Dublin Forum

Popular Posts from TheUsername

Dublin V Louth - What A Farce - 19 Like(s)
David Clifford is a teenager in Kerry. David gets up at 5:00 O clock every morning to walk the five miles every morning to get water, picking up fire wood along the way. David carefully balances the water on his head and fire wood on his knees to bring home so Mammy can have a nice cup of tea and a bit of toast (no avocado). After Mammy has had her toast, )without avocado). David goes out to the fields, David runs for miles to catch mountain goats for milk for his whole family, David likes how they sometimes put the crown on the goat. Winters are harsh in Kerry, and David often has to have his hood up on on his holey jacket. While he is growing into Daddy's wellies nicely. David often wishes that Mammy liked cornflakes instead of tea and toast (without avocado ) for her breakfast. David then goes to school, David is very tired by now, but the hole in the roof often keeps him awake and the rain helps him keep a perfect quiff, because the wet look is in around Killarney. David walks the 20 miles home from school every day, often having to be careful of the Paddywhacker buses that pass him by. David is sometimes splashed by these buses as they drive by and looks up to see Dublin people drinking Champagne and designer coddle int their heated seats. David would like to taste coddle just once. David sometimes wishes he was from Dublin too. David used to walk home from school with his favorite friends, Mark and Steffen, they arent there anymore and he sometimes sees them at the Christmas nativity play and Goat crown day in the summer, they have big red faces and look bigger and stronger, David thinks they may have moved from Toast (no avocado) to cornflakes for their breakfasts. Davids favorite colors are green and yellow, he remembers seeing a big shining milking jug one time when he was very small. David though of how much milk he put into that if he could catch a goat. When David has his homework done, David climbs three mountains and 100 miles to play football with his friends. The manager told him if he plays very well he can get the big shiny goat milk jug. David likes this and will play very very hard. David is beginning to grow into Daddys boots. Davids favorite part of football is the oranges they get after training, it helps David on the return journey up and down mountains. David curls up at night in a corner of the room, sometimes there is an ember from the coal in the fire, he can keep warm for a little bit. David will be up again in three hours, to get the water and firewood for Mammys team and toast again (no avocado). David often dreams of Bernard Brogan, David wishes he can play football like Bernard. David believes that Bernard does not have to play football with a beach ball and has boots that fit him. If you would like to help to help David grow into his boots, please send a minimum of 1 mill euro to Kerry GAA, in donation, 7 mill if dealing in tax payers money. You can also but a chicken dinner from 2000 euro a plate. Please contact The Plaza New York for more details. Please help us provide cornflakes or avocado for David and his toast. This has been an appeal from Kerry GAA. * Played to Eva Cassidys fields of gold.

TheUsername (National) - 02/06/2019 14:19:18

Dublin GAA thread - 14 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "Kildare defo looking the most likely, they will fancy themselves to catch us out in a couple of weeks I reckon."
Personally think we will absolutely destroy Kildare in a couple of weeks, especially as its away. Ryan's comments last week just handed us extra motivation and I think we are going to see Dublin give Kildare chasing. Hes torpedoed his own team, what a head the ball, just played right into our hands.

TheUsername (National) - 15/05/2023 17:10:53

Dublin GAA thread - 14 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Money is an issue alright User but don't think the corporate a problem. It's more the gaa and money. However with the amount of games now Croker is nt selling anyway. Only 30000 there last Sunday and for a double header. Glen Ryan should have complained before the game not after if he d a problem and dressing rooms don't have any bearing on match results."
I think it is corporate and premium to be honest Mick, they are sold in advance and for a minimum three years, if you take Dublin out of Croke park you minimise that by 35 odd games over the period, thus premium and corporate looses its sheen - realistically your not bringing anyone else up to Croke Park to cover the spread and it suits the GAA to have Dublin there as an anchor tenant - for want of a better word. Only a few rank of file die hard Dubs will go to every game and that would be what was there last Sun and down in PL the week before - i honestly dont blame anyone not going to a Leinster provincial game. I thin people pay for a product and entertainment and that will be only provided through competition, if you look at Leinster and Munster the provincials are dire and the games aren't competitive, in Ulster and Connacht they are very strong - the problem is the product in my opinion and people wont pay when they arent entertained or to see a forgone conclusion, they aren't wrong either the provincials in Leinster and Munster are dead and are a labour of love for the die hards. Its a miracle getting crowds of 20k - 30k. All that said Kildare were value for money at the weekend.

