Kerry Forum

Popular Posts from dingle2

Tyrone Withdrawl From AI Semi Final. - 8 Like(s)
As a Kerryman and a medical doctor with years of Public Health experience I am totally behind Tyrone's decision to state that they are unable to fulfil the fixture. Given the current guidelines they are well entitled to adopt such a position especially as all their players are amateur and are local club members as well as being work colleagues and family members. The real problem is the ludicrous "specialist" public health utterances. These change daily and have no scientific basis but we all have fallen for a "fear" factor and like in the Civil War turn neighbour against neighbour. Hermann Goering stated during the Nuremburg trials when asked how his government convinced the German people to accept his regime - his response has echoes of what is now happening ..."It was easy....the only thing a government needs to turn people into slaves is fear. If you can find something to scare them you can make them do anything you want" So here we are at a similar situation in Ireland and indeed the world. The WHO (under a brutal and oppressive Ethopian Government Minister and China backed Communist apologist) belatedly declared a Pandemic, stated "track and trace" only remedy, refused to investigate China from Dec. 2019 to Feb 2021 and in Feb 2021 accepted the limited access that China allowed and now accepts that they need more information but China (like Ulster) says no!! So now our football championship has been upended for a second year in a row. Not a big deal in the scheme of things but all underage football/hurling and all other children's sports and social activities also upended in a similar manner. This is a huge issue for health and welfare of our people and our coming generation. Shame on the WHO and it's morally bankrupt and corrupt leader. Shame on our lame duck Public Health Officials who followed blindly and without question. Please let out games go on and our youth thrive. Please let us as free Irish people decide for ourselves what we do or do not want to do and not be subjugated to the oppressive "make it up as we go along" dictats offered in the name of "science". There is NO science behind all of this. Tyrone should be free to paly whenever and wherever as should every boy and girl in Ireland today, tomorrow or at anytime. Please I beg people take a step back and think and rationalise all the forced media and governmental/NEPHET fodder that has been forced upon us without any allowed critical analysis. I have I Masters in Public Health Degree. The bould Tony got his the same year, same class as I (1996). Doctor's do differ and I differ hugely here an the health and welfare of our future generations if this charade is allowed to continue. Out in a field playing hurling, football, rugby, soccer, hockey, tennis or any other sport or athletic activity is where our young (and not so young) people should be and not "locked up/down" in both a physical and especially mental very confining space. So please GAA hierarchy take the lead here. Challenge Tony and NEPHET. Ask for hard figures and validation (do not accept possible computer projections - all of which have been wrong to date). And above all give the Tyrone team and mentors the time required to meaningfully participate in our 2021 Championship. All us amateur citizens and GAA members deserve this. Regards, Dr. P.

dingle2 (National) - 15/08/2021 01:51:16

Great Day For Football - 7 Like(s)
What an emotional rollercoaster day in the annals of championship football. I was rivited to the happenings in Páirc Uí Chaoimh and Omagh and I hope everybody else was too. What a dramatic afternoon. Even as a diehard Kerryman I couldn't but help shed a tear around 6 o'clock. Well done Cavan and Tipp. I hope all of us appreciate their endeavours.

dingle2 (National) - 22/11/2020 19:35:24

Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals. - 6 Like(s)
All Premier League grounds packed to capacity this weekend. GAA should demand full capacity for Hurling and Football All Ireland Finals. No medical or scientific reason why this should not happen (unless the NEPHET gurus state that the now humanised Covid virus prefers GAA games rather than Premier League matches - ergo reduced attendances). 82,500 for Croker must be allowed and the GAA should insist on same. Ciarraí Abú.

dingle2 (National) - 15/08/2021 21:29:25

Explaining Hurling to visiting Americans.... - 6 Like(s)
OMG...he earned it.

The poor bucko that brought four visiting (obviously some degree of his relatives) Americans into McHugh's in Liscannor on Sunday to watch the hurling. God he got them the best seats and all, two men and two women. Second cousin's once removed I'd say but not first generation.....a bit removed for his comfort.

Well fair play to yer man (who obviously had timed this pub arrival to perfection - in between the Burren and the Cliffs) as he tried to sell the unfolding spectacle to his guests as best he could. Three points for a goal (green flag), one point for a puck over the crossbar and between the posts (white flag) etc. The men seemed to enjoy the fray unfolding on the big screen but the women were totally sea...didn't even realise there was a 'ball' involved until a side line puck was awarded at some stage when one remarked that "oh my God there's the ball".

