Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Listen to sambo on the wexford hurling podcast if ye get a chance lads. He was brilliant. He summed up wexford brilliantly in my opinion.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 02/05/2024 17:57:29    2542519

Replying To hunting:  "Listen to sambo on the wexford hurling podcast if ye get a chance lads. He was brilliant. He summed up wexford brilliantly in my opinion."
Sambo is a great hurling man and it's always enjoyable hearing to his thoughts on the game.

I listened to a BBC podcast that he was a guest on last year, The GAA social it's called and it was unreal listening to the life he's lived, it was powerful, emotional stuff.

Here's the Spotify link if anyone's interested -

https://open.spotify.com/episode/7uhXNWZMYen8uhR459GPyY?si=cwAvMfphQI-s5_h3-CFvqw

GaeilgeDubh (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 02/05/2024 19:32:00    2542529

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Should be all sorted once the extension is done"
It will be.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 02/05/2024 19:41:22    2542530

Replying To hunting:  "Listen to sambo on the wexford hurling podcast if ye get a chance lads. He was brilliant. He summed up wexford brilliantly in my opinion."
He's a top hurling man.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 02/05/2024 19:42:28    2542531

I see Paudi Foley is renting out the room in Sydney for 4 months (possibly longer) #clubchampo

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 03/05/2024 08:07:45    2542568

Very strong Galway team named. We will have to deliver our best performance of the year if we are to win tomorrow

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 03/05/2024 09:22:28    2542576

Replying To Timbertony:  "Think you are being harsh, until Chin came on that day Mac was by far our best forward and got the better of Daithi Burke. We were poor that day from memory, fortunate draw. I thought we were dreadful last year in that non event in Salthill but Galway are no world beaters.
Inter county careers on the line for many of the players, I do think we will get a performance out of them."
Well apart from the All Ireland winders within the Galway camp (Mannion's, Whelan Cooney's etc.) and of course the St Thomas's players who are in fact, world beaters!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 710 - 03/05/2024 09:33:31    2542578

Replying To WEX98:  "I see Paudi Foley is renting out the room in Sydney for 4 months (possibly longer) #clubchampo"
Was talking to a couple of Crossabeg men when we played them in the Rackard League he's definitely coming back for the club championship.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 09:38:28    2542579

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Very strong Galway team named. We will have to deliver our best performance of the year if we are to win tomorrow"
It is and it isn't. 7 of those lads played in the Walsh Cup final and 4 of the lads on the bench did also. Agree though our lads are going to have to be on top form to win.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 09:40:13    2542580

Replying To GaeilgeDubh:  "Sambo is a great hurling man and it's always enjoyable hearing to his thoughts on the game.

I listened to a BBC podcast that he was a guest on last year, The GAA social it's called and it was unreal listening to the life he's lived, it was powerful, emotional stuff.

Here's the Spotify link if anyone's interested -

https://open.spotify.com/episode/7uhXNWZMYen8uhR459GPyY?si=cwAvMfphQI-s5_h3-CFvqw"
It was a brilliant interview by one of the best gaa podcasts out there.

I'd love to listen to him on the wexford hurling podcast only for the fact I'd have to listen to the 2 presenting it.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1354 - 03/05/2024 09:43:02    2542581

Same team picked with liam Ryan on bench. Just team send in for the papers surely,

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 03/05/2024 09:44:42    2542583

Replying To hunting:  "Same team picked with liam Ryan on bench. Just team send in for the papers surely,"
I really hope so. Liam is no good to us in the stand if he is fit and would like to see other changes too

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 03/05/2024 10:05:12    2542590

Replying To tearintom:  "It was a brilliant interview by one of the best gaa podcasts out there.

I'd love to listen to him on the wexford hurling podcast only for the fact I'd have to listen to the 2 presenting it."
Yes it's a brilliant podcast all right, some cracking guests on it.

I get what you mean about the Wexford Hurling Podcast, the two lads are passionate Wexford hurling men but the guests are generally weak enough and that intro with Martin Storey screeching needs to be updated pronto.

GaeilgeDubh (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 03/05/2024 10:07:28    2542592

Replying To hunting:  "Same team picked with liam Ryan on bench. Just team send in for the papers surely,"
I wasn't expecting anything else tbh

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 11:20:48    2542604

Replying To hunting:  "You are always on here saying, oh I support wexford they're my second team etc...but you are no stop negative all the time. Why don't you worry more about your own county"
This lad is constantly throwing in his tuppence worth on the woes of Wexford hurling but like you said, it's never really anything constructive. Pity he can't just confine himself to the Dublin pages

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 203 - 03/05/2024 11:22:23    2542605

Replying To Viking66:  "I wasn't expecting anything else tbh"
I'd hope for and expect 3 or 4 changes at least before throw in

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 03/05/2024 11:27:01    2542606

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "This lad is constantly throwing in his tuppence worth on the woes of Wexford hurling but like you said, it's never really anything constructive. Pity he can't just confine himself to the Dublin pages"
I have 3 children playing GAA in the county so have a vested interest in the county. Maybe I should give up my coaching involvement in the local GAA club while I am at it? Because like every club ours is awash with volunteers........................
I am fair and balanced in my postings on here and if I criticise there is proposals for how to improve. I guess everything is perfect at the moment is it?
How could what he replied to be considered negative? Go read it. It was stating the bleeding obvious and a reality I hope does not pan out.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 03/05/2024 12:24:49    2542620

Replying To Purpleandgold72:  "This lad is constantly throwing in his tuppence worth on the woes of Wexford hurling but like you said, it's never really anything constructive. Pity he can't just confine himself to the Dublin pages"
And how ironic your last post it:
Purpleandgold72: "Are we not the new Offaly already..?"

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 03/05/2024 12:26:24    2542621

Bit worried if the team lines out as named.

With that said best of luck to the minors and seniors tomorrow, hopefully they can both get a result and inject a bit of life and enthusiasm into thinks. If ,by some miracle, we do turn Galway over, we are still in contention to make the All Ireland series.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 236 - 03/05/2024 12:28:00    2542623

Viking, Willie cleary new principal of Taghmon national school

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 03/05/2024 12:43:51    2542630