2019 Club Championship.

Replying To Mayoman84:  "Do you mind me asking how are you fancying Longwood to win? Would you not look at the league form? You can't * just produce a top class performance out of nowhere"
League < Championship

If we went by your logic then Longwood would still be in Junior

Ratoath are missing Power, McMahon, Wallaces x 2 , Cian O Brien
Longwood will be hopping off the ground, waiting for this match since last year
and will have their Meath contingent back too

You cant be missing your best 5 players and expect to win
Expect fireworks

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 03/04/2019 17:06:34    2177544

Replying To ISupposeSoSheehan:  "Gaeil Colmcille win 4/11 Draw 15/2 Dunshaughlin win 5/2 - Gaeils are like the Spurs of the Meath SFC. Good, but not quite good enough. Dunshaughlin should be a match for them. Verdict: Draw

Navan O'Mahonys win 1/5 Draw 10/1 Seneschalstown win 4/1 - Kevin O'Reilly has freshened things up on Brews Hill. Six wins from six in the league is good form. Seneschalstown will struggle to survive in Group A. Verdict: N O'M 4-6 points.

Skryne win 1/4 Draw 9/1 St Pats win 9/2 - Skryne haven't won a game yet in 2019. That will change this weekend. Verdict: Skryne 4-6 points.

Dunboyne win 1/10 Draw 16/1 Curraha win 11/2 - The easiest of the first round ties to call. Curraha can ready themselves for a return to intermediate football. Dunboyne 10-20 points.

Moynalvey win 4/9 Draw 15/2 Rathkenny win 21/10 - Rathkenny beaten by Dunderry last time out? Moynalvey should have enough to beat them so. Verdict: Moynalvey 1-3 points.

Ratoath win 1/12 Draw 16/1 Longwood win 13/2 - Ratoath have been missing a number of regulars so are vulnerable. Longwood have the form of a junior team going into this. Verdict: Ratoath 10-15 points.

St Colmcilles win evens Draw 13/2 Na Fianna win evens - I think these two are darkhorses. I'll give a hesitant vote to Na Fianna. Verdict: Na Fianna 1 point.

Simonstown win 1/2 Draw 15/2 Wolfe Tones win 15/8 - This is a great opportunity for Tones to finally beat their neighbours in the championship. I believe they haven't done so since 2012. Verdict: Tones 1-3 points.

Summerhill win 4/7 Draw 13/2 Donaghmore Ashbourne win 7/4 - Donaghmore Ashbourne gave the Hill a good pasting in the league. League and championship are two very different things. Summerhill were missing Dardis that day as well. Summerhill 1-3 points."
Are you the lad on lmfm that says "I suppose" before most of his sentences?

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 03/04/2019 17:25:04    2177550

Replying To summerhillof69:  "League < Championship

Expect fireworks"
Expect fireworks? What does that even mean? It's not Halloween there won't be fireworks . You can't just go around talking pure rubbish like Longwood aren't going to show up and play champagne football after not playing well all year . If your logic is something to go by then Dublin would lose to carlow if they had 5 of the best players missing . Longwood are like an elephant on top of a tree regarding being in senior nobody knows how they got up there but they will be coming straight back down.

Mayoman84 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 03/04/2019 18:27:50    2177562

Gaeil Colmcilles v Dunshaughlin - Kells move the ball very quick out of defence if they can hit Hanlon and Mattimoe with quick early ball it will cause Dunshaughlin serious problems. Kells by +7

Senchelstown. V O Mahoneys - I think there is one last kick in O Mahoneys, then old guard will want to go out with a bang. I expect a huge year from them. Seneschalstown are looking towards Intermediate soon from what I have seen then last number of years. NOM by 7+

Skryne v St Patrick's - Campion will be the difference here. Skryne are like a bag of revels but Pat's are surely heading facing the drop this year. Skryne by 1-3

Moynalvey v Rathkenny - This could be a great game, O Sullivan vs Keoghan, Meade vs Harnan. Really difficult one to call but I think Moynalvey have enough fire power up front with the two O Sullivans and Mcloughlin. Moynalvey 1-3

Dunboyne v Curraha - Curraha can be thankful Jones and Lenihan are missing because this could be a cricket score with McCarthy and David McEntee in form. Dunboyne are defensively the best team in championship so I don't know where Curraha will get scores from. Dunboyne by +7

Longwood v Ratoath - Do I give Longword a chance, absolutely! This is the best time they could play Ratoath. If they get stuck into this Ratoath team, keep it tight then Ratoath might struggle for scores as they are missing 4 of their starting 6 forwards. Longwood will probably start Burke at full forward but deploy him around midfield and hopefully drag McGill away from the square. Ratoath by 1-3

