Hyland under pressure. So says Derrys manager Barton

Derry manger Damian Barton says he might quit if his side comes through their Round 4A qualifier against Tipperary on Saturday.

In his first year in charge of the Oak Leafers, Barton has managed to turn their season around and silence a few critics after his side surprised Cavan with a 1-17 to 0-18 victory at Breffni Park last weekend, leaving them just one game away from a place in the All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals.

The former All-Ireland winner also lamented that both he and Breffni boss Terry Hyland had a "stay of execution" after both had won their second round qualifiers.

"I think it's a disgusting disgrace," he told the Irish Examiner.

"You are looking at a manager (Hyland) who brought a team up to Division 1 this year, arguably a very successful year, while I am in my first season and people are talking.

"What a load of nonsense. I am fed up of these people talking nonsense. I am not interested in speaking to them.

"They know nothing about football. What they want to do is stand on the sideline and come and get involved with a team where it's 24/7. I have nothing to prove.

"You know this, if we get over Round 4, I might just quit. Quit whenever you're ahead!

"That would seem to be the sensible thing to do rather than people talking nonsense next ye

Tomsmith here
Very sad words bt Damien Barton where he outlines how Terry Hyland and himself are under pressure.
We should all get in behind Hyland and ignore the Taxi for Terry brigade

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 21/07/2016 10:08:12    1887423

Replying To tomsmith:  "Derry manger Damian Barton says he might quit if his side comes through their Round 4A qualifier against Tipperary on Saturday.

In his first year in charge of the Oak Leafers, Barton has managed to turn their season around and silence a few critics after his side surprised Cavan with a 1-17 to 0-18 victory at Breffni Park last weekend, leaving them just one game away from a place in the All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals.

The former All-Ireland winner also lamented that both he and Breffni boss Terry Hyland had a "stay of execution" after both had won their second round qualifiers.

"I think it's a disgusting disgrace," he told the Irish Examiner.

"You are looking at a manager (Hyland) who brought a team up to Division 1 this year, arguably a very successful year, while I am in my first season and people are talking.

"What a load of nonsense. I am fed up of these people talking nonsense. I am not interested in speaking to them.

"They know nothing about football. What they want to do is stand on the sideline and come and get involved with a team where it's 24/7. I have nothing to prove.

"You know this, if we get over Round 4, I might just quit. Quit whenever you're ahead!

"That would seem to be the sensible thing to do rather than people talking nonsense next ye

Tomsmith here
Very sad words bt Damien Barton where he outlines how Terry Hyland and himself are under pressure.
We should all get in behind Hyland and ignore the Taxi for Terry brigade"
Tom the people that matter are not looking for Mr Hyland's head and I expect the same applies to Mr Barton.
If however he is gullible enough to listen to the media and an alias forum like this well he is far better off walking after next Saturday. He has to shut out the begrudgers and the know all's on the stand or terrace for if he cannot do this he is far better off walking for the monkey will be on his back every year.
I sit in the stand or terrace and I listen to these know all's both as referees and managers and off course selectors and to be honest the mind boggles for you ask yourself what match are they watching.
I myself have spoken to managers and selectors down through the years and listened to supporters like you and do you know what it's no wonder the situation is the way it is. Being blinkered is a dangerous trait.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/07/2016 12:31:02    1887557

believe it or not John, some supporters are quite knowledgable too. most likely these supporters have followed Cavan through thick and thin, would have probably played for their local clubs, possibly served on committees, possibly coached youngsters, and very likely go to all their club's matches where they see other club's players. They may have a fair enough idea of how the games should be played and what players should be playing. they also might be quite au fait with the rules of the game. on top of that they would very likely have forked out a sizeable wad of cash to support their county. So I wouldn't be too dismissive of these "know-alls" as you sarcastically refer to them.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2016 15:49:40    1888264

