Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from joeman123

Leitrim Inter-County 2020 - 5 Like(s)
Well done Leitrim.Few,bar the team management and the panel gave Leitrim any chance. This was a brilliant display and will do wonders for the confidence of the team. It certainly has lifted the spirits of the supporters Looking forward to seeing a full stand for the visit of Cork in in Carrick next Sunday . It is nice to read the comments from our genuine Roscommon posters.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - 25/01/2020 19:26:30

Cavan V Donegal - 3 Like(s)

Replying To blueskies:  "Absolutely Incredible stuff. I am still in shock, I said during the week that we needed an angry performance and that is exactly what it was. No one gave us a chance, Sean Cavanagh on the Sunday Game last week crossed a line when he said "Dublin will need to fix that for Donegal" Total disregard to Cavan. But also thank you very much because you added fuel to that anger that we saw today. All across that team are ulster under 21 winners and we deserved more respect than that. Tactically Mickey got it spot on. Donegal were rattled especially in the second half, we just kept tracking their runners that have done so much damage in previous meetings. I actually think we should have won by a lot more to be honest with you. For the next day all I can say is keep writing us off please."
Congratulations Cavan what a wonderful display of skill, teamwork and courage. Cavan was unlucky with two dubious black cards and near misses for scores. The whole country salutes this brilliant display.

joeman123 (Cavan) - 22/11/2020 19:31:09

Leitrim Senior Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "How many players were effected? Surely Leitrim like most counties have a panel of over 30 players? Sounds like Hyland was playing up to the media pulling the game, He has been shouting about abandoning the years since March"
Please go away. This is a serious issue

joeman123 (Leitrim) - 19/10/2020 13:29:34

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Backheel:  "I see Keaney nominated for player of the week and Casey had big contributions for UL in the Sigerson Cup. Any other Leitrim lads playing Sigerson. Great standard for lads to be playing. Real confidence booster mixing it with division one and two regulars."
Paul has been votrd player of the week

joeman123 (National) - 21/01/2023 11:02:50

Sligo Covid-19 Breakout - 3 Like(s)

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm surprised by the attitude of Tomas o Shea.is he doubting the Sligo players and medics?if it was Kerry who were going out without 10 or 12 of their starting 15 due to covid,would he be the same..if this happens one of the major counties a couple of days before their game,it will be a different story.."
Agree. Very disappointed by Thomas O Shea's comments. In fact they are outrageous.

joeman123 (National) - 04/11/2020 13:41:02

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)
You dont need to be an expert to know this is crazy and will lead to recriminations if people get sick/die The potential reputational damage to the GAA will be severe

joeman123 (National) - 15/10/2020 13:38:14

Replying To Square_B:  "You wouldn't have been saying all that about Moran had we lost the game on Sunday. All I care about is what's best for Leitrim football and come the end of this season, whatever happens, it would be best for Andy to move on for reasons I have posted about in previous posts. I would hope Graham steps in and that was the reason for him coming on board (i.e. job in 2025). I'd be suprised if it wasn't. We disagree on where Leitrim should be 3 years into this project.... he inherited a team that was good enough for promotion. Anyhow, for the moment I'll be taking each game as they come, what happened on Sunday was down to the team and a bit of luck, not necessarily the lads on the line."
Poor old begrudger, I was waiting to see when you would appear again. I guess the penalty converted ruined your post.

joeman123 (National) - 20/02/2024 14:44:32

I am very disappointed to read this post. Firstly, who in life never made a mistake? Secondly, If you look at his career with Leitrim in the round ,his attitude and commitment has been excellent. Thirdly, he is nsck and obviously playing well. We should be getting behind these lads and not signalling out anyone of them for criticism like this. Fair enough to debate the team selection who should be on etc.

joeman123 (National) - 01/02/2024 10:52:48

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "Great response from the lads today to come back from 8 points down , Tom prior excellent when he came on and in my opinion should be starting in the corner for New York . Sligo are that bit more conditioned than us and probably deserved the win . Andy wasn't happen for the full time whistle to be blown early , but I couldn't see us working a goal at that late stage . I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say this , but in my opinion Keith Beirne let us down today . It's plain to be seen that when he's really needed he'll shy away . In the last two county finals and today , when the team really needed him to step up and supply the scores , he wasn't there . All well and good kicking points for fun when it doesn't matter , big time players will step up and kick them in the vital moments of the game…."
You should apologise for saying Keith Beirne let us down yesterday. By his own high standard he wasn't at his best.Never the less he made a huge contribution not just with scores but also with assists. Without Keith Beirne we would never have got as close to Division 3 as we did. He is a fantastic player, a great role model for our youth and I think I speak for 99.9 % of Leitim supporters when I say we are proud of him.

joeman123 (National) - 27/03/2023 13:53:30

Replying To lugdrum:  "He was the one left inside and I am not having a go at him. I should have clarified by saying I'd have Ryan inside instead but Roirdan would be a starter as he's a very hard working player and tracks his man where ever he goes. I just don't think he has that gink or dummy that Ryan has which brings others into play. I am not a poster that criticise's players I have the upmost respect for the sacrifices these young men make"
I am glad you clarified that Your original post did seem very critical. Anyway , let's move on and get a big turnout for Sunday at 1PM.

joeman123 (National) - 29/01/2024 19:30:23

Move To National Forum Only Model - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bennypoor:  "This is a bloody disgrace the whole banter and crack was on the local pages am disgusted"
I cant see the point of going on to Hogan Stand anymore. I always go through other sites,, eg Cavan Donegal, Roscommon. For me it is good bye Hogan Stand

joeman123 (National) - 01/10/2021 08:53:18

Leitrim V Mayo. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To foneyforme:  "Because we are back in division four and also hammered in championship again?! I'd assume that's why!!"
I doubt if you have the good of Leitrim football at heart. Thankfully, and against the odds, we have a reasonably talented bunch of players for the first time in a long long time. Under the current management they have made substantial progress and their is cause for hope. Surely it makes sense for the current management to continue the journey.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - 02/11/2020 10:48:49

