Meath V Dublin

Replying To Aloblack:  "Yeah because none of the other teams like Tyrone have ever hit them hard or try to drag them into a dog fight. Why didn't we all think of that before. How will they react to going behind early?? Unfortunately the way the way they always react. They'll stay calm wont panic and will chip away and eventually win pulling up."
Seems like all the Dubs in Dunboyne have you beaten down and defeated. Excuse us while the rest of us who have a bit of pride in ourselves and our county discuss how we might beat the reigning All Ire Champions on Sunday week.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/06/2019 15:01:37    2195257

Replying To royaldunne:  "Exactly, some so called Meath supporters want us to go and bow down to them , genuflect as you say, cause we are not worthy. There is no doubt they are a fantastic team with great players, but Ben Brennan will get stuck in, I'd love to see a few old Meath style hits, let's see how manly they are , they are the most pampered inter county players of all time, let's see what happens if it gets down and dirty. Brogan won't start Connolly is gone, are there any real tough players on the Dublin team that would be any good in a row? Actually I'll give cluxton that , he probably only one of them, get in their faces from throw in. Let's see how they react
Hon the royal"
Exactly.

Here are a few things in our favour:

- the GAA know they are under the microscope now. They've made a balls of intercounty football and they desperately need this game to be competitive. The ref will know this. He's not going to throw out red cards to Meath players early on as he'll know it'll ruin the game. What happens if 6/7 Meath lads ground their men before the throw-in like the Aussies in 2006 and let them know what's ahead? Let the GAA's golden boys know there are no ribbons to be cut for 10k and Hyundai's been given out for free today.

- the Dubs are under pressure. 5 in a row on the cards. The country watching. Their own crowd (and Meath "fans" like Aloback) expecting a coronation.

- we have nothing to lose. Absolutely nothing. No pressure on us. This is a freebie.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/06/2019 15:08:49    2195261

I can't believe how delusional some meath fans have become.....i'm sure meath are gonna come out all guns blazing, fire in their bellies and pride in their jersey, infact I expect it, sure that's a minimum requirement , that's not a new and wonderful game plan that dublin will not have come across....it wont make a blind bit of difference, they will not beat Dublin and anybody that says otherwise or uses any of the above idioms to try convince themseves it can be done are just in soundbite territory and not actually looking at bare facts or looking at the 2 teams objectively. And the way I feel about the game Sunday week doesn't mean I'm less of a fan then those that say meath have a chance. It just means I'm a realist and not a fantasist. And like you royal dunne, my meath match attendances are in the 90 percent plus range , so I won't be told I'm less of a fan then you, or not to turn up just because I havnt got the blind optimism you have......and which you are entitled too have by the way, same way some of us are entitled to think it won't go so well, without being castigated for lack of loyalty.....and believe you me I'll take pleasure in saying I was wrong that Sunday evening if meath do pull it off. And as a side note....nothing that is said on here has any bearing on what way the team or any player will perform, so stop overvaluing your opinions.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 15/06/2019 15:38:32    2195273

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I can't believe how delusional some meath fans have become.....i'm sure meath are gonna come out all guns blazing, fire in their bellies and pride in their jersey, infact I expect it, sure that's a minimum requirement , that's not a new and wonderful game plan that dublin will not have come across....it wont make a blind bit of difference, they will not beat Dublin and anybody that says otherwise or uses any of the above idioms to try convince themseves it can be done are just in soundbite territory and not actually looking at bare facts or looking at the 2 teams objectively. And the way I feel about the game Sunday week doesn't mean I'm less of a fan then those that say meath have a chance. It just means I'm a realist and not a fantasist. And like you royal dunne, my meath match attendances are in the 90 percent plus range , so I won't be told I'm less of a fan then you, or not to turn up just because I havnt got the blind optimism you have......and which you are entitled too have by the way, same way some of us are entitled to think it won't go so well, without being castigated for lack of loyalty.....and believe you me I'll take pleasure in saying I was wrong that Sunday evening if meath do pull it off. And as a side note....nothing that is said on here has any bearing on what way the team or any player will perform, so stop overvaluing your opinions."
Not all no hopers lose, jus sayin'.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/06/2019 16:28:53    2195294