TheUsername (National) - 03/05/2023 16:58:13

Posters Crossing The Line - 13 Like(s)
Shocking to be fair, I hope the poster sees the error of their ways. I'll say prayer for them then grab my pitch fork. :D

TheUsername (National) - 04/06/2019 22:54:50

Dublin V Roscommon - 12 Like(s)
Well now an eventful day the far side of the Shannon all in. Just in the door an absolute blizzard between Kinnegad and Maynooth and a good hours tail back through the toll and another hour the far side given the snowy condititions, a couple of tips I saw on the road hopefully everyone gets back safely. All grand considering the wash out we got before and during the game that had poler bears reaching for their under armor base layers. As you can probably guess the game was played in very poor, wet conditions with a fair nip and sodden pitch. Hyde is looking well these days, it's one of my favourate county away grounds fair play to the Roscommon county board. On to the game itself, Dublin made some late changes with young lads like, McGowen, O Connor, Basquel coming into replace the more established players. The master came in for young Comerford. Young Gavin continued in the middle. While we lost Jack early on so Robbie McDaid played the majority of the game. So a fair bit of youth and inexperience to complement some established lads. Roscommon look a different animal this year, gone is the niceness and open expansive stuff. A team with real edge, fight and bite to match. The played a hybrid system overall at times the blanket and at times a pocession based game waiting for their opening and high pressing. Dublin stormed out of the blocks early on taking over some straight forward points and shortly scored a goal that had an inevitable feel of a rout in the first 25 mins or so. The game got tough then and every ball was contested fiercely, there were tackles flying in that you would proud of playing Rugby and the ref let some mad stuff go in my opinion. In the last quarter Roscommon bullied Dublin in my opinion who had taken their eye of the ball, were rattled and Roscommon went on to get a goal and wipe away the point deficit to go in all square deservedly at half time. Deservedly so in my opinion, though the ref lost control of the game and anything was going, at that stage. But Roscommon used a brilliant tactic on the Dublin defense the flooded and had a decoy on Cian Sullivan that let them have a man over on Dublin's marking system, making total hay in the last quarter of the first half. Roscommon had the better of the start of the second and went two up in third quarter with Dublin hitting bad wides. As we hit the 50 mun mark, something really unusual happened. Roscommon started to play keep ball and hold pocession, go down injured etc. It was weird because the momentum was with them and had the opposite effect of inviting Dublin on to them and handing the, the innitive. Dublin duly obliged and even with the most ridiculous wide count I have seen from Dublin in many a year, they got the couple of points to draw level, that brought back Dublin's composure, in the next phase we got what looked like a fortuitous goal and it was normal service resumed of just shooting out the lights. The game descended into a bit of farce then of lads just taking lumps. Overall glad to be leaving with two points, no suspensions and hopefully what looks like just a minor injury for Jack. Was the worst referee performance I think I've seen in a long time, Dublin got mangled in the first half and couldn't buy a free, while every minor call went Roscommons way. That really effected the game as a footballing spectacle as it dawned on both sides that anything could go and was more like Rugby then football. Then the whole thing went full circle in the second half, I thought he clearly favored Dublin, the cynic in me wondered did he get tap on the shoulder about his performance at half time. Anyway he didn't help the game for ethier side. Roscommon are a different outfit this year, tough as teak, with huge edge and massively physical and competitive. I suspect the days of give me quarter finals without lumps are a thing of the past and any team playing them should be prepared for rigour and lumps. They played some nice stuff as well as they always have. But this is a new Roscommon, with edge. As for Dublin, wasn't vintage but hard fought. Some young lads playing and being blooded left us a bit soft. Positives for me were Davey Byrne again, proper defender. Daren Gavin had a shaky opening 15 mins, but was great in the other three quarters, could be a super midfielder, but a way to go yet, but getting better and better per week. Cian after the wobbles had a good game. Fenton was Fenton, class. But he must have hit at least 5 wides. Thought McDaid looked good in spells. Thought Cooper had a tough day at the office, Paddy Andrews endevoured but left his shooting boots at home and was a bit indulgent at times. Costello had one of those anonymous games, as did the rest of the forwards first half, bar King Con. All in all, delighted to get the far side of Leixlip with two points, no serious injuries and no suspensions via a tough day in the office, but a stretch in the legs and ongoing blooding so all good. Hope everyone got home safely. Next up Tyrone in Croker on Paddy's weekend, spectacle!

