Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from Passer_By

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "It was also adorned by many US troops from the southern states when they fought in the 2 world wars against fascist regimes. I guess they wore it as a means by which to identify with their homeland, as opposed to a symbol of the supreme race ideals which they were fighting against."
Did Bubba in Forrest Gump not wear it too...? This whole thing is a joke. If you google co co pops they're apparently racist now too. It extends to the breakfast table now as well.. Should we all be racist Father and should Pat Mustard be delivering the milk. I never lost too much sleep over orelly man in Fawlty Towers or does anyone remember Paddy Whack in the Dandy was it? That actually was very much racist. Should we request a formal apology?? There's actually more offence taken on here at the historic confederate flag in Thurles than the union flag flying in your own country. Get a grip. The real discrimination in the GAA is against the smaller counties. Not on the terraces down in Cork. If ye don't want to be offended these days, don't bother stepping outside of the door. Thought Police

Passer_By (National) - 18/06/2020 21:39:55

Kildare V Mayo - 5 Like(s)
Health and safety my eye. There's even an attempt to link it to an avoidance of potential crowd trouble this morning, which is a total disingenuous load of nonsense. The gardai didnt have an issue with it being played in Newbridge, but the GAA know better on that front? This is rotten to the core plain and simple. It's about time that somebody stood up to this perennial claptrap. I dont often agree with O Rourke either, but I think he's reasoning that Kildare would uphold any subsequent appeal (should they GAA forfeit the game on their behalf) holds water.

Passer_By (National) - 26/06/2018 12:34:05

Footballers 2019 Season - 4 Like(s)

Replying To germac:  "Strange how you failed to mention , the 5 frees Carlow got in the first half for our defenders doing the same thing , Baffling indeed"
Given the distribution of yellow cards, how Down only got second yellows for clothes line tackles; and had only two sent off when the impact was meaningless in terms of timing is truly baffling Ger Mac. How there wasn't a free in at the very end was truly baffling Ger MAC. Downs last free in before that, for an aleged push in the back was truly baffling Ger Mac. That Young Johnston that came on a sub and went down holding his jaw when there was an arm at most across his belly was truly baffling. The game being blown up after a blatant foul whilst the the ball was actively still in play in front of goals was truly baffling too In fact, the worst referring I've ever seen in Dr Cullen since the red and yellow card fiasco in 97 or 98. Truly baffling indeed

Passer_By (Carlow) - 17/03/2019 18:13:36

Christy Ring 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "I have no problem with us playing Carow - the problem I have is that we should have home advantage or even a nuetral venue. The draw was also held in private."
The draw was held in a flat that hasn't been built yet, somewhere in Bray.

Passer_By (National) - 10/05/2017 20:10:06

Leitrim v Carlow qualifier - 3 Like(s)
Great post Eddie The Supermacs franchise has crossed the Shannon now too, and you can treat her to a burger and/or Tacco fries after the match. You never know, Pat McDonagh himself might even deliver them to the table with Sean O Brien dropping down the milkshakes. If all else fails, ya can head home through Mullingar and pick up a heifer. Make the effort to make it down anyhow if you can. The Dublin county board have said that we've enough seats for this one and you'll always be given a good welcome.

Passer_By (Leitrim) - 01/07/2017 19:25:45

Connolly interfering with match official - 3 Like(s)
The man was like a bull. The linesman just shrivelled in awe and the ref did absolutely nothing, but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards following continuous cynical behaviour by Jonny Cooper who knowingly knew he was vulnerable on a soft yellow card. That killed the game we were competing very well in until then. Shove on the linesman aside (which is an absolute open and shut case), the vulgar finger poking into the face was/is indicative of what a nasty side there can be to an otherwise seriously undisputed talented player. Connollys yellow card gets little commentary at all here however. This was a blatant close line tackle that warranted more. It's a shame, but Dublin as All Ireland champions were seriously frustrated/rattled up to that point (indicative most so by Connollys over reaction), yet the game was killed a minute or so latter by Murphys sending off. Fenton was nullified until Brendan went off and Connolly was largely insignificant save for the foregoing side show and an injury time 45 (three injury time scores that put an unwarranted dirtier look on the end scoreboard). Some really dreadful referring put Dublin in the clear. A flattering shoreline really and we're a man down now for the qualifiers. Maybe we can appeal his first yellow card to the CCC (short for Carlow CountyCouncil lads, we might have a better chance if it's misaddressed - any dissent from Carlow is otherwise just thrown in the bin). Meath and Kildare should take heart from yesterday. Westmeath too. They're not unbeatable in Leinster.