Our man was gettin a bit frustrated at this stage....too many questions from the relations taking his focus off the game (while all the time telling the Yanks that he only stopped at the pub for the game for their sake so that they could see this unique Irish game). They were having none of it however and proceeded to order soup and sandwiches (with numerous questions as to the provenence of same from the poor bar girl, whose attention gravitated towards the big screen also).

Then apocalypse nearly happened. One of the Yanks, and he a large one too, stood up to smoke a cheroot!! In the process he blocked the line of vision for half present. His poor Irish cousin advised him quickly (and as politely as possible) that it be better that he smoke sitting down - it be more comfortable etc. But yer man was having none of it...said he needed to stretch the legs......!!!!

Then the f*****g and blinding started and the poor Irish cousin got fierce nervy altogether and implored his long, long lost relative to please, please be re-seated. The two women, who were now sheepishly snuggled up to each other as if anticipating a shock and awe experience, looked scarified, while the other cousin (actually totally engrossed in the game threw out a query as to what the umpire was brandishing a yellow strip of paper for) had not a bother on him and ignored the surrounding bedlam completely.

The big man eventually got the message that all was not well and resumed his seat. Irish cousin's sweat dried up (a little)..then the satellite went down!!!! Mayhem for all of fifty seconds.

Coverage returned with a landscape view of Croker and the huge crowd present and this caught the imagination of the two women. "My Gawd, there's a big crowd there", opined one. "Huge stadium", remarked the other..."for such a small country".

This last remark was the bulls-eye for the Irish cousin as his chest expanded and he extolled tales of 70, nay 80 and even 90 thousand souls attending games in the Páirc. All amateur too. Local grass roots. Blood, sweat and tears. He was in his element and the Yanks were enthralled with such prehistoric rhetoric. This was what they had come for...the real Ireland.

He missed the pulsating final minutes due to his now captive audience's demands for more oral culture....! They left bang on the final whistle. I'd swear I even saw a rainbow with a bearded man and a crock of gold as they walked out the side entrance!!!

Gaillimh Abú.

dingle2 (National) - 04/09/2017 23:38:11

Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "What's the health system in Sweden like? I thought the whole point of lockdowns was to ensure to health system didn't collapse? And right now the hospitals in Castlebar and Galway are at breaking point. Years of mismanagement by different governments has led to the third world health system we currently have. It's a disgrace."
From March to June last year Irish hospitals had up 4,000 EMPTY beds every night yet the public image was that the system was being overrun. Hospital wards were actually like ghost towns....totally empty where if a pin dropped it would echo everywhere. The bould Tony was even shocked when he had to spend a night in St. Jamses' and found he was the only patient in the ward. Hospitals now overflowing with patients who should have been treated a year ago. Lockdown has failed miserably and the longer we are locked up/down the worse the situation will become. Our "get out of jail cards" (ie the vaccines) are now proving to be both ineffective (you can still get infected if vaccinated - albeit milder, and pass it on) and inefficient (after 6 months their efficacy wears off) so everyone will need a booster 6-9 months after their first dose and probably another jab 6-9 months later again. So round and round we go if this charade continues. It reminds me of medieval times when scholars debated as to how many angels could sit on the top of a pin. Same types of "scholars" now "informing" the masses with their computer projections of possible impending doom. Rome burned while Nero fiddled and here in Ireland people are dying because they are afraid to seek healthcare because of the fear of contracting Covid. Fine to die alone from cancer or a stroke or heart attack as long as you didn't have Covid. 82,500 should be in Croke Park for Mayo v Kerry/Tyrone. We need another 1916 type uprising to regain our freedom.

dingle2 (National) - 21/08/2021 14:47:00

Confederate Flag - 4 Like(s)
Another example of PC gone mad. This flag was never a political symbol for the supporters who carried it into GAA grounds for the past 20 or 30 odd years, it simply relatively matched the Rebel colours, same as Japan Flag and a few other multi cultural flags the Cork supporters have also flown on the Hill, in Thurles, in Killarney, in The Páirc and in many other stadia. Waterford supporters had a flag with Mother Theresa on it last Sunday....in good taste I thought and funny.....but shure the PC brigade will say it was a religious symbol and should have been banned. I for years never knew the Cork supporters flag was a Confederate flag, just thought it was colourful on the day amongst the great variety of other flags the Cork supporters always brought, now with their actions methoughts we can expect far more Confederate Flags at Cork games but for possibly the wrong reasons (which I don't support). At home we used to say "is binn béal ina thost"....the silent mouth is best!!!! This is a controversy of the PC brigade's own making. had they kept their mouth's shut is would all have passed unnoticed to the major majority. Even though a Kerryman I say up The Rebels on this one.