Na Fianna v St Colmcille - Na Fianna are more balanced all over while Colmcilles are very attack heavy. If Colmcilles play like they did against Summerhill last year then there is only one winner. Colmcilles by 4-6

Don/ ash v Summerhill - Curran vs Dardis will be a great battle but I think with the form Dardis is in that he will be the difference. Summerhill by 1-3

Simonstown v Wolfe Tones - Wards, O Reillys, Finnegan vs McKeever, Nathan O Brien, Crouchy, Tobin. The attacking talent in this game is something else. Which ever teams defence is better equipped will come out on top. Tones by 1-3

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 03/04/2019 20:11:48    2177578

Replying To summerof09:  "Are you the lad on lmfm that says "I suppose" before most of his sentences?"
No but that's exactly where my username derives from.

ISupposeSoSheehan (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 03/04/2019 21:27:06    2177589

Replying To Mayoman84:  "I really don't see how lads think I'm just slating 2 clubs in Meath especially since I tipped ratoath to win. Obviously any man playing for Meath is a Meath man . I didn't pin point Conor McGill. I'm talking about the lads who stroll around the pitch and roar with a Dublin accent. I generalised a team because at the end of the day it's a team game and the attitude of ashbourne and ratoath doesn't fit the Meath mentality . You go to games and you won't hear navan or simonstown lads roaring at each other they encourage ."
How would you know what the meath mentally is
Your as much of a blow-in as any Dub living in Ratoath
Make no mistake this Ratoath team is full of genuine Meath men
And the fact that Ratoath has had an influx of Dublin folk is same as most town/villages within an hour of Dublin
What about all you westies that came here years ago
Same thing
So cop on to yourself coming on hear and slagging clubs and your not even from here

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 03/04/2019 22:02:52    2177594

Replying To Greenandgold8799:  "Now that the national League is over . It's time for the clubs to take centre stage.

SFC
Gaeil Colmcilles v Dunshaughlin - colmcilles
Senchelstown. V O Mahoneys - O Mahoneys
Skryne v St Patrick's - Skryne
Moynalvey v Rathkenny - Moynalvey
Dunboyne v Curraha - Dunboyne
Longwood v Ratoath - Ratoath
Na Fianna v St Colmcille - Na Fianna
Don/ ash v Summerhill - Draw
Simonstown v Wolfe Tones - Simonstown

IFC
St Micheal's v Bective - St Micks
Trim v Ballinbrackey - bracks
Dunboyne v Duleek / bell. - Duleek
Drumbragh v Ballinlough - Ballinlough
Castletown v Syddan - Syddan
Blackhall v Don/Ash - Draw
Oldcastle v Nobber - Oldcastle
Walterstown v Dunderry - Dunderry
Meath Hill v Kilmainham- Kilmainham

JFC
Cortown v Kilmainhamwood - Cortown
St Ultans v Moylagh - St Ultans
O Mahoneys v Senchalstown - O Mahoneys
St Vincent's v Dunsany - St Vincent's
Clann na Gael v St Bridget's - clann na
Ballivor v Carnaross - Carnaross
Moynalty v Clonard - Moynalty
Skryne v Dunshaughlin - Skryne
Gaeil Colmcille v Na Fianna - Colmcilles
Summerhill v Wolfe tones - Summerhill"
Gaeil Colmcilles v Dunshaughlin - Kells
Senchelstown. V O Mahoneys - O Mahonys
Skryne v St Patrick's - Skryne
Moynalvey v Rathkenny - Draw
Dunboyne v Curraha - Dunboyne
Longwood v Ratoath - Ratoath
Na Fianna v St Colmcille - Draw
Don/ ash v Summerhill - Summerhill
Simonstown v Wolfe Tones - Simonstown

Kells faltering at moment in League and Dunshaughlin improving. Still fancy Kells unless they have load on injuries which could leave this a tight one

O'Mahonys will have too much for Seneschalstown. Going well in Division 1.

Skryne going bad and St Pats always produce at least one shock per year. Skryne to win but St Pats are physical outfit and wont be bullied into a beating. Pats could produce a shock but it might reflect more on whats bad or going on with Skyrne than anything great about St Pats. Skyrne to win if they get finger out

Moynalvey got thumped by Simonstown and where missing Harnan, O'Sullivan and McLaughlin. They will make a difference but Rathkenny are decent and this could end up a draw.

