Gerry Reilly Cup Final.

Well done to Cavan U.16's on winning the above.
Final score := Cavan 1-16 Dublin 1-8.
The future looking bright for these youngsters.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 27/07/2014 21:04:15    1626844

one could almost say that the future is blue...

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1678 - 28/07/2014 09:47:42    1626985

well done lads, great result.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/07/2014 10:25:04    1627020

Any day you beat the Dubs at any level is a good day.
Ran up a decent score, hopefully didn't use the blanket defence.
WELL DONE YOUNG UN'S.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 28/07/2014 10:42:51    1627042

Great win for Cavan some great football out there. Unfortunate in the final last year I was hoping we'd have it this year. Two good years under McGovern surely he'll have a shout at the minor job?

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 28/07/2014 10:49:49    1627058

Fantastic result, very encouraging for our future development. Would live to see the lads mix it with the Dubs in their mutual years ahead but chances are they'll have very different coaching experiences.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 28/07/2014 14:03:59    1627279

Well done to the Cavan lads and Management on a brilliant victory. Any day you beat the Dubs in a final is worthy of the highest respect.It really is great for the prospects of our Minor teams over the next few years. It has given me a huge lift after the awful results of our Seniors. Take a bow lads!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 28/07/2014 15:09:11    1627354

Great to hear a result like this. Now please let these youngsters develop their talent and fulfil it! No more robot football!

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 28/07/2014 15:14:22    1627360

Totally agree, Patman92. Andy McGovern and Danny Brady have been with the U16's for two years now, reaching the Gerry Reilly Final both years and doing tremendous work with the players involved. Additional help this year came from Eamonn Brady and James Moynagh. The style of football these lads are playing is fast and attacking with just the right amount of defensive work being done. Would be brilliant to see them get a shot at the Minor Job.

SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 28/07/2014 16:10:42    1627401

Yes SS1 I believe that they definitely deserve a wrap at minor level

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 29/07/2014 13:37:02    1627907

congrat s to the young lads of Cavan, keep it up boys, minor next year, plus i feel the senior team will bounce back next year, good luck to Cavan football.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 29/07/2014 21:29:14    1628253

Credit to this management team. This is a top class U16 tournament and Andy and Danny deserve to continue with this group to minor. The next big appointment is who is good enough to replace them at U16 and who should take charge of our U14's? Dublin have appointed Jason Sherlock as their U14 manager, reflecting their conveyor belt long term approach to development. Cavan haven't featured in any serious manner at Feile for years and this reflects badly on the general quality of our club coaching at juvenile level, even though we have plenty of very good coaches. Need more joined up thinking at this level and a structured development path to bring the top players through to senior properly.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 30/07/2014 09:53:54    1628324

Good win on Sunday, delighted for the young players. I would exercise caution however, as Dublin were missing 9 players for the final, as things wind down up here in Dublin in July for holidays.
Management to their credit improved since last year when they failed to utilise a lot of players who are this year featuring to the fore on the club scene in Cavan.
As far as I know our club was informed that July 14th was closing date for applying for Minor job, and Danny Brady is not one of the applicants. So where that leaves the "due process", is anyones guess. A repeat of the method of the last appointment, Kremlin style perhaps!.
Certainly, Sunday's game has drummed up massive sudden interest in a job that was heretofore largely unappealing.
Best of luck to whoever gets the job, and lets hope nepotism plays no role in the appointment!

Gaelsman (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 30/07/2014 13:32:00    1628452

who is in for the county minor job then so????
The last time our there was 5
James lovett
Jim Hyland
John Brady
Dessie reilly
& Garry Donoghue
Are any of these going again?????

madaboutgaa (Cavan) - Posts: 120 - 31/07/2014 09:21:52    1628783

Don't think it should matter who is "in" or "nominated" for the position of Minor Manager. It should be about the powers the be going the length and breath of the County to find the right person/ people for the role. It's what we would expect for U-21 and Senior. Minor is as important, if not more so. Deadlines shouldn't dictate who gets the job.

SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 31/07/2014 11:27:12    1628849

Yes a good win for the U16s; But just pause for a moment and consider the following;
The time spent by club coaches in developing these players over a considerable period of time has yet to be recognised; It is not an overnight phenomenomon; The county coach then further facilitates this development.
A more worrying aspect at present is the volume of matches that this age group is playing at the minute; There is continuous lip service been played to the issue of player burn out but no action (as usual). At present the fixtures re U16 & Minor in this county is a disgrace; Example; Those county U16s who played last Sunday may have been playing in their 5th match in two weeks, presuming that they also play minor with their clubs (which they do as clubs don't have enough players) I recognise that this is a traditional aspect of all club minor teams. Subsequently, why do the fixtures committees refuse to acknowledge this? Even the fixtures for the U16 championship this week and next week coupled with the commencement of the minor championship is farcical. There have been U16 matches this week (Tues&Thurs); If any of these require a play off they are to be played on the Monday of the Bank Hol week-end; The semis are then pencilled in for the Thurs with finals the following Monday; Minors start on the Tuesday (the day after)
So a successful U16 player, also playing Minor club could play 4-5 games in the forthcoming 2 weeks.
Also, is there another County U16 competition forthcoming?? (Fr. Manning) & when September arrives the schools will start for the winter..!!
Possible solution; Total GAA shutdown during November & December / Co-ordinated planning for fixtures and minimum rest periods in between games.
Rant over.

Steaf35 (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 01/08/2014 14:00:31    1629430

Steaf35

Fair play to you - great post

It's a near certainty that this abuse of young players will continue for the foreseeable future. The GAA couldn't care less at either club or county level and you'll hear the same drivel from them all. They remind me of politicians. With a bit of luck SKY TV may learn about this abuse at some stage and expose it for what it is - but then again it may not because there's big money involved on both sides; we'll see.

Great display from the young lads in Oldcastle playing refreshing football. I hope the expectation doesn't start up again like it usually does in this county - there's a hell of a difference in the way individual players develop between 16 and 18 and you just never know what you'll get later on. I hope the new minor management retains the all out approach that these lads have - it's great to see and has all the strengths of Cavan football. We've had enough of the lateral game - and the headless stuff that our minors were coached into as well. Congrats to all involved.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 01/08/2014 14:44:09    1629460

Steaf35
cavan have decided not to compete in the fr.manning cup so thats the year over for this group of players. Completly agree with your comments about players having too much football for too long in the year.the county board need a complete change of the fixtures to give these lads a break.serious injuries come from these lads not getting a break and the likes of our u21 team eg.conor moynagh conor madden etc are examples of this and these constant injuries and exaustion of players is becoming a joke. The county board need to cop on and think about the lads

culchie123 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 02/08/2014 15:44:51    1629878

You should rally take a breath. Firstly it was a super win by our U16s, they beat a group of young Dubliners who, as a group had never tasted defeat and Cavan won comprehensively. The Co board cancelled under 16 matches to facilitate these players.

The fact remains that there are 52 weeks in the year what is your proposal to play all the games necessary to fulfill all the fixtures
Pointing the finger at others without putting forward a proposal is exactly what you described your own post as.... A rant.

Usually when someone drops the phrase player burnout into a post or argument then it seems to legitimise the argument while ignoring the missing solution

These young lads are not burned out some players will get too much football and their families and their managers need to step in and help, players who play college and County etc have to choose the don't play both at the same time so the rant about burnout is exactly that a rant a futile rant
It's the club player who is outside the county or college scene is who we need to worry about they have the polar opposite to the proverbial burnout they are not getting enough football
The Breffni league tried to tackle that, good try but it hasn't worked, the league two years ago worked we should go back to that,, we must be able to juggle county and club, county players are as likely to get injured at county training as they are in club games and I would argue that there is more of an element of competition in club games
So my solution to player boreout is to play club games and county on alternate weekends, stop wrapping our county players in cotton wool and respect both club and county. (if we have to wrap up and molly coddle our players then we have a bigger problem)

ochonlir1 (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 16/08/2014 17:12:15    1637672

Ochonlir
1)......Read ....read, yes read my post
2) No U16 league matches were cancelled to facilitate the county fixtures; Hence some of these players played 6 matches in a period of 14 days
3) No minor games were cancelled either; the official line being that if your team is not involved in a final ,all other fixtures must be completed;
4) While doing recovery sessions for some of these players they were absolutely exhausted. Numerous niggling injuries.

The emphasis should be on planning such fixtures and the interaction between club and county should be enhanced..not one way traffic to the county. The clubs develop these players! So Ochonlir...you stick to your typeset....I'm heading to the pitch!!!

Steaf35 (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 17/08/2014 13:44:36    1637833