Popular Posts from Ned_Stormcrow

Day Out In An Empty Croke Park - 7 Like(s)
It's a sign of the times. People are sick of Dublin and they're voting with their feet. Ten years ago, kildare vs Dublin in the Leinster final drew a crowd of 74, 500. Yesterday, the game got less than half that number. And it wasn't televised. These sort of stats only point to one thing. Until the elephant in the room is addressed, the game will continue to deteriorate in Leinster.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 10/06/2019 14:16:31

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 3 Like(s)
Other counties should look at the Ulster championship and try to implement attacking football. This is pure rubbish.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 23/06/2019 16:40:56

Dublin 2015 - 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "Bregrudgery still in full flow on the forum. Very sad to see on such a historic evening. People need to grow up."
There's no honor in winning a lob-sided competition. I could give you 18 million reasons for the begrudging attitudes, each of them justified.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 15/09/2019 08:14:29

Will Rugby World Cup Harm Gaa. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "The inverted/reverse snobbery on some of the recent Hogan Stand threads/posts are hard to take. I grew up in a 2 bedroom house in a working class area and went to the local tech. It was fantastic to follow our fantastic rugby team (as cheap as I could) with a huge amount of other NORMAL !!! people over the last few weeks. Some posters have a very negative mindsets (people I tend to avoid in life) and can't wait to criticise some of our top sports people and people who support them. I include a couple of points for those people to consider and reflect on: No doubt some will jump in straight away and rubbish my arguments without undue consideration. 1. Our team is a whole Ireland team. It that not to be cherished? Jim McCoy and several others put their lives at risk to play for Ireland in the 70's. Ireland call was specifically written to include all traditions in the island. 2. The GAA BAN was lifted and rightly so in the 1960's. Young people should be encouraged to play several sports before they decide which sport they should concentrate on. A lot of talented young people want to become professional athletes and hopefully represent their country. The best of luck to them. 3. While many rugby players come from private schools, I believe that things are changing. I don't think that you could call Andy Farrell (manager), Keith Earl's and Tadgh Furlong etc public school boys. Why tarnish the full team with the same brush? 4. New Zealand who just beat us at the weekend have several players from Tonga, Samoa and Fiji in their teams, for donkeys years, similar to England. Why have a go at the couple of players who could not make the big time in their home countries and moved abroad to try to improve their lives. Some posters seem to have forgotten that many Irish had to emigrate over the centuries. It is likely that we will see some kids of Irish people who emigrated to Australia in the 2000's playing for the Aussies before too long. The best of luck to them as their parents got up of their ***** to make a better life for themselves. The same goes for James, Bundee and Mack etc Delighted to have them playing for Ireland and proud to support them."
Some posters have a very negative mindsets (people I tend to avoid in life) and can't wait to criticise some of our top sports people and people who support them. I think the main issue is the blatant exaggeration and hyperbole that the media whip up at every world cup about the Irish rugby team. Not only do we have no pedigree in this tournament, but the media had us almost lined up as WC winners, before we had even played NZ. Now for someone who is not from rugby stock (i.e. most people) taking a casual interest in the WC, they would have seen the following: 1. Non stop hype, wall to wall coverage, world's no1. ranked team etc etc 2. Another QF exit. There is a boy who cried wolf scenario here. In addition to that, there lack of criticism of the team when they fail to deliver is patently clear. The Irish Independent called their performance against NZ "brave beyond words". Read that again - "brave beyond words". Well if having an extra player for 25% of the game and still coming up short against a NZ team who we're told is a pale shadow of their former selves is "brave beyond words" then we've lost a sense of reality here. People who are not on the bandwagon (and thats a lot of people, despite what one might think given the wall to wall coverage) are looking at this stuff without green tinted glasses and thinking that perhaps, just perhaps there is a problem with hype, expectation, and sadly, arrogance from the media. Of course, this is no reflection on the team, or indeed the sport itself, it is unfortunate that the lads have to deal with a media who does them no favours.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 18/10/2023 08:56:44

Malachy O Rourke - 3 Like(s)
As a Cavan man, I'm delighted to see him gone. Why? Because of his brilliance with Monaghan. He worked miracles with that team. They were no hopers when he took over, languishing in division three. But he won league titles and Ulster championships in the most unlikely of circumstances. He'll go down as a legend in Monaghan for all he achieved and he leaves behind a solid group, albeit an injection of youth is needed. Best of luck to him, he certainly won't be short of job offers.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 22/06/2019 22:32:39