Dunboyne will be away to strong for Curraha, albeit they are not setting league alight themselves

Ratoath to beat Longwood

Na Fianna v St Colmcilles is tight too call. Its very far for St Colmcilles to travel to Trim. Its like a home tie for Na Fianna. St Colmcilles have some very good forwards but Na Fianna are dangerous inside as well. Whatever defence stands up wins. Can see this ending in a draw.

Don/Ash V Summerhill. Cant see past Summerhill. I think Don/Ash are lightweight up front and Summerhill have a lot of fire power, too much for Don/Ash

Simonstown v Wolfe Tones. This should be cracking encounter. Simonstown going very well. Tones are going ok. Two potentially very good forward lines. But for me its about the defences and Simonstown look away stronger and have a lot of pace in their back division. Simonstown to win

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 04/04/2019 12:34:46    2177665

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "How would you know what the meath mentally is
Your as much of a blow-in as any Dub living in Ratoath
Make no mistake this Ratoath team is full of genuine Meath men
And the fact that Ratoath has had an influx of Dublin folk is same as most town/villages within an hour of Dublin
What about all you westies that came here years ago
Same thing
So cop on to yourself coming on hear and slagging clubs and your not even from here"
My apologise sorry I didn't realise I wasn't aloud have an opinion because I'm not from Meath. I think you calling me a blow-in just proves your own ignorance. This is a senior football forum not a ratoath page would you care to write your opinion on one of the other 15 teams ? I think you are colour blind and all you can see is blue and yellow

Mayoman84 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 04/04/2019 19:15:01    2177742

Good game last night between Kells and Dunshaughlin. Dunshaughlin probably should have pushed on and won after Kells got a red card early enough in the second half. They were impressive for the first 15 or 20 mins.

Last years minor captain Costello played very well and looks like an exciting prospect.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 05/04/2019 07:34:58    2177775

For Mayoman84 and others Interested in the DNA of Ratoath. Last year the players were all Meathmen with some having parents from various parts of Ireland, Very little Dublin City influence, Definitely none with the main players.

The 'Dublin type shouters' you refer to with plenty of say are mainly barflys who dont play themselves and never did except in imagination. They would be even more annoying to the Ratoath young lads who play than they are to people like yourself.

Ill thought out comments that sometimes appear here are very unfair on the players , But I am sure they have better things to do than pay attention to them.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 05/04/2019 14:35:05    2177818

Replying To Ashrules:  "For Mayoman84 and others Interested in the DNA of Ratoath. Last year the players were all Meathmen with some having parents from various parts of Ireland, Very little Dublin City influence, Definitely none with the main players.

The 'Dublin type shouters' you refer to with plenty of say are mainly barflys who dont play themselves and never did except in imagination. They would be even more annoying to the Ratoath young lads who play than they are to people like yourself.

Ill thought out comments that sometimes appear here are very unfair on the players , But I am sure they have better things to do than pay attention to them."
Well said Ash Rules!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 05/04/2019 15:44:40    2177824

Replying To Ashrules:  "For Mayoman84 and others Interested in the DNA of Ratoath. Last year the players were all Meathmen with some having parents from various parts of Ireland, Very little Dublin City influence, Definitely none with the main players.

Ill thought out comments that sometimes appear here are very unfair on the players , But I am sure they have better things to do than pay attention to them."
If anyone would like to talk about another team in Meath that would be fantastic. If they have better things to pay attention to that is tremendous perhaps you should do the same ? I wrote a preview consisting of the 18 teams. It was one line in a preview please get over yourself I think it's sad how youse want to talk about lads having or not having Dublin accents . 1. You wouldn't see likes of a Sean Tobin roaring down the pitch in a Dublin accent where as you'd see Bobby O'Brien if he was still playing with youse.2. Just shows how far they are away when none of youse want to talk about them in terms of winning a Keegan. We can ignore my comments on the accent. But the fact is they have a townie mentality and will beat Longwood but won't be near winning the Keegan due to them caving in when a team has a go at them. If you don't want to see critiscim and praise dont read this forum people are entitled to an opinion. Ratoath are a midlin team but you take the focus

Mayoman84 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 05/04/2019 17:19:25    2177839

Replying To Mayoman84:  "If anyone would like to talk about another team in Meath that would be fantastic. If they have better things to pay attention to that is tremendous perhaps you should do the same ? I wrote a preview consisting of the 18 teams. It was one line in a preview please get over yourself I think it's sad how youse want to talk about lads having or not having Dublin accents . 1. You wouldn't see likes of a Sean Tobin roaring down the pitch in a Dublin accent where as you'd see Bobby O'Brien if he was still playing with youse.2. Just shows how far they are away when none of youse want to talk about them in terms of winning a Keegan. We can ignore my comments on the accent. But the fact is they have a townie mentality and will beat Longwood but won't be near winning the Keegan due to them caving in when a team has a go at them. If you don't want to see critiscim and praise dont read this forum people are entitled to an opinion. Ratoath are a midlin team but you take the focus"
I just looked back at your last 3 or 4 posts and they are utter nonsensical drivel, I'm not a ratoath man but I know that the ratoath team are basically all meath men, and lads from border clubs luke ratoath ashbourne and dunboyne are as much meath men as the lads from navan or Kells.......talking about lads accents on a football forum as part of your argument?? Are u actually 12 or 13??

