Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from plike

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 4 Like(s)

Replying To wexico15:  "Want Kerry to win but think they've missed the boat today"
A lot of play is made of the Yerrah culture. I got up this morning and put £10 on Kerry at 9/2. Why? Because I knew Sam right well we were better than a ten point drubbing from a team that is seldom if ever stretched. As I left the pub I watched the game in here in London, I saw a gaggle of Yahoos bawling "14 men 14 men 14 men". Sure, if it makes ye feel better, feel free to start again with 15. Ye might even want to try and finish with 15 this time. Either way, I think we have yere number!

plike (National) - 01/09/2019 23:15:29

Dubs V Mayo - 4 Like(s)
I've heard theories about why Dublin haven't been finishing matches as well as they used to do. Some say their bench isn't as good now. Others say their conditioning isn't what it was. Others still say that they just haven't been able to maintain superhuman levels of focus and determination any more. I say, remember how quick people were to write off Kilkenny a few years back? They haven't gone away- although other teams have upped their game considerably. Dublin in football will likewise be with us ever more, even if the next few years will see Sam up for grabs by four or more teams. Normal service has been resumed! Relieved as I am to see the blue juggernaut halted this year, it has to be said that they have been the best team ever. Others may have been as talented but they got the job done. I for one won't join in the gobdaw rejoicing at their defeat. If you want your team to win then learning from the best seems like a more reliable route to success than kicking those who have been brought down at long last. All credit now to Mayo. Injuries and mistakes aplenty yet they were awesome when they got going. They now have strength in depth. They have options. They have been tested and past that test with flying colours. If they can manage to be more consistent in the final then Sam will be crossing the Shannon in September. Every other county but two will want that to happen now.

plike (National) - 16/08/2021 11:39:36

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
I was reading in the Indo about how the Tyrone have had to respond to Covid. I'm shocked that the rate of infection up there is so high. I'm appalled that half of their squad of young, fit and healthy men have been laid low- and some hospitalised- by this latter day plague. At the risk of spouting heresy, this is just a game. Life isn't a game. It's great that it's going ahead. It wouldn't be the worst tragedy ever if the season was stopped in its tracks. Family, friends and health matter far more. I hope that we all hold on to that sense of perspective here after as I honestly think that some of us tend to lose the plot entirely at this stage of the year. We shouldn't. You're a rooster this season. You'll be a feather duster the next. Life goes on!

plike (National) - 17/08/2021 14:01:02

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 3 Like(s)
From a Kerry perspective, this final isn't really our problem. We blew it today. Good luck to those who are in it. You have to be in it to win it. There's the rub though. Most finals are cagey enough. They are seldom classics. The occasion and even the weather can have a profound effect on the result. Luck too needs to be on your side. You often win finals you should lose and vice versa. So, what should the finalists do? Keep preparing as best they can. Control what they can control. Make plans. Accept that most plans seldom survive in tact after contact with the enemy. Have faith in yourselves. Try to do yourselves and the game credit. Good luck!

plike (National) - 28/08/2021 21:07:34

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 3 Like(s)
Even for those of us raised far from the real hurling strongholds, we know, deep down, that the small ball is the better game, by a blue mile. Good luck to one and all tomorrow. I have no preference about who wins. I just hope ye all play well. Never die wondering!

plike (National) - 17/08/2019 17:22:15

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Anyways Enough of this luvvy duvvy nonsense Kerry Baxtards! A more annoyin shower you could never wish to beat, I mean meet........."
"You could never wish to beat..."? Don't bother to try then. We'll take it whichever way it comes. Hard or easy is all the same to us!

plike (National) - 25/08/2019 10:58:39

9 Dubs forwards, would any not make the Mayo team? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "bbbbbbbbbooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!! Take that culchies!!!

:)"
Ah, would that be one of the shining wits taking liberties, Reverend? What they need is the good book. It's as thick as they are.

One wonders how much support Dublin will have as and when they hit the doldrums again? It's easy to support success... but failure is a b*stard!

plike (National) - 07/09/2016 20:28:45

Objects thrown at referee David Gough - 2 Like(s)
Objects thrown at that ref? Well, if you must, might I suggest some or all of the following: 1) varifocals 2) the rulebook 3) a Zimmer frame

plike (National) - 29/08/2016 11:49:12

Kerry V Dublin - 2 Like(s)
Make no mistake about, this is a great Dublin team. Probably the best ever. The young Kerry team facing them need to man up. Become the heroes we need you to be. The game itself deserves no less.

plike (National) - 11/08/2019 17:54:51

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 2 Like(s)
A few things about this season strike me. First and foremost, no game is more important than your health. Secondly, your friends and family will be with you most of the way through life so never mistake the promises written on water in your sporting life to matter more than they do. Thirdly and finally, reputations in sport only matter when you back them up with performances and back them up consistently. Good luck to both teams. I trust they will prepare as well as they can. I hope they will do themselves credit on the day. All of us neutrals are hoping for that rarity, a final for the ages. If the appetite of both these teams can be channeled into winning the game rather than on beating the opposition then we might well get that. Here's hoping!

