Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from ponga

Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time - 10 Like(s)
Galway posters need to accept their defeat and stop b*t*hing.......getting embarassing now!

ponga (National) - 26/07/2021 16:00:18

Roscommon GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Best of luck tomorrow neighbours. 70 minutes of unrelenting intensity and ye can do it.

ponga (National) - 27/05/2023 21:54:10

Football Is Finished - 6 Like(s)
Don't know about football being finished. Even though we couldn't attend, getting games up and running again saved this modt awful of years. Watched a great club championship and the knockout all Ireland has been mostly brilliant. Because one exceptional team is dominant at present doesn't mean the game is finished. Some folk need to grow up and stop bitching. My views will be the same even if Mayo lose to Tipp today or to Dublin if we reach the final.

ponga (National) - 06/12/2020 10:02:27

Mayo V Meath - 6 Like(s)
Mayo, despite a nine point win getting slated on here again. With some of the regular contributors on here that's to be expected due to an amount of bitterness and lack of football knowledge. However the stick Meath are getting is pathetic. A team having been in the doldrums for a long time is re-emerging and taking one step at a time. They will definitely be competitive in the coming seasons and the game will be the better for that.

ponga (National) - 21/07/2019 21:47:48

NFL Division 1 - 5 Like(s)
Good first half in Clones, nip and tuck until the Jordan Flynn second yellow for such an innocuous foul. Fair play to Monaghan who took some lovely scores and they would have won even without the sending off. Too many soft variety yellow cards being dished out in all games and players afraid to make tackles. That's the way the game has gone but my real gripe with the referee was the throwing up of the ball for any hesitation in keeper kick outs. Fair enough if keeper is wasting time but he penalised Monaghan twice in the first half when they were behind and Mayo 3times in the second half when chasing the game. Obviously neither keeper was playing for time and all his fussiness achieved was slowing down and delaying time. Finally I'd like to say the Monaghan fans we met were first class.

ponga (National) - 23/02/2020 21:07:23

That Macauley Tackle - 5 Like(s)

Replying To jacktheDub:  "There is some amount of anti Dublin bile on here..

Colm Boyle got away with a complete frontal charge on Small he was substituted for his own sake just after that..

Cillian o' connor is all hands and elbows should have been black carded 15mins from the end.

What does A o'Shea have to do to get booked these days.

Keegan - I don't think its possible to state hear what he is as it would not be posted.7

Diramuid o' Connor - There is trend with this guy I have noticed in the last few mayo games when there is a free in a scorable position he is always within 8 -10 yards of the free taker talking crap yet ref's are letting him away with it."
If CARLSBERG did propaganda for the Dubs !!

ponga (National) - 20/09/2016 23:00:35

Mayo V Galway - 5 Like(s)
Really looking forward to a classic knockout game with our neighbours. As usual the banter will be great and may the best team (hopefully Mayo) win. My apologies for posting this on the Donegal.

ponga (National) - 05/07/2019 11:52:04

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 4 Like(s)
Didn't think we would be facing Tyrone after all their covid problems. I think Kerry thought the same and overtrained in the last week, hence all the early cramp problems. Did they write off Tyrone and aimed to peak for the final ? History tells us you write off Tyrone at your peril.

ponga (National) - 28/08/2021 21:43:36

Tyrone Vs Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare1:  "Would expect a massive improvement in Tyrones display and as its at home i see them been too strong for Mayo.. Tyrone by 6."
You know your stuff. Another 15 points for Tyrone and you'd be spot on!

ponga (National) - 03/02/2019 16:16:44

Meath V Clare - 4 Like(s)
Really enjoyed that one. Well done Meath and hard luck Clare but ye both gave it a go. Ignore begrudgers saying neither of the counties deserve to be in super 8s. Meath won the game they needed to, end of story. Listening to some on here only the top 8 ranked teams should be there but that's the beauty of sport. Meath capable of beating most teams and won't fear any of the other three.

ponga (National) - 07/07/2019 17:01:23

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
I've watched all 4 games from yesterday now and Monaghan and Derry look a good bit ahead of Dublin and Kerry in my humble opinion. As to the idea that on another day Mayo and Galway could flip those results is flying in the face of the stark facts from yesterday. Last year Mayo and Galway were ahead of the pack but this time round Derry and Monaghan were superior in most aspects of the game and in most individual performances. Be very interested to see how Dublin and Kerry try to counter them.

ponga (National) - 11/06/2023 11:28:04

Mayo V Kerry - 4 Like(s)
Kerry/Mayo. Just like most of the threads on HS within the first page becomes a Dublin/Kerry slanging match. An ongoing thread of their own where admin diverted all such posts would allow other threads to stay on track while allowing the McCoys and Hatfield's to feud it out.