This Weekend's Football Qualifier Matches - Call Them - 3 Like(s)

Replying To meath1977:  "a bitter little Cavan man"
What's bitter about me? Meath were shocking in their provincial final, we scored 2-16 in ours and refused to throw in the towel against a superior team. Can you lads say the same? No.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 03/07/2019 22:05:10

National League - 2 Like(s)
That was one of the worst games of football I've ever had to endure. Heaven help us you'd see better quality in division 4. Today we witnessed division 1 standard players simply incapable of kicking a ball over the bar from well placed positions, again and again and again. I lost count of how many times we put the ball into Beggans hands. Monaghan didn't even get that far, which I suppose is testament to our good defence, but our attack is toothless. The best thing Mattie can do tonight is ring David Givney and ask him to come back. This is gonna be a tough campaign folks.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - 12/02/2017 16:55:54

Just in case you doubted the Anti Dublin felings.. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Over the course of the "holidays" as our American friends would say, I saw/read or heard 4 different panels on tv/radio/internet discussing the sporting highlights of the year. Many sports were mentioned, many feats were feted! From Robbie Brady to Annalise Murphy From Soldiers Field to Rio's track From Thomond Park to Carl Frampton From UFC to WWE, yes, I did indeed say WWE. (Apparently some Irish lady won some belt this year, I dunno.....scritptwriters may or may not have been in assistance!) From Tipp footballers to Westmeath Hurlers.... You know what I didnt hear tho? Not once, not even a mention of it? The first team to win back to back All Ireland football titles in more or less 20 years! Not so much as a nod in the general direction. Nothing, nada. Ye all go on about their being a PRO Dubs Bias in the media, we in Dublin scoff at ye, and this is why. The media build us up, but their sole aim, is to eventually knock us down. Always has been, always will be. If and when Mayo win and AI, the same media will wet the collective pants for 12 months and in the process find a way to award them 17 All Stars..... Until that day, can I just apologise to all on behalf of the Dublin Football fraternity for being the big bad guy that ye all love to hate. Sure look, someone has to do it. BRING ON 2017 CULCHIES! 3 in a row! COYBIB"
I suppose its easy to win things when you're 3 counties rolled into one.....

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 06/01/2017 19:25:58

Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019- - 2 Like(s)

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "This year is like a nightmare.... Cavan in an ulster final .....puke...but good luck to them cos they gonna need it. Do I think Cavan will win it, NO. Taking my anti-Cavan views out of it I think this will be like the club semi final for Micky Graham. Cavan at the moment think they are Dublin and unfortunately for them they won't win another game this year. Logic being Cavan beat a Monaghan team in the first half(dubious penalty aside). 2nd half it was a different game. Micky graham has a huge choice to make....does he keep playing the same way against Donegal when it won't work or does he fall back into defensive mode where it still won't work. Take a look at how easy Armagh got through their defense at times and likewise Cavan through Armagh's. Yes it's great putting up big scores but they easily could have conceded 3 goals.It takes both an offensive and defensive performance to win games from here on in and Cavan either have one or the other....not both. If Micky and Cavan do win it then it will be the performance of the year but it gonna take something completely different.On Donegal I was shocked at how good they were....I had totally wrote them off against Tyrone."
I'm absolutely loving the bitterness from the Monaghan fans lately. Loving every bit of it. The Cavan game has laid bare the cold hard reality of a team in decline, and the anti football approach ye took against Fermanagh confirmed it. A team bereft of ideas, devoid of quality replacements for key players and a golden era coming to an end. Keep writing us off, I love it!

