not a personal insult its sadly fact we need runners around the middle on Sunday than can get forward when we attack but also get back when they break I would start 2 of 3 if all fit McEntee , Devine , Harnan I would take out McCoy and Flanagan .
Unless Conlon gets a bit more support than he did against laois I cant see him getting much ball against Dublin .
I've no doubt he's a great player but personally I think against the better teams he will struggle because of his size .
Newman has to stay closer to goal he has a habit of wandering and ends up in no man's land. He was outstanding against Donegal when he stayed in he must do the same Sunday.
I have watched Meath v Dublin in every game since 1983 I admire the optimistic people on here but I have always being a realist and I fear what is coming Sunday .
This Meath team have trained hard since January to gain promotion they are coming up against a fresh team the best team ever in football who only starting serious training when the league finished .
I'm a gambler but wouldn't back against Meath but if I did Dublin - 12 at evens is serious bet ."
I agree with what your saying, It all make sense to me, a fair assessment for where we are.
But in a strange way its good we struggled over Offaly if beat them by 15 points we would not have learned anything from it. Same goes for Carlow we where not overly impressive there either so we coming in under the radar slightly. Loais game something similar strggled for long periods . But we are capable of playing better a lot better.

But after the Lonford game last year could you see us beating Tyrone ? no chance, but what happened ? We lifted massively and should have won that's history. Same goes for Donegal game in 2017 no gave us a chance. And on paper but once again we lifted it for top opposition.
This is a strange thing to say but I was at the Cork game and we dug out a result that night 6 point win but they worked there rear end to get a result. periods of that game reminded of old Meath Ronan Ryan making clever interceptions at vital times. I taught to myself on the way home. if we could get a performance like against Dublin we would be close to them ie around 6 points.
So if we can marry some of the good performances from the league together, factoring in we will lift it for top opposition I think it will be closer than 12 point. So I am hoping it to closer to 6 points and with a bit of luck it will be closer :)

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 18/06/2019 15:54:38    2197156

Question.

Everyone knows what a win/narrow defeat will do for meath in terms of confidence going forward.

Meath have had a really good year and the progress has been clear for all to see, so what if Dublin dish out an absolute pasting.

What if Dublin start well, get a lead, as a result are drained of confidence, Dublin show no let up and win by upwards of 15 points. What affect does that have on yous as a fanbase but also to the team

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/06/2019 16:38:09    2197176

Replying To waynoI:  "Question.

Everyone knows what a win/narrow defeat will do for meath in terms of confidence going forward.

Meath have had a really good year and the progress has been clear for all to see, so what if Dublin dish out an absolute pasting.

What if Dublin start well, get a lead, as a result are drained of confidence, Dublin show no let up and win by upwards of 15 points. What affect does that have on yous as a fanbase but also to the team"
A bad defeat wont turn away the zealots but the reality is that the majority of interested Meath people are expecting a hammering, and are quietly avoiding the game to avoid facing that reality. Tbh the county has been largely docile and even disinterested for years. In saying that, there is a growing interest in the county again which I haven't seen in years and years, and people are optimistic overall for the future, which hasnt been the case in maybe 5/6 years. If Meath manage to win somehow itll be bedlam, there will be a humungous gravy train and thousands of "supporters" will emerge from nowhere. If they are hammered not a lot will change really apart from the players and management taking a hit to their confidence. If they can play well, score a few goals, and win the moral battle, itll be seen as an achievement.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 18/06/2019 17:05:18    2197193

What if Dublin start well, get a lead, as a result are drained of confidence, Dublin show no let up and win by upwards of 15 points. What affect does that have on yous as a fanbase but also to the team"
I think perspective and context needs to be applied here. By your own admission, this current Dublin regime under Jim Gavin is arguably the greatest of all time. If we are hockeyed out the gate, so what? Its not the first time and it won't be the last time Dublin dish out a big beating to a team. We know where we are under McEntee and while we're content with the progression, we are realistic as to the challenge in front of the team.

No defeat is easy to take for any team and I'm sure a heavy loss will be bad for confidence but again, context needs to be applied. Dublin are a far superior team and there is no shame coming up short, regardless of the full time scoreline. Personally, I don't think the players should dwell on it but I can't speak on their behalf.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/06/2019 17:17:55    2197204

Replying To RoyalClass:  "I think perspective and context needs to be applied here. By your own admission, this current Dublin regime under Jim Gavin is arguably the greatest of all time. If we are hockeyed out the gate, so what? Its not the first time and it won't be the last time Dublin dish out a big beating to a team. We know where we are under McEntee and while we're content with the progression, we are realistic as to the challenge in front of the team.