Passer_By (National) - 04/06/2017 22:45:38

Christy Ring 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Scallioneater:  "Wicklowman, I share your view, in fact I find the whole thing embarrassing to say the least, if you look at the forum you will see I don't post here that often. , and your right this thing has gone on far too long, you will also see that it's the same Carlow poster I'm sorry to say that brings it up , it's as if he's lurking there like a predator waiting for the opportune moment to pounce. Banter is a healthy thing in sport no doubt and sometimes the banter cut's a little deep and we all know that, but that's life. When some faceless poster comes on here in the so called name of Carlow football and brings up something that happened 10 years ago in a vindictive way he is not doing so on my behalf and I can safely say on any good Carlow person's behalf either The same poster conveniently forgets that it's not too long ago that a good Wicklow footballer made himself available for selection to county and club here in Carlow. He only pop's in here at a time when he see's an opening to get a cut at someone, he think's he's exciting the thread when in fact he's lowering the tone. Ignore him Wicklowman, he may not go away but who cares. He goes on to say, Wicklow behaved despicably and it won't be forgotten. Who cares about that either, he's on his own."
A wrong is a wrong Scallioneater, and he ain't on his own, not by a long long chalk. Re hurling, I expect us to just beat them, but why not mention 'the war' in my view. The hypocrisy of their county board letter of appeal this week (which governs both codes) is just staggering. The more often we win by 10pts plus in the league against them the better. I will not excuse my acrimony towards Wicklow, nor should I. They are the ones who need to be apologetic, and never mind the passings of sand. Up Carlow.

Passer_By (National) - 14/05/2017 18:41:56

Senior hurling 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Well done Wicklow. Beating Down is good going. A massive turn around from last year. Getting Kiltegan and Carnew back up to championship winning level has to be the micro priority if I was a Wicklow man. Great hurling people in Wicklow. With a bit of attention ye could achieve a lot. Not too long ago that ye nearly won the old Div 2 and maybe beat Laois the same year? Have never been a fan of Wicklow football as a Carlow man from a few years back...but good on ye today.

Passer_By (Wicklow) - 12/03/2017 16:19:53

The '3 Cheers' At The End Of Every Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Morty:  "Can winning captains please just stop this at all levels?"
A cringeworthy hangover from the 'British Empire' Morty. Couldn't agree with you more. 'Jolly good chaps'

Passer_By (National) - 08/04/2018 17:19:45

Paidi O Se Cup - 2 Like(s)
The John Horan Cup. Does what it says on the tin pot.

Passer_By (National) - 25/10/2019 18:06:22

Venues for hurling - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni39:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "What an odd post. Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:11057 - 07/04/2017 17:03:30 Strange indeed. Carlow to Newry would be a handy enough trip. Probably equal distance with the supporters coming from the Glens in anyways."
The implication that having to play a game in Newry is some sort of punishment speaks volumes."]I think the post had/has more to do with the Pairc Esler being a particularly heavy pitch for the small ball. Down don't even play their matches there, and we now know why. In terms of location for that particular match, Mullingar would have been of near equi distance and more importantly would have been a much better pitch, but cest la vie. In response to MesAmis, Antrim's hurling heartland may be based in the north of that county, but Carlow's equivalent is in the southern end of the county, which definitely made Newry something of a trek. Slightly more irksome having actually topped the division. There's a different criteria again in 1B of course, where Wexford were automatically promoted.

Passer_By (National) - 10/04/2017 16:27:09

Should Every Province Have A Bekan Type Airdome For Playing In All Weather - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here I just wonder should every Province have a Bekan stle Airdome like the one that is over beside Knock in County Mayo. Would it not be a great idea to have at least one in Ulster maybe two that all games could be played irrespective of the weather. I am told that you can have 3500 spectators inside and sure it could be be beamed out Via Gaa Go."
Great idea. Every county town should be given either a metro or light rail system too, to get out to the Dome.