Replying To s goldrick:  "believe it or not John, some supporters are quite knowledgable too. most likely these supporters have followed Cavan through thick and thin, would have probably played for their local clubs, possibly served on committees, possibly coached youngsters, and very likely go to all their club's matches where they see other club's players. They may have a fair enough idea of how the games should be played and what players should be playing. they also might be quite au fait with the rules of the game. on top of that they would very likely have forked out a sizeable wad of cash to support their county. So I wouldn't be too dismissive of these "know-alls" as you sarcastically refer to them."
believe it or not John, some supporters are quite knowledgable too. most likely these supporters have followed Cavan through thick and thin, would have probably played for their local clubs, possibly served on committees, possibly coached youngsters, and very likely go to all their club's matches where they see other club's players. They may have a fair enough idea of how the games should be played and what players should be playing. they also might be quite au fait with the rules of the game. on top of that they would very likely have forked out a sizeable wad of cash to support their county. So I wouldn't be too dismissive of these "know-alls" as you sarcastically refer to them.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts:4323 - 22/07/2016 15:49:40 18

I have dug deep to watch matches also over the years s goldrick .
Nothing sarcastic about my post.
Having a fair idea how the game should be played is open to what one's opinion of how they think the game should be played.
For me I prefer open attacking football not negative 14 behind the ball tactic's. Completely alien to what I call football.
Either you have not had the misfortune of listening to these individuals or you are happy to be part of it ??? and to be honest I just leave the position I was in be it sitting down or standing and move away from ear shot.
I like to think that I can make a constructive report on any match played in Breifne or at club level without fear or favor.
I have the foundation course and level one and two done I am getting too old now to even take up coaching so that you know.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 22/07/2016 17:13:07    1888311

Terry Hyland ( no Mr ) is doing a wonderful job... I think he should get a ten year contract ...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 22/07/2016 22:29:27    1888378

Replying To Sean.66:  "Terry Hyland ( no Mr ) is doing a wonderful job... I think he should get a ten year contract ..."
Says the man that doesn't go to games

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/07/2016 03:00:53    1888406

Terry should leave of his own accord.
He has gone as far as he can and we need someone to bring us to the next level.
More of the same would not be acceptable or we will have wasted yet another batch of promising footballers.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/07/2016 13:00:32    1888489

Replying To fredflint:  "Says the man that doesn't go to games"
Went to more games than you could ever dream about but no more... Anyone paying in to see the modern ( laugh) game ( not just Cavan) seriously needs their head seen to... You will see sense yet but some are a little slower on the uptake than others but going on recent attendance figures yer like are in the minority....

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 23/07/2016 15:22:59    1888538

Replying To Sean.66:  "Went to more games than you could ever dream about but no more... Anyone paying in to see the modern ( laugh) game ( not just Cavan) seriously needs their head seen to... You will see sense yet but some are a little slower on the uptake than others but going on recent attendance figures yer like are in the minority...."
Sean, no one is making you go and I doubt anyone will miss you. I just find it bizarre that someone who admits they don't attend matches can post with such authority on all things Cavan GAA. Not only that you even know how many games I've attended in my life and that you've attended more!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/07/2016 18:47:26    1888621

I'd say after today's result the Cavan team are feeling pretty sick.
Seriously missed opportunity due to indiscipline even though the Derry player went down like a sack of spuds, which didn't help.
Looks like the county board are waiting for the dust to settle on another disappointing championship before a management decision is made.
40 years of false dawns,is it ever going to change??????

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 23/07/2016 20:41:33    1888757

Replying To desagov:  "I'd say after today's result the Cavan team are feeling pretty sick.
Seriously missed opportunity due to indiscipline even though the Derry player went down like a sack of spuds, which didn't help.
Looks like the county board are waiting for the dust to settle on another disappointing championship before a management decision is made.
40 years of false dawns,is it ever going to change??????"
I'd say after today's result the Cavan team are feeling pretty sick.
40 years of false dawns,is it ever going to change??????

desagov (Cavan) - Posts:195 - 23/07/2016 20:41:33 18

Are you sure it was the Derry player that went down like a sack of spuds and do you think Cavan would have beaten Tipperary today.
That was a huge Derry team there today and the small team played brilliantly and well done to them.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/07/2016 21:08:00    1888788

Any idea ,fredflint ,what odds the bookies are giving on Terry to stay ?

