National League 2019

Replying To goonie:  "This forum has lost its way"
There are other ones. I think it's time to go and leave this one to the loons.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 12/03/2019 23:54:45    2171972

Replying To blueman1903:  "Or Martin Reilly or k Clarke or p falkner."
That's absolutely insane, Ryan Mc Hugh is a two time all star and a young player of the year winner.

If this is mindset of the average Cavan person, I'm beginning to understand why Cavan haven't won anything in decades.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 13/03/2019 07:36:14    2171984

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "That's absolutely insane, Ryan Mc Hugh is a two time all star and a young player of the year winner.

If this is mindset of the average Cavan person, I'm beginning to understand why Cavan haven't won anything in decades."
I never once questioned Ryan's ability, all I said I wouldn't swap any Cavan players for him, do why would you want to despondent outside player for someone who wants to weae the cavan Jersey, and if the mindset of the average Cavan fan is like you it's no wonder we haven't won anything, turning your back on you county and constantly running down our players, why don't you give the new manager a chance to turn things around and win something with out whinging all the time.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 13/03/2019 09:39:44    2171991

Replying To blueman1903:  "I never once questioned Ryan's ability, all I said I wouldn't swap any Cavan players for him, do why would you want to despondent outside player for someone who wants to weae the cavan Jersey, and if the mindset of the average Cavan fan is like you it's no wonder we haven't won anything, turning your back on you county and constantly running down our players, why don't you give the new manager a chance to turn things around and win something with out whinging all the time."
Turning my back on my county? Please cite an example.

Running down our players? Please cite an example.

Not giving the manager a chance? Please cite where I said anything about the manager and not giving him a chance.

But you won't present any evidence for your argument, because you can't. All you and others can do is foam at the mouth in anger when you read something you don't like. It's comical.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 13/03/2019 09:44:31    2171992

Back in the real world, how do lads see the Monaghan match playing out? While a win may ultimately not be enough to survive in Div1 it would be provide a serious swing in momentum to relegate them going into the championship. So regardless of the final standings, scalping them on home turf is a must on Saturday.
Having seen both teams play a few times this spring, I think there is enough to be very positive about (Tyrone aside). We have a definite edge on kick-outs and around midfield in general. Galligan's accuracy should guarantee us a high percentage of own possession, long or short. Galway showed that if you push up on Beggan's kicks he is lacking targets out the field- do this and we can dominate possession.
The big weakness for Cavan has been low return from scoring chances. That said, Monaghan's previously tight defence has been very ragged so far, with big players like the Wylies lacking form and fitness. They are vulnerable to high ball so Madden and GMac if fit can profit. Goals delivered the win against Roscommon and that should be the mantra this time around.
McVeety M Reilly and Murray are a perfect half forward line to check their runners plus provide some scores from range.
Stating the obvious is that shutting down McManus is the key to keeping the score down against Monaghan, how does it happen? Killian Clarke for me- put him back man-to-man to what he does best. If he keeps McManus to <4 points then its job done. No doubt that McLoughlin and Faulkner can handle the other show ponies in the Monaghan forwards.
Holla has been flying so far, leave him at it with less defensive duty on the day. Maybe Gerry Smith to start on McAnespie who carries a lot of ball for them, keeping Rehill in reserve for the last 25. Himself Mackey and GMac to make an impact off the bench.
You'd expect a few cards to be shown- hopefully just to frustrated Monaghan men on the verge of a loss. Keep the complement on the field and its Cavan by 3+ for me. Roll on the weekend!

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 13/03/2019 12:08:24    2172021

Yep, Killian on him with Moynagh in front, switch when Killian gets carded (inevitable). They haven't the scoring power elsewhere so it's imperative we keep McManus quiet!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 13/03/2019 16:30:45    2172071

Replying To blueman1903:  "I never once questioned Ryan's ability, all I said I wouldn't swap any Cavan players for him, do why would you want to despondent outside player for someone who wants to weae the cavan Jersey, and if the mindset of the average Cavan fan is like you it's no wonder we haven't won anything, turning your back on you county and constantly running down our players, why don't you give the new manager a chance to turn things around and win something with out whinging all the time."
Blue man let's be honest , Cavan would take the likes of Ryan Mc Hugh in a heart beat , and the reason why we haven't won anything is because our team wasn't good enough . Our forward line who started against Tyrone won't win games for us . Until we get the likes of Mc Kieranan and Reilly and hopefully find another scoring forward in that team we won't win too many games . Everyone is giving Graham a chance, he can only use the players available to him and has to get the right tactics to over come our weakness , which is free takers mid field and scoring forwards , as I said if we get a few guys back it will solve some of them issues . As for the Monaghan game the panel named will give a good indicator if we will win .

