Galway Football thread

Hard to understand how minor are so poor i think over 250 went for trials madness really Leitrim only team they beat this year , undrr 20 hurling, and football out minor football out I'd say minor hurling won't last much longer either and it's only may ,, one thing is the county expense won't be 2:5 million this year ,, Roscommon prob not have a quarter of the pick of galway but still somehow keep producing at underage , fair play to them , it probably not great sign when Derek savage who had being with that minor group for 2 years when straight to undrr 20 going forward things need change big tome what we as a county are doing in both codes not working at all

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 871 - 18/05/2024 11:10:12    2545358

Replying To S1234:  "Lol"
Yes lol at Mayo every year! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3445 - 18/05/2024 11:21:00    2545361

Replying To Kickitout:  "Hard to understand how minor are so poor i think over 250 went for trials madness really Leitrim only team they beat this year , undrr 20 hurling, and football out minor football out I'd say minor hurling won't last much longer either and it's only may ,, one thing is the county expense won't be 2:5 million this year ,, Roscommon prob not have a quarter of the pick of galway but still somehow keep producing at underage , fair play to them , it probably not great sign when Derek savage who had being with that minor group for 2 years when straight to undrr 20 going forward things need change big tome what we as a county are doing in both codes not working at all"
Academy's - Are they the problem or solution. We have had kids over the year in at u14/15 and don't seem to develop at all. While getting stronger maybe but have developed as footballers?
Is there an over all plan for these academy's from u14 up wards or is it up to who ever if over that academy to decide what they work on.
I watched a Corofin u11 team play a few weeks ago and they try and play like the senior team. Kick the ball, head up with runners of the shoulder etc. They are all coached the same. Why not Galway under age?

galwaygoal (Galway) - Posts: 167 - 18/05/2024 12:25:17    2545371

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes lol at Mayo every year! lol"
007 as my Kerry friend calls Big Aido.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 96 - 18/05/2024 12:51:48    2545375

Great stuff, delighted, hopefully mckinless takes a good look at himself,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 18/05/2024 19:10:22    2545441

Filthy tackle by the Derry lad cost his team and good enough for them. I hope Damien and Robert have only light knocks. Great to see Cillian back on the pitch and Shane is showing glimpses of this form and will only get better. Big win for us and one I expected, collecting on Galway to win by 4-6 points at 13/2. Derry heads are gone, expect they will go out to Armagh.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 96 - 18/05/2024 19:15:59    2545443

A good solid win helped with Derry going down to 14 men before half time. I was right to be confident before the game and for some reason S1234 (Mayo) gave a LOL to by post?

Main thing now for Galway is injuries especially Comer who went off, probably the affect of that awful stamp. If injuries aren't bad Galway will be in a good position to top the group and be in favorable position to win All Ireland Quarter final.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 118 - 18/05/2024 19:23:41    2545444

Replying To JahTribe:  "Filthy tackle by the Derry lad cost his team and good enough for them. I hope Damien and Robert have only light knocks. Great to see Cillian back on the pitch and Shane is showing glimpses of this form and will only get better. Big win for us and one I expected, collecting on Galway to win by 4-6 points at 13/2. Derry heads are gone, expect they will go out to Armagh."
I was thinking the same. They look like a team who's heads are gone. The early stages of that first half they looked like a team under pressure to make a serious comeback statement. McKinless definitely cost his team but although not as malicious, Rogers ill discipline in the second half was nearly as damaging as it cost them 1-1 at a time they were in and around level. And two very senior team members too. Galway a very controlled team and played that game out nicely. Yer keeper very steady. Very tight defensively as well and that is good marshaling of the marquee forwards of both Mayo and Derry two games on the trot.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 844 - 18/05/2024 19:24:34    2545445

Congrats on a good win. A very ill disciplined performance from us that I don't want to see again. Really disappointed to lose but more disappointed at the ill discipline. Big questions for Harte now from Derrys point of view but a full strength Galway are a match for anyone on their day.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 175 - 18/05/2024 19:26:00    2545446

