Andy Mcentee LMFM Interview

Replying To Analyst:  ""physicality of Dean Rock and Paul Mannion"

I wouldn't have thought anyone would have noted Paul Mannion for his physicality to be honest"
Maybe ye should read fully what i said.
Will Royaldunne be seeking meath co councils nomination for Andy to be president ?

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 09/08/2018 16:45:25    2131275

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Are you serious? The man is 6ft, built like a tank and his pace is outrageous. Only down side to his game he is very one footed. Eoghan O'Gara, who I wouldn't be particularly found of as a person, is another player who would be a great asset for us as he would be perfect for this Meath team as a ball winner who can dish it off and take a score himself, especially in division 2 of the league."
You should know that size does not mean that a player has physicality. Mannion is known for his speed and skill , not his physicality and Rock is known for his accuracy from frees. Some of the most physical Dublin players are their smaller guys. I would not like to be beside either of their cornerbacks for 70minutes.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/08/2018 19:37:57    2131321

Replying To Meath_True:  "Listening to the interview , I would have to ask the question as to what the point of the interview was . Was David Sheehan asking how the Meath Team 's progress under Andy's tutelage went or just allowing Andy a pedestal to supply reasons ( his reasons ) why his charges failed to perform this year. When you listen back to the whole interview . I think you will agree that it was the latter .
Against Tyrone we set ourselves up to be defensively minded , and to try to progress the system of play that Andy believes will pay dividends in the end , however once again our transition from defensive mode into attacking mode was a stuttering shambles , sprinting of defence to the oppositions 45's and coming to a grand halt before we started to move laterally , and then backwards etc.
We were unable to go for the jugular because we were unable to finish or move the ball ingot a scoring position fast enough .
Andy failed to recognise this or even admit it .... like in any training session , if you try something out and it doesn't work , you know quite soon it isn't working and then you move to Plan "B" .....
Where was our plan "B" .
Indeed our defensive system was atrocious with players marking space and ignoring the main thing about football . he who has the ball controls the game ......

I'm not sure the interview done anything in a journalistic sense other than to let Andy paint his picture as he sees it"
Sheehan asked some good questions, how defensive we were, no forwards within 40 meters of goal, players leaving panel and would they be welcome back, however he failed to press Andy on his non-comittal and very guarded answers, so little if anything was learned, apart from his dislike of the super 8s and current set up of senior championship structure. Looks like entire management team will look to continue next year. Would like a look at the results of the external review that is under way.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 09/08/2018 19:48:05    2131324

Replying To seadog54:  "Sheehan asked some good questions, how defensive we were, no forwards within 40 meters of goal, players leaving panel and would they be welcome back, however he failed to press Andy on his non-comittal and very guarded answers, so little if anything was learned, apart from his dislike of the super 8s and current set up of senior championship structure. Looks like entire management team will look to continue next year. Would like a look at the results of the external review that is under way."
Agree with your analysis...........particularly your last point regarding review. Thought the answer to question of players leaving panel should have been developed more. . Perhaps review itself will not be more probing. Anyway we can only hope it will highlight the obvious areas of concern ,and a plan to address same, instead of continuing with with no learning ,and more of the same. Can be easy to forget Andy is a novice at this level,and thus deserves help
Neither do we want players who are not prepared to put in the required effort. Those 2 things are a given anyway.
Management style i suggest is the first point for discussion. No manager can please all of the people all of the time etc.There is a lot of room for serious discussion otherwise .Stock answering is often used as a cop out.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 09/08/2018 22:04:21    2131357

Replying To pauk123:  "Exactly. The Longford performance was the worst Championship defeat in decades. However, because of one decent, but ultimately loosing performance, that's totally glossed over. 2018 was the worst year since Bantys last only a total disaster was averted by avoiding D3. 2019 must be significantly better or Andy needs to step aside."
No no and no. 29 June Croke Park v Westmeath, 130+ years record lost after yet another collapse against one of the worst Westmeath teams ever. At least longford had some decent players.
The lowest ever point of Meath football. And will only be surpassed if Kilkenny ever beat us. And we offered that man another year, and he gave excuse after embarrassing excuses.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/08/2018 22:13:58    2131361

Replying To royaldunne:  "No no and no. 29 June Croke Park v Westmeath, 130+ years record lost after yet another collapse against one of the worst Westmeath teams ever. At least longford had some decent players.
The lowest ever point of Meath football. And will only be surpassed if Kilkenny ever beat us. And we offered that man another year, and he gave excuse after embarrassing excuses."
It yet again proves the point that if the occupant is not learning from mistakes action should be taken to rectify. That applies regardless of WHO that occupant might be. It is all about getting the job done well, rather than WHO is doing it.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 10/08/2018 10:00:09    2131456

Replying To royaldunne:  "No no and no. 29 June Croke Park v Westmeath, 130+ years record lost after yet another collapse against one of the worst Westmeath teams ever. At least longford had some decent players.
The lowest ever point of Meath football. And will only be surpassed if Kilkenny ever beat us. And we offered that man another year, and he gave excuse after embarrassing excuses."
Hate to burst your thunder there but in the dim and distant past Kilkenny did actually beat us in LSFC. I am sure Furlong will have all the details if you ask him nicely!!!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 10/08/2018 10:04:40    2131460