plike (National) - 04/09/2021 14:06:03

NEUTRALS:Who do you WANT to win - Donegal v Dublin - 2 Like(s)
Donegal v Dublin? Yerrah shure, a fierce, keenly contested and energy sapping game, extra time and more a the same next time out would suit us well enough down here in the Kingdom. Show us how it's done boys... with black n white n red all over!

plike (National) - 04/08/2016 16:33:14

Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KerryKillers:  "I take offense to that"
Suck it up. Your a great man to dish it out. Kerry killers? It's a game, bozo. If you fancy a bit of killing, drop the game... and... join a gang. They'll have you fitted for a bodybag in no time, so they will!

plike (National) - 13/09/2016 09:25:11

BANNING SHOULDER TACKLES? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "I wouldn't put the helmet rule 20 years from now when they're removing high fielding from the game because it's deemed unsafe for two men to jump so high close together lest one lands on the other once they fall down, you'll be defending that rule change by saying "sure there was once a time when people objected to the shoulder charge". 20 years after that when physical contact is deemed unsafe and kids are stopped from playing the game altogether you'll be saying "sure there was once a time when people objected to the banning of high fielding"."
Hyperbolic, hysterical hissy fits is it now, Father?

plike (National) - 20/08/2021 07:13:47

Apart from wondering where many Dublin "fans" go in the lean years, I have no beef with the Jacks roaring on their team to make history. Not only is their team (probably) the best ever but their ability time and again to escape from tight corners is impressive. That said, I want this Kerry team to do themselves full justice on Saturday. There should be no surprises now about the occasion. No excuses either for erratic shooting, coughing up the ball and putting kickouts out on the full. Beyond that, I spare my displeasure for the sneering contempt of pundits like Vince Hogan in the Indo blethering on about Kerry tradition being less than we let on. Be sure to take that line of reasoning for a spin when next in the Kingdom. You are sure to get more than a few "yerrahs", you gomb!

plike (Kerry) - 09/09/2019 09:29:59

Kerry National League 2020 - 2 Like(s)
As far wiser GAA heads have said, it seems odd to me that the Kingdom, a place perennially blessed with attacking threat but now plagued by defensive weaknesses, should ostracize the one coach it has with a PROVEN track record of shoring things up in that department. While I trust that Keane & Co have a plan about how to do this on their own, I can't help thinking that all this smacks of a closed shop mentality. I sincerely hope that we don't come to regret this down the road later in the summer (and, while I'm at it, I think it bears mentioning that giving the man a mere 24 hrs notice before sticking the knife in is straight out of the gobdaw textbook!).

plike (Kerry) - 09/03/2020 08:02:30

Replying To Jackeen:  "And finally I look on those intangible but very real forces that drive Kerry football and its teams - self-belief, history tradition: Something this Dublin team also have in abundance!"
I was in primary school in the seventies. The irresistible force met the immovable object back then. It was seldom boring or one sided.

plike (National) - 31/08/2019 12:57:50

Dublin v Kerry - 2 Like(s)

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Yeah it's really unthinkable that the red-hot favourite 3/10 shot will end up reaching the Final,"
Are Dublin red hot favourites? Yes, and rightly so. Have Dublin been the team of the teens so far? Indisputably. Should Dublin rest on their laurels? No, because they need to put together a string of pearls (ie a fair reflection of their true worth) Is Fitz's job on the line? If they lads play well, make a contest of it and stay competitive until the end, I doubt it. The fact is they might win IF they do that... and... and knife wielding hands will then revert to being back slappers. Here's a thought. Follow the game. Support your team. Enjoy it come what may. And if it's mind games ye want, take up Sudoku.

plike (National) - 13/08/2016 09:07:29

Mayo V Dublin - 2 Like(s)
You can't blame that great Kerry team for beating what was put in front of it. It is equally foolish to blame this great Dublin team because nobody else can give them a game as they continue their "drive for five". And if they do what nobody else has done, what are we to make of them? I won't lie that I will be cheering them on their victory lap BUT you have to conceed that they are the best if they do it. No and. No buts. No maybes.

plike (National) - 11/08/2019 10:32:50

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "That reminds me. Time for a drink."
I'm more concerned about Kerry being consistent and clinical than I am about what Dublin will bring. They've been here many times before. A known quantity. A quality team. Kerry need to be up for it -to finally earn the respect still denied to them by so many. If they do that then I think they have a fair chance of winning the cup. Can't wait to see it now, if I'm honest!

plike (National) - 13/09/2019 22:40:59

Kerry National League 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Yes. I agree. Cork are still the sleeping giant. That said, there are signs it might be waking up. Coming from Casteisland as Buckley does, it's no great stretch to jump the bounds. Good luck to him wherever he may roam.

plike (Kerry) - 09/03/2020 14:54:36