TheUsername (National) - 03/03/2019 20:31:40

Fenton On The Training Ban. - 12 Like(s)
Defo should have done a thorough internet search first. ;)

TheUsername (National) - 20/11/2021 07:24:41

Fenton On The Training Ban. - 12 Like(s)

Replying To galwayfball:  "McCaffrey also left the panel so as to not endanger his teammates or their families. So while some of you don't think it's a big deal McCaffrey will have and I'd be shocked if he would ever play under Dessie. One of the best players (possibly the best) in the country is a loss to any team The fact that some players were OK with it and others took issue with it will have caused friction in camp . Regardless of what side of the argument you fall on that's not good for any team. Jim Gavin wouldnt have done it. Even the ones who thinks what they did was grand I'd be willing to bet most of you are fairly certain Gavin would not have had his team do this I don't think Fenton should have mentioned it to be honest. It's in the past and I found him comparing kicking a ball on a pitch to being in a guard of honour at a funeral massively disrespectful."
Jack and Dessie are really close as it goes, if anything would bring him back i think it would be a want to play for Dessie while he's in the senior job. It's why we saw him in the league in 2020, despite him loosing the gra.

TheUsername (National) - 20/11/2021 20:22:53

Dublin V Louth - What A Farce - 12 Like(s)

Replying To Gator:  "'You are welcome to correct'……..Thank you and I shall as you don't seem to understand the payments. You are posting based only on games development payments and not all revenue sources or even total payments to each county board from the GAA. The games development payments are changed for funding specific projects at any given point in time. In 2018, you point out that Monaghan benefit (and they did) of having a large payment. This is not occurring every year. The total funding given to Monaghan in 2018 was 585K, Longford received 1.5 million, Laois received 1 million….. Dublin need more funding than other counties on account of the scale of operations involved. The level of funds allocated are debatable but they are probably about right if not on the high side. However, its the ability to generate revenue from commercial sponsorship that hugely separates Dublin from other teams. No other county can get anywhere close to the levels - the sponsorship from AIG alone is 1 million per year. AIG get great advertising from this....Dublin jerseys fly off the shelves far more than any other county (because of the population) That doesn't even consider other sponsors like Subaru. Like it or not this makes a difference and gives Dublin an advantage. Dublin have a strong GAA culture (in particular with football) that's only getting stronger thanks to successes, extra investment and a population base to reach out to. You think Mayo are getting 1 million a year from Elverys? The entire company of Elverys doesn't make much more profit than that in a year. It's a sports retailer based in Ireland that went in to receivership a few years ago. Mayo have to fight for every single cent they get, like every other county as its less attractive to huge foreign investment for a sponsorship deal. There is no comparison. This is all simple facts good, bad or indifferent. Nobody is throwing toys out of any pram except you."
If you read back over all my posts a chara, you will see that 1) i mention more then once i was posting about GDF and 2) acknowledging that Dublin dwarf most counties on commercial and fundraising. You will actually find quite a detailed post about it and how it enables fundraising at club level. I will pull you up on a few details though, while GDF does fluctuate it tends to marginally, Monaghan will always do well and will Leitrim to their scale because they are being supplemented for a handicap in a lack of population, for them to be competitive, i dont have problem with that investment. Its a very similar payment structure particularly for Monagahn and Leitrim year on year. In many ways they are like Dublin, exceptional cases when it comes to funding due to population, while our population is big and requires more funding, yours is small and requires more funding. Its economies of scale really. In actual fact this is the first year since 2012 Dublin GDF hasnt been cut. The examples you pick arent particularly apt, Longford, Loais wont be generally comparative to Monaghan as im not sure you aware, these counties are given an extra 500k over the next few years on top of their annual GDF, in order for them to compete in Leinster with Dublin. In essence what the GAA are trying to do, is bring the counties up to a comparative level in relation to their context. I agree with you wholly on commercial and fundraising revenue, Dublin are a beast and will only get bigger and better, no county will ever compete with it. In many ways the GDF is a straw horse as none of it goes toward the inter county set up, the inter county set up if funded by commercial and fundraising with change left over. I've no issue there really. In fact i think this could be improved and will be in the future. i was having a debate earlier on the the differences in equality and equity, its fascinating how it could apply to the GAA on a communal level. I think you would be surprised just how well other counties do commercially/fundraising, you use an unfortunate example of Mayo, who are second to Dublin by 100k of Dublins 1.4 mill annually. mayo pull in 1.3 in commercial and fundraising, that is really good. As for attracting multinational companies, i dont think Dublin are alone, i think Kerry group are something like being in the top 10 biggest companies in the world and are certainly compatible to AIG. Sometimes being Irish, doesnt always necessarily mean we have to small and parochial, though seems esteemed somehow in traditional GAA. Arent Monaghan, sponsored by Investec, they are a South African company and provide banking, asset management and financial products in the Irish market. Sound like anyone elses sponsors? Source: https://www.pressreader.com/ I can sympathise with the sprit you are trying to post with, but you are posting in narrative all you are doing is throwing accusations around without producing and evidence or source, ultimately your just venting and why should we believe what you are saying when there is nothing to back it up, just because you are saying it? I've given, figures, ive given analysis, ive posted sources. All you are really saying is this cant be true. Why should i believe you? I wholly acknowledge funding is both cumulative, capital, GDF and Commercial/fundraising. Ive said i dont know how many times we have the best enabling sponsorship. Ive given breakdown of figures from the GAA audited accounts. Im not really sure what your saying, i just dont know there is very little to back it up, bar trust me this is my opinion.

