Starting 15 V Monaghan

Its getting very close. Who do we think is in with a shout of making it into the starting 15. I think that we know the spine of the team but there have been some lads putting their hands up. Ciaran Brady us pushing hard for a wing back position, Barry Reilly in good form also and Jack Brady & Michael Argue starting to find their range.

Who do we think will start?

Here is my 15

Farelly
McLoughlin
Dunne
F. Flanaghan
DJ
K. Clarke
McEnroe
McKiernan
Corr
M. Reilly
McVeety
Mackey
McDermott
Dunne
J. Brady

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 16/05/2015 09:01:10    1724159

gilly
hayes (man mark mc manus)
dunne
mc loughlin
f.flangan
mc enroe
clarke
gearoid
corr
Mc Veety
mackey
m.reilly
mcdermott
argue
r.flangan (double up on Mc Manus)

dj ?? liability
dunne ?? needs to be spoon fed the ball
t.hayes ?? too young yet
Gunner ?? ??????
enda Reilly ?? could come in
b.reilly ?? stylist players loads of ability
c.brady ?? playing very well
mc keever ?? experaince

paulie (Cavan) - Posts: 44 - 16/05/2015 11:48:14    1724180

Could try playing 18 and put 3 on mcmanus

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 16/05/2015 12:55:39    1724189

Its great the way lads get better after a while off panel.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 16/05/2015 13:01:28    1724192

I'd go for something like this.
Galligan
Clarke
Dunne
McLoughlin
Fergal Flanagan
McEnroe
D Reilly
Gearoid
Corr
Martin Reilly
Mackey
Argue
Ronan Flanagan (sweeper)
Jack
McDermott

McDermott and Argue could switch too. Clarke to pick up McManus.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 16/05/2015 13:53:47    1724202

Where is Corr from ? wonder is it the same one I'm thinking of

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 16/05/2015 19:02:00    1724274

Corr plays for Denn.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 16/05/2015 20:12:20    1724289

Gilsenan
f Flanagan
dunne
mc loughlin

dj
mc enroe
clarke

gearoid
clarke

Mc Veety
mackey
m.reilly
mcdermott
argue
Dunne

Corr?? Consistent???
t.hayes c Brady ?? Both too young and inexperienced yet
Murray Gunner ?? ??????
j hayes?? good man marker but only back ? Championship fit??
enda Reilly bud Fitz??? could come in
b.reilly ?? stylish players loads of ability agree
J brady ?? playing very well but prefer Dunne
mc keever ?? experaince

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 17/05/2015 13:42:14    1724443

I heard killian Clarke is out. Hamstring gone again. Coming from a reliable source.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 17/05/2015 14:07:15    1724455

Gilsenan
f Flanagan
dunne
mc loughlin

dj
mc enroe
clarke

gearoid
Argue

b reilly
Mc Veety
mackey

m.reilly as sweeper
mcdermott
Dunne

Wouldn't lIke to have to pick that team had hit the button before realised clarke in twice and if clarke is out dunno??? Besta luck lads ye are well fit for Monaghan get past them and who knows

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 17/05/2015 15:10:01    1724476

Clarke is fine

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 17/05/2015 18:08:03    1724602

Fredflint, very doubtful that Galligan will be played in the goals, he hasn't played a competitive senior game for Cavan in that position. Certainly not the time to be handing him his goalkeeping debut. If he has worked on shot stopping and kickouts, then yes down the line I can see it being a good move.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 17/05/2015 19:42:37    1724670

Here's what I think the team will be:

1. Gilsenan
2. Gunner
3. Rory
4. Jason McLoughlin
5. Fergal Flanagan
6. K Clarke
7. McEnroe
8. Gearoid
9. Corr
10. Mackey
11. Martin Reilly
12. McVeety
13. McDermott
14. Dunne
15. Ronan Flanagan

And as for the team I'd go with,

Gilsenan, Hayes, Rory, Jason McLoughlin, Mc Enroe, Killian Clarke, Fergal Flanagan, Argue, Gearoid, Mackey, M Reilly, McVeety, McDermott, Dunne, J Brady

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 17/05/2015 19:48:26    1724677

I'm aware of that Ned but he started every challenge game bar Meath. Gilsenan and Farelly both prone to errors of judgement. I'd trust galligan under high ball and better kicks too. Saving shots is a small part if a keepers jib these days.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 17/05/2015 20:19:29    1724705

1 C Gilsenan
2 J McLoughlin
3 R Dunne
4 F Flanagan
5 K Clarke
6 J McEnroe
7 D Reilly
8 T Corr
9 G McKiernan
10 D McVeety
11 C Mackey
12 M Reilly
13 N McDermott
14 R Flanagan
15 J Brady

I think Niall Murray should get in on form and Argue and Dunne will be used from the bench. Chose Jack simply on form as opposed to Dunne. R Flanagan will probably drop back.
PS the Gunner could also show up anywhere!!!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 18/05/2015 08:29:07    1724778

Gilsenan
McLoughlin Dunne F Flanagan
McEnroe Clarke D Reilly
Corr McKiernan
McVitty McDermott M Reilly
Mackey Argue Dunne

CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 186 - 18/05/2015 11:42:29    1724892

shannon414

Gilsenan
f Flanagan
dunne
mc loughlin

dj
mc enroe
clarke

gearoid
clarke

Mc Veety
mackey
m.reilly
mcdermott
argue
Dunne

so you have clarke in the backs and also in midfield, that will surely test the hamstring :)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 18/05/2015 15:15:43    1725053

here is my PREDICTED 15

Gilsenan
McLoughlin
R.Dunne
F. Flanaghan
K.Brady
K. Clarke
McEnroe
McKiernan
DJ
B.Reilly
M.Reilly
McDermott

R.Flanagan
Argue
J. Brady

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 18/05/2015 15:21:18    1725058

I would like to see Michael Argue in at FF. We have to try something different as we are too predicatble in our slow build up. Pity he wasnt tried there more often, throwing him in to this cauldron now might not work out. He went well in the challenge against Meath for what it was worth as a game. As regards the expanding Monaghan injury list believe the half of what you hear and only what you see on the day. I think Josh Hayes at corner back is a good option for us, he acquitted himself well this year and deserves a go. In midfield I think Mossy for workrate and doing the simple things well should partner Gearoid. I hope our discipline has improved as we have let ourselves down badly in this department throughout the league. CONTROLLED aggression is what we need, STAY OUT OF THE INEVITABLE OUTBREAKS OF HAND BAGS lads as it will cost us (and is pathetic to watch).

Gilsenan
J Hayes Dunne McLoughlin
F Flanagan McEnroe K Clarke
McKiernan Corr
Mackey M Reilly McVeety
McDermott Argue M Dunne

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 18/05/2015 16:30:17    1725105

For your benifit sgoldrick I post again

Wouldn't lIke to have to pick that team had hit the button before realised clarke in twice and if clarke is out dunno??? Besta luck lads ye are well fit for Monaghan get past them and who knows

I hit the button to post before I had finished???? Does that explain? I do realise Clarke can't play two positions? Be great isf he could!

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 18/05/2015 17:05:19    1725138