Team news: Kiely includes eight of All-Ireland winning side

December 14, 2018

The Limerick players warm up. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Limerick boss John Kiely has released his starting 15 for tonight's Munster SHL tie against Tipperary at the Gaelic Grounds.

It includes eight of the side that started the Shannonsiders' historic All-Ireland final success over Galway four months ago - goalkeeper Nickie Quaid, defenders Sean Finn, Richie English and Declan Hannon, midfielder Cian Lynch and forwards Gearoid Hegarty, Aaron Gillane and Graeme Mulcahy.

Diarmaid Byrnes, Dan and Tom Morrissey, Kyle Hayes and Seamus Flanagan are named on the bench while Darragh O'Donovan (injured) and Mike Casey - the two other All-Ireland final starters - don't feature in the match-day 30.

The Na Piarsaigh contingent including Casey and Shane Dowling have been given a rest as Kiely offers opportunities to a number of fringe players.

Limerick (Munster SHL v Tipperary): Nickie Quaid; William O’Meara, Sean Finn, Richie English; Paddy O’Loughlin, Declan Hannon, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave; Cian Lynch, Colin Ryan; Gearoid Hegarty, Barry O’Connell, David Reidy; Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy, Pat Ryan.

Subs: Barry Hennessy, Tom Condon, Lorcan Lyons, Aaron Costello, Ronan Connolly, Diarmaid Byrnes, Dan Morrissey, Michael O’Brien, Robbie Hanley, Tom Morrissey, Kyle Hayes, Conor Boylan, Barry Murphy, Oisin O’Reilly, Seamus Flanagan.

Most Read Stories