Meath V Dublin

Replying To redser123:  "I just know we're going to draw Tyrone :("
Twice we've drawn Laois, Armagh and Tyrone in the last 3 4th round qualifiers. Donegal and Tyrone more recently in an earlier round.

We've a terrible record against the ulster sides.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/06/2019 21:06:58    2200276

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I agree with ya, two to many verys tho. Jesus there is some clowns on here, paddy Orourke is the answer now?? Jesus wept"
Paddy O Rourke could still play at full forward , or is he too tall to play there ? Do we need alll those little buzzy bees ?

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 24/06/2019 22:11:13    2200334

Replying To meath1977:  "what are you on about we can play offaly and Laois that was a old rule they changed last year"
No-one has produced anything to back up the assertion that it's an open draw whereas there are loads of references to there being restrictions on re-runs of provincial matches. Why is there such confusion about this? The March 2019 edition of the GAA rule-book couldn't be clearer. We cannot play Laois or Offaly. End of story.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 24/06/2019 22:16:58    2200337

Paddy O Rourke could still play at full forward , or is he too tall to play there ? Do we need alll those little buzzy bees ?

O Rourke was tried In the forwards under Banty. He was awful. Out of his depth, and let's be honest he hasn't the temperament. When the going gets tough Paddy gets sent off like v laois and again against westmeath

7sams (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 24/06/2019 22:25:30    2200341

Replying To noluso:  "Paddy O Rourke could still play at full forward , or is he too tall to play there ? Do we need alll those little buzzy bees ?"
Tell you what call joe Sheridan or graham geraghty. Por ffs

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2019 22:35:53    2200347

Replying To Analyst:  "Looks like ypu were wrong, not for first time"
I asked this morning Aloblack responded as I had thought we could not draw them. At least read the posts before making a fool of yourself

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2019 22:37:22    2200351

Replying To noluso:  "Paddy O Rourke could still play at full forward , or is he too tall to play there ? Do we need alll those little buzzy bees ?"
No he's not too tall he's just not good enough. Had his chance and wasn't up to it.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 24/06/2019 22:53:56    2200363

Paddy O Rourke?? No ppl please stop. Done with now. Also we cannot meet Laois or Offaly. It will be Mayo, I know it....

Eri (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 24/06/2019 22:56:34    2200364

Replying To meath1977:  "what are you on about we can play offaly and Laois that was a old rule they changed last year"
The original poster quoted from the offical guide, which has on the front page "Effective from March 23rd 2019 "

So he's right in saying we can't draw Laois or Offaly.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 24/06/2019 22:58:53    2200365

From the Irish Times......

Mayo will face Armagh in the third round of the football championship qualifiers, while Tyrone will take on Kildare.

The four winners from round three will play the four provincial losers for the remaining four spots in the Super 8s.

Therefore two of the provincial final losers - Meath, Cavan, Cork and Galway - will face the winners of Westmeath v Clare, and Offaly v Laois to reach the Super 8s. Three of those four teams competed in Division Three of the 2019 league.

Meath however can't be drawn against the winner of Laois and Offaly because there are no repeat fixtures allowed for in round four. While Cavan and Armagh also can't meet again.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/06/2019 23:21:06    2200372

Paddy O'Rourke as a full forward Christ almighty. We tried it in 2011 and it didn't work what so ever. The days of throwing a big lad in full forward and causing havoc are over. Donaghy was the greatest big target man of the last 15 years and he had pretty much no joy against the Dubs in 2013,2015 and 2016. And he is a county mile ahead of Paddy. Paddy will have a mismatch on a lad one on one. Then the other team starts to filter a sweeper back and Paddy has no mobility and now can't get any distance at all. All ball into him is dried up and he is rendered useless and loses the head and plants an elbow into a lad like he did against Westmeath and Cavan in the league. This stuff is brain dead. Also besides he said it's pointless to play for Meath because we can't win anything so he made his bed and he can sleep in it. Some people on here would do your head in. I wish we had quality bigger inside forwards (Walsh, Mitchell and Morris in a few years hopefully). But you don't just select somebody there because they are big. They have to be good enough and be mentally strong enough too

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1456 - 25/06/2019 04:35:46    2200401

OK so it was a bad day at the office but to be fair we were never going to get within 8 points of them and are quite a way off an all ireland.

At this stage we definitely shouldn't be parachuting in players that haven't been with the squad. What would the other guys think that have been bursting their asses since the winter. They would hardly bother next year.

We should target the Super 8 from the point of view of players getting experience at a higher level. Going forward for next year we definitely need to find a better keeper even if that means trying to transform an outfield player. The standard of kick out is atrocious and is costing us 3-4 points a game. To not have dependable free taker at this level is criminal and should also be made a priority. After the first 2 misses on Sunday I could see we were never going to kick a free yet we never tried a short free to take the pressure off the kicker.

What I also noticed is we lack players who can run intelligently with the ball at pace over long distances.