Replying To Crinigan:  "Seems like all the Dubs in Dunboyne have you beaten down and defeated. Excuse us while the rest of us who have a bit of pride in ourselves and our county discuss how we might beat the reigning All Ire Champions on Sunday week."
Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 17:45:15    2195316

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Please stay at home you are not wanted in croke park. This attitude is unbelievable it's a sports game of course we have a chance some of these dublin players like Scully have never had a hard test in their lives I'm convinced we have defenders to deal with the likes of him in fact theres not a hope that dublin forward has a patch on the one of a few years ago with Connolly, Flynn and Brogan. The fear I have is that our forwards aren't good enough and the ball will keep coming back down the field they need to have the game of their lives"
Again well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 17:47:27    2195317

Replying To redser123:  "Does andy mcentee start james conlon against dublin? Im 50 50, he was pretty great against laois but not sure this game would suit him this early in senior career

This is the team I'd go with (praying harnan is fit)

1. Colgan

2. Lavin
3.Mcgill
4. Gallagher

5. Ryan
6.keoghan
7. Mccoy

8. Menton
9. Shane mcentee

10.osullivan
11. Ben brennan
12. James mcentee

13. Harnan (as a third midfielder/extra half back)
14 newman
15. Mcmahon"
How on earth can you not start Conlon? Without him, we had nothing at all in the fowrwards 1st half the last day. I would start both McEntees. Flanagan would not be up to required level. Biggest concern is our ability to win primary possession.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 15/06/2019 18:00:04    2195323

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Andrew Colgan;
Seamus Lavin Conor McGill,
Ronan Ryan
James McEntee , Harnan Donal Keogan

Bryan Menton ,Shane Mc Entee;

Ben Brennan, Bryan McMahon , Cillian O'Sullivan)
Thomas O'Reilly , Michael Newman James Conlon

I missed the Loais game so I am not 100% who is form but I will have a stab at the team.
Hopefully Harnan is fit. Nothing against Gallagher or Mc Coy but I like it when Ryan plays sweeper. He is a clam head on young shoulders. I have been preferring Flanagan ahead of Shane but if he had a bad day the last day, Shane maybe starts. Thomas O'Reilly has been struggling. But I might risk starting him. And if he could get going he is physical. Playing Keogan a wing half frees up our best ball carrier to do damage."
Looks like you missed all the games as how can you not start Gallagher and play Reilly on the forwards?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 507 - 15/06/2019 18:04:34    2195325

Replying To Crinigan:  "Zero chance? No team ever has zero chance. Meath have a slim chance but not zero chance.