ponga (National) - 09/07/2019 22:24:06

Football Championship 2021 - 4 Like(s)
Same old posters moaning about the game and how it's dead and boring and ye are never watching again.........some of you spout the same old claptrap every season and yet are still here the following season just like groundhog day.

ponga (National) - 28/06/2021 13:45:31

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "The dust has settled on what was our most open and interesting club championship in years, topped off with the novel pairing in the final and the biggest attendance we had at a final for many years. My team of the senior championship. Niall Curley (Strokestown) close call between himself and Rob Kearney of Boyle both very consistent and possible options for the new senior Roscommon manager Daniel Casey (Boyle) fine season for the teenager like his uncle he has the makings of a good defender Brian Stack (Brigids) one of the first year that Brigids deployed him at full back and he was one of their stand out players. David Neary (Strokestown) provided good leadership in his captains role, probably should have got more game time for the county senior but perhaps size went against him? Colm Neary (Strokestown) hugely talented young player and probably saved his best club performance for the final. Sean Purcell (Boyle) 37 years old and rolled back the years with a steady championship Sean Mulooly (Strokestown) played mostly at full back but made his surging runs from this position that drove Strokestown on especially in the last 3 knock out games Cathal Compton (Strokestown) One of the champions best and most consistent players, his talent was never in question keeping him fit has been the issue Mark Purcell (Roscommon Gaels) stood out in most the games I've seen for Ros Gaels and very good when they knocked out the defending championship Pearses. Richard Hughes (Roscommonn Gaels) deployed in this position and showed well with a number of good scores. Worth looking at playing him there for Roscommon? Donie Smith (Boyle) Donie couldn't have done much more to win the county title for Boyle. 4-20 he scored only Andy Glennon scored more. A true leader for his side probably would be MOTM yesterday had Boyle won. Cian McKeon (Boyle) Cian was superb all championship scoring on average 6 points per game and what if he played the full game yesterday. Hopefully in the years ahead he gets another final to play in. Ben O'Carroll (Brigids) another young talented footballer with a bright future ahead of him and he even stood out in defeat to Boyle. Diarmuid McGann(Strokestown) At an age now where he's providing great leadership and the champions top scorer with 2-24. Played a big role in the championship winning score. Deserves more game time at county level. Daire Cregg (Boyle) well marshalled in the 2nd half yesterday before that he kicked two scores fine score from play 1st half. His performance against Clann was probably the best individual display in this years championship Others that was unlucky to miss out Evan McGrath,Paddy Brogan,Andy Glennon,Jack Casey,Conor Flanagan,Ryan Galvin,Conor Daly,Tim Lambe,Kieran Kilcline,Paul McGrath to name but a few."
Really good post The analyser. I always love club championship and try to see as many games as possible. Naturally having more interest in our close neighbours in particular Roscommon and Galway. Great to see that you have a mixture of big names, experienced players and young lads. Bodes well for the future. Now just get the right management team in place and let's have at it. Any word on that yet? Once again thanks for the well structured lost.

ponga (National) - 25/10/2022 10:14:49

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "Yeah, played in woeful conditions. Ask the 70ish lads involved in both panels would they rather play in the Dome or play in last nights conditions in Dangan on a wild January night. I'm sure you'd have a resounding majority. These FBD games in the Dome can be streamed. Not ideal for the older generation I know, but better than being out in the weather conditions the Sigerson game was played in. These are mere challenge games, let the lads play in the Dome and at least we see some fast moving football. Last years FBD games were a great standard compared to years gone by, because of the Dome."
Talking sense won't go down well with a bunch of lads on here I'm afraid.

ponga (National) - 13/01/2023 08:15:39

Mayo V Dublin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Literally. It will make their diving much easier :D"
The Croker surface is totally different to any other pitch in the country. As Dublin play all their home and neutral games there they will be well used to any conditions. Mayo on the other hand rarely play in Croker on wet days. As to your silly diving slur, best to put it down as a schoolboy jibe.

ponga (National) - 06/08/2019 14:42:53

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Tyrone for Sam, mayo for the sandwiches."
I can understand some Tyrone or Mayo fans skipping work (or school) to post on here all day long as their teams are in the final........others not so much.

ponga (National) - 10/09/2021 12:51:03

Roscommon Vs Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
Looking forward to this one. Very best of luck to our neighbours. Genuinely think they can win this game. Come on the Rossies!

ponga (National) - 12/07/2019 11:04:19

Keep The Dubs Fans Happy - 3 Like(s)
Pure guff on here. Pretty sure if you ain't got sky you can find a friend, a neighbour or a pub that has.

ponga (National) - 30/07/2019 08:02:20

Time For Someone In GAA Authority To Say STOP - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Jinxie:  "List the 5 Ulster teams Who are capable of beating Dublin in the Championship."
Let's be honest, there aren't 5 teams un Ireland capable of beating Dublin in the Championship.

ponga (National) - 02/06/2022 17:05:04