TheUsername (National) - 29/05/2019 17:45:03

Dublin GAA thread - 12 Like(s)
Kildare had their homework done and put in a huge effort and fair play, to many times they came up and went home with a hiding so you cant blame them for 15 behind the ball. I keep saying it but this year is different, Kildare knew they had a punchers chance yesterday and to be credit they got close - however the real take home was for them to build momentum heading into a All Ireland series, so if they were hammered it would be undermining, they set up accordingly. As for the Dubs, any team is struggling to break down that system and will do them no harm playing against it. Dessies decisions for me are strange, i just find it hard to find the logic in them - taking of Mannion yesterday for P Small - i wouldn't wrap my head around. Whatever about Jack on the bench with bigger test ahead - cant understand Brian Howard not getting the nod in the half, midfield or half forward line. I also wonder about Deano, a free taker of his quality is worth his weight in gold when a game is in the melting pot. Its at the back that will be our undoing, we commit a lot up the pitch, are marking is loose and its to easy for others to break a line - the Cian Murphy at sweeper experiment - i haven't made my up on - its been very boom and bust. Also where is Micky Fitz - has there been a falling out - hes been togging out for Cuala, hes our best defender fully fit. It may be that Dessie is trying to pad out the panel and develop lads with the amount of games to come and you can understand that, but overall i find some of his decisions weird and often undermining. Its a typical Dessie team, very very open and we're going t cough up a lot of chances for the opposition - will we score enough to carry that im not so sure at all. Lastly unlucky for young O Hanlon, but you know what im delighted Cluxton is back in there, hes a brilliant player simple as that. As always Up the Dubs.

TheUsername (National) - 01/05/2023 11:46:24

PUC please!

TheUsername (National) - 13/06/2022 11:15:11

Congrats to Aaron Byrne - U21 POTY 2017 - 12 Like(s)
Byrne and King Con have been immense, however the player I left feeling there was something very special about was Brian Howard.

TheUsername (Dublin) - 25/05/2017 23:40:51

Replying To jimbodub:  "Kicked on from the Wexford game Excellent 1st half performance, best they've played in a couple of seasons. One game at a time, hopefully can maintain that level of performance next day out. I'm liking the leadership being shown and there's a better balance to the team now compared to last year. Onwards and Upwards Up the Dubs"
Good to see you about a Chara, hope you and yours are well. We're moving well, very very well, hunger, desire and fight. Subs were hopping yesterday as well to get on the pitch from the first min. Very impressed with young O Dell yesterday, touch of the Alan's about him - bumped into th eman himself yesterday bringing the kids to the game - great to see, legend. Young Lorcan mind looking every inch a Dublin senior footballer, Lee Gannon to. The blend between Lahiff and Fento in the middle looks very good, Lahiff goes under the radar but i thought he was excellent yesterday doing the simple things well and giving us a foundation, the blend is almost like Bastick and MDM (laterally Fento) back in the day. Forward line is purring. Game at a time but cant wait to get a hould of Kildare in Croker, we owe them one.

TheUsername (National) - 16/05/2022 12:32:02

Dublin GAA thread - 11 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not a bad save from a distraction, 42 year old blah blah Another clean sheet Isn't it terrible having him back"
We won a hell of a lot of our own kicked ball yesterday, that's what he brings his kickouts are so good.

