Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from 37thHeaven

Galway V Kerry And World Cup Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy genuine question here not slagging or having a dig; Why for a mad footballing county like Kerry that are the best at Gaelic football is you're support for the Kerry team so poor I accept Travelling to Croker in games you know your going to win is too much for you with such a distance and cost and all but even for the Munster final it was poor Cork a hurling county totally out numbered you's , like even close championship games to Kerry you're support is poor why is this? Like getting to play Kerry in all Ireland final is great cause we know there'll be loads of tickets available."
When you don't have a million and a half people, are one of the poorest counties in the country and the most isolated it's not easy draw big crowds to travel 10-12 hr round trip multiple times a ear Ye could only draw 30k for the League Final 40k for the Leinster Final and less than 12K for a handy spin down to Portlaoise all of which are extermely poor numbers given the enormous population and strength of economy

37thHeaven (National) - 05/07/2018 15:54:28

Professor Niall Moyna says Dublin are too dominant - 3 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ohhh Would you ever give it a rest Jaysus you've enjoyed an overwhelming advantage for over a century down there One foot in a semifinal year after year Sorry that your handy All Ireland's have dried up.. but get bloody use to it"
Getting every game at home, home refs dwarfing the rest in funding and sponsorship , thats what I call handy titles

37thHeaven (National) - 03/02/2018 15:12:03

Professor Niall Moyna says Dublin are too dominant - 3 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "No one has mentioned the games development figures released today Dublin games development allocation is down by 200k. Ah well its only money! :)"
1,298,630 + Sports Council Money Yeah only €1.3 million how will the Juggernaut survive on such a pittance!!!!

37thHeaven (National) - 31/01/2018 18:14:48

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To superbluedub:  "So the munster sfc championship , has been lopsided for well over a 100 years , with Kerry having advantages being in a 6 county hurling province , only having to beat 1 team to get to an all Ireland semi final , for the majority of there 37 all Irelands , yea quite clearly didn't need population funding sponsorship etc , but it was all fair wasn't it ? amazingly Dublin always had population , funding , sponsorship etc , but this was never a problem from 1996 -2011."
Then how come it is more a competitive than a province that has 10 teams that play Football as it's first Code - that should be impossible if Dublin were on a level playing field as you suggest It's not our fault if other teams in our province play Munster - in fact the poor quality of land (bar the Hurling region) compared to rest of Munster is the biggest reason why we never became a Hurling county like our neighbours The fact is we had to travel to win all of our AI's and got no favours from GAAHQ in terms of funding and we never had a million and a half which to draw players from and to market a ton of wealthy sponsors (A small market like Kerry couldn't dream of car or Airline sponsors!)

37thHeaven (National) - 31/05/2018 00:18:46

Dublin's Neutral Venue For Super 8'S - 3 Like(s)
Not only is it a huge advantage for Dublin obviously over everybody else but it places the Ulster Champions at a huge disadvantage over the other 7 teams as they have to play 2 away games to everyones elses 1 Furthermore, Donegal/Fermanagh will only play their home in the 3rd game so they could easily be eliminated as they will face the Juggernaut away in Rd 1, the Connacht Runner Up or Qualifier which could be Roscommon, Galway , Mayo, Tyrone etc any of which will be a difficult game on the road This disadvantage will rotate around the other provinces in the coming years also I don't see why the Neutral Games are at Croke Park to begin with. Purely hypothetical situation - if Kerry (are lucky enough to get past the Rebels) and play Galway a much bigger crowd from both would travel to Limerick than to Dublin for that game especially as it wouldn't be do or die

37thHeaven (National) - 13/06/2018 18:35:05

Monaghan V Kerry - 2 Like(s)
For various reasons the expected challenge of Castlebar last week didn't happen to the extent we expected but you can bet your bottom dollar the Farney Army will be relishing the opportunity to devour our kids and put them down a few pegs in the tight confines of Iniskeen Furthermore, with the sheer amount of players we have tied up with the Sigerson (15) there will be a lot of tired young bodies (a number are injured for this game) which makes an already really tough challenge that bit tougher against a grizzled veteran team like Monaghan. Thankfully there is a much needed break after this weekend and having picked up 4 points we likely only need 1 more win to ensure survival in the Division which reduces the pressure on this game which promises to be a gruelling physical encounter for our kids

37thHeaven (National) - 10/02/2018 13:21:30

'The People's Game' - 2 Like(s)
If the GAA continue to sit idly by and let one team absolutely swamp the rest in every facet , more and more GAA people will become alienated and bet your bottom dollar the IRFU recognises this and won't hesitate to take advantage and take over rural Ireland

37thHeaven (National) - 07/03/2018 22:01:54

Confess Your Really Unpopular View/Opinion - 2 Like(s)
The GAA only care about Dublin supporters There is no way they would be forced to a 4pm game 4 hours away from home at this time of year If fair was fair they would play all their league games away from home seeing as they have all their Championship games at home, indeed it might even increase the sparse crowds at the Leinster Championship games

37thHeaven (National) - 05/03/2018 21:51:18

Gaeltacht in All-Ireland semis - 2 Like(s)
People are putting way too much stock into league position Kenmare and Legion both of whom are Senior were in Division 2 last year and Kenmare are still there this year - yet they still got to club final and only lost in extra time to Dr Crokes If other counties want to have lopsided competitions were the vast amount of teams have no realistic chance of winning that's fair enough but don't expect us to dilute ours just to placate others - which president set up the Junior and Inter Club Comps????