No defeat is easy to take for any team and I'm sure a heavy loss will be bad for confidence but again, context needs to be applied. Dublin are a far superior team and there is no shame coming up short, regardless of the full time scoreline. Personally, I don't think the players should dwell on it but I can't speak on their behalf."
I agree with you.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/06/2019 17:31:58    2197210

Replying To Young_gael:  "A bad defeat wont turn away the zealots but the reality is that the majority of interested Meath people are expecting a hammering, and are quietly avoiding the game to avoid facing that reality. Tbh the county has been largely docile and even disinterested for years. In saying that, there is a growing interest in the county again which I haven't seen in years and years, and people are optimistic overall for the future, which hasnt been the case in maybe 5/6 years. If Meath manage to win somehow itll be bedlam, there will be a humungous gravy train and thousands of "supporters" will emerge from nowhere. If they are hammered not a lot will change really apart from the players and management taking a hit to their confidence. If they can play well, score a few goals, and win the moral battle, itll be seen as an achievement."
I agree with this too.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/06/2019 17:32:53    2197212

Replying To waynoI:  "Oh right so if you live in an area you've to be associated with that club do you ? Is that all sports in that area or what ? Do you associate with you local soccer rugby gaa golf etc etc club? Do you go to league of Ireland games for your most local club ?

Why do you live in westmeath ? Why dont you move back home ? Serious question. You're living in a neighbouring county just like I am but support the one you're from.

The question I was asked is why do I live in meath, I also asked a question to cringan, yourself or anyone else, why do all polish people not live in Poland. Why dont all Irish people live in Ireland. Should we send all the Irish people in America, London, Asia, Australia etc home ?

Where I live has nothing to do with talking about the football, I'm certainly not insecure about living in meath, I do get more insecure when people try to have cheap little digs about my resident and circumstances around it."
I have no problem with you or anyone living in any county, it's freedom, I'd much prefer to move back home, but until I retire and the kids are all grown up I cannot. My problem is that as a gaa man , (I have zero interest in soccer and rugby I don't really watch) I feel it is important to get involved in the local club, when I lived in ur area I was involved with ur local club , i am now involved in the club in Westmeath, it doesn't make me any less of a Meath man. I use to go to training (as the coach ) in my Meath Jersey, I just get the feeling that you feel if you got involved with ur Meath club it would devalue you as a dub, I don't understand that, you obviously have huge interest in football, why not impart that knowledge to a younger generation?? Regardless of their county. Here's a thought. Next time there's one of the training camps, that himself does, offer to help out, he even brings senior dub players to show their expertise. Anyway I'll leave it at that. I apologize if my plastic dub reference offended u, it was meant in jest, as a Meath man living in Westmeath I thought you would get the irony, again no offense was intended

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2019 17:38:02    2197216

Replying To meath1977:  "Meath are in a Leinster final. we have a good young team. support the team . stop with your defeated views, how much we are going to lose , this is a very special Dublin team who have hammered everyone over the last six or seven years. so if we lose by 15 twenty points we are in good company. we will go believing we can win and have a good cut off them. hit them hard and make them work for every score. and see where that takes up. stay at home if you think we have no hope and can't win"
Enjoy the game Sunday it's sad that we are happy to get to a leinster final and accept a hammering and call that progress we sound like westmeath now .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 18/06/2019 17:46:15    2197219

Won't make 1 iota of a difference, especially to the real fans. There was 3 goals set at beginning of year publicly by Andy. They were to win promotion to division one, reach Leinster Final, and reach super 8s everything or anything else is was a bonus.
Now I had a read back over some of the posts here from before the league, many of those predicting a hammering on Sunday also said we hadn't a hope of promotion and would be struggling on last day to stay up, most actually said quite clearly that if we remained in div 2 it would be a great league as it was a lot harder than last year, I got lambasted for saying we would be promoted, actually Wayne I came across a post from yourself on the obc thread saying we had no hope of been promoted after loosing to Dublin 3rd string in obc, you actually said we would do well to stay in div 2, And we wouldn't make Leinster final.
Yet here we are a division one side in a Leinster final, with every player and a lot of fans going all out to win it, if we come up short , fair enough, but by Jesus it won't be for lack of trying or bowing down to dubs. And that's the mcentee Meath mentality, we go to win every game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2019 17:50:42    2197221

Replying To mmc:  "Enjoy the game Sunday it's sad that we are happy to get to a leinster final and accept a hammering and call that progress we sound like westmeath now ."
Think of where we were when Andy rescued us.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2019 18:10:20    2197228

Replying To mmc:  "Enjoy the game Sunday it's sad that we are happy to get to a leinster final and accept a hammering and call that progress we sound like westmeath now ."
your the only one talking about hammerings

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 18/06/2019 18:44:47    2197234

Due to personal circumstances i will not be going on Sunday but I am confident that the team will perform well and whilst it is a big ask and no doubt daunting for the team and supporters alike, the fact is that we will never beat Dublin if we dont play them.