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 13/03/2019 21:42:29    2172128

Poor old Jon Smith hasn't got over the departure of Terry a few years back.

Looking at the successes of both Donegal and Cavan U21s - which County has reaped the benefit of those successes - Which County has challenged competitively since those successes, certainly not Cavan. The measure of success is competing at the highest level, and Donegal have been doing that for quite a long time now. Yes, they are sitting in Division 2 at the moment, but would you write them off in the Ulster Championship this year?

As for not swapping Ryan McHugh for McVeety or Clarke....Mickey Graham would do it in a heartbeat, so would McGleenan and Hyland if they were in Charge. McHugh has been one of the best footballers in the Country over the last few years.

Give Graham a chance, its his first season in charge and we can see loads of improvements. The Tyrone match was a disappointment, but face it, the man did something that previous managers failed to do, beat the Rossies and he deserves credit for that.

I for one am enjoying the style of play, different scorers across the field - Graham has instilled his way of playing, he cant play it for them, he cant make decisions on the pitch, its up to the players, its up to McVeety and Moynagh and Holla to make the right decisions on the pitch, stop doing stupid things like giving silly passes and running into tackles, Clarke needs to stop giving away silly frees, defenders need to start marking opposition, Mickey cant do this for them, its up to the players to take this responsibility on themselves and cut out the silly errors that are costing us badly.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 14/03/2019 12:55:14    2172210

Just for the record, I wouldn't swap McVeety for any other footballer in this country, in any county. Same for Martin Reilly.

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 14/03/2019 16:49:47    2172237

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yep, Killian on him with Moynagh in front, switch when Killian gets carded (inevitable). They haven't the scoring power elsewhere so it's imperative we keep McManus quiet!"
Question is do you have the other defence to keep our mediocre other forwards quiet ?

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 14/03/2019 17:57:56    2172243

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Poor old Jon Smith hasn't got over the departure of Terry a few years back.

Looking at the successes of both Donegal and Cavan U21s - which County has reaped the benefit of those successes - Which County has challenged competitively since those successes, certainly not Cavan. The measure of success is competing at the highest level, and Donegal have been doing that for quite a long time now. Yes, they are sitting in Division 2 at the moment, but would you write them off in the Ulster Championship this year?

As for not swapping Ryan McHugh for McVeety or Clarke....Mickey Graham would do it in a heartbeat, so would McGleenan and Hyland if they were in Charge. McHugh has been one of the best footballers in the Country over the last few years.

Give Graham a chance, its his first season in charge and we can see loads of improvements. The Tyrone match was a disappointment, but face it, the man did something that previous managers failed to do, beat the Rossies and he deserves credit for that.

I for one am enjoying the style of play, different scorers across the field - Graham has instilled his way of playing, he cant play it for them, he cant make decisions on the pitch, its up to the players, its up to McVeety and Moynagh and Holla to make the right decisions on the pitch, stop doing stupid things like giving silly passes and running into tackles, Clarke needs to stop giving away silly frees, defenders need to start marking opposition, Mickey cant do this for them, its up to the players to take this responsibility on themselves and cut out the silly errors that are costing us badly."
At last we get a proper sensible post that sums everything up good and proper.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 14/03/2019 18:00:14    2172246

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Poor old Jon Smith hasn't got over the departure of Terry a few years back.