Replying To nobull456:  "Agree with your analysis...........particularly your last point regarding review. Thought the answer to question of players leaving panel should have been developed more. . Perhaps review itself will not be more probing. Anyway we can only hope it will highlight the obvious areas of concern ,and a plan to address same, instead of continuing with with no learning ,and more of the same. Can be easy to forget Andy is a novice at this level,and thus deserves help
Neither do we want players who are not prepared to put in the required effort. Those 2 things are a given anyway.
Management style i suggest is the first point for discussion. No manager can please all of the people all of the time etc.There is a lot of room for serious discussion otherwise .Stock answering is often used as a cop out."
really no bull456 , can you see what you have written , according to you, Meath Co Board have giving the Premium managerial position (in GAA terms )in the County to a Novice at this level , and we are to make allowances for this ...... I don't think that cuts the mustard in many peoples eyes .... According to a lot on here Andy McEntee was the most experienced candidate for this job , ( the in many peoples eyes the only one that could get the gig , therefore many more experienced persons didn't even get a call to talk ) however that was based on his Journey with a Dublin team packed with Inter-county stars , who played in a very competitive Senior Club championship ......
Guys please really don't be contradicting yourselves on here , it sometimes gets quite cringe worthy .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 10/08/2018 10:15:18    2131463

Replying To Meath_True:  "really no bull456 , can you see what you have written , according to you, Meath Co Board have giving the Premium managerial position (in GAA terms )in the County to a Novice at this level , and we are to make allowances for this ...... I don't think that cuts the mustard in many peoples eyes .... According to a lot on here Andy McEntee was the most experienced candidate for this job , ( the in many peoples eyes the only one that could get the gig , therefore many more experienced persons didn't even get a call to talk ) however that was based on his Journey with a Dublin team packed with Inter-county stars , who played in a very competitive Senior Club championship ......
Guys please really don't be contradicting yourselves on here , it sometimes gets quite cringe worthy ."
Ballyboden had 1 'inter county star', MDMA. That wasn't it. And surely a really competitive Dublin club championship means it's harder to win???

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 10/08/2018 12:27:33    2131509

Replying To Meath_True:  "really no bull456 , can you see what you have written , according to you, Meath Co Board have giving the Premium managerial position (in GAA terms )in the County to a Novice at this level , and we are to make allowances for this ...... I don't think that cuts the mustard in many peoples eyes .... According to a lot on here Andy McEntee was the most experienced candidate for this job , ( the in many peoples eyes the only one that could get the gig , therefore many more experienced persons didn't even get a call to talk ) however that was based on his Journey with a Dublin team packed with Inter-county stars , who played in a very competitive Senior Club championship ......
Guys please really don't be contradicting yourselves on here , it sometimes gets quite cringe worthy ."
Ok let me clarify how i see it. I see Andy as a novice at inter county level.FACT. I do not recall any fully experienced manager being rejected at the time of Andy's selection. Nobody with relevant experience wanted the job . I do give credit to Andy for taking the job at such a difficult time in Meath football. I do accept he seems to have a lot to learn at this level . You can do 2 things now, get someone new, or help him develop. I say help him ! I do not know Andy from Adam. I have seen, and heard snatches of a management style that may not yield the best results. That is simply a development need identified. I will be critical of the County Board if they do not address the matter of development for Andy, and some others also with succession in mind for when Andy departs. I do not see any contradictions in this . Please tell me who you think was the person with the experience that was available, and rejected at the time. Were you just" woffling" ? That can get very cringe worthy also.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 10/08/2018 12:31:08    2131510

There is quite a difference between club and county Management. You can shout and ball all day at a club player and he will take it because its his club and he has no real alternatives if he loves walks away. A county player on the other hand could easily walk away from a currently unsuccessful county and just play away with his club.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 10/08/2018 13:27:03    2131526

Replying To Foley91:  "There is quite a difference between club and county Management. You can shout and ball all day at a club player and he will take it because its his club and he has no real alternatives if he loves walks away. A county player on the other hand could easily walk away from a currently unsuccessful county and just play away with his club."
And Andy did pretty well at county level with the minors in 2012. He had arguments with players, Eamon Wallace walked and said he'd just play club and do athletics. And as I recall that team did fairly well beating Mayo and Tyrone

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 10/08/2018 14:54:23    2131556

Replying To nobull456:  "Ok let me clarify how i see it. I see Andy as a novice at inter county level.FACT. I do not recall any fully experienced manager being rejected at the time of Andy's selection. Nobody with relevant experience wanted the job . I do give credit to Andy for taking the job at such a difficult time in Meath football. I do accept he seems to have a lot to learn at this level . You can do 2 things now, get someone new, or help him develop. I say help him ! I do not know Andy from Adam. I have seen, and heard snatches of a management style that may not yield the best results. That is simply a development need identified. I will be critical of the County Board if they do not address the matter of development for Andy, and some others also with succession in mind for when Andy departs. I do not see any contradictions in this . Please tell me who you think was the person with the experience that was available, and rejected at the time. Were you just" woffling" ? That can get very cringe worthy also."
Totally agree with you! Just to add - I understand taht Andy has already had some input into the development programs for the underage groups. I know too that he is in Dunganny several nights a week and while there he engages with the underage teams. This hasn't always been the case - I was in Aras Tailteann a number of years back when the Senior squad and Minor Squad were training. There was absolutely no engagement between the two squads. The minor lads were looking up to the senior lads in awe. I know Andy has changed that and I think we will see results from that engagement as underage players progress through the ranks. It will of course will take time but if we get a few additional squad players every year coming through who are already comfortable with teh lads in the squad it will make us all the stronger.

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 10/08/2018 15:21:11    2131565