Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from Mfs

Mayo Kerry League Final - 9 Like(s)
I wonder what kind of vile comment did Clifford make to Jordan Flynn just before Clifford and O'hora picked up the yellow cards. It didn't look like Clifford was enquiring about the Jordan's injury. Disgusting to go mouthing to a lad lying on the ground with a suspected broken ankle. I would have expected more from Clifford but the media won't say anything bad about him. Also I think Jack Barry should have got a straight red for the challenge.

Mfs (National) - 04/04/2022 12:00:51

5 In A Row - 8 Like(s)
Now that it's getting close do you think it's going to happen. Mayo depending on 5 or 6 lads over 30. Some injured players coming back such as Tom Parsons but he hasn't played football since May 18. Mayo will still be without maybe 5 key players due to injury and carrying knocks from a hectic summer. Mayo were lucky Donegals shooting was so poor Saturday. They won't trouble Dublin. I think Kerry are a young team. They have very good forwards but I think they will be beaten by experienced Tyrone team. That leaves a repeat of 18 final. Tyrone will have learned a lot from that game. I still think Dublin would come out on top. The 5 in a row will add to the excitement. A win would and they would go down in history as best team ever overtaking the great Kerry team.

Mfs (National) - 05/08/2019 22:53:22

Skys Free Gaa Coverage. - 6 Like(s)
Free if you are paying basic subscription of €30 per month.

Mfs (National) - 07/10/2020 15:09:56

Bringing Children To Games - 6 Like(s)
The mother is just being selfish. The noise of people shouting, kids with airhorns etc must be very damaging to a newborn babies ears. I cannot understand how she would do that to her baby.

Mfs (National) - 14/08/2018 14:14:07

The Sunday Game... do certain pundits have an agenda - 4 Like(s)
if anybody ever doubted there was an agenda there they could have no doubts after last night. really time this outdated program was axed. I really can't see it back for another season. They can make changes to set and format of the program all they want but the brand is toxic and must go.

Mfs (National) - 10/07/2017 10:02:28

Mayo V Meath - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think the only thing people had a problem with mchale was that he never let it go, the whining became unbearable, 09 he was still moaning about himself getting sent off and not john McDermott. And about 5 years ago he was on radio and still whining. Others like David Brady moved on. Mchale getting sent off was his own doing. No one else's. He never seemed to get that."
2019 now. Please stop moaning about Liam McHale moaning 10 years ago.

Mfs (National) - 16/07/2019 15:59:26

2020 Football All Stars - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to all the winners. Lovely to see John Small get one, long overdue, would have had McDaid in over Murch as well, that's a strange one for me. I think Cillian will get FOTY, he had a cracking year and if he does fair play, but personally I think it should be Kilkenny myself, don't think it will be as the Dublin vote will be split between him and Fenton."
Kilkenny had a very poor first half in all Ireland final. He did not come into the game until the second half when Paddy Durcan was gone off. Paddy was very unlucky to get injured after 5 minutes of play. Just wonder if Paddy stayed on the field how well Kilkenny would have played in second half after anonymous first half marked by an injured player.

Mfs (National) - 19/02/2021 15:15:25

Mayo Kerry League Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To oneoff:  "What's your views on Aidan O'Shea diving,one ofthe few things he's able do regularly, that and the amount of time he ran into the backs of Kerry players who'd already got rid of the ball?"
Jack Barry has possibly ended Jordan Flynn's season with Mayo and your issue is with Aidan O'Shea bumping into someone. Cop on.

Mfs (National) - 05/04/2022 09:39:52

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
9300 at Kerry Meath match, 5000 at Kerry Clare game. Not sure what percentage of crowd Kerry had either day. Badly supported at Donegal game too. Nearly hard to see final selling out.

Mfs (National) - 13/08/2019 09:09:41

Venues For All Ireland Final & Semis - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "At the end of the day it should be up to the players where they want to play. After all, they are the ones who put in the huge sacrifices required for our entertainment. I can guarantee you every single player wants to play in Croke Park."
Any other year I would agree with you but this year is not normal. Is it fair that one team has to travel 3/4 hours on the day to get to a venue while other team has home advantage. I don't know will staying overnight be an option by then but it would be a very expensive one with no room sharing allowed.

Mfs (National) - 11/11/2020 11:34:21

5 In A Row - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well some will purposely take that stand alright But anyone that knows what they are taking about without an agenda will honestly look at it and see that it took far more endeavor for Dublin to come through 28 games unbeaten compared to 15 and if Dublin do it they'll be up at 36 games unbeaten Far eclipsing anything that came before it. It will be far from easy though.... But that's nothing new to this team. It's been incredibly competitive and in all honesty once again.. it's mad they are even going for it in the first place considering the ultimate competitiveness seen in some games."
I guess if they are level on titles people can judge for themselves. Kerry didn't play as many games but that was not their fault they won all the games they had too. They couldn't win any more at the time. I wasn't born for the Kerry 4 in a row so I cannot comment. I wasn't around either during ww1 when Wexford won 4 in a row.