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 06/04/2019 13:05:19    2177895

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I just looked back at your last 3 or 4 posts and they are utter nonsensical drivel, I'm not a ratoath man but I know that the ratoath team are basically all meath men, and lads from border clubs luke ratoath ashbourne and dunboyne are as much meath men as the lads from navan or Kells.......talking about lads accents on a football forum as part of your argument?? Are u actually 12 or 13??"
Are you seriously trying to start a fight on a hoganstand forum ? Calling me 12 or 13 like is that supposed to hurt my feelings or what? If you are going to comment on what's wrong with what I said about ratoath you should comment about what is right or wrong about the rest of what I said you can't just go around calling me a 12 or 13 year old because my opinion doesn't suit you . People like you shouldn't read this all you want is confrontation . Like do you actually watch football or just call out those who have opinions ?

Mayoman84 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 06/04/2019 14:35:46    2177902

Ratoath have not achieved at senior like their level of underage success and number of Meath players suggest they should have. You can flag them on this and you could hit on their lack of success in tight games in the past few Keegan's. Using accent is just stupid. Meath is a massively diverse county due to bordering so many counties. And as for the comment about Bobby O'Brien roaring at the teammates. I heard Carnaross players roaring at eachother last year in the Junior semi, and they don't have Dublin accents

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 06/04/2019 16:55:36    2177915

Silly argument lads get back to the theme of the post.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 07/04/2019 08:38:03    2177946

Replying To Reco:  "Silly argument lads get back to the theme of the post."
Agreed, the thread needs to be kept on topic.

Btw, great to see Niall McKeigue and Stephen Bray still performing for O'Mahornys. It shows that class and experience can cont for a lot still in these days of fitness regimes.

Interesting win for Trim in the Intermediate against Ballinabrackey who beat them handily last year. And Trim were without scorer-in-chief Aaron Lynch. They often flatter to deceive but look to have a decent young team there.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 07/04/2019 11:32:09    2177954

I got attacked on here last year after ratoath were knocked out of the championship yet were still the topic of conversation on here. I dont agree with leitrimroyal that they have underachieved. I dont think they should be beating the dunboynes, the summerhill's and the simonstowns to be honest I wouldn't give them the respect of putting them so high up on the conversation list until they beat a team like this. Clubs like ratoath were wrongly targeted by people from other parts of the county on here in the past for no good reason but the shoe is on the other foot now and some of their posters seem to think they are immune from criticism altogether

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 07/04/2019 12:14:43    2177959

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "I got attacked on here last year after ratoath were knocked out of the championship yet were still the topic of conversation on here. I dont agree with leitrimroyal that they have underachieved. I dont think they should be beating the dunboynes, the summerhill's and the simonstowns to be honest I wouldn't give them the respect of putting them so high up on the conversation list until they beat a team like this. Clubs like ratoath were wrongly targeted by people from other parts of the county on here in the past for no good reason but the shoe is on the other foot now and some of their posters seem to think they are immune from criticism altogether"
Just so I'm clear, you think it's "criticism" to say that Ratoath and Donaghmore/Ashbourne are Dublin clubs? That they should compete in the Dublin championship (that was another gem from the poster in question in a deleted thread of his)?
To me, that's insulting to two clubs who have had a huge number of players on Meath teams at all levels in the last 5 or 10 years.

I have no problem with criticism of Ratoath. We have not been anywhere near good enough to be talked about as KC contenders and, indeed, I've never met anyone in the club who has given us a good chance of winning it (despite what some obsessed posters here seem to think). But if someone basically insults my club, you're damn right I'll call them on it. As would you I'm sure if someone posted something similar about Simonstown.

Anyway, we did what we had to do today and we can't take anything from the result. I'd be astonished if Longwood manage to stay up.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 07/04/2019 14:08:57    2177962

Replying To summerhillof69:  "League < Championship

Expect fireworks"
Rataoth 7-16 Longwood 11 Points. Wow u know your stuff lad. Some fireworks from Longwood.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 07/04/2019 14:26:19    2177963