I'm quietly confident we will give them a right go. I know we don't have the same headbangers on our team that we used to have in our golden years, but it would be great to see us get stuck in and start a few rows. Upset their rhythm. Let's see how the likes of Fitzsimons, Howard, Mannion and Costello react to Meath taking an early lead and they take a few North Meath hits in the process. I don't think their club football is as physical as ours is. Teams seem to show serious deference to the Dubs, even likes of Tyrone genuflect to them. Let's stick it the GAA's chosen boys and hammer into them. Drag them into a dogfight. Does O'Sullivan have the appetite for that? Does Kilkenny? Does McCaffrey? Maybe they do, in fact they probably do...but let's test it because nobody else has."
I agree. Thats what Id like to see as well. Im sick of this Dublin team getting a free ride in this respect, all hardness and physicality in the game has been marginalised and stamped out, pardon the pun. Id like to see all of the aforementioned players getting hit hard, not because I dislike them, but I see their physicallity as being an area where they may be uncomfortable, particularly Costello, Fitzsimons, and Howard. I reckon the whole Dublin team would be able to handle themselves all the same. I would however worry about the tactic being misconstrued as dirty and hapless. The Meath teams of the past were erratic and physical but they were also one of the best, if not the best team in the country of any given year. This Meath team is 7/8th at best. Going out swinging is fine if you can back it up with scores. If we go out and play hard and dirty and still get beaten by 15 points itd be looked upon as a joke. Like a massively overwhelmed boxer throwing shapes and low-blows in the first round only to be knocked out in the 3rd. Also nothing from what Ive seen in this Meath team proves to me that they have that edge in them. They are by and large, a team of nice, respectful athletic players, no sledgers in the ranks at all by my estimation, no enforcers, no headcases, no one who'll walk across their opposite man to 50,000 boos, then run up the pitch and kick a point. Its all well and good for us all to cry for blood and of course we all want to see that passion, but I seriously doubt this Meath team has the men for that job. I believe that since the early O'Dowd era when he brought about a new team, the old, tough, dogged mentality was taken out of Meath in a fell swoop. This generation of players have never had that same attribute, although McEntee is slowly building something to be proud of so we might just see a few boys become men on Sunday week. I agree Furlong; tear into them, give them no quarter. The referee cant send off 15 players. Make them earn it. We have absolutely nothing to lose.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 15/06/2019 18:19:20    2195332

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said."
How is that well said, unless of course he is 8 or 9......a very childish and disprespectful response to insinuate that dunboyne are less meath men cause alot of dubs moved into the area i would have thought , yee seem to be going with the " either say meath will win or we'll abuse yee approach" . I'm not a dunboyne man but I know a fair few and staunch meath men is an understatement....maybe they are just a bit more pragmatic down that way and are hopeful rather then expectant. Just except some people aren't as optimistic as yee, it doesn't make them any less a meath man believe me.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 15/06/2019 18:34:40    2195341

Replying To winatallcost:  "Looks like you missed all the games as how can you not start Gallagher and play Reilly on the forwards?"
I all ready explained why I wouldn't start Gallagher. But he playing good enough even though he was poor against Offaly. He was excellent against Carlow and I didn't see Loais game. And I explained Thomas was off the boil Maybe worth a shot.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/06/2019 18:56:23    2195349

Just a quick question, were Louth fans bad fans of their county if they didn't believe that they were going to beat Dublin in the quarter final (bearing in mind that they lost by 26 points)? What about Wicklow fans that didn't believe last year (23 point loss). Or fans of Longford (who you'll remember beat us) last year who didn't believe (19 point loss)?

I would personally say that people going to games to cheer and encourage their team when they believe they will lose are great fans! I don't think we have any chance next Sunday. But I'll be there cheering them on. I won't be too downhearted if we lose by double figures as that's just what generally happens when Dublin play in Leinster. If we give it the best we can on the day, I'll be happy and we can hopefully bring that performance into the qualifier game. But dumping on people because they're realistic and not delusional about our chances against a team that hasn't been beaten in Leinster for 9 years is just bizarre.

Believe me, no one would be happier than me if I was wrong and I'd be the first to admit that I was wrong (actually, it'd probably take a few days cos I'd be busy celebrating). But I literally see next to no chance of that happening.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 15/06/2019 19:02:14    2195352

Replying To southmeathgael:  "How is that well said, unless of course he is 8 or 9......a very childish and disprespectful response to insinuate that dunboyne are less meath men cause alot of dubs moved into the area i would have thought , yee seem to be going with the " either say meath will win or we'll abuse yee approach" . I'm not a dunboyne man but I know a fair few and staunch meath men is an understatement....maybe they are just a bit more pragmatic down that way and are hopeful rather then expectant. Just except some people aren't as optimistic as yee, it doesn't make them any less a meath man believe me."
I know that you are think are very smart and intelligent and insightful saying that Meath have zero chance and are going to be annihilated but I'm sorry, that is not what a real supporter says on a public forum.