Passer_By (National) - 18/07/2023 15:34:16

Kildare V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Bottom line the ground is not fit to hold a match of this size, Kildare opted years ago to develop a centre of excellence rather than upgrade their county ground. No sympathy for them at all they are quite selective as to who they allow use their centre of excellence. It is not fair on Mayo fans sorry you can't all go to the match in the super 8 series because we are going to hold the game in a rubbish ground. Nothing to do with crowd trouble, H&S, fire regulations etc etc its to do with spectacle and generating interest and finances to enable the GAA to function. The GAA can't back down it will cost a fortune to host the game in that ground. On these pages we have had many posters complaining about GAA not doing enough to promote the games to enable it to compete as a spectacle with other sports and what to the bally-go-backwards crowd want - yeah I give you St Conlaiths....its a spectacle all right and unholy how of one, the latest i heard on radio yeah we upgraded the jacks - for god sake the toilets!!"
Who is this St Conleith that you keep banging on about? You should maybe learn to at least label it correctly before pontificating so strongly about the place. The grounds capacity has and should have nothing to do with this. Dublin can decant from Parnell Park to Croker and still retain 'home' advantage. That's an enviable position. All counties are of vastly different size and population though. If its a smaller county you simply forfeit home advantage in a match of such importance? Should every county have a 20,000 all seater stadium in case this eventuality arises? That would be a great way to burn money. You don't seem to grasp the whole ethos of this at all. The rules were quite clear about home advantage and have been deviated from quite disgracefully in most peoples view. Whether it holds 8,500 or 18,500 is neither here nor there. As O Neill said, not everyone that wants to see the All Ireland this year will get a ticket either, but that's life. Some are clearly more equal than others within this 'All Ireland' organisation, time and time again. Newbridge is one of the more enjoyable places to watch a match in my view. The pitch is very much in the town and part of the town rather than some 2 and 1/2 miles outside it with a 'requisite' number of plastic seats. In addition to home advantage, the town and local Kildare economy is entitled to benefit from this fixture being played there. Where to next? Where will it all end? A tier one championship of 4 teams with all 3 matches to be played in Croke Park. Be careful what you wish for lads.

Passer_By (National) - 26/06/2018 17:53:36

CCCC hurling proposals change tier 2 teams status - 2 Like(s)
What a further joke and insult to any county trying to break through an ever thickening glass ceiling. So 'Tier Two' is basically the new Christy Ring but without a trophy (a sort of no mans land). Win it and you can play in the proper championship the next year.

Passer_By (National) - 05/09/2017 17:27:32

Christy Ring 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "I was giving out about Kildare choosing players that don't play for a Kildare club. Thomas Walsh did transfer to Bray remember. The 2 situations are not comparable. The Gaa must be really desperate to have Carlow and Antrim go through. Perhaps they should have just dropped the semis and put the 2 of them to the final ?"
Good man there Sponger. He transferred to Wicklow first, then Bray.

Passer_By (National) - 20/05/2017 19:01:18

Graham Geraghty Medals Stolen - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni39:  "They should question Joe Sheridan. He has previous in stealing Leinster medals."
One of the best I've read in a long time Breffni

Passer_By (National) - 18/11/2019 20:44:40

Wicklow hurling manager - 1 Like(s)
Massive score in 70 minutes irrespective of opposition.

Passer_By (Wicklow) - 22/01/2017 21:36:33

1980'S GAA Ireland - 1 Like(s)
The smell of tobacco pipes, grass banks and taking hard cash at the gate. Can we have the latter one back please

Passer_By (National) - 06/07/2023 15:58:48

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "https://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/329828 What do we think of this proposal? A fierce kick in the teeth to anyone involved in Leitrim hurling let's be honest and doesn't say much for the priorities of the GAA."
Disgraceful but unfortunately not surprising. "The money saved will used to promote the game within those counties". There's spin and there's pure BS. This falls within the latter

Passer_By (National) - 08/11/2023 20:41:35

Christy Ring 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "The Gaa must be absolutely delighted that these 2 teams have got to the final.

Refereeing was a poor today."
Yep Sponger you're right again, another 70,000 expected at Croker.

Passer_By (National) - 20/05/2017 21:09:54