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 23/07/2016 22:30:33    1888860

Replying To tenyearplan:  "Any idea ,fredflint ,what odds the bookies are giving on Terry to stay ?"
No idea.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/07/2016 22:39:03    1888869

Tipp showed how to play good positive football this evening .
They opened the Derry defence on numerous occassions.
Cavan weren't able to do that
Why can a hurling county show such a range of skills?

footballabu88 (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 23/07/2016 22:52:25    1888881

Replying To footballabu88:  "Tipp showed how to play good positive football this evening .
They opened the Derry defence on numerous occassions.
Cavan weren't able to do that
Why can a hurling county show such a range of skills?"
Did you ever think that Tip and Clare have good players and that is the best starting point to have. Tip are missing 10 first choice players and are still in the quarterfinals!
Kerry gave Tip a good thumping but unlike ourselves they've learned from it and gained confidence.
Serious questions need to be asked now in Cavan. We're at the proverbial cross roads, is it onwards and upwards or the slippery slope????

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 24/07/2016 10:06:06    1888989

to be fair, I watched both matches yesterday. the clare v roscommon game was poor , both teams looked jaded. i would think cavan would beat either of them. the second match was much better quality and in truth it could have gone either way. so There is no point in Lauding Tipperary over Derry, there was nothing between them. like there was nothing between ourselves and Derry. A bit of stupidity/indiscipline cost us dearly. Not saying that we would have beaten Tipp yesterday if we had got past Derry but again there wouldn't have been much in it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/07/2016 12:37:21    1889072

Replying To s goldrick:  "to be fair, I watched both matches yesterday. the clare v roscommon game was poor , both teams looked jaded. i would think cavan would beat either of them. the second match was much better quality and in truth it could have gone either way. so There is no point in Lauding Tipperary over Derry, there was nothing between them. like there was nothing between ourselves and Derry. A bit of stupidity/indiscipline cost us dearly. Not saying that we would have beaten Tipp yesterday if we had got past Derry but again there wouldn't have been much in it."
Would agree with that post. But think we'd have been favourites to beat tipp. And think with 15 on the pitch we would beat them.
Had we won 3 on the trot and facing a 1/4 final v Galway (I know we'd have had a draw if it was ourselves and Clare through) we'd fancy our chances.

Huge missed opportunity.

Shoulda woulda coulda. . .

All we can do is learn from this and I think the lesson should be that we need a new face to invigorate this group.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 24/07/2016 13:06:20    1889087

Tomsmith Cavan Town man here

I feel that it is real treachery for people to be calling for a new manager while Terence Hyland is in Office. It would be one thing for Mr Hyland to vacate the post and then new names be put on the board but to do so while he is in place beggars belief.
Keep your views to yourselves until he retires and then name your successor for the post

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 25/07/2016 11:25:42    1889592

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan Town man here

I feel that it is real treachery for people to be calling for a new manager while Terence Hyland is in Office. It would be one thing for Mr Hyland to vacate the post and then new names be put on the board but to do so while he is in place beggars belief.
Keep your views to yourselves until he retires and then name your successor for the post"
Are you afraid Tom that a new manager might come in and realise the your great discovery isn't really County material?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 25/07/2016 16:49:53    1889878

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan Town man here

Keep your views to yourselves until he retires and then name your successor for the post"
Tom - when you see what Clare and Tipp have achieved, Terry shouldn't need to be told, he should have stepped down already.

Clare, a hurling stronghold beat Roscommon, something we have failed to do in recent times.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 25/07/2016 16:51:55    1889880