We all know that Meath are seriously up against it and none of us are saying that Meath are going to win. But what are you trying to achieve by telling people they are totally wrong to have hope of Meath winning? Or to tell us not to speculate as to what approach we might take or what team we might play? Is that your way of supporting the county and it's supporters? Are you just being 'too cool for school' so when Meath get beaten (which the most likely will) you can come on here and say how obvious and inevitable it all was?

I made the Dunboyne comment to Aloblack and I stand by it. He is calling himself a Meath supporter and saying we have ZERO chance while bowing down to almighty Dublin and slagging off anyone who expresses any positivity. That's not being a Meath supporter - he should have a bit more respect for his county and its history and traditions. Maybe he can polish the medals for his Dublin neighbors with yourself while the rest of us support the team in Croke Park. Pair of Uncle Toms.

Similar to Aloblack, all your posts are geared towards making negative swipes at people's posts... do you ever have anything constructive to say or contribute?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/06/2019 19:13:11    2195355

Replying To Young_gael:  "I agree. Thats what Id like to see as well. Im sick of this Dublin team getting a free ride in this respect, all hardness and physicality in the game has been marginalised and stamped out, pardon the pun. Id like to see all of the aforementioned players getting hit hard, not because I dislike them, but I see their physicallity as being an area where they may be uncomfortable, particularly Costello, Fitzsimons, and Howard. I reckon the whole Dublin team would be able to handle themselves all the same. I would however worry about the tactic being misconstrued as dirty and hapless. The Meath teams of the past were erratic and physical but they were also one of the best, if not the best team in the country of any given year. This Meath team is 7/8th at best. Going out swinging is fine if you can back it up with scores. If we go out and play hard and dirty and still get beaten by 15 points itd be looked upon as a joke. Like a massively overwhelmed boxer throwing shapes and low-blows in the first round only to be knocked out in the 3rd. Also nothing from what Ive seen in this Meath team proves to me that they have that edge in them. They are by and large, a team of nice, respectful athletic players, no sledgers in the ranks at all by my estimation, no enforcers, no headcases, no one who'll walk across their opposite man to 50,000 boos, then run up the pitch and kick a point. Its all well and good for us all to cry for blood and of course we all want to see that passion, but I seriously doubt this Meath team has the men for that job. I believe that since the early O'Dowd era when he brought about a new team, the old, tough, dogged mentality was taken out of Meath in a fell swoop. This generation of players have never had that same attribute, although McEntee is slowly building something to be proud of so we might just see a few boys become men on Sunday week. I agree Furlong; tear into them, give them no quarter. The referee cant send off 15 players. Make them earn it. We have absolutely nothing to lose."
I'd agree that current Meath team doesn't have those kind of players anymore. Really nice lads on and off the field. The team of 90s I had supported as a teenager and was always upset when they were branded as dirty and thugs etc. That was until I started playing them in club matches when I reached adulthood and saw that many of them indeed were. But that's how you win at inter county , that's what's needed. Dublin certainly have a few of them. Hopefully we will find that we have a few too on Sunday week.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/06/2019 19:22:32    2195358

Replying To Crinigan:  "I'd agree that current Meath team doesn't have those kind of players anymore. Really nice lads on and off the field. The team of 90s I had supported as a teenager and was always upset when they were branded as dirty and thugs etc. That was until I started playing them in club matches when I reached adulthood and saw that many of them indeed were. But that's how you win at inter county , that's what's needed. Dublin certainly have a few of them. Hopefully we will find that we have a few too on Sunday week."
It wont be long now until the game and our heads are put at rest! Btw apologies for calling you the wrong name in my last post.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 15/06/2019 19:37:35    2195366

Replying To Htaem:  "Let me tell yous a little underdog story from another sport I love, just to give the quitters and the Dubs a laugh.

This Leinster final reminds me a bit of the 2003 PDC world darts final between the unbeatable Phil Taylor and no hoper John Part.

Phil Taylor had won 8 world championships in a row heading into that final, he was on a 44 game winning streak in the tournament, absolutely unheard of domination of top players. Taylor had infact only been beaten once in the tournaments entire history, the very first final back in 1994.

