2019 Club Championship.

Replying To Bear10:  "Simonstown Along with Summerhill will be close don't think ratoath or Ashbourne or dunboyne this year. Mahoney look good along with Kells but I think dark horses could be na fianna"
Ye must be joking about Na Fianna winning the Meath Senior Championship. They struggled to beat Curraha and only for a dodgy referee they were beaten.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 24/04/2019 00:11:41    2180008

A league fixtures scheduled for tonight at 7pm is some joke

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 24/04/2019 08:12:57    2180018

Replying To southmeathgael:  "A league fixtures scheduled for tonight at 7pm is some joke"
A lot of teams will be playing mostly second teamers with injuries and county team commitments for senior under 20 etc .

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 24/04/2019 10:25:18    2180033

What is the need for league games tonight? Some teams only played championship two days ago? Another example of the county board not giving a s**t about league games! Just get them played and out of the way. If Meath make it to the super 8's teams will have a whole month of July and part of June with absolutely nothing to play for except one guaranteed cup game! The leagues need more respect and need to be treated properly by the administrators.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 24/04/2019 12:35:02    2180056

Replying To southmeathgael:  "A league fixtures scheduled for tonight at 7pm is some joke"
It's a total joke. It's making the league totally noncompetitive. Days after championship, midweek and starting at 7pm. Most people finish work at 5.30 and need to travel. Straight from the car to a match. You'd be down more players from this sh1tshow than having it on a hurling weekend.

Guarantee there will be free weekends over the summer when these could be played.

meathgaa91 (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 24/04/2019 13:19:34    2180059

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What is the need for league games tonight? Some teams only played championship two days ago? Another example of the county board not giving a s**t about league games! Just get them played and out of the way. If Meath make it to the super 8's teams will have a whole month of July and part of June with absolutely nothing to play for except one guaranteed cup game! The leagues need more respect and need to be treated properly by the administrators."
Had the same taught myself and the only logic that I could come up with was that as it is still April, then the county players (Senior and U20s) will be available. Will be interesting to see if that is the case. Ultimately it will be probably be the last time that they are available until Meath are knocked out of the championship.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 24/04/2019 13:21:59    2180060

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What is the need for league games tonight? Some teams only played championship two days ago? Another example of the county board not giving a s**t about league games! Just get them played and out of the way. If Meath make it to the super 8's teams will have a whole month of July and part of June with absolutely nothing to play for except one guaranteed cup game! The leagues need more respect and need to be treated properly by the administrators."
I couldn't agree more. Why is there such a hurry on the leagues? Round 8 is due to be played on the May Bank Holiday weekend.

ISupposeSoSheehan (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 24/04/2019 13:49:01    2180067

Kudos to the fella who writes up the blog on the Meath GAA website. His knowledge of players in the county is exceptional. I particularly enjoyed the past weekend's review. Fred the red even got a mention. Worth a read: http://meath.gaa.ie/therispinblog/?fbclid=IwAR0N8iWmo1C-wcdFcwhgTg6yM04iLRzKS8MZUvsJnDmPja9Ic9HL7UFi4Mw

ISupposeSoSheehan (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 24/04/2019 13:55:16    2180070

Replying To ISupposeSoSheehan:  "Kudos to the fella who writes up the blog on the Meath GAA website. His knowledge of players in the county is exceptional. I particularly enjoyed the past weekend's review. Fred the red even got a mention. Worth a read: Yes" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://meath.gaa.ie/therispinblog/?fbclid=IwAR0N8iWmo1C-wcdFcwhgTg6yM04iLRzKS8MZUvsJnDmPja9Ic9HL7UFi4Mw"
Yes I agree. The Rispin Blog is always a fantastic read.

Anmhi364 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 24/04/2019 14:10:07    2180072

Replying To juicy:  "Had the same taught myself and the only logic that I could come up with was that as it is still April, then the county players (Senior and U20s) will be available. Will be interesting to see if that is the case. Ultimately it will be probably be the last time that they are available until Meath are knocked out of the championship."
Hope I'm wrong but I would be absolutely amazed if any of the county lads line out tonight for their clubs.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 24/04/2019 16:32:08    2180106

No chance will there be county players playing tonight. A Leagues are scheduled to end on the 16th of June! That's half of June, all of July and possibly part of August with no games! While the first 4/5 rounds of the league were played in bad weather conditions, on poor pitches and half fit teams. Also teams will be lucky if games do not end in darkness tonight as 7:00pm is pushing it tight and most games are down for 7:00pm due to venues not having match lights! How are the Meath CCC fixtures people getting away with this carry on?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 24/04/2019 17:00:56    2180112

Didnt see any county players on show tonight , so what was point of playing a league tonight ?
Whats the rush?

