Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from The Real 1944

Carlow Vs Galway - 4 Like(s)
I said i'd be happy with keeping it to 10 pts, well fair play to the Carlow team they did so much more than that! Amazing result for us, and well deserved too. After a nervous start, really learned on their feet as it went along and stuck with Galway well in that 1st half. Helped that Galway shot some bad wides, but a few of those were under serious pressure from Carlow backs. 4 points down at ht, we were all expecting a Galway goal or 2 to kill us off early in 2nd half, but instead Carlow took control and were the better team for the entire 2nd half. Winning most puck outs and the half forward line won every high ball sent in. Marty Kavanagh was his usual self, sending over frees from every angle. Very exciting and tense last few mins where Galway kept going a point ahead but we kept leveling it, including right at the last puck of the game from the sideline & the wrong side for a left handed hurler, but Marty kept his nerve and drilled it over. Huge result for Carlow and proves that after leading Dublin at ht last week and now following it up with this result that we can compete with these top teams. Staying in 1B is the aim, and this helps massively. Laois & Offaly were the games we targetted to win, no reason why we can't and qualify for the qf's!

The Real 1944 (National) - 04/02/2019 00:35:47

NFL Division 4 - 3 Like(s)
Delighted for Leitrim, great to see them escape Div 4, serious achievement after struggling for a while now.

The Real 1944 (National) - 04/03/2019 00:18:20

Has TG4 lost highlights show? - 3 Like(s)
Badly missed as their highlights usually include minor games too. Such a pity they don't have some rights to show games that RTE/SKY don't want. Or even to show games that don't clash with RTE's coverage. I see next Saturday evening, Offaly v Westmeath in Leinster Hurling championship & Waterford v Cork in Munster football championship are both taking place. I'd love to watch Westmeath v Offaly on TG4 & i'm sure it would bring in much bigger ratings than whatever they will be showing.

The Real 1944 (National) - 24/05/2017 16:05:57

2017 Carlow - 2 Like(s)
Very happy to see him staying on. He has improved things since coming in and seems to have a good group there who are happy to play for him. We could certainly do with a couple more committing for next year from Pal and OL but he has done as well as could be expected with what he has to work with. As the hurlers, all I can say on that is a change had to happen. Somebody new had to come in or we we struggle yet again to get a panel together for next season. Hopefully now with Bonnar in most of the players who opted out under English will return and we can get out of the Christy Ring next year.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 01/09/2016 11:03:16

football rankings - 2 Like(s)
Updated rankings done now, we are still 18th. Ranked 18th overall & 4th in Leinster behind Dublin, Kildare & Meath, Instead of the usual 31st/32nd area which Wicklow are in now that's not bad to see.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 09/08/2017 01:01:50

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)
Great stuff Leitrim, always nice to see one of our usual fellow strugglers in Div 4 escape it, like we did last year. 5 from 5 is seriously impressive. Enjoy Croker, it's been far too long since ye played there.

The Real 1944 (Leitrim) - 04/03/2019 00:33:47

Footballers 2019 Season - 2 Like(s)
Such a frustrating end to that game yesterday. Couldn't post after it as I was too annoyed. Those 4 turned into 7 minutes of injury time were cruel. Down went ahead fair enough, then Sean Gannon almost got decapitated by a Down back. Somehow that was only worthy of a 2nd yellow by the useless ref, was the most obvious straight red you will ever see. Scored the free, then everybody presumed that was that, a draw game everyone is happy enough. 5 mins over, would have made sense. Oh no, play on and from good crowding around the Down player, ref somehow gives a free in. They go ahead. Ref is already heading for the tunnel without the ball when he blows final whistle. Not sure what happened then as we were in the stand, so hard to see. Turlough made a beeline for him and maybe players too. Hopefully nobody gets suspended because of it. Referee was the worst I have seen in any club or county game. So many high tackles, Sean Gannon got taken out so many times. He gave frees for nothing, then let other worse stuff go. Bizarre, will be interesting to see if he refs a game next week. Overall Down were by far the better side, we were lucky to still be anywhere near them heading into those 7 minutes. We lost that game in the first 20 minutes by being so defensive with the wind. We should have pushed up, and attacked them from the off. It took about 20 minutes for us to do that and then we scored 6 points in a row from it! 2nd half Down got 4 in about 5 minutes by pushing up and doing exactly what we should have been doing. Down missed 2 absolute sitters of goals, and had about 80% possession, totally controlled the game and were by far the best side i've seen in this div. Saying that we sent in 2 high balls to Brendan Murphy all game, 1st one we stuck over the bar, 2nd one broke down for Ruth to get the goal. A plan B is there, just needs to be used more often. The subs yet again, didn't help much apart from Walshe with the free taking. What has Lunney done wrong since 2 motm displays in O'Byrne Cup not to get a minute in the league so far??