Anyway onwards and upwards and hopefully Andy can raise the guys for the next day.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 25/06/2019 08:26:22    2200418

Replying To royaldunne:  "I asked this morning Aloblack responded as I had thought we could not draw them. At least read the posts before making a fool of yourself"
Yeah I'm very confused still some saying we can play them some saying we can't. People saying it was a rule last few years that you couldn't play a team twice. Yes it was but this is the Gaa so they could easily have changed that rule and just not told anyone. Until we get official confirmation either way fron Croke Park probably best to stop speculating

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 25/06/2019 09:38:34    2200442

Replying To Aloblack:  "Yeah I'm very confused still some saying we can play them some saying we can't. People saying it was a rule last few years that you couldn't play a team twice. Yes it was but this is the Gaa so they could easily have changed that rule and just not told anyone. Until we get official confirmation either way fron Croke Park probably best to stop speculating"
That's not really how it works. The GAA publishes a revised guide every year containing all the rules. While it's forgivable that you don't read the entire thing cover to cover, you can't then turn around and say the fact you personally don't know the rules means that they're up in the air.

It'd be like waiting for the Gardaí to personally inform you about every single law before obeying them.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 25/06/2019 11:36:30    2200522

It will be very hard to comeback after that defeat 3 points from play in 75 mins of Senior football is embarrassing to say the least. They are better then that performance but nerves seemed to have got to some of these players. Conlon did get the ball a good few times in front of his marker but the ball just wouldn't stick to him no doubt he deserved his place on the team but maybe as a sub rather then a starter. Cannot blame just him though the other 5 forwards were just as bad . Ideal draw would be Clare or Westmeath i think but i would like to see them have another crack at Tyrone.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 25/06/2019 11:43:55    2200525

I think we'll see a reaction the next day. The players will want to show they are better than what they displayed on Sunday. There is a massive carrot on the line in 3 high profile matches against good opposition. They will feel they are a Div 1 team and should be capable of making the super 8s. Whether it will be good enough to beat the likes of a Tyrone or a Mayo is another matter. On reflection, I think part of the problem on Sunday was that when we got past midfield there wasn't enough runners coming through off the shoulder - understandable because lads were probably knackered after defending the last Dublin attack but also understandable that they might have been afraid about leaving their man unmarked in our half of the pitch. That shouldn't be as big an issue against other teams which means our attack should function a little better. Lads will stick have to kick scores so hopefully they will find some confidence from somewhere on that front.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 25/06/2019 12:39:14    2200562

Replying To CastleBravo:  "That's not really how it works. The GAA publishes a revised guide every year containing all the rules. While it's forgivable that you don't read the entire thing cover to cover, you can't then turn around and say the fact you personally don't know the rules means that they're up in the air.

It'd be like waiting for the Gardaí to personally inform you about every single law before obeying them."
What are you on about. Clearly theres confusion as there has been varying opinions on whether we can or cannot play Laois and offaly. Im not saying The GAA will decide this week if we can or cannot. Im saying they may have changed the rule at the start of the year and as you said most people were unaware because we didn't read the revised rules guide from cover to cover. And expecting them to inform us of every single rule change ??? When did anyone mention that. And when did anyone mention not obeying the GAA . There has been between 5-8 people on here some saying we can some saying we can't play them so im saying lets wait to until the GAA confirm one way or another. Or else you go off there and read the revised rules from cover to cover and come back to us and let us all know. Thanks

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 25/06/2019 12:50:57    2200567

Replying To CastleBravo:  "The original poster quoted from the offical guide, which has on the front page "Effective from March 23rd 2019 "

So he's right in saying we can't draw Laois or Offaly."
over that rule it says 2018 so I would not be that sure. the gaa makes the rules up as they go along so it's depending how they feel on the day

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 25/06/2019 13:21:38    2200586

Its a few days past now and while we had our fair share of possession our tactics and execution were deplorable. Management need to take a good look at themselves as some of tactics were awful. Playing Conlon inside on his own was criminal and we persisted with it. Conditions didn't suit the type of ball Conlon needs. We could have utilized his pace further out the field and put Newman in Full forward. Everyone in the stadium could see after 15/20 mins the Conlon plan wasn't working except our management and we persisted with it until he was substituted. One change wasn't going to affect the result but it could have paid more dividends. Starting Biggy was a bad call, he didn't really contribute anything apart from 4 wides and one good tackle. Statistics have shown our scoring average goes up when he comes on but that option wasn't available. Anyway let's hope that was a one off and we get back on the horse in 2 weeks time.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 25/06/2019 14:18:05    2200621

From the 2019 master fixture booklet, published last November and available on the GAA website:

"06-07.07.2019 (Sat/Sun)
Round 4
(Four Games)
Each of the four defeated Provincial Finalists shall play against one of the four winners from
Round 3.
Subject to the avoidance of Repeat Pairings where feasible, a Draw shall be made to
determine the four pairings.
Venues for Round 4 shall be determined by the Central Competitions Control Committee."

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 25/06/2019 15:18:27    2200672