Replying To lecture250:  "What a performance in Ballinamore this evening, Paul Honeyman put in a performance that I have never witnessed at underage, well done Andy Moran for allowing Barry McNulty and Jack Foley play. This is a great confidence boost for Leitrim football."
Just home from the game.I agree the performance by Paul Honeyman was out of this world on his home turf. It is hard to believe that he has another 2 years at U20. Barry McNulty was outstanding too.He is up there with the best. Well done to Andy for playing himself and Jack Foley. The pressure for the Sligo game on Sunday is off , but this win will help. We are blessed to have Andy Moran at the helm of Leitrim football. His positivity is infectious and he is surrounding himself with top class coaches. The scenes at the end of the game were wonderful and it shows how much football means to the people of Leitrim.

joeman123 (National) - 03/04/2024 21:41:12

Heading the report by Frank Brady in todays Leitrim Observer it is clear: Leitrim are taking on a New Year All Stars with several recent imports of all Ireland winners and all stars. There seems to be no available of resources to attract a panel that can topple Leitrim. This is the year NY plan to create history make it a memorable one for Larry McCarthy. This is a tough one for Leitrim and many supporters are very nervous about it. However I believe they will rise to the occasion . Come on Leitrim.

joeman123 (National) - 05/04/2023 21:56:01

Leitrim Inter-County 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "While I agree with most of your analysis I think you are being unfair to Diarmaid . He did little wrong yesterday as the lads moved into space. That has been the problem with the kick outs , no movement. Contrast that with the Louth keeper who had few options as the game progressed due to Leitrim pushing up. We wobbled a bit late on but those mistakes can be corrected . The key to our success against Down will be the forwards and with Dean McGovern(swollen knee) and Shane Quinn back it will make for a great contest. The return of Mark Plunkett, the continuing improvement in Donal Wrynn, Keith Keegan's impressive stint at midfield and our defence getting better is evidence of our progress. Down's mindset will will be to give us no respect ,they know little about us so going in as underdogs will keep our lads balanced. It was noticeable post match in Louth that there was no celebration from the players just a real satisfaction at a job well done and a steely determination to build on what was an important victory over a team who like us were fighting for survival. We are still in there and there will be no fear of Down among this talented squad who know what is at stake ."
Well said.Lets get behind the team.They have plenty of talent and the age profile is very young. It is by far the best group of players we have had in twenty years.They are making progress and the management is doing well .Keep at it lads

joeman123 (Leitrim) - 02/03/2020 22:19:58

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I see Leitrim has two joint captains and a vice captain. Holy mother of god. Either we have too many leaders or none at all and Andy needs three men to fill the role of captain. I'd suspect the latter."
What an inspiring post for any of the hard working team watching.

joeman123 (National) - 19/01/2024 12:53:39

Leitrim V Mayo. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Very proud of Leitrim today. Clear to see the improvement Terry has brought to us. Fitness levels and conditioning has improved a sight. Missing a few certain starters. Vital we get out of Division 4 at the earliest opportunity and I've seen enough the last two weeks to suggest we will. We are a decent division 3 team with scope to improve further."
Agree Very proud of the the team, their guts and performance. There is a huge improvement over the past two years and I hope Terry Hyland sees enough to keep with them as there is huge potential in the team to progress to Divion 3 and beyond with the return of the injured players and hopefully others such is Jack Heslin.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - 01/11/2020 15:34:24

County Panel 2019 - 2 Like(s)
I am looking forward to 2019 with confidence.I hear the vibes from training are very good and this is encouraging. We also need to be patient as the now famous Carlow rising took two years to get out of Division 4. The only setback I see is the rumblings regarding Keith Beirne.Like most Leitrim supporters I didn't believe the story when I heard it first.It just seemed to be incredible that at this time of our development one of our leading forwards who is a key player for his native club would up sticks and try to go playing with Roscommon!!.According to the Roscommon forum their supporters do not think it is a good idea either.Lets hope all Leitrim parties involved will get together and sort out what ever difficulties there are and ensure Keith stays with Mohill and Leitrim. Our first competitive match is against Mayo in the FBD league on Sunday week Jan 6th.I hear there is a big interest in this game in Mayo as it is there first competitive outing since James Horan returned and a big foowing is likely to make it to Carrick if the weather is good. Finally I wish Terry Hyland ,backroom team and the panel the best of luck in the year ahead.There is a great pride in our small county and great support for our players who make great sacrifices to play for Leitrim.I hope we can return to the energy and excitement which flowed after New York and the Louth qualifer game on a sustained basis.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - 27/12/2018 11:50:23

Replying To Champotime18:  "Any work on any challenge games is recently. Is everyone still on board? If they are it's a huge sign of the confidence the lads have in Andy and the management team. Hopefully we can give a good performance in this comp and continue to build on the S&C work throughout the remainder of the year. I still think we are going in the right direction"
All on board according to Andy Moran interview in the Leitrim Observer. This is definitely a good sign. I have no knowledge of the Challenge games or injuries but I do know that the panel are giving it there all. A win in Belfast will be hard to get , but we just might do it with a committed outfit, which they certainly are

joeman123 (National) - 12/05/2023 22:40:49

Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To masseyferguson:  "You could say the exact same thing for Leitrim.Somebody is going to be very disappointed on Sunday evening."
True,true, it is a pity both counties can't go up,but that is the way it is. This is the opportunity to make up for the awful wrong call in the Tailteann Cup match between them last year.

joeman123 (National) - 25/03/2023 13:53:50