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 18/03/2019 00:52:37

Hurlers 2016 - 2 Like(s)
Any word on the team for today. Will head up later to watch it, but seems strange that a team hasn't been posted on the Carlowgaa site. With the suspensions can't imagine there will much of a bench

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 22/05/2016 13:37:48

Carlow Vs Galway - 2 Like(s)
Panel isn't deep, i'm sure he means which is very true. After all Carlow are just working off 4 Senior clubs which is a massive obstacle at any level never mind Div 1b! I'd be delighted if we managed to keep it to around 5 pts v Galway, but would be surprised if we do. Avoiding 3 hammerings is the aim in the Dub/Galway & Waterford games. 1st went ok. Then we can aim to beat Laois & Offaly to get to the qf & stay up in 1B, which is a very realistic target.

The Real 1944 (National) - 28/01/2019 12:58:38

Carlow Vs Galway - 1 Like(s)

Replying To preddan:  "Thought there's more than 4 senior clubs... Unless a lot have degraded"
There is just the 4. MLR, St Mullins, Ballinkillen & Naomh Eoin. The other 2 Naomh Brid & Erins Own went back to intermediate as they couldn't compete. The 2nd teams of MLR & St Mullins are stronger and are beating the former senior teams all the time. As for todays game, I see Galway have named a strong side so if we can keep it to 10 pts or under I'd be more than happy. Great to be welcoming teams like Galway here and should be a big crowd by Carlow hurling standards anyway.

The Real 1944 (National) - 03/02/2019 12:49:25

2017 Carlow - 1 Like(s)
Good to see Foley & St Ledger play a half each for Leinster on Saturday and still show up for county training yesterday. Looks a very committed bunch this time around and great to have so many in from Palatine. Pity that Gannon & Benny Kavanagh will miss the league with injury. Gannon will be a huge loss as he was by far our best player this year.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 12/12/2016 20:09:24

Footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Many here heading to London? Any updates on the team/injuries? I have seen a few of the lads started club league games or come on at half time, but don't think anyone got injured. Good to keep them ticking over. With Brendans suspension lifted we should be at full strength for Sunday. Losing at home to London in league should do away with any complacency here as we are well aware what they can do if we have an off day. While it cost us a shot at promotion, that loss actually comes back around to help us now as the management and panel will not let that happen again.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 20/06/2017 19:42:50

County Hurling Team 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Our 1B league fixtures, 3 away and 2 at home: Sunday Jan 26th (2pm) Away v Clare Sunday 2nd Feb (2pm) Home v Kilkenny Saturday 15th Feb (5pm) Home v Dublin Saturday 22nd Feb (7pm) Away v Laois Sunday 1st March (2pm) Away v Wexford

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 25/11/2019 13:26:25

Leitrim's Allianz League campaign - 1 Like(s)
Massive game on Sunday, was surprised ye lost by so much to Westmeath. After a great win in Aughrim, and running Wexford so close. Expected better against Westmeath. I see ye were down a few players, are any of them back for this weekend!? We got a deserved draw in Mullingar v Westmeath, and beat Limerick at the weekend...but did our annual loose at home to the worst team in Div 4 trick v London. Inexplicable 1st half in that game where we somehow were 10 pts down at ht. Because of that this Sunday is a must win for us to stay in promotion race. Same for yourselves really. Was up there last year where we won an awful standard of a game, hope it's a better game this time around but same result will do!

