Meath V Dublin

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "paddy power should snap you up seen as you know results of games before they actually happen."
Forget paddy power. Old mores almanac is where is talent lays best.
Aloock = Nostradamus.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 10:04:31    2195173

Replying To royaldunne:  "My advice, don't bother."
I will ignore your advice thank you. Unlike you i don't just support the team when i think they will win. I support them no matter what. I also live in the real world and not La La land like you. We have zero chance next Sunday but i know the lads will give absolutely everything and i will be there roaring them on as loud as anyone

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 10:19:41    2195177

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "paddy power should snap you up seen as you know results of games before they actually happen."
Yeah Paddy Power are mad to employ me for predicting 1/50 favourites Dublin will beat meath. Good man.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 10:21:51    2195180

Replying To Aloblack:  "I will ignore your advice thank you. Unlike you i don't just support the team when i think they will win. I support them no matter what. I also live in the real world and not La La land like you. We have zero chance next Sunday but i know the lads will give absolutely everything and i will be there roaring them on as loud as anyone"
Like you said I have been at 99% of Meath matches since mid 70s. I have no time for so called support like you. Never have gone to a game accepting defeat and never will. That's called been A REAL SUPPORTER. Something you clearly are not. Stay at home. We don't want or need you

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 10:49:36    2195185

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah. I've a funny feeling that it's only one or two with a multiple personality, if you get my drift."
Could be on to something there royaldunne, they seem to have quite a bit of phantom support.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/06/2019 10:57:37    2195188

Replying To Aloblack:  "Yeah Paddy Power are mad to employ me for predicting 1/50 favourites Dublin will beat meath. Good man."
What's the score difference going to be as a matter of interest, be specific, we could all make a few bob backing Meath + (whatever) if you just tell us how much Dublin is going to slaughter us by.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/06/2019 11:00:26    2195189

Replying To royaldunne:  "Like you said I have been at 99% of Meath matches since mid 70s. I have no time for so called support like you. Never have gone to a game accepting defeat and never will. That's called been A REAL SUPPORTER. Something you clearly are not. Stay at home. We don't want or need you"
Thats called living in cloud cuckoo land. Ill be there next week giving the lads massive support and hoping they do themselves justice which im sure they will and then hoping for a favourable draw in the qualifiers to get to the super 8s.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 11:06:54    2195191

Replying To Aloblack:  "I will ignore your advice thank you. Unlike you i don't just support the team when i think they will win. I support them no matter what. I also live in the real world and not La La land like you. We have zero chance next Sunday but i know the lads will give absolutely everything and i will be there roaring them on as loud as anyone"
Zero chance? No team ever has zero chance. Meath have a slim chance but not zero chance.

I'm quietly confident we will give them a right go. I know we don't have the same headbangers on our team that we used to have in our golden years, but it would be great to see us get stuck in and start a few rows. Upset their rhythm. Let's see how the likes of Fitzsimons, Howard, Mannion and Costello react to Meath taking an early lead and they take a few North Meath hits in the process. I don't think their club football is as physical as ours is. Teams seem to show serious deference to the Dubs, even likes of Tyrone genuflect to them. Let's stick it the GAA's chosen boys and hammer into them. Drag them into a dogfight. Does O'Sullivan have the appetite for that? Does Kilkenny? Does McCaffrey? Maybe they do, in fact they probably do...but let's test it because nobody else has.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/06/2019 11:15:21    2195193

Replying To Htaem:  "Could be on to something there royaldunne, they seem to have quite a bit of phantom support."
Yep. I think so.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 11:28:02    2195196

Replying To Crinigan:  "Zero chance? No team ever has zero chance. Meath have a slim chance but not zero chance.

I'm quietly confident we will give them a right go. I know we don't have the same headbangers on our team that we used to have in our golden years, but it would be great to see us get stuck in and start a few rows. Upset their rhythm. Let's see how the likes of Fitzsimons, Howard, Mannion and Costello react to Meath taking an early lead and they take a few North Meath hits in the process. I don't think their club football is as physical as ours is. Teams seem to show serious deference to the Dubs, even likes of Tyrone genuflect to them. Let's stick it the GAA's chosen boys and hammer into them. Drag them into a dogfight. Does O'Sullivan have the appetite for that? Does Kilkenny? Does McCaffrey? Maybe they do, in fact they probably do...but let's test it because nobody else has."
Exactly, some so called Meath supporters want us to go and bow down to them , genuflect as you say, cause we are not worthy. There is no doubt they are a fantastic team with great players, but Ben Brennan will get stuck in, I'd love to see a few old Meath style hits, let's see how manly they are , they are the most pampered inter county players of all time, let's see what happens if it gets down and dirty. Brogan won't start Connolly is gone, are there any real tough players on the Dublin team that would be any good in a row? Actually I'll give cluxton that , he probably only one of them, get in their faces from throw in. Let's see how they react
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 11:38:43    2195199

Andrew Colgan;
Seamus Lavin Conor McGill,
Ronan Ryan
James McEntee , Harnan Donal Keogan

Bryan Menton ,Shane Mc Entee;

Ben Brennan, Bryan McMahon , Cillian O'Sullivan)
Thomas O'Reilly , Michael Newman James Conlon

I missed the Loais game so I am not 100% who is form but I will have a stab at the team.
Hopefully Harnan is fit. Nothing against Gallagher or Mc Coy but I like it when Ryan plays sweeper. He is a clam head on young shoulders. I have been preferring Flanagan ahead of Shane but if he had a bad day the last day, Shane maybe starts. Thomas O'Reilly has been struggling. But I might risk starting him. And if he could get going he is physical. Playing Keogan a wing half frees up our best ball carrier to do damage.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/06/2019 11:55:40    2195207

Replying To Htaem:  "What's the score difference going to be as a matter of interest, be specific, we could all make a few bob backing Meath + (whatever) if you just tell us how much Dublin is going to slaughter us by."
Dublin will win by at least 1 point. You heard it here first lads.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 12:01:12    2195209

Replying To Crinigan:  "Zero chance? No team ever has zero chance. Meath have a slim chance but not zero chance.