TheUsername (National) - 15/05/2023 10:20:40

Dubs V Mayo - 11 Like(s)

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "I would put it down to a number of issues. *Jim Gavin stepping down *Dessie Farrells horrible conservative style of football *Retirements *Trouble in the camp *HUNGER (very hard to keep the hunger when you have 6, 7 or even 8 all ireland medals in your back pocket). Overall though the team just look tired. That's 3 games this year they let slip/nearly let slip with massive leads. Kerry in the league Meath in the Leinster Mayo last weekend. When's the last time you've see a Dublin team wilt like they have in many games this year? You'd have to go back to the noughties"
I'd have: * Lads stepping away in their prime * Injury * Covid training thing, Dessies ban and impact on preparation. When you weigh it all up, I think it's Dublin who really beat Dublin this year. All credit to Mayo mind. That said I'm kind of happy the lads are getting a good rest and a new challenge next year, I think we've needed both for a coupl of years now. It's just ridiculous going unbeaten in the Championship for 7 years, it's amazing when you think about it. You can't be anything but beaming , satisfied and proud.

TheUsername (National) - 19/08/2021 20:35:10

Replying To St.Mologga:  "My real fear is Dublin go at this game hard & early. Limerick exposed us, but butchered their chances. Dublin will not be as kind. This may be a long 70 minutes."
That's good analysis mate, its what they have done in games up to now, put a game to bed in the first and second quarter. We're in knock out now and if Cork can handle the Kerry's of this world for much of the game they can handle the Dubs without to much fear, Cork wont let us have it all our own way - yee never do.

TheUsername (National) - 13/06/2022 14:06:21

Replying To Joxer:  "Dublin has always been Átha Cliath (Coiste Contae Átha Cliath). You know you're in trouble when you're moaning about what room you are in before throw in. Maybe the tactics board is bigger in the home dressing room. The Leinster Council (Kildare included) decide on venues. Of course you only become familiar with any pitch by playing on it. If Ryan wanted to deny his players the chance to play in Croke Park in a LSFC semi then he should have stated that before Sunday. I'd much rather see Dublin at Parnell Park than Croker in league and champo. I wonder which option opposition players would prefer. Dublin's record on the road is excellent. I don't think they mind where they're told to play by other counties."
Ryan didn't mind so much on his run to the final 98 as a player in the Micko years - all Kildares home games where played in Croker, no Newbridge or nowhere back then - hypocrisy. Personally speaking we should play away from Corker more often, part of me would like the craic of going down to Killarney for a lump of Kerry in Killarney or Mayo in neutral venue. There is a simple reason Dublin don't play more outside of Croke Park and that's money, all the boxes and premium seats loose massive value without regular games in Croke Park and or Dublin on the ticket. Simple as that to my mind. Money trumps fairness and Dublin and other counties are innocent bystanders really. Id agree with Ryan, if he wasn't a beneficiary himself as a player in using Croker as a Home ground in the 90s. Dublin should absolutely play more games outside Croker.

TheUsername (National) - 03/05/2023 13:23:34

Our new Legends - 4 All Ireland Medals - 11 Like(s)
Four all Irelands is a massive acheivement, look at some of the young players as well, at 23 Kilkenny has three, Costello 2 at 22, Brian Fenton 2, Paul Mannion 2, Davey Byrne 2, Lowdnes 2, Small 2. None of those players have broke 25 yet. James McCarthy has four at 26. Michael Dara also won the club championship with Ballyboden this year which is a brilliant achivement, four medals this year from all compititions entered.

TheUsername (Dublin) - 03/10/2016 15:45:14

King Con - incredible!

TheUsername (National) - 30/04/2022 20:53:11

Gough Speaks Out Against Shamefull Slurs - 11 Like(s)
Objectively i think he had a poor game the first game and was spooked, also think the semi and abuse he got in 16 played on his mind to, was horrible to see. Thought Connor Lane in the second game was the worst ive seen in a long time, although Maurice Deegan put in a really awful performance for Tyrone in the semi as well this year. Refs can be got at if that is your way, but you have the hope quality on the pitch will always tell and you dont have to rely on the off field dark arts. I think over all it lowers the esteem and dignity of a county.

TheUsername (National) - 01/12/2019 15:04:24

Dublin V Louth - What A Farce - 11 Like(s)

Replying To greysoil:  "Thanks Username, but as you know yourself, stats can be manipulated to suit any argument - the whole lies damn lies & statistics argument. I wonder if you applied the funding €1.298 million to the 39k registered to a GAA club for Dublin & then applied the same to all other counties, it might be more reflective of the GAA population landscape per county & the funding ratios per head. Just a thought."
Actually if you had your Dublin hat on, we are often accused of two advantages of money and population. The funny thing with the registered player to finance argument, is one discounts the other. If you want to prove Dublin are over funded, you have to cut the population to 39k. If you want to prove population is advantage then, you have to use my analysis of population to per head of 1.345mill to GDF. One discounts the other really, its funny really.

TheUsername (National) - 29/05/2019 11:40:18