Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from dead_as_dodos

Christy Ring 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Would actually rather beat the goats than any other county because of their carry-on a few years back. It's hilarious now to see them suggesting nefarious goings on in the draw, they obviously believe that everyone is as morally bankrupt as they are. looking forward to hammering them. Hi sponger (-;

dead_as_dodos (National) - 12/05/2017 22:51:04

Louth on Sunday - 2 Like(s)
Yere lucky we are in other side of draw for qualifiers.. otherwise ye could have been facing another hammering.

dead_as_dodos (Wicklow) - 01/06/2017 20:03:51

Taking Dublin away - I was right! - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "I dont get this how is a 19-7 point victory considered a great performance for the loosing team, or justifying that Dublin arent as strong outside Croke park. Weird."
I agree totally. It's condescending nonsense. Carlow had nothing in their heads except damage limitation and to a certain extent I can understand it because we have about 6 players who can match the Dublin team but after that we're in trouble. However I'd prefer that we went out having a go rather than that effort from management last night. None of your forwards score from play in 75 minutes and 3 points from play in the entire match. Say no more....

dead_as_dodos (National) - 04/06/2017 13:53:53

Hurlers 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To hurlingguru:  ""The Wicklow County Board have sent a letter of objection to Croke Park over the way that the Christy Ring Cup semi-final draw was conducted. The draw took place behind closed doors last Monday morning and this has irked Wicklow who feel that they should have been allowed to attend the draw. Wicklow will play Carlow at Netwatch Cullen Park, while Antrim take on Down in the two semi-finals, but Wicklow vice-chairman Martin Fitzgerald told the Wicklow People that it was wrong to hold the draw behind closed doors "If that happened in Wicklow with Mick Hagan and Bridget Kenny the clubs would go mad. It wouldn't happen in Wicklow. It wouldn't be done," said Fitzgerald. Wicklow coach Michael Neary added: "I think they (GAA) leave themselves open to criticism. I knew that we would be playing Carlow at some stage but not to invite officials from any of the counties leaves a lack of openness.""
What a crowd of whingers. They have a cheek to talk about correct procedures after their carry on a few years back. Only one way to quieten that lot.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - 11/05/2017 19:45:57

Senior hurling 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Won't be long now til Armageddon for Wicklow. This is going to taste so sweet.

dead_as_dodos (Wicklow) - 18/05/2017 21:21:16

2017 Carlow - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Bainisteoir:  "do these new faces have names ... ?"
It's the new secret weapon.nobody knows who they are til matchday.;-0

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - 18/11/2016 17:32:20

Wicklow v Carlow. - 1 Like(s)
cant understand the pessimism on here. Ye put on a great display on saturday night, i havent seen a better showing this year. Carlow were blessed to get out of there. Only for the slow start ye would have blown us away. I left NCP feeling so sorry for ye.

dead_as_dodos (Wicklow) - 22/06/2016 11:07:12

2017 Carlow - 1 Like(s)

Replying To sportsFanatic:  "agree but it could be very hard to get out of Christy Ring next year if Antrim players that were absent this year return. Neil Mcmanus one that springs to mind there main man for the last few years and he was missed sorely this year. Hopefully we could get some past players in as part of the management team to freshen things up a bit."
Agree . Would have much prefered to see Meath still in Ring cup. Antrim gave us a terrible drubbing in Ring final about 10 years back.If they can get all their big men back they'll be different proposition to this year completely. Bonnar needs to get all available talent in for starters as English failed from the start to do this but he did;nt help his case by top loading the team with his own club players. Not exactly over the moon by TOB's return as I think that apart from a decent win over admittedly a poor Wicklow team he has'nt got a whole lot more to recommend him. However it's done now so I wish both of them the best.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - 01/09/2016 21:22:52

Hurlers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
decent win. My player ratings: keeper and full back line were fine without having a whole lot to do.Gary Bennett was excellent. Half back line was poor to be honest about it. Constantly getting drawn out of position, Kildare scored several points from this area. Sledger was the best of the midfielders J.Kav was poor. P.Coady, JM.Nolan,J.Doyle and mouse were very good .Other 2 were poor. Why JM Nolan was taken off is baffling unless he was injured. Anyway we won but this was a poor Kildare team. Open draw for semi final afaik.We will have to improve but well done on the win.ger Coady got a bit of game time today. E.Nolan was listed as sub.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - 06/05/2017 18:33:12

Footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
How come our teams (both codes) are never published. Supporters like to see teams a couple of days before game and it generates a bit of discussion , interest etc. Other counties seem to manage it, why can't we!