37thHeaven (National) - 19/01/2018 13:08:12

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 2 Like(s)
Kildare and Meath have been traumatised over a long period of time getting repeated slaughterings at all levels by the Juggernaut that fans and players alike have lost the appetite to make the huge sacrifices over 10/11 months required. This will and already is beginning to happen on a national scale. Scary.

37thHeaven (National) - 27/05/2018 22:45:34

The Dubs In Aughrim - 2 Like(s)
Game drew less than 12,000 and yet everyone else has to go out of their way to make room for the hordes and hordes of travelling Juggernaut fans What am I missing????

37thHeaven (National) - 27/05/2018 17:53:12

The Super 8 - 2 Like(s)
these games at Croke Park will get brutal crowds as they won't be knockout games. Imagine if it's Kerry v Galway - very few will go all the way to Dublin for a game that isn't KO(Very few from either went last year and that was a KO game) It should be in Limerick same with the other neutral games.

37thHeaven (National) - 14/04/2018 14:38:47

The pinnacle of cute Kerry h***r*sm - 1 Like(s)
Lads if ye want to throw stones at Kerry GAA go ahead but don't think we will just ignore the basic facts of the ludicrous inequalities in the GAA favouring one team at present Kerry GAA aren't even benefitting from this event and there is no obligation whatsoever for any individual or organisation to attend. It's for the students who attend from many different places who will benefit yet there are people actually trying to stop them... We haven't got a load of top class Universities with accompanying World Class facilities which makes it really disappointing to see such strong attacks from those who have everything they could possibly want on their doorstep I guess when you have everything it's hard to empathize with having to painstakingly fundraise for even modest facilities but that doesn't mean ye should criticise and look down your nose at others for having to do so

37thHeaven (National) - 19/01/2018 12:16:35

Monaghan V Kerry - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Shelbourne:  "And we are missing our best forward in McCarthy as McManus not match fit yet and probably not starting. Kerry better able to cope with their much bigger squad."
We're down 3/4 from the Sigerson and 3 more from the Trench Cup Final which is on tomorrow so we have very been badly affected It's a make an already huge challenge that much more difficult

37thHeaven (National) - 16/02/2018 17:00:00

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 1 Like(s)
I doubt Kerry were ever 1/200 to win Munster with 4 teams remaining People with agendas hyped up our kids winning last Sunday by a big margin, the difference the Juggernaut do that game in game out and there is no fuss because it is so commonplace. The bookies had Kerry -6 so it shows it was a freak result, the Blue Behemoth are -18 on Sunday and were -22 the last day

37thHeaven (National) - 08/06/2018 14:03:34

Professor Niall Moyna says Dublin are too dominant - 1 Like(s)

Replying To keithlemon:  "Its a valid point. Dublins dominance of Leinster is regularly used as a point to show how their dominance has been bad for the game. Yet Kerrys Munster dominance, 16 titles out of the last 25 and currently unbeaten in Munster in 6 years seems largely forgotten. How come?"
It's a football province bar the big 2 and Cork are in a lull period and Tipperary deserve respect for what they have achieved in the big ball the last decade or so Whereas Leinster was a Football province with 5/6 strong teams playing attractive Football in front of huge crowds until the GAA distorted the landscape by injecting enormous sums of €€€€ one way and destroying a very vibrant and interesting competition for the neutral Sadly the same will (and is already happening) on a national scale and the GAA are continuing to keep their heads in the sand...........................

37thHeaven (National) - 31/01/2018 18:34:54

Professor Niall Moyna says Dublin are too dominant - 1 Like(s)

Replying To kildare73:  "The funding figures published today just go to back up the argument. Dublin €1.3m, Cork €250,000 and the rest after that. Then we get told to make the best of OUR resources."
If this was only a one-off it could be forgiven, but this outrageous inequality has been going on for almost 15 years!!!! Why can't the AIG (and many many other foreign sponsors) money not cover the funding costs and not devour it from those who really need it???? Do Dublin fans want a fair competition or a financially gerrymandered competition?

37thHeaven (National) - 31/01/2018 19:15:47

Mayo vs Kerry - 1 Like(s)
Only giving an honest and impartial(well as much as possible) view on the game as I always do..... If there is any specific issue I'd rather you bring it up rather than spout nonsense cliches

37thHeaven (National) - 31/01/2018 20:01:54

Replying To clondalkindub:  "You must be on the moon when we play Kerry Donegal or Mayo in championship. Kerry hammer Clare not a word said Dublin hammer 14 man longford the end of football. We've always hammered these teams in Leinster for as long as I can remember."
Kerry only had a 6 point handicap last week, that scoreline was totally unexpected i fact some pundits were whispering the possibility of a Clare upset Today the handicap was 18 the last day 22 , both absolutely ridiculous spreads yet passed in 1st gear, how can't people see there is a serious issue Finally, Longford lost by TWO points to Dublin just over a decade ago, Laois beat Dublin in 03 and lost by a point in 05 when Dublin were overjoyed to beat them, so no it hasn't always been like this

37thHeaven (National) - 10/06/2018 19:09:44

Replying To jimbodub:  "Kerry posters really bricking themselves about 4 in a row... :) 5 in a row.. Look at them pretending to care about Leinster.. Hahaha"
We are worried about the future health of the game going forward If the Monster the GAA created could destroy a vibrant Football province like Leinster (great traditions and bigger populations than the others) there is nothing stopping to the AI becoming a wasteland and irrelevant in Irish society)

37thHeaven (National) - 11/06/2018 22:33:14