Part on the other hand was a good player, a very good player infact but surely no match for the greatest of all time. He'd qualified for the PDC final once before, in 2001 where he was dismantled by Taylor 7-0, he'd only won 3 legs in the entire game, a humiliating effort.

Taylor turned up to the final in 2003 all set to retain his crown, it was a foregone conclusion, Part had zero chance, only problem was somebody forgot to send the script over to Canada this time.

Part stormed into a 4-1 lead much to everybodys shock, but the champion fought back and took the lead 5-4. Normal service had been restored, all Taylor had to do now was canter to a finish, but no, once again the Canadian forget he was supposed to lose.

He brought Taylor to the hill and lead 2-1 in the final set, Taylor missed an opportunity to level it 2-2 giving Part a shot at 77 to stun the world of darts, and that he did. He left himself double 20 with 1 dart in his hand and and with incredible nerve he smacked it into the target to stun the Circus Tavern, Part was world champion, he defeated the undefeatable Taylor 7-6.

Such was the confusion that the man who had been used to letting off an explosion of confetti to celebrate Taylor's win forgot to do the same for Part. This just wasn't supposed to happen.

The thing is Part believed in himself, he remained calm and wasn't overawed by his illustrious opponent, he never accepted failure throughout the challenge. Most importantly I suppose is that he took the majority of chances afforded to him by Taylor and Taylor didn't give away many chances so Part had to create his own.

Will Meath do the same? I don't know, but it can be done!"
Good Darts :) nice story.
I remember Anthony Moyles and Johnny Doyle , too guys I respect, talking on a podacast a few years ago and they where both in totally agreement that teams are beat long before they take the field against Dublin. And teams need to go in to game believing they can win. IMO Your going to need alot more than belief but I guess its a start.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/06/2019 20:18:34    2195380

The one factor about this game that is keeping the media quiet so far, and its keeping the Dublin camp quiet, and indeed it is causing this bustling underground hype to start building up in county Meath; is that its Meath they're playing. There is no greater stick in the road for Dublin than a motivated Meath team. Arguably there is no greater banana skin in the GAA as a whole. In 2001 Meath were meant to lose to a young and exciting Kerry team in an All-Ireland Semi, the same Kerry team was being billed as the GAA's poster boys, Meath savaged them; won by 2-14 to 0-6; one of Kerry's biggest ever losses. They were 4 points down in injury time against Louth a year later and won by 2 by scoring 2 wonder goals. They were supposed to lose to Antrim in the Christy Ring hurling final three years ago; won controversially in a rollercoaster game and the match was replayed. They were 100% meant to lose the replay, but after a war they won it as well. They have proven time and time again since their first All-Ireland in 1949 that Meath are not quitters, they are the definition of tough, and they don't do BS, and they don't do favouritism or underdogs. How many times have Meath teams been the pantomime villain in the 80s snd 90s that showed up against the force of the rest of the country and stole the glory, completely upsetting the apple cart. Thats why we are so infamous around this country. They love to hate us, we're special. We're the biggest shower of f*** in the country but we are as hard as nails and deserve respect. Its only very recently (mid-2000s) and the hellish capitulation against a 2 man Westmeath team in 2016 springs to mind, that that tenacity and "Meathness" looked gone... and maybe it is gone, maybe Meath under McEntee and beyond will be a different team altogether, but make no mistake that mystique and that special X-factor that Meath have had in the past is a weapon in and of itself. It is the variable that could make this game very, very interesting. This Dublin team is the greatest opposition any Meath team has ever faced... they're far and away the best team Ive ever seen in my lifetime. But this year they're not playing Laois, or Kildare for the Leinster championship. Hell, they're not even playing the Meath of O'Dowd, this is a different Meath. A team of lads who've by-and-large never had the opportunity before. A team who came agonisingly, painfully close to Donegal and Tyrone in the championship the past two years. A team who should be motivated by their pain and their sudden burst of success this year. My overarching point is that this Meath team should have absolutely no inhibitions; wear that jersey with pride, remember the men and women at all levels who've represented Meath before and slain the dragons of Dublin or Cork or Kerry or whoever, and believe in yourselves. One day this Dublin team will have to get beaten... and when that day comes I believe it wont be an All-Ireland final or even an All-Ireland semi, it'll be a massive shock game against a team who didn't take the blue pill, and went for blood. Maybe Im rambling here... but we have to believe. The team has to believe.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 15/06/2019 21:27:41    2195471