I'm quietly confident we will give them a right go. I know we don't have the same headbangers on our team that we used to have in our golden years, but it would be great to see us get stuck in and start a few rows. Upset their rhythm. Let's see how the likes of Fitzsimons, Howard, Mannion and Costello react to Meath taking an early lead and they take a few North Meath hits in the process. I don't think their club football is as physical as ours is. Teams seem to show serious deference to the Dubs, even likes of Tyrone genuflect to them. Let's stick it the GAA's chosen boys and hammer into them. Drag them into a dogfight. Does O'Sullivan have the appetite for that? Does Kilkenny? Does McCaffrey? Maybe they do, in fact they probably do...but let's test it because nobody else has."
Yeah because none of the other teams like Tyrone have ever hit them hard or try to drag them into a dog fight. Why didn't we all think of that before. How will they react to going behind early?? Unfortunately the way the way they always react. They'll stay calm wont panic and will chip away and eventually win pulling up.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 12:12:30    2195211

Does andy mcentee start james conlon against dublin? Im 50 50, he was pretty great against laois but not sure this game would suit him this early in senior career

This is the team I'd go with (praying harnan is fit)

1. Colgan

2. Lavin
3.Mcgill
4. Gallagher

5. Ryan
6.keoghan
7. Mccoy

8. Menton
9. Shane mcentee

10.osullivan
11. Ben brennan
12. James mcentee

13. Harnan (as a third midfielder/extra half back)
14 newman
15. Mcmahon

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 15/06/2019 12:18:09    2195214

Please stay at home you are not wanted in croke park. This attitude is unbelievable it's a sports game of course we have a chance some of these dublin players like Scully have never had a hard test in their lives I'm convinced we have defenders to deal with the likes of him in fact theres not a hope that dublin forward has a patch on the one of a few years ago with Connolly, Flynn and Brogan. The fear I have is that our forwards aren't good enough and the ball will keep coming back down the field they need to have the game of their lives

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 15/06/2019 12:31:14    2195218

Replying To redser123:  "Does andy mcentee start james conlon against dublin? Im 50 50, he was pretty great against laois but not sure this game would suit him this early in senior career

This is the team I'd go with (praying harnan is fit)

1. Colgan

2. Lavin
3.Mcgill
4. Gallagher

5. Ryan
6.keoghan
7. Mccoy

8. Menton
9. Shane mcentee

10.osullivan
11. Ben brennan
12. James mcentee

13. Harnan (as a third midfielder/extra half back)
14 newman
15. Mcmahon"
Can't not start Conlon imo. If nothing more his runs will free up Newman, he is the only player that Dublin seem genuinely worried about. So yeah start him, definitely. It's all or nothing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2019 12:40:14    2195222

Replying To Aloblack:  "Dublin will win by at least 1 point. You heard it here first lads."
Haha righteo, cheers that's very insightful, good night and god bless chief.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/06/2019 13:05:22    2195229

Replying To Htaem:  "Haha righteo, cheers that's very insightful, good night and god bless chief."
Your sarcasm meter not working today i see.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 14:09:19    2195238

Let me tell yous a little underdog story from another sport I love, just to give the quitters and the Dubs a laugh.

This Leinster final reminds me a bit of the 2003 PDC world darts final between the unbeatable Phil Taylor and no hoper John Part.

Phil Taylor had won 8 world championships in a row heading into that final, he was on a 44 game winning streak in the tournament, absolutely unheard of domination of top players. Taylor had infact only been beaten once in the tournaments entire history, the very first final back in 1994.

Part on the other hand was a good player, a very good player infact but surely no match for the greatest of all time. He'd qualified for the PDC final once before, in 2001 where he was dismantled by Taylor 7-0, he'd only won 3 legs in the entire game, a humiliating effort.

Taylor turned up to the final in 2003 all set to retain his crown, it was a foregone conclusion, Part had zero chance, only problem was somebody forgot to send the script over to Canada this time.

Part stormed into a 4-1 lead much to everybodys shock, but the champion fought back and took the lead 5-4. Normal service had been restored, all Taylor had to do now was canter to a finish, but no, once again the Canadian forget he was supposed to lose.

He brought Taylor to the hill and lead 2-1 in the final set, Taylor missed an opportunity to level it 2-2 giving Part a shot at 77 to stun the world of darts, and that he did. He left himself double 20 with 1 dart in his hand and and with incredible nerve he smacked it into the target to stun the Circus Tavern, Part was world champion, he defeated the undefeatable Taylor 7-6.

Such was the confusion that the man who had been used to letting off an explosion of confetti to celebrate Taylor's win forgot to do the same for Part. This just wasn't supposed to happen.

The thing is Part believed in himself, he remained calm and wasn't overawed by his illustrious opponent, he never accepted failure throughout the challenge. Most importantly I suppose is that he took the majority of chances afforded to him by Taylor and Taylor didn't give away many chances so Part had to create his own.

Will Meath do the same? I don't know, but it can be done!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/06/2019 14:18:28    2195240

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can't not start Conlon imo. If nothing more his runs will free up Newman, he is the only player that Dublin seem genuinely worried about. So yeah start him, definitely. It's all or nothing"
For once we agree. Our best forward easily the last day. And you would know better than me but he looks like a confidence player and his can only be sky high after his performance v Laois. He must start

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 15/06/2019 14:44:55    2195253