I for one am enjoying the style of play, different scorers across the field - Graham has instilled his way of playing, he cant play it for them, he cant make decisions on the pitch, its up to the players, its up to McVeety and Moynagh and Holla to make the right decisions on the pitch, stop doing stupid things like giving silly passes and running into tackles, Clarke needs to stop giving away silly frees, defenders need to start marking opposition, Mickey cant do this for them, its up to the players to take this responsibility on themselves and cut out the silly errors that are costing us badly."
So what you're saying is that if Cavan win it's all credit to Mickey, if they lose it's the players fault.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 14/03/2019 18:23:14    2172249

Replying To aceofspades:  "So what you're saying is that if Cavan win it's all credit to Mickey, if they lose it's the players fault."
I think what he is saying is that Micky is only the manager and the players call the shots. So in a nut shell that to me is still player power.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 14/03/2019 19:00:52    2172256

I think what he is saying is that Micky is only the manager and the players call the shots. So in a nut shell that to me is still player power.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4338 - 14/03/2019 19:00:52 2172256

Can you not read

He is clearly saying that the players need to cut out making silly mistakes.

There is enough Cavan people running down the team and management without a blow in joining in.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 14/03/2019 22:21:19    2172296

Folks

Any talk of a cancellation due to the weather?

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 15/03/2019 08:39:18    2172327

Replying To RHF:  "I think what he is saying is that Micky is only the manager and the players call the shots. So in a nut shell that to me is still player power.

Can you not read

There is enough Cavan people running down the team and management without a blow in joining in."
No, what he's doing is having another childish dig at previous management.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 15/03/2019 09:22:30    2172333

Replying To aceofspades:  "
Replying To RHF:  "I think what he is saying is that Micky is only the manager and the players call the shots. So in a nut shell that to me is still player power.

Can you not read

There is enough Cavan people running down the team and management without a blow in joining in."
No, what he's doing is having another childish dig at previous management."
The problem with people like you is that you all wear blinkers. I like to watch a full game and do my analysing of players and management from what I see.
I have not knocked Micky Graham in fact I wished him well and meant it unlike many of the two faced individuals on this forum.

Statements being made here that we have players that are top notch wise up I am not sure presently anyone of them would get onto the top 8 teams in the country. This sadly is why Cavan is where it is at this moment in time but please god going forward things might change. If it's with Micky Graham all the better.
At 69 years of age I have seen a lot of football in Cavan.

See you all in Clones tomorrow or will you stop like many do and not make the hill up to the pitch. ???

RESPECT RESPECT RESPECT Many of you don't understand the word.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 15/03/2019 10:02:33    2172340

Looking at Monaghans previous game scores and I see they haven't been scoring very heavily. McManus seems to be getting half their scores.
We could be in with a chance here if we cut out the silly mistakes as a previous poster mentioned.
Discipline too has been a problem. We need to keep 15 on the field for the duration and also try not to get early yellow cards that can put us under pressure.
Best of luck to all involved. 12points could win this game

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 15/03/2019 10:52:20    2172354

Some amount petty and irrelevant bullshit being talked on here in the last 2 weeks. Hopefully the game at the weekend will bring us back to talking about football.

Moving on to the game, I think Monaghan unless Monaghan can refind their Super 8's form from last year and put a performance of that standard together then this game is 50/50.

They are getting a bit older and perhaps the players are listening to Malachy O'R a bit too long and things are getting stale. On top that, I would think the AI semi loss last year might have felt like the last chance or big break missed.

On league form, it is 50/50, but they still have better individuals and inside forwards, so to win we will need a good team performance with very few men having off days, a good spread of scores from half back midfielders and half forwards, to beat their same 3 lines by 6 or 7 points I would say, and probably need a clean sheet and to score at least 1 goal.

Ciaran Brady, McVeety, Murray would need to have big games and drive at their defence. Gerry Smith & GMcK too if available.

Prediction: Monaghan 0-16 Cavan 2-11

Goals from Ciaran Brady and Padraig Faulkner (He'll get that scrappy one yet).

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 15/03/2019 11:29:55    2172361

Replying To aceofspades:  "So what you're saying is that if Cavan win it's all credit to Mickey, if they lose it's the players fault."
What I said was if players take responsibility on the pitch and cut out the mistakes, we have a better chance of winning games. Its no co-incidence that the Roscommon game was the game we had the least mistakes in to date.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 15/03/2019 11:59:00    2172368