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 10/06/2019 14:54:45

Cavan Club Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)
In terms of footballing quality, that game was abysmal. I couldn't believe I was watching the two best teams in Cavan. Ramor's wides were shocking. Both teams were set up the exact same way the county team plays. Bring men back behind the ball and play keep ball until you work an opportunity. Such outdated negative tactics. The Donegal champions will soundly beat Castlerahan.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - 15/10/2019 11:05:13

Project Dublin - a great success - 2 Like(s)
I have to agree with the sentiments expressed by the poster who started the thread. Look, the onus is on Dublin fans to prove the following: Please outline how having all your games in Croke Park come the Summer is not an advantage. Please outline how a population of 1 million people is not an advantage. Please outline how multi-national super corporations as sponsors isn't an advantage. Please outline how having the best facilities on your doorstep to train etc isn't an advantage. The Kerry of the 80's scenario isn't a fair comparison, as Kerry weren't handed everything by Croke Park in order to be a success. My own view is the GAA panicked at the success of Irish rugby and decided to target the capital to offset the gains made by other sports. Now hurling is threatening rugby as south Dublin's number one game, it's astonishing.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 26/03/2017 17:45:59

Dublin V Kerry - 2 Like(s)
Dublin have now failed to make the All Ireland final for two years in a row. What is the solution to this crisis? Surely it is time for the GAA to step in and give them a massive cash injection?

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 11/07/2022 12:01:28

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 2 Like(s)
Division two must have been dreadfully low in quality this year if Meath made it to the final.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 23/06/2019 17:57:25

Cavan V Donegal - USFC Final 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To theweanling:  "nonsense chat from both sides, no point talking about ulster titles our fathers barely remember never mind us. but anyway a 12 point beating?i sincerely hope your lads are thinking along the same lines as you. going by the forums on this game donegal are very confident, already talking about who they'd be facing in the super 8's !!!! its a very dangerous place to be. i know you (donegal posters) might think the tyrone game was the ulster final but theres still cavan to play and regardless what you think they've proven themselves worthy finalists, there's more to this game than the champions v the minnows and there's certainly more to this cavan team, they'll not lie on their back to get their belly rubbed."
I can understand why the Donegal people might be confident, it's fairly obvious. This is our first final in 18 years, whereas Donegal have been AI contenders for the best part of a decade now. Don't forget that we played each other last year and it was a very facile win for Donegal. We were atrocious that day. However, I'd also say this to the Donegal people. This is a totally different Cavan team to what you faced last year, both in terms of management personnel and player personnel. Last year's panel suffered an exodus of key players, and truth be told we were really scraping the barrel with a few lads on the team. But our new manager has gone to great lengths to gather together our strongest panel in quite some time, and everyone is pulling in the same direction. So you'd be foolish to estimate a result based on last year's game. This Cavan team has grown in mental fortitude immensely in this years championship. Do I predict we'll win? No. But I do expect a close game. This is bonus territory for us now, and anything can happen in a final.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - 14/06/2019 14:01:20

Cavan Seniors 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni1969:  "You must realise number 1 it's a sport . Your suppose to get enjoyment from it be it playing or watching it. I'd rather be beaten by at least having a go like we did against Donegal than lose an 0-11 to 0-9 playing the negative backward lateral s@@@e that we played for years. That kinda stuff puts supporters off and more importantly players. You only have to look back and see all the players that left the panel when we were playing that kind of crap. Now at least everyone wants to play and is interested."
So, as a Cavan fan, would you rather: A. Win an Ulster by a point or two title playing ultra negative football that is awful to watch?, Or, B. Go out in the first round playing beautiful attractive fast paced football and lose by 3 or 4? For me this is a simple answer. A all the way. Nobody remembers "good performances". History records title winners.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - 22/05/2022 13:53:43

Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019- - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Donegal have reverted to type. Is Jimmy McGuiness back? It's a pity, they tried expansive football last year under Bonner but now obviously winning has outweighed the need to play entertaining football. Awful to watch, using their big physical players to spoil the game, 15 men behind the ball. Back to the norm for Donegal . I think the attacking mark will be introduced next year and hopefully will be end of this sort of playing once and for all. I thought it was just a tactic against Tyrone but obviously this is how they set up. Back to rubbish football ."
Did you watch the game? They scored 1-24. You're talking nonsense.