dingle2 (National) - 15/08/2017 23:02:39

Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ecad123:  "Lol again like I said it was agreed 24 thousand for semi finals and 40 thousand for finals. I don't think you are a person who believes in science. Remember everything also can be subject to change and with the current rate of infection anything can happen! But I may as well be talking to the wall, people like you don't seem to understand this. And you probably dont believe this virus exists at all. Look at the amount of infections attributed to the euros in the UK!"
I believe in science. Can you please outline what your belief in the current science is??? De facto there is no science behind these decisions on our freedoms but there is a helluva lot of spin and fear propaganda.

dingle2 (National) - 21/08/2021 19:41:03

Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It don't make sense."
Bet NEPHET & Tony say there's "science" behind this....and people will actually believe them!!!! They will probably say that virus more prevalent at football games than at hurling so hence reduced attendance. OMG how we as a people have succumbed to NEPHET/Social Media/Mainstream Media hysteria and fear inducing rhetoric. All backed up by confusing (deliberate) and massaged statistics to frighten the common man/woman. No science here now from these boys just b**l s**t.

dingle2 (National) - 19/08/2021 22:15:41

Late opening of gates at Croke Park on Sunday. - 4 Like(s)
I have been attending games at Croke Park for nearly fifty years and never experienced such a shambles as on Sunday. As is my wont I arrived early hoping to meet up with friends, grab a bite to eat, have a social drink and settle in my spot for the two games. On arrival at Jones' Road at 12.30 I thought there was a security issue such were the numbers of people outside the grounds. On approaching the Hogan entrance I was told that the gates were not open and nobody knew when they actually would open. Then the heavens opened and people scampered for whatever bit of shelter was available (which was practically none). Everybody got soaked. This was miserable and when we were finally admitted at 1.05pm most early comers were soaked to the skin at this stage and this led to a very uncomfortable afternoon for all concerned with damp shirts & trouser's etc. This was a disgraceful act by Croke Park management and shower real disdain for the supporters of Kerry, Galway, Mayo and Roscommon. It also led to a dangerous crush situation when the gates did eventually open such was the now gathered throng outside as the flow of people towards the turnstiles was further impeded by the new security searches. My ticket stub clearly states - " Patrons are requested to arrive at least one hour before the main game begins in order to avoid congestion". This both I and thousands of others did and to have the gates still closed on our arrival was as I have already stated disgraceful and dangerous.

dingle2 (National) - 01/08/2017 21:59:39

That Macauley Tackle - 4 Like(s)
Am I alone in thinking that this was a straight red card offence? As a neutral observer I thought it was the most dangerous attempt at a tackle that I've seen in many a year. He completely 'clothes-lined' O'Connor and could have caused him serious injury. In any other code, hurling, rugby, rugby league, Aussie rules etc., etc., this would have meant instant dismissal for serious dangerous play. The GAA should employ a citing officer to oversee such instances and apportion proportionate punishment to offenders.

dingle2 (National) - 18/09/2016 19:44:56

AOS - A passenger who cost Mayo All Irelands - Brolly - 3 Like(s)
Couldn't agree more with Joe Brolly's assessment. AOS has unfortunately always been marked absent on the big day's over the past five years. Good always against the lesser lights but when big games there to be won he off the pace and off the play. He a decent footballer and probably a great human being but he just can't cut it at the business end of a big All Ireland Final day.

dingle2 (National) - 28/01/2018 19:57:03

Bring All-Ireland SFC Semi-Final To Navan - 3 Like(s)
This should be a runner. No crowd, neutral venue, half way. No brainer in my opinion as Pairc Tailteann a great venue. Why should the Dubs have home advantage i Croker?? especially this year when Corporate Boxes or Crowd Capacity not an issue.

dingle2 (National) - 22/11/2020 20:05:31

That Kerry Blow - 3 Like(s)
Daingean Uí Chúis Abú!!!!!!! Ní neart ach gur chur le chéile, tárlaoinn 'schezmozzels' i ngach aon chluiche. Tá fhios agam go bhfuil Colm náireach as cad a tharla. Ach is duine uasal é ó chlann uaisleach. Arís, Daingean Uí Chúis Abú.

