Return of Seanie Johnston

http://www.hoganstand.com/Cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=199959

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/09/2013 10:34:03    1472814

First of al he has to get his place with the Gaels!!

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 02/09/2013 15:18:01    1473208

With respect ulster40 I feel that this will not be a problem with the current situation within the gales camp. I expect Joe O'Connor will be very happy to have him back and rightly so. His an amateur and as I have said before he owes no one anything and good luck to him.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/09/2013 17:43:09    1473387

As Terry said he will have to prove himself at club level first and then he might be in with a chance 1.8 last week and player off the week, what will terry do now

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 07/10/2014 16:47:32    1661142

One game against an average enough CuCu's side is enough for a County recall?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 07/10/2014 17:01:11    1661146

leave him where he is.he had his chance but decided to play for Kildare

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 07/10/2014 17:31:03    1661163

Can't deny he'd be worth looking at . It's Terry's call at the end of the day - if he feels he can give something he will have to weigh up the odds .
Look everyone makes mistakes , we've all been rash in our youth . If SJ was willing to give 100% to the Cavan cause then why not? If he's putting in a genuine effort and other lads on the panel are upset by his presence then that would be as much a reflection on them as it would be on SJ . Life's too short , we need to build bridges in life and try and make the best of what we have . Our inside forward line is a problem for us IMO and he's a decent option .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 07/10/2014 18:24:41    1661193

Lord above, we'll never get over this will we? This is a man who made a decision to leave us and play for another county, kicking a score against us on our home ground too in case some of yous had forgotten.

Our inside forwards are not the problem, its the system deployed further out the field. 2 men inside being marked by as many as 6 players, not even the Gooch or Brogan would cope in this Cavan team with that setup.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 07/10/2014 18:36:28    1661197

Our inside forwards certainly are the problem Ned. If Terry sticks with the same bunch as last year we wont make any progress.

I understand why people would be a bit apprehensive about recalling Jelly but I think it is worth a risk. He's a proven scorer at county level, and we don't have many of those sitting around the county.

I watched Enda Hessin in the intermediate final last weekend as well and he is surely another player that has to be in Terry's mind, he simply destroyed Ballyhaise, and not just Ballyhaise, he has been outstanding all season. They are 2 forwards I want to see in the panel for the new season

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 07/10/2014 19:15:12    1661214

He is not a team player and will be of no benefit to the current set up for he would spend more time on the physio bench than on the pitch. Hyland will not have him back despite the fact we will be relegated come March. As another poster said we cannot blame our forwards for they can only play off crumbs. This negative football will work against poor teams but you meet the big guns its game over. I think Roscommon proved that don't you. Some nice intermediate footballers out there maybe hyland should start looking at these rather than the poor seniors.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 07/10/2014 19:44:59    1661230

He isnt good enough for county...but his head thinks he's too good...he should try moving to kilkenny...and no, not for hurling!!

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 07/10/2014 19:45:31    1661231

Find it Amazing this thread is reopened!!!!
Firstly Terry has to be shown to be diplomatic and saying everyone is picked on merit is the proper thing for any manager to say.
If he picked everyone on merit then Paudge Reilly, Enda Brady, Barry Reilly, Jonathan McCabe etc would all be kicking for Cavan at present. The guy in this thread his inntercounty days are over. Maybe this thread should be more about who will break onto the county next year. Paul O'Connor, Enda Reilly, Enda Hession, Tom Hayes, Jonathan McCabe, Ciaran Brady along with more regular appearances from Turlough Mooney and Philly Tinnelly would be welcomed.
Someone said to me the other day, its easier to get a guy on the panel than to get him off it!!!!! Maybe Terry is being too loyal to the group that he brought from U21 a couple of years back and needs to be more ruthless to allow other young up and coming guys a chance.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 08/10/2014 10:26:10    1661333

I see that a Choill Dubh won their first Kildare senior hurling championship last Sunday. I'm sure they'll acknowledge the major contribution Seannie made to their development. Leave the past in the past.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 08/10/2014 14:50:36    1661486

It's down to management to pick who's best for the team . I didn't agree with what SJ did but didn't comment on it - I think that particular discussion has been done to death .
My point is however , IF , and it's a big if , SJ is good enough and his attitude right to add to the overall team then why would we not move on . To cut your nose off to spite your face is small time attitude .
There are things wrong with us at the moment and we do need to play more positive but , sorry , I cannot take anyone seriously who comes out with stuff like Gooch or Brogan wouldn't improve us . We are one dimensional in our inside play when we manage to get the ball and it comes straight back out . We've no one to show out front and win ball , no one to turn a defender , no one to run at defences and we do not have a free taker who you would put any sort of structure on never mind a house! We have good lads in there but they are too predictable for top defenders . We hit purple patches now and again in games but not nearly consistent enough .
Some good players were named above and if one or two of them had a yard more pace then IMO they would be top class . However pace is something you either have or havn't . You cannot say either that management havn't given everyone a run either . They have , some more so than others , but they have none the less .
Some of the younger lads coming through I would definitely hold out hope for but at this stage it's only hope . Nothing is guaranteed with talent coming through .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/10/2014 16:23:30    1661529