Replying To JahTribe:  "Filthy tackle by the Derry lad cost his team and good enough for them. I hope Damien and Robert have only light knocks. Great to see Cillian back on the pitch and Shane is showing glimpses of this form and will only get better. Big win for us and one I expected, collecting on Galway to win by 4-6 points at 13/2. Derry heads are gone, expect they will go out to Armagh."
Derry put too much emphasis on the league and a good start for Mickey Harte.
Serious discipline issues.
Sending off and countless mouthing penalties. We are a sight to behold when we advance the ball quickly.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 353 - 18/05/2024 19:27:31    2545447

easy to say now.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 289 - 18/05/2024 19:28:42    2545448

Awful tackle and absolutely no need for it.He should get more than just a game.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 18/05/2024 19:35:43    2545449

Congrats PJ and the Team on a great and very important win. Even when it was nip and tuck on the scoreboard I thought Galway controlling the game. I thought the red card incident was very bad and a deliberate attempt to injure a key player, that may well rule Comer out of another season. Derry are a super team and have great supporters but this element is an unwelcome recent addition to their game.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1231 - 18/05/2024 20:01:44    2545457

I predicted a 3 point win, but seeing as Derry were down to 14, a 5 point win is close enough.

Tbh, although unforgivable, and no doubt he had to go, I don't think McGinless downward pressure on Comer's ankle did too much damage - it was possibly later on at sideline altercation he did more damage. Anyway, "We love you, Gleeson, we do.." will ring all around Dunmore tonight - saved a few points!

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 18/05/2024 20:03:08    2545458

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I was thinking the same. They look like a team who's heads are gone. The early stages of that first half they looked like a team under pressure to make a serious comeback statement. McKinless definitely cost his team but although not as malicious, Rogers ill discipline in the second half was nearly as damaging as it cost them 1-1 at a time they were in and around level. And two very senior team members too. Galway a very controlled team and played that game out nicely. Yer keeper very steady. Very tight defensively as well and that is good marshaling of the marquee forwards of both Mayo and Derry two games on the trot."
Pat Spillane used to say Mayo didn't have any 'markee' forwards, and that's why they couldn't win the big one.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3560 - 18/05/2024 20:49:23    2545471

Replying To Galway9801:  "Great stuff, delighted, hopefully mckinless takes a good look at himself,"
Always the victims.
Mickey Harte was asked what he thought of the sending off.....
He said he didn't think it was a free in the first place......
What's that go to do with one of his players stamping on a downed opponent?
Not alot of reflection there.!!!!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 353 - 18/05/2024 21:07:02    2545476

will the posters who critisised john daly paul conroy interact this evening

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 189 - 18/05/2024 21:18:35    2545479

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Pat Spillane used to say Mayo didn't have any 'markee' forwards, and that's why they couldn't win the big one."
Was more to it than that. A bad habit of conceding goals in AI finals and finding ways to lose those finals when in a position to win them.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 118 - 18/05/2024 21:18:53    2545480

Replying To giveitlong:  "Congrats PJ and the Team on a great and very important win. Even when it was nip and tuck on the scoreboard I thought Galway controlling the game. I thought the red card incident was very bad and a deliberate attempt to injure a key player, that may well rule Comer out of another season. Derry are a super team and have great supporters but this element is an unwelcome recent addition to their game."
Comer had ice on the hamstring and not on the ankle.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1588 - 18/05/2024 21:43:34    2545483

Replying To cavan.galway:  "will the posters who critisised john daly paul conroy interact this evening"
Interact? I was critical of Conroy's display in Sligo, and I'd stand over that. He was good v Mayo, and very good tonight. He'll possibly still struggle in Croker versus a Dublin or a Kerry, if we progress to that. Regardless, he's had a cracking career in the Galway senior shirt, and he's still in great shape.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3560 - 18/05/2024 21:45:24    2545484