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 23/06/2019 16:11:19

Cavan v Monaghan - 2 Like(s)
Can't see us winning this one. Relegation will have battered the players confidence, especially after the total non-performance against a Roscommon team with nothing to play for. Monaghan on the other hand have a few provincial titles collected over the past few years, they've held their own in the top tier of league football, and they seem to have unearthed a new forward in Jack McCarron to take the pressure of McManus. Plus they've beaten us in 2013 and 2015 in close encounters. They know more than anyone that Cavan crumble when the heat is turned up on them. I think the best we can hope for is a run in the qualifiers, we just don't have the players in Cavan to challenge for honours.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - 14/04/2017 14:10:03

Cavan In The Qualifiers/ Super 8S - 1 Like(s)

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "[quote=Mike_Clitoris69:  "[quote=Hardtimes:  "[quote=Mike_Clitoris69:  "[quote=Hardtimes:  "[quote=Wally:  "[quote=MadgeKing:  "We never get kind draws later in the qualifiers because we are never in the later stages of the qualifiers! Look, I just think Cavan need to stop feeling sorry for ourselves just because we drew Tyrone. They are the greatest self-promoters off them all, with former players all over the media constantly spinning the line of how brilliant they are. It has a lot of teams beaten before they take the field and we can't fall into that trap. The cold facts are that they have won 2 Ulster titles in the last 10 years- not the powerhouse they once were. Granted we always struggle to beat them but the match last year was closer than a lot of people remember and we drew with them a couple of years back too. Are we better than then ? Yes. Are they? Probably not. So its time to lift the heads and expect more from this team that we are supposed to SUPPORT and BELIEVE in. The match will be in Clones on Saturday night, a huge championship game on a July evening in a great venue. What more could we want? Mickey Graham made a huge mistake by changing his forwards before the final now he has a chance to put it right and go for Tyrone from the off. Don't be giving these shapers the respect they crave, give them the beating they deserve."
Just to be clear we have won 4 Ulster titles in the past 10 years- - not 2."]Just to be clear ye won 3 Ulster titles in the past 10 years, not 4"]Lets be clear, Tyrone have won much more then we have in the last 10 years"]no shit Sherlock"]Poor hardtimes does get sarcasm....."]2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 that looks like 4 titles the last one was with Peter Reilly I stand corrected however."]The lads are clearly talking about senior ulster titles won by Tyrone, and yet somehow you're dragging U21 titles won by Cavan into it. Why?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - 02/07/2019 17:23:45

Will Rugby World Cup Harm Gaa. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "That those schools dominate numbers coming through in some prov9nces doesn't equate to the irfu having an elite schools approach. Very d9fferent things and simply not true"
A statistic isn't true?

Ned_Stormcrow (National) - 15/10/2023 21:48:16

Cavan In The Qualifiers/ Super 8S - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Mike_Clitoris69:  "[quote=The Quiet Man:  "[quote=Mike_Clitoris69:  "[quote=Hardtimes:  "[quote=Mike_Clitoris69:  "[quote=Hardtimes:  "[quote=Wally:  "[quote=MadgeKing:  "We never get kind draws later in the qualifiers because we are never in the later stages of the qualifiers! Look, I just think Cavan need to stop feeling sorry for ourselves just because we drew Tyrone. They are the greatest self-promoters off them all, with former players all over the media constantly spinning the line of how brilliant they are. It has a lot of teams beaten before they take the field and we can't fall into that trap. The cold facts are that they have won 2 Ulster titles in the last 10 years- not the powerhouse they once were. Granted we always struggle to beat them but the match last year was closer than a lot of people remember and we drew with them a couple of years back too. Are we better than then ? Yes. Are they? Probably not. So its time to lift the heads and expect more from this team that we are supposed to SUPPORT and BELIEVE in. The match will be in Clones on Saturday night, a huge championship game on a July evening in a great venue. What more could we want? Mickey Graham made a huge mistake by changing his forwards before the final now he has a chance to put it right and go for Tyrone from the off. Don't be giving these shapers the respect they crave, give them the beating they deserve."
Just to be clear we have won 4 Ulster titles in the past 10 years- - not 2."]Just to be clear ye won 3 Ulster titles in the past 10 years, not 4"]Lets be clear, Tyrone have won much more then we have in the last 10 years"]no shit Sherlock"]Poor hardtimes does get sarcasm....."]2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 that looks like 4 titles the last one was with Peter Reilly I stand corrected however."]Quiet Man what are you on about? We arr talking about tyrone's ulster titles in the last 10 years. Do you bother to read post. I like a lot of posters on here find it difficult to make out what rubbish you post of here. It makes little or no sense"]I don't think he bothers following threads, he just reads random replies and goes on a completely unrelated tangent. We need a mute option for certain poster(s).

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - 02/07/2019 17:28:33