Talking to lad at the game tonight and he thinks no meath hurlers allowed play at the weeknd either
Thankfully this april club month rubbish is over next year
Just not working

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 24/04/2019 22:55:11    2180154

Was a ridiculous situation to put clubs into.but that's no problem play away lads 7 clk starts dark before Ye finish health and safety me arse.have you ever seen the like of this sh..e.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 25/04/2019 18:28:49    2180258

No county hurlers or footballers played league Wednesday night.

i actually like the fact the CCC are trying to get the league over with before championship, although wednesday night was probably a step too far. but no one wants to play league / cup competitions after championship. brendan davis cup was basically abandoned last year due to fixture congestion. we must remember U21 football / hurling championships need to be respected also, and they have been played in December the last few years.

what is happening next year regarding the fixtures? when does football championship start if not in April?

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 26/04/2019 09:05:19    2180332

Replying To overthehill72:  "No county hurlers or footballers played league Wednesday night.

i actually like the fact the CCC are trying to get the league over with before championship, although wednesday night was probably a step too far. but no one wants to play league / cup competitions after championship. brendan davis cup was basically abandoned last year due to fixture congestion. we must remember U21 football / hurling championships need to be respected also, and they have been played in December the last few years.

what is happening next year regarding the fixtures? when does football championship start if not in April?"
No that was abandoned due to the incompetinse of the county board and not following their own rules. I would imagine that the league will start in March next year and will run until July before championship starts in August. For this to work though leagues need to be ran properly and shown respect by all including teams and county board. Leagues will be more competitive next year i think.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 26/04/2019 12:12:57    2180374

Replying To ISupposeSoSheehan:  "Kudos to the fella who writes up the blog on the Meath GAA website. His knowledge of players in the county is exceptional. I particularly enjoyed the past weekend's review. Fred the red even got a mention. Worth a read: Not" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://meath.gaa.ie/therispinblog/?fbclid=IwAR0N8iWmo1C-wcdFcwhgTg6yM04iLRzKS8MZUvsJnDmPja9Ic9HL7UFi4Mw"
Not my cup of tea I'm afraid. I don't agree with the personal jibes for instance calling a young county player a party animal or another player a baldy maestro. I'm surprised Meath GAA approve of this type of thing. Why can't they they get proper reporting on matches. Take a look at the Dublin GAA website now. Match reports and round ups from club games this week.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 26/04/2019 12:41:03    2180387

Replying To BigJoe14:  "No that was abandoned due to the incompetinse of the county board and not following their own rules. I would imagine that the league will start in March next year and will run until July before championship starts in August. For this to work though leagues need to be ran properly and shown respect by all including teams and county board. Leagues will be more competitive next year i think."
it would be great to get to a situation where all football and hurling league / cup comps were finished incl the finals, by say July 15th. with 3 designated games where county players must be made available.

and then championship starts, hurling and football week on week off for 15 weeks on the 21st July.

for this to work the inter county season needs to be brought forward 2-3 weeks more than it already has.

only thing left would be the u21 championships, but 90% of clubs would be knocked out by October 1st so could start then. with the teams who are still in the adult championships having a by in 1st round where possible so not to delay fixtures a further 2-3 weeks.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 26/04/2019 13:07:37    2180395

Replying To summerof09:  "Not my cup of tea I'm afraid. I don't agree with the personal jibes for instance calling a young county player a party animal or another player a baldy maestro. I'm surprised Meath GAA approve of this type of thing. Why can't they they get proper reporting on matches. Take a look at the Dublin GAA website now. Match reports and round ups from club games this week."
I'd say youre some craic on a night out.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 26/04/2019 14:06:00    2180401

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "I'd say youre some craic on a night out."
Mighty craic! Just don't make snide remarks about people like that.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 26/04/2019 15:39:59    2180431

Replying To summerof09:  "Not my cup of tea I'm afraid. I don't agree with the personal jibes for instance calling a young county player a party animal or another player a baldy maestro. I'm surprised Meath GAA approve of this type of thing. Why can't they they get proper reporting on matches. Take a look at the Dublin GAA website now. Match reports and round ups from club games this week."
Yip tend to agree with you. Some of it is awful cringey and would only appeal to a certain type of lowbrow humour.

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 26/04/2019 17:14:15    2180449