Cavan v Roscommon

Not a word of truth in any of those rumors.Both will be playing next sat night in Breffini.I suspect the people spreading these rumors wont even be there to support these lads,They have done nothing wrong.Jesus its bad enough if opposition start this ,without us doing it ourselves ,cop on and move on .

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 24/03/2014 21:16:17    1564584

Only Tomsmith knows the truth.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 24/03/2014 21:27:07    1564592

lots of new posters on this thread I notice.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/03/2014 21:31:05    1564595

Gaelsman

I am outraged by the gossip on this thread. Have you nothing better to do than spread malicious rumours about players who have served our county well. I wonder how many of you stand out on a wet evening at the side of a pitch???

Hey Gaelsman do you think they will go and play with Kildare now???

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 25/03/2014 10:27:36    1564687

P Mus that's a bit low isn't it. I admit Ive been caught up with hearing the same story over and over for that last two weeks about the two boys. Laveygael's comments are certainly welcome. It would be great to see the boys back on the panel and playing regularly and this whole thing put to bed. I do hope ye are right.
What about Alan Clarke? and Keating? Hows their injuries coming on? They should be very close to starting? They'd be a huge boost to us for Roscommon

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 25/03/2014 11:51:02    1564722

back to the football,
I know that the game is big, it is a battle of two teams with perfect records, played 5, won 5 each,
It is also a game between two teams that are looking towards youth as a source for talent and inspiration, perhaps the two youngest teams in the national leagues.
It is a games for the share of two points, a game that will either help a team continue it momentum, or cause a severe speed bump.
but most importantly it is a game between two contrasting philosophies;
Cavan's "we only need to win by 1 point, so we are going to focus on stopping you from scoring, for the less you score the less we need to score"
versus
Roscommon's "it doesn't matter how much we concede, as our plan is to score more then the opposition.

The classic irresistible force versus an immovable object

who do we think will emerge victorious?

notimpressed (UK) - Posts: 98 - 25/03/2014 12:58:18    1564758

I knew nothing about the rumour until I saw it mentioned on the wexford thread yesterday. Givney missed the sligo game through concussion, thought he might have been taking a break from co football when it was mentioned that he left, but it seems he is back training, so hopefully thats the end of that

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 25/03/2014 13:15:15    1564769

Can we put these stupid rumours to bed please no players have been kicked off the county panel givney has been missing the last two weeks because of a head injury he received in training and under doctors orders was not allowed tog out for two weeks. dec mckiernan was missing because of illness no can we please put these stupid rumours to bed for once and for all givney will be togged the weekend if fit and so will dec mckiernan end of story suit some people better to quit listening to BS some of the lies that have been put around the county about the two players is disgraceful

bart_simpson (Cavan) - Posts: 45 - 25/03/2014 14:09:18    1564795

Well then I've been getting told blatant lies the last fortnight and I would be surprised at that but anyway i suppose Saturday night will tell us what we need to know about it. Lets leave it at that and concentrate on the game. Unless Sean O'Rinn knows something and could tell us the bit?? Sean??

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 25/03/2014 15:20:50    1564842

The boys are suspended for a month according to several sources.
They will be back in 2 weeks but miss the Roscommon game.
If the suspension works then it is a good thing.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/03/2014 16:22:08    1564886

Cavan_Slasher

1564886 The boys are suspended for a month according to several sources.
They will be back in 2 weeks but miss the Roscommon game.
If the suspension works then it is a good thing.

Please lads that is totally unrtrue. They are not suspended !! So lads stop spreading rumours. Both lads were at training last night. So somebody is trying to create trouble and unrest, and maybe last years usual suspects could be involved!!!!!!!!

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 25/03/2014 17:03:59    1564927

Thought this issue was put to bed, unfair on the young lads involved to have stuff like this thrown around about them. It's known now that they continue to be apart of the panel and that these stories were totally fabricated. So can we please move on, and get on to some real news. Any word on keating, is he fully fit?

Laveygael (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 25/03/2014 17:52:57    1564963

no word on Keating , i wouldnt be rushing him back till the hamstring was fully better, id say the lads on the panel will be afraid to get injured now, with the crap that was put out about the lads who were injured.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 25/03/2014 20:42:32    1565032

Can we get back to a positive focus here? Some of my neighbouring Rossies fans are rubbing their hands in glee and reckon they will give us a rollicking and that we won't want to go to Croker in April. I think we will have their measure and overcome the first real test of 2014. I just wish we could get to the end of the injury list.

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 26/03/2014 11:23:50    1565177

I can't see why we'd worry too much about the upcoming game with Roscommon. It's the Croke Park one that is important and it's not very important in my opinion. As regards the rumours, there's never any shortage of them in the GAA and not just in Cavan, it's everywhere.
Strange decision to move the U21 game to Armagh.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 26/03/2014 13:09:04    1565249

goonie

no word on Keating , i wouldnt be rushing him back till the hamstring was fully better, id say the lads on the panel will be afraid to get injured now, with the rubbish that was put out about the lads who were injured.

A. Clake, D. McKiernan, D Gibney, E. Keating all raring to go also Jack in great form along with the rest of the panel, just reference David concussion takes 2 to six weeks and I expect he is rearing to go now or maybe Mr Hyland might rest him for Croke Park you never know, Promotion was our target and Cavan now have got it anything else this year will be a bonus. Sean.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2014 16:34:07    1565869

RoyalBlue2

I can't see why we'd worry too much about the upcoming game with Roscommon. It's the Croke Park one that is important and it's not very important in my opinion. As regards the rumours, there's never any shortage of them in the GAA and not just in Cavan, it's everywhere.
Strange decision to move the U21 game to Armagh.

Well its good thinking for the first round of the Ulster Senior championship is there so I expect it will be to Cavan's benefit to familiarise themselves with the venue.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2014 17:08:37    1565902

Thanks for the update Sean, sounds like all is well in the camp. Hopefully the management will have selection headaches come championship time!

Gaelsman (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 27/03/2014 17:08:54    1565904

hopefully the team and management won't just be happy with promotion Sean. Once you meet your target, you set harder targets to push yourself to improve and work harder

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 27/03/2014 17:32:48    1565921

wishfulthinkin

hopefully the team and management won't just be happy with promotion Sean. Once you meet your target, you set harder targets to push yourself to improve and work harder

I agree but winning promotion was the target anything else this year will be a plus. I expect next year maintain division two status and give Ulster a good shot anything after that will be a bonus for playing in Division two will make them a better team going forward.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2014 19:57:30    1565990