Mfs (National) - 06/08/2019 11:26:20

Time To Stand Up To GAA - 3 Like(s)
People can give out all they like but the GAA wont listen. The only language they understand is €€€€€. I dont expect anybody not to go and and support their county as a result of what has happened this week. However would it be possible to get a campaign going this weekend NOT TO BUY ANY MATCH PROGRAMME OR ANY FOOD OR DRINK FROM THE GAA. I know it would be short notice but if they were told in advance it was going to happen they simply wouldnt buy in as much supplies or print as many programmes so short notice would hurt more. Food or drink can be bought anywhere else and team sheets can be printed off or got online.

Mfs (National) - 21/07/2018 13:42:05

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare:  "Rossies blaming a ref... for a county that's won nothing since 1944 ye really do put yourselves on a pedastel.."
Roscommon have only half the population that Mayo have and they have only a quarter of the population that Galway have, yet they have won 2 of the last 5 Connacht titles. They are not bothered about History. They have as much right to put themselves on a pedestal in Connacht as Mayo or Galway.

Mfs (National) - 16/05/2022 17:48:04

Mayo 'Over Celebrating' - 2 Like(s)
So Mayo win a League Title and a number of pundits take the opportunity to have a go at them for enjoying the occasion. 'Over celebrating' they said. They won a national title, they were very happy, they ran over to celebrate and acknowledge their fans in the Cusack Stand, supporters who have travelled all over the country supporting this team for years. They returned home and had a night out in Castlebar, some of them were back at work on Monday and all were back at training on Tuesday. I cannot understand how you would call this over celebrating?? What would happen if any other county won, would they just head down the tunnel with the cup and go straight home? Is it not ok for players and supporters to enjoy a win? Can players and supporters not enjoy good days? It seems at times listening to media that Mayo supporters are the only supporters in the country that do. Whats the point in supporting a team if you cant?.

Mfs (National) - 08/04/2019 13:34:45

Galway V Mayo Connacht Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Clarke, Keegan, Barrett, Boyle, Parsons, Vaughan, O Shea, Hennelly, Mc Loughlin, Higgins, are 10 players involved with Mayo this year and all have over 10 years playing now, some a lot more. I would say after this year at least 6 of above will retire."
Goodman, name 10 players half of whom have not kicked a ball since the resumption. Why not name the 10 new players who have played since football returned. - McBrien, Brickeden, McHale, Moran, Flynn, Mullin, McLaughlin, Conroy, Walsh or O'Donoghue.

Mfs (National) - 11/11/2020 14:11:05

Mayo V Donegal (Mchale Park) - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "One major gripe I have is the TV coverage. I am unable to attend the match unfortunately. My kids are very young and so I cannot take them to the pub to watch it. I know it's a Saturday fixture and Sky have had all the Saturday evening matches but RTE were able to show Dublin Cork? It's a joke that one of the biggest games of the year is not available free to air. The GAA can harp all they want about wanting the games to be available to the diaspora. But what about Irish people still living in the bloody country? Absolute nonsense."
Yes and the Irish people living abroad have the option of GAA go for €140 per annum. Here you have to pay nearly €50 per month if you want sky sports.

Mfs (Donegal) - 30/07/2019 15:41:53

Donegal V Mayo - 2 Like(s)
Hope you are not panicking too much about your trip to Castlebar! It should be a full house as we are probably the 2 best supported counties in Ireland. Honestly I cant see Donegal losing. Mayo have a very poor record at home in recent years. We were very lucky to get through qualifiers and to final round of super 8's given all our injuries to key men. Last Sunday we played without Keith Higgins, Paddy Durcan, Matthew Ruane, Diarmuid O'Connor and Tom Parsons. Lee Keegan and Aidan O'Shea are also carrying knocks after 5 weeks without a break. Paddy Durcan should be back for the next day , maybe Higgins but I think the game will come too soon for the others. Stephen Rochfords knowledge of every mayo player is also a massive factor.

Mfs (National) - 23/07/2019 12:10:48

2019 Attendances - 2 Like(s)
Why did Croke park announce Full house on Saturday instead of actual attendance. I know a lot of people who had tickets they didn't use. I would think attendance was more 79000 to 8000O. Why not give actual figure.

Mfs (National) - 12/08/2019 08:04:38

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 2 Like(s)
Sligo had only 11 players from entire panel available to play. Did Tomas expect them to go to the clubs and look for 15 players to come into the panel for the day and compete with one of the favourites to win the all ireland. So out of touch with whats going on.

Mfs (National) - 04/11/2020 13:46:13

Kildare V Mayo - 2 Like(s)
Kildare seems to have got one over on Croke Park this time. I wonder though will they pay the price for it in the long run when they need to look for funding etc.

Mfs (National) - 28/06/2018 17:27:30