The Real 1944 (Leitrim) - 28/02/2017 20:12:34

Camogie - 1 Like(s)

Replying To fergie:  "Best of luck to the girls. Going fron Div 4 to semi of div 2 is serious going. It's funny how the camogie side are thriving but the ladies footballers are struggling. Same with the lads too regarding hurling/football."
Best of luck to the camogie girls on Sunday in Croke Park. Junior final against Armagh at 12. Huge day for everyone involved in camogie in Carlow. Hopefully Mark Brennan and his team can bring an all ireland back to Carlow.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 09/09/2016 17:56:06

Qualifier Round 2 - 1 Like(s)
Our next qualifier game is fixed for Breffni/Healy Park on Sat July 9th at 5. Would expect it to be Cavan, which takes about 2 hours from here. Hopefully we can get a bit of support up there, we usually get our best results on long away trips!

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 28/06/2016 18:58:52

Footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Good to see such a strong panel starting out the year. Having Conor Lawlor & Shane Redmond back is a massive boost. 2 good big men that sorts the spine of the backline out straight off. Very impressed yesterday by Crowley too, he had a great game to follow up how good he was for Pal in the co championship. Benny Kavanagh is obviously a massive loss due to injury but having Crowley in helps. Good start overall yesterday, although hard to tell how good Maynooth are. They looked decent in 1st half, but after the goal & sending off straight after half time they fell to bits. We really should have got at least 3 more goals. Need to be taking those kinda chances really as we might only get 1 or 2 of them at best in a crucial league game. Nice to get i think 3-12 from play and Ledger, Foley & Broderick all slotted frees nicely too. Impressed by Shane O'Neill when he came in, lovely point and looked the part. Brendan Murphy put in a great 40/45 minutes but then looked really tired. Unmarkable at times and he hit one poor Maynooth guy a fair shoulder i'd say that player is still feeling the effects of it today. Hopefully by the time the league starts he is up to a full 70 minutes, as at his best there is no better player in division 4. Negatives were yet again a bit too much messing around with the ball, when it could have been spread out to a free man. Especially in 2nd half, lost count of the amount of times we carried it into the crowded middle while there was lads free out near sideline. The short kick out didn't work out. He got it badly wrong a few times and then panicked a bit and launched a couple over the sideline. A better team would have punished us a lot more for those errors. Overall an encouraging first outing, Wednesday night will tell us a lot more.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 09/01/2017 21:14:50

Footballers 2019 Season - 1 Like(s)
I think we played Wexford one of the nights during the week in Fenagh. Didn't hear how it went or anything though. Maybe somebody has more info?

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 17/01/2019 23:05:54

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually both Louth v Meath and Kildare v Laois would be cracking games to show, the intensity and edge to both games would have given the sg a much needed boost. Now that been said Meath v Louth would still be one sided with Meath winning comfortably, :). No I expect both to be close games."
Agree 100%, both those games should be reasonably close and very entertaining. 2 local derbies too. Would be much better to watch than another Ulster game. Only problem is if RTE were to show both Leinster games, then one would have to clash with the hurling on SKY on Sunday. I'd imagine that probably wouldn't be allowed happen by the GAA.

The Real 1944 (National) - 30/05/2017 16:55:08

Hurlers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Belfast to Newry is 46 mins, Carlow Town to Newry is 2 hours 1 min. The 2 main county towns of Carlow & Antrim. Crazy that this game is in Newry, Lovely ground but too far away for a neutral final. They should really bring in winners of each division get home advantage in final too, that'd make too much sense I guess.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - 29/03/2017 00:06:24