I have had a feeling for a while that it would take a Meath team to beat this Dublin team and the only way that is going to happen is if we play them.

So lets hope the team play out of their skin and Dublin are below par.

Never give up hope.

Meath by 2

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 18/06/2019 19:05:08    2197243

Replying To royaldunne:  "Think of where we were when Andy rescued us."
Yes we had lost to westmeath dreadfully after playing excellent football for 35 minutes worst defeat I ever witnessed.
But an honest question do you believe we have improved that much as a football team and do you think our style of football has improved we wouldn't have lost that game under Mcentee that's for sure but it wasn't football that lost it that day .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 18/06/2019 19:15:53    2197249

Replying To meath1977:  "your the only one talking about hammerings"
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2019 19:21:25    2197254

Replying To meath1977:  "your the only one talking about hammerings"
You were the person that mentioned the word hammering and then tried to accept it as the norm because Dublin was hammering everyone lol .
Read back you comment before you make silly replays

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 18/06/2019 19:56:26    2197275

As a fan I'll be disappointed but not surprised, Dublin have been consistently beating other Leinster teams by 10-20pts for the last 5 or so years now so it can't be considered a surprise.

I'd imagine the confidence of the team will be effected by a heavy defeat, I don't know many of the players personally but I'd hope their ambitions are to be Leinster champions and this is an opportunity, even if it is an outside one.

I rate McEntee as a manager, I have a lot of time for him, I think he's an ambitious, dogged determined sort who puts an emphasis on hard work and fitness. A heavy defeat will be a big blow to him but focus will be very quickly turned to the qualifiers.

But anyway look, I've resolved to doing a shot everytime Dublin scores a point, so if we hold them to a low score, we'll probably win and I'll be soberish enough to enjoy it and if Dublin go on a rampage I'll never know a thing about it, masterplan :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/06/2019 20:14:41    2197284

Replying To mmc:  "Yes we had lost to westmeath dreadfully after playing excellent football for 35 minutes worst defeat I ever witnessed.
But an honest question do you believe we have improved that much as a football team and do you think our style of football has improved we wouldn't have lost that game under Mcentee that's for sure but it wasn't football that lost it that day ."
Honestly and I really don't want to harp back to it, as I personally don't blame him (I blame those who put him there) but it was the sideline that lost that game to Westmeath. Number one problem was we got rid of too many experienced players too quickly, juicy O'Connor was one of the best backs in county, dropped, ward Farrell I could go on, yes they were not going to improve themselves, however they were what the young lads needed coming in.
As for the second point, yes absolutely playing better, we more direct in the tackle, can defend in numbers and attack at speed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2019 20:22:34    2197294

Replying To Htaem:  "As a fan I'll be disappointed but not surprised, Dublin have been consistently beating other Leinster teams by 10-20pts for the last 5 or so years now so it can't be considered a surprise.

I'd imagine the confidence of the team will be effected by a heavy defeat, I don't know many of the players personally but I'd hope their ambitions are to be Leinster champions and this is an opportunity, even if it is an outside one.

I rate McEntee as a manager, I have a lot of time for him, I think he's an ambitious, dogged determined sort who puts an emphasis on hard work and fitness. A heavy defeat will be a big blow to him but focus will be very quickly turned to the qualifiers.

But anyway look, I've resolved to doing a shot everytime Dublin scores a point, so if we hold them to a low score, we'll probably win and I'll be soberish enough to enjoy it and if Dublin go on a rampage I'll never know a thing about it, masterplan :-)"
Haha. I'm driving so can't. But there will be some celebrating or commiserating in my area on Sunday night , one way or the other. Monday is booked off.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2019 20:32:07    2197303

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha. I'm driving so can't. But there will be some celebrating or commiserating in my area on Sunday night , one way or the other. Monday is booked off."
Ha same as that royaldunne, not a hope of an appearance on Monday regardless of the result and if we win there might no call no show on Tuesday aswell.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/06/2019 20:58:58    2197318

Replying To mmc:  "You were the person that mentioned the word hammering and then tried to accept it as the norm because Dublin was hammering everyone lol .
Read back you comment before you make silly replays"
You need to learn how to read mate. your the only one that is on about hammerings on here. I said if they are hammered we would be in good company as they have hammered everyone else this last few year. I don't believe we will be hammered either. if Dublin win they will earn it. Meath by two points stick that in your pipe and smoke it

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 18/06/2019 21:59:26    2197347