Replying To Crinigan:  "I know that you are think are very smart and intelligent and insightful saying that Meath have zero chance and are going to be annihilated but I'm sorry, that is not what a real supporter says on a public forum.

We all know that Meath are seriously up against it and none of us are saying that Meath are going to win. But what are you trying to achieve by telling people they are totally wrong to have hope of Meath winning? Or to tell us not to speculate as to what approach we might take or what team we might play? Is that your way of supporting the county and it's supporters? Are you just being 'too cool for school' so when Meath get beaten (which the most likely will) you can come on here and say how obvious and inevitable it all was?

I made the Dunboyne comment to Aloblack and I stand by it. He is calling himself a Meath supporter and saying we have ZERO chance while bowing down to almighty Dublin and slagging off anyone who expresses any positivity. That's not being a Meath supporter - he should have a bit more respect for his county and its history and traditions. Maybe he can polish the medals for his Dublin neighbors with yourself while the rest of us support the team in Croke Park. Pair of Uncle Toms.

Similar to Aloblack, all your posts are geared towards making negative swipes at people's posts... do you ever have anything constructive to say or contribute?"
Well firstly i have no issue with your dunboyne comment. Its the norm for us when up against any club the far side of navan. The clubs up around north mean who are basically Cavan people are usually the main culprits so its water off a ducks back at this stage. Secondly so your having a go at me for slagging off anyone who expresses a positive opinion . Fair enough maybe i am slagging them off. But exactly the same way your slagging me off for expressing my opinion just because you don't agree with it. Pretty hypocritical really. The difference between me and you is that i call it as i see it and unfortunately i see that we have zero chance next Sunday . Im not just gonna agree with people for the sake of it. If i agree ill say it. Like earlier when i 100% agreed with royaldunne about starting conlon. We very rarely agree but on that occasion he was spot on. Classic liberal lefty nonsense out of u. Everyone is entitled to their opinion as long as its the same as yours and if its not we'll shout them down. As for the uncle tom comment. Ridiculous. It just so happens to be Dublin we've no chance against its got nothing to do with them being the GAAs golden boys as to why im saying it. Its because there a million miles better than us at the moment. If it was any other county who were a million miles better than us id be saying it too. Im giving my opinion. If u don't like it ignore it.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 21:35:58    2195488

Replying To southmeathgael:  "How is that well said, unless of course he is 8 or 9......a very childish and disprespectful response to insinuate that dunboyne are less meath men cause alot of dubs moved into the area i would have thought , yee seem to be going with the " either say meath will win or we'll abuse yee approach" . I'm not a dunboyne man but I know a fair few and staunch meath men is an understatement....maybe they are just a bit more pragmatic down that way and are hopeful rather then expectant. Just except some people aren't as optimistic as yee, it doesn't make them any less a meath man believe me."
Actually the well said was the condescending approach (that you portrayed again) to anyone who thinks and hopes Meath will win. NOTHING to do with Dunboyne, so get the chip off ur shoulders, furthermore two of the most vocal supporters of Meath on here are from Dunboyne, furlong and if I'm right htaem too. So less of it, I have nothing against Dunboyne, and we're delighted with their win last year. Get ur facts straight, instead of jumping on something, and don't go to match either please, as you probably be cringing if we did win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 21:44:29    2195493

Now log in and out and red thumb my response. And you have the audacity to call anyone childish alo

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 21:47:46    2195498