dingle2 (National) - 28/10/2018 01:55:39

Full Stadium For Hurling And Football Finals. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "you really are embarrassing yourself now. what leadership are they showing exactly? what qualifications do you have over the doctors and others in NPHET?"
As already stated previously in this post an MB (RCSI) and an MPH (UCD)

dingle2 (National) - 27/08/2021 20:28:29

Super 8's Gonna Be Damp Squib - 3 Like(s)
Going on the four quarter finals we have had this year (Roscommon v Mayo apart) it looks like the proposed Super Eights will turn out to be a damp squib and just inflict further misery on teams who really don't have the ability to compete at such a level. Galway, Monaghan, and Armagh are cases in point on the evidence so far (and possibly Roscommon also). Imagine Monaghan having to turn around to face Tyrone in Healy Park next weekend and Armagh having to face Dublin in Croker. Following on that there would be a useless rubber game between Monaghan and Armagh while Tyrone and Dublin would shadow box each other in another meaningless game as both teams would have qualified already (only issue would be that if the other side of the Super 8's were known both teams might play to win to avoid a certain semi-final opponent). All in all I think the Super 8's will be a disaster and will only humiliate and set back teams who are not at the level of preparedness as Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone & Mayo. Teams making incremental progress could be set back hugely by this system. It has, in my opinion, been created for TV and for pay per view channels in particular so that they get to air more games. I think this format deserves a rethink and should be scrapped before the damage is done,

dingle2 (National) - 05/08/2017 21:00:10

Replying To realdub:  "I see Denmark have dropped the mask and other restrictions, they're having similar amount of daily cases. Be interesting to see how that goes, hopefully very well."
Sweden never locked down, never had a mask mandate, all schools & colleges fully open, shops, bars cinemas etc, the same and ditto also for public transport and sports. Now have lowest 28 day mortality in Europe and very low case rate also. More importantly all citizens happily going on with their lives, RTE & media furious with Swedish attitude this time last year saying they were so irresponsible...... but you won't hear a geek about Sweden now!!! Their Public Health Officials called it right and stood by their decision not to impose any restrictions on society and they have been justified. Our mopes in Public Health just went for the doomsday scenario and are still in that space. We can NEVER return to normal as long as NEPHET and Tony govern us.

dingle2 (National) - 21/08/2021 11:35:31

Replying To KillingFields:  "I dont think replicating england is anything we should be doing with regard to covid considering how boris and his mob have managed the pandemic. GAA are in no position to demand anything. we probably wont see full capacity for the all irelands but we are getting half. What do you mean by now humanised covid? What qualifications gives you the right to say NPHET are wrong?"
A Medical (MB) and Master in Public Health (MPH) degrees for starters.

dingle2 (National) - 17/08/2021 20:24:37

Replying To ecad123:  "Had a lot of the team covid ? Some had alright but you have to remember that if you were a close contact and were vaccinated you had to still isolate as was the law in the UK before 17 August."
Media pressure won out. Same as media pressure both social and mainstream has dictated public opinion on this so called "pandemic" since its inception, We are all grown up adults, please all take a step back and analyse what we have been subjected to in the name of science. Most if not all has been a charade, an obfuscation of statistics to confuse, some downright lies and a failure of leadership. NEPHET a humiliation (now apparently going to be pensioned off in October). Dr. Tony a disaster (but the cervical Cancer women already knew this). Our country will be broke, our health system archaic, our children scarred and terrified......our elders frightened out of their wits and we persist in digging a hole that has left our people crestfallen, confused and frightened!!!! In the name of God or of Science we need to cop on. The BS we have been served up has placed us in an appalling place with no end in sight. Please give us our freedom back. Our freedom whether a single person or 82,400 to watch Mayo v Tyrone in Croke Park. Good luck to anybody who feels uncomfortable with this as you have a simple remedy....stay locked up in your home for two weeks post the final. Why should the living well be locked up rather than the "paranoid well"? Open up Croke Park to all Mayo and Tyrone supporters to want to "risk" being there on the day, It is their right and privilege, My grand uncle died in the Liospóil Ambush, my children's great grand uncle died at Béal na mBláth. They were men of courage and leadership and would not have succumbed to the current media Covid paranoia, Pity we haven't such leadership now. There should be 82,400 Maigh Eo & Tír Eoghain supporters in Croke Park next week if we have any sense of bravery or manhood or womanhood. Time to build "A Nation Once Again". Mayo and Tyrone people deserve nothing less!

dingle2 (National) - 31/08/2021 01:30:55

Tony Keady RIP - 3 Like(s)
Today we say slán to one of the greats of our time...and all too soon. Rest in peace and condolences to the Keady family and to Galway hurling.

dingle2 (National) - 10/08/2017 09:06:45

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 3 Like(s)
"SAM" leaves Europe for the very first time!!! Comhgairdeas Tír Eoghain.

dingle2 (National) - 11/09/2021 20:52:18