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - 11/02/2017 12:09:29

Christy Ring 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "The Gaa must be absolutely delighted that these 2 teams have got to the final.

Refereeing was a poor today."
Yeah you're spot on ,the referee was poor he should have red carded a couple of Wicklow players. Ye showed your true colours again today with your filthy play, that's about all ye are good for, oh ...and robbing players from your neighbour. (-;

dead_as_dodos (National) - 21/05/2017 10:54:50

Why bother? - 1 Like(s)
Agree with all the above, it's a joke of a programme, merely "fulfilling the fixture" on RTE's part. But it's been going on for years and ultimately it's Croke Park who are responsible. it is their job to ensure that coverage is of the quality that viewers expect and not this half hearted effort year on year.

dead_as_dodos (National) - 06/02/2017 11:49:14

Christy Ring 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "The Gaa must be absolutely delighted that these 2 teams have got to the final.

Refereeing was a poor today."
Ah yeah sponger the referee was at fault. 24 scores to Carlow 10 scores to Wicklow. I can understand your frustration.(-;

dead_as_dodos (National) - 21/05/2017 11:09:40

Colm O'Rourke's article today re the GPA. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To icehonesty:  "Brilliant article from Colm O'Rourke"
Agreed. The GPA started off as a vehicle for change and they did achieve some results however the GAA saw a problem that they might have difficulty with down the road. What did they do? They stuffed the gpa's mouth with gold. Not a murmur these days about ongoing problems, seems like it's just one long dinner dance for the GPA since. The Tax- back issue as ORourke mentioned is a no brainer for them to take up but "it's not part of our brief" is the response. They took the GAA's shilling and are silenced now, but hey the management are laughing all the way to the bank.

dead_as_dodos (National) - 14/11/2017 11:57:38

Footballers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Why oh why did we not be more positive there tonite. Monaghan were there for the taking but we were far too conservative in the second half when we went ahead. Anyway fair play to lads who gave it everything. Couple of issues I have ,how did they leave Foley on the pitch for all that match, just unbelievable. Our kickouts were poor also ,why was Kearney dropped? his kickouts are far more accurate.

dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - 15/07/2017 22:39:23

Carlow vs Monaghan - 1 Like(s)

Replying To muckla:  "Well played Carlow, Monaghan just done enough to get by. You must remember that in terms of size and population there is little difference between the two teams, I know Monaghan are division one this past while but its not like one big county v a minnow. Carlow really put it up and fair play to them, we need to improve big time or were heading out next time out."
Fair play Muckla but we try the hurlin as well. The reason Sean Murphy hasn't played senior interco.football til this year is because he was with the hurlers. So our resources are far more thinly spread. Anyway best of luck against Kil/dub.

dead_as_dodos (National) - 15/07/2017 22:52:14

"Fresh TV Rights Deal" - 1 Like(s)

Replying To witnof:  "I find this post unbelievable. He said the GAAs number 1 goal is to get people to go to games. What the hell is wrong with this? In this case he is 100% right. With regard to the PR in the GAA I think they are not aggressive enough on pushing back on some of the rubbish talked about the GAA in the press but that is just my opinion. So as an elected official and good clubman he should not talk to the press but get someone with common sense. Who? And why does he have common sense??"
Well said. RTE have been getting away with it for years. Lip service is their stock in trade. Their coverage has not improved imo. T he only way to deal with them is by competition so in this regard I for one hope that Sky renew their coverage this year. Not saying they have been spectacular either but given they are new to the game they've done ok. Imagine having no choice but to listen to Carney and Duignan......

dead_as_dodos (National) - 09/09/2016 14:54:43

Imagine if this was a Dub/Tyrone player!! - 1 Like(s)
looks like a definite gouge. Selective condemnation is right.

dead_as_dodos (National) - 03/07/2017 12:38:19