Cavan Senior Hurling 2015

Has there been a County champion crowned in Cavan this year yet?

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 25/08/2015 14:08:50    1775919

Not yet.cootehill v mullahoran in final i think.

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 25/08/2015 14:42:24    1775957

Thanks

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 25/08/2015 15:44:27    1776014

Any results or date for the final?

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 02/09/2015 13:41:38    1780612

Hurling don't insult the game by asking is there a senior hurling final in Cavan I suppose as usual they will hold the county board to ransom. Just hand one of them the cup and stop wasting time with something that's never going to happen in Cavan and that's have a senior hurling team. Complete waste of revenue and time.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 03/09/2015 10:55:55    1781070

Mowbar, shut up and get off this thread if you have nothing constructive to say. You don't like hurling, then stay away, we can do without the likes of you.

Geoff, we've had a decent championship so far. Only 3 teams this year but we hope to get this up over the next few years. St. Felims entered this year, although they have a very young team after doing a lot of work underage, they'll be strong in a few years. They lost both their games to Mullahoran and Cootehill. Mullahoran and Cootehill couldn't be separated in their two round robin meetings. Mullahoran needed a last minute 65 to draw level in their first game in Cootehill, while Cootehill scored a last gasp point to draw in the return fixture in Mullahoran last week. The final has not been set yet, but it will be very soon, hopefully the weekend after next. It's set up to be a great final after the two draws, especially after the mess of last year too. It'll be one of teh most highly anticipated finals or recent years.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 03/09/2015 13:42:23    1781272

Loughduff Lad

Mowbar, shut up and get off this thread if you have nothing constructive to say. You don't like hurling, then stay away, we can do without the likes of you.

Geoff, we've had a decent championship so far. Only 3 teams this year but we hope to get this up over the next few years. St. Felims entered this year, although they have a very young team after doing a lot of work underage, they'll be strong in a few years. They lost both their games to Mullahoran and Cootehill. Mullahoran and Cootehill couldn't be separated in their two round robin meetings. Mullahoran needed a last minute 65 to draw level in their first game in Cootehill, while Cootehill scored a last gasp point to draw in the return fixture in Mullahoran last week. The final has not been set yet, but it will be very soon, hopefully the weekend after next. It's set up to be a great final after the two draws, especially after the mess of last year too. It'll be one of teh most highly anticipated finals or recent years.

You have got to be joking three teams in the county give it a break have you lost Woodford Gaels and Ballymachue ??. You talk about more teams clubs stop fooling yourself you are going no place. Highly anticipated final what a joke between yourself's and Cootehill you are killing what ever chance there is of getting hurling back.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 03/09/2015 14:39:15    1781333

Not often id agree with Mowbars contributions however SENIOR HURLING? Come on lads surely you see the problem with that title. I would remove all funding for hurling for one reason. If one talented footballer got injured playing what is little more than lads wielding sticks as one would a weapon then it's a disaster for our county. Let's put all our resources into continuing to improve our football. I for one feel were close to big things let's not let our meagre resources be wasted on the folly of a handful of delusional men.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 03/09/2015 21:26:53    1781685

Are ye both under the impression that hurling is massively funded in Cavan or something? Cop on will ye, I know ye are trolling but try harder than that. Hurling is a part of the GAA, and any true Gael would support it, which obviously you two are not... If you don't like the sport, just go away into a dark corner and let us play the game. We're not forcing it on you and we don't want your negativity. And people play hurling for the love of the game, you don't go out wondering if you get injured, so if anyone wants to play football and hurling, that's their choice. We've had situations where some of our hurlers got injured playing football. It's cyclical, as are any contact sports.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 04/09/2015 12:33:26    1781983

Sceptical, what resources are being wasted on senior club hurling in Cavan? There is absolutely no funding for it as far as I'm aware. As for Mowbar's idea of handing someone the cup, the co. board already did that trick a few years ago when they fixed the hurling final the evening before the football final with the same club and players involved in both, so don't go giving them ideas again. The only people 'killing whatever chance there is of getting hurling back', are the whingers and sceptics like yourselves, not the people actually putting in the effort to play the game and keep hurling clubs going.

d101 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 11/09/2015 09:17:57    1785896

Has there been a date fixed for the final?

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 14/09/2015 14:25:16    1787137

geoff

Has there been a date fixed for the final?

The hurling chairman will toss a coin to decide who are this years champions. None of them would have beaten any of the ladies that played yesterday in Croke Park.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 14/09/2015 16:40:25    1787243

I hear Ramor are now entering into the hurling championship to see if they can win it.

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 15/09/2015 08:25:58    1787426

Thoroughly laughable - people being critical of Hurling in Cavan, when we as a so called footballing County have won nothing since 1997, which was our 1st Ulster title in 28 years. In that time, the Cavan Senior Hurling Team won two Ulster Championships and a National League Title.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 15/09/2015 08:40:50    1787441

gaelsutd - Hopefully they don't give up as easily as Cavan Gaels did after they were beaten in the 2003 and 2004 finals when they realised it mightn't be all that easy to win it.....

d101 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 15/09/2015 11:34:56    1787602

Sorry i meant to say ramor football team

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 15/09/2015 12:29:37    1787649

I never mentioned Cavan Gaels ?? everyone else in the county though wants to talk about them

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 15/09/2015 12:30:29    1787650

d101 - I think you'll find the Gaels put all their effort into the football back in 2003 & 2004, and it certainly paid off.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 15/09/2015 15:28:29    1787796

Well said Deanmartin.... We are a real force in football allright...NOT...

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 15/09/2015 15:36:54    1787802

An ulster c title in a province that has no representative in the Liam Mccarthy cup! A c league? In that time cavan football have been unlucky in two ulster finals got to a quarter final won a junior all Ireland 4 ulster u 21s and a minor. Yeah deanmartin speaks sense as always